DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on June 21, 2026, Claims 1 and 3-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 4/10/2024, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 21st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-20 filed 6/21/2026 have been fully considered but are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 109543670 A) in view of Endo/Endo 3DP Teeth [online]. Acadental, 2001 [retrieved on 2026-08-25]. Retrieved from the Internet: < URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210422162306/https:/acadental.com/product_page.php?id=152266977-37100350 >, from here on referred to as Acadental, in view of Wang et al. ‘Cost-effective Printing of 3D Objects with Skin-Frame Structures’, University of Science and Technology of China, November 2013, Vol. 32, No. 6, Article 177, pages 1-10, ACM, Transactions on Graphics [retrieved on 25 August 2026]. Retrieved from: ACM Digital Libray, DOI: 10.1145/2508363.2508382.
Regarding Claim 1, Sun discloses a dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon teaching wherein the physical tooth model is at least partially transparent to visible light; and wherein the physical tooth model comprises a plurality of nodes and connections, the plurality of nodes connected by the connections, thus forming the physical tooth model in the form of a volume mesh.
Acadental teaches wherein the physical tooth model is at least partially transparent to visible light (Fig. 1 3D Printed tooth model is partially transparent in the figure).
However, Acadental is not relied upon teaching wherein the physical tooth model comprises a plurality of nodes and connections, the plurality of nodes connected by the connections, thus forming the physical tooth model in the form of a volume mesh.
Wang teaches wherein the physical tooth model comprises a plurality of nodes and connections, the plurality of nodes connected by the connections, thus forming the physical tooth model in the form of a volume mesh (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
Sun and Acadental are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental tooth models. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including wherein the physical tooth model is at least partially transparent to visible light as taught by Acadental for the purpose of being able to focus on dentistry related to endodontics, or the inside of the tooth.
Sun and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of three-dimensional models. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including wherein the physical tooth model comprises a plurality of nodes and connections, the plurality of nodes connected by the connections, thus forming the physical tooth model in the form of a volume mesh as taught by Wang for the purpose of significantly reducing the mass of the object through the use of frame structures (comprised of nodes and connections) while maintaining its strength and stiffness, and frame structures provide sufficient flexibility and variability, which make them possible to meet a variety of constraints in 3D printing (Wang, 177:2 Col. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun is not relied upon disclosing wherein the connections are configured to be deformable to change relative distances and positions of the plurality of nodes.
Wang teaches wherein the connections are configured to be deformable to change relative distances and positions of the plurality of nodes (177:3 Col. 1 Because of elasticity, all struts are deformable when forces act on them).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun discloses wherein, in the physical tooth model, the other space than a space occupied by the nodes and the connections is filled with a material at least partially transparent to visible light ([0056] Then, computer-aided manufacturing technology can be used to 3D print a transparent tooth model with root canal features; alternatively, a molding mold for this transparent tooth model can be designed and manufactured first. The molding mold can be a silicone mold or a metal injection mold, and the tooth model can be produced using the molding mold).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing nodes and connections.
Wang teaches nodes and connections (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
Regarding Claim 12, Sun discloses wherein, in the physical tooth model, is made of materials at least partially transparent to visible light ([0056] Then, computer-aided manufacturing technology can be used to 3D print a transparent tooth model with root canal features; alternatively, a molding mold for this transparent tooth model can be designed and manufactured first. The molding mold can be a silicone mold or a metal injection mold, and the tooth model can be produced using the molding mold).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing nodes and connections.
Wang teaches nodes and connections (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
Regarding Claim 13, Sun discloses a light source, the light source comprising a light source body, a light source support and a light source base, the light source body connected to the light source base by the light source support ([0044] a ring light source 404… The area array camera is mounted on the first horizontal plate (light source base), the area array camera lens (light source support) is mounted on the area array camera, and the ring light source is mounted on the head of the area array camera lens. The long axis of the LED beads of the ring light source is at a certain angle to the long axis of the area array camera lens, so that the light is obliquely transmitted into the root canal pulp chamber of the transparent root canal tooth model).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun discloses wherein the light source body is configured to emit visible light ([0048] the strip light source illuminates the photographed surface (visible light) of the transparent root canal tooth model from an oblique angle).
Regarding Claim 15, Sun discloses wherein a first movable device is provided at a junction of the light source support and the light source base, the first movable device used to adjust the light source in height and angle ([0053] The strip light source is used to illuminate the photographed surface of the transparent root canal tooth model from an oblique angle to provide better lighting effects… the position of the linear scan camera light source can be adjusted during the device debugging phase by using a fixing bracket. For example, similarly, a strip-shaped slot 5053 can be provided on the third upright plate of the third fixed frame. By connecting the fastener 5054 with the threaded hole, the third fixed frame (light source support) can be locked to the first upright frame (light source base). At the same time, by adjusting the position of the fastener in the strip-shaped slot, the height of the strip light source relative to the horizontal worktable can be adjusted).
Regarding Claim 16, Sun discloses wherein the physical tooth model comprises a tooth model body, a tooth model support and a tooth model base, the tooth model body connected to the tooth model base by the tooth model support ([0012] The transparent root canal dental model (tooth model body) is fixed to the mounting base (tooth model base) by the insertion of the second positioning posts (tooth model support) into the second positioning holes).
Claims 4-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 109543670 A) in view of Endo/Endo 3DP Teeth [online]. Acadental, 2001 [retrieved on 2026-08-25]. Retrieved from the Internet: < URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210422162306/https:/acadental.com/product_page.php?id=152266977-37100350 >, from here on referred to as Acadental, in view of Wang et al. ‘Cost-effective Printing of 3D Objects with Skin-Frame Structures’, University of Science and Technology of China, November 2013, Vol. 32, No. 6, Article 177, pages 1-10, ACM, Transactions on Graphics [retrieved on 25 August 2026]. Retrieved from: ACM Digital Libray, DOI: 10.1145/2508363.2508382, and and in further view of Bredt et al. (US 2002/0026982 A1) in view of Matov et al. (US 2020/0146776 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Sun discloses the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing a first