DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Fujimaki (US 20130234914 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujimaki teaches a head mount display comprising:
a left display that displays a left-eye display image ([0038]: a left optical-image display unit 28);
a right display that displays a right-eye display image ([0038]: a right optical-image display unit 26);
a housing that supports the left display and the right display so as to be located in front of eyes of a user ([0038]: a right optical-image display unit 26, a left optical-image display unit 28, [0038]: The right optical-image display unit 26 and the left optical-image display unit 28 are arranged in positions corresponding to positions before the right and left eyes of the user, see Fig. 2); and
a left camera that captures a left camera image, and a right camera that captures a right camera image ([0018]: a second image pickup unit arranged in a position corresponding to the right eye or temple of the user or the periphery of the eye or the temple during wearing of the head-mounted display device and configured to pick up an image of the outside scene and acquire a second outside scene image; and a third image pickup unit arranged in a position corresponding to the left eye or temple of the user or the periphery of the eye or the temple during wearing of the head-mounted display device and configured to pick up an image of the outside scene and acquire a third outside scene image), the left camera and the right camera being provided outside the housing ([0091]: further includes a camera 62 and a camera 63, see Fig. 11, cameras 62 and 63 positioned on the outer area of the glasses), wherein an interval between the left camera and the right camera is wider than an interocular distance of the user ([0018]: a second image pickup unit arranged in a position corresponding to the right eye or temple of the user…a third image pickup unit arranged in a position corresponding to the left eye or temple of the user. Examiner notes cameras placed at the temples will have a wider distance between them than an interocular distance).
Regarding Claim 2, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. In addition, Fujimaki teaches wherein the left camera and the right camera are provided in the housing toward a direction of a line-of-sight of the user, and capture an outside world in the direction of the line-of-sight of the user ([0091]: further includes a camera 62 and a camera 63. See Fig. 11, cameras positioned on the outer area of the glasses, the glasses capturing images in the direction of a line of sight of a user when dawned on by the user, [0092] The camera 62 is arranged in a position corresponding to the right eye or temple of the user, [0093]: camera 63 is arranged in a position corresponding to the left eye or temple of the user).
Regarding Claim 3, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. In addition, Fujimaki teaches wherein the left camera and the right camera are provided in front of the left display and the right display in a direction of a line-of-sight of the user ([0092] The camera 62 is arranged in a position corresponding to the right eye or temple of the user, [0093]: camera 63 is arranged in a position corresponding to the left eye or temple of the user, see Fig. 11, cameras positioned on the outer part of the glasses, when the glasses are put on by a user, the eyes of the user will be positioned behind the cameras).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimaki (US 20130234914 A1) in view of Kurabayashi (US 20190311471 A1) and Kato (US 20180184077 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, representative of Claims 17 and 20, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. However, Fujimaki does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of Claim 4. Kurabayashi teaches wherein the left-eye display image is generated by projecting the left camera image onto a viewpoint of the left display ([0099]: The left-eye transmissive display 202b and the left-eye camera 203b work similarly to the right-eye transmissive display 202a and the right-eye camera 203a, [0099]: the right-eye camera 203a is a camera for acquiring a real-space image to be visually recognized by the right eye of the user through the right-eye transmissive display 202a, [0099]: by way of projective transformation by applying a projection matrix calculated from the internal parameters to the image obtained from the right-eye camera 203a. The internal parameters are camera parameters, such as the angle of view and the visual field range, calculated from the positional relationship between the right-eye camera 203a and the right-eye transmissive display 202a) display ([0099]: the right-eye camera 203a is a camera for acquiring a real-space image to be visually recognized by the right eye of the user through the right-eye transmissive display 202a, [0099]: by way of projective transformation by applying a projection matrix calculated from the internal parameters to the image obtained from the right-eye camera 203a. The internal parameters are camera parameters, such as the angle of view and the visual field range, calculated from the positional relationship between the right-eye camera 203a and the right-eye transmissive display 202a)
Neither Fujimaki nor Kurabayashi explicitly teach generating the left eye display image and right eye display image by sampling a pixel value.
Kato teaches teach generating the left eye display image and right eye display image by sampling a pixel value ([0061]: the display images include the display image J.sub.L to be presented to the left eye and the display image J.sub.R to be presented to the right eye, [0074] In S15, the display image generating unit 206 acquires (samples) the pixel value of the light ray in the direction (θ,φ) from the corresponding image and stores the acquired pixel value into the corresponding pixel position in the display image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the teachings of Fujimaki to include the teachings of Kurabayashi. Doing so would ensure the images captured for viewing the environment in the head mounted display are corrected by applying a projection matrix calculated from internal parameters before being displayed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Fujimaki and Kurabayashi combination by substituting the generic mention of an image being transmitted to the display by Kato’s sampling of pixel values from an image to display. Doing so would provide the predictable result of providing image data to a display viewpoint in the head mounted display.
Regarding Claim 5, representative of Claim 18, the Fujimaki, Kurabayashi, and Kato combination teaches the head mount display according to claim 4. In addition, Kato teaches wherein the left-eye display image is compensated by using the right camera image, and the right-eye display image is compensated using the left camera image ([0075]: Thus, the right and left display images may be switched. In other words, the pixel value for the left-eye display image may be sampled from the right-eye image, and the pixel value for the right-eye display image may be sampled from the left-eye image).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimaki (US 20130234914 A1) in view of Kurabayashi (US 20190311471 A1), Kato (US 20180184077 A1), and Izumi (US 20190132575 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the Fujimaki, Kurabayashi, and Kato combination teaches the head mount display according to claim 4. Fujimaki, Kurabayashi, and Kato all individually teach a left and right display image of a head mounted device. However, none explicitly teach the remaining limitations of Claim 6.
Izumi teaches wherein the left-eye display image is compensated by using the left-eye display image in a past, and the right-eye display image is compensated using the right-eye display image in a past ([0168] It is to be noted that, for the inpainting, an image picked up in the past may be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the teachings of Fujimaki, Kurabayashi, and Kato combination by the teachings of Izumi by including image inpainting using a previous image. Doing so would improve the accuracy of the display image by inpainting any missing values.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimaki (US 20130234914 A1) in view of Kurabayashi (US 20190311471 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. Although Fujimaki teaches depth measurements in at least [0090], Fujimaki does not explicitly teach using a distance measurement sensor in the housing.
Kurabayashi teaches wherein a distance measurement sensor is provided in the housing toward a direction of a line-of-sight of the user ([0069]: in one example, the sensors 206 include an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, an infrared depth sensor, and a camera. The infrared depth sensor is a depth sensor based on infrared projection; however, the same function may be realized by using an RGB-D camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified Fujimaki to include the teachings of Kurabayashi by substituting depth measurements for depth measurements from a sensor on the HMD device in a line of sight of the user. Doing so would provide the predictable result of obtaining depth measurements.
Regarding Claim 8, the Fujimaki and Kurabayashi combination teaches the head mount display according to claim 7. In addition, Kurabayashi teaches wherein the left camera image is projected onto a viewpoint of the left display by using a depth image obtained by the distance measurement sensor, and the right camera image is projected onto a viewpoint of the right display by using the depth image ([0090]: user-environment determining part 12 acquires image data by means of a camera, acquires shape data by means of a depth sensor, and determines the shapes of real objects visually recognizable by the user in the user-visual-field region, [0094]: rendering part 13 renders a virtual object corresponding to the user environment determined by the user-environment determining part 12 on the display unit 202 of the HMD 200. The rendering part 13 generates and renders a right-eye image (virtual object) to be visually recognized by the right eye of the user and a left-eye image (virtual object) to be visually recognized by the left eye of the user).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimaki (US 20130234914 A1) in view of Takahashi (US 20190377177 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. In addition, Fujimaki teaches left and right cameras positioned at the left and right temples of a user respectively, which is wider than an interocular distance. Fujimaki does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of Claim 13.
Takahashi teaches wherein the interocular distance is a distance from a center of a pupil of a left eye to a center of a pupil of a right eye ([0182]: E is the interocular distance, i.e. the distance between the eyes of the user, see Fig. 6 E is depicted as measuring from center to center).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the teachings of Fujimaki by substituting the teachings of Takahashi, particularly Takahashi’s definition of the interocular distance. Doing so would provide the predictable result of a camera positioning in an HMD being wider than an interocular distance.
Regarding Claim 14, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. In addition, Fujimaki teaches left and right cameras positioned at the left and right temples of a user respectively, which is wider than an interocular distance. Fujimaki does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of Claim 14.
Takahashi teaches wherein the interocular distance of the user is a value obtained by statistics ([0142]: the average interocular distance E of the user).
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimaki (US 20130234914 A1) in view of Stafford (US 20160260251 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 1. However, Fujimaki does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of Claim 15. Stafford teaches wherein two of the left cameras and two of the right cameras are provided ([0046]: though in the illustrated embodiment, two cameras are shown on the front surface of the HMD 102, it will be appreciated that there may be any number of externally facing cameras,… and oriented in any direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified Fujimaki to include a plurality of cameras as taught by Stafford. Doing so would provide more image data to improve the accuracy of a user’s perception of the outside world while wearing the head mounted device.
Regarding Claim 16, Fujimaki teaches the head mount display according to claim 3. However, Fujimaki does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of Claim 16. Stafford teaches wherein one of two of the left cameras and one of two of the right cameras are disposed to be located above a height of an eye of the user, and another of the two left cameras and another of the two right cameras are disposed to be located below the height of the eye of the user ([0046]: though in the illustrated embodiment, two cameras are shown on the front surface of the HMD 102, it will be appreciated that there may be any number of externally facing cameras,… and oriented in any direction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JANICE E. VAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667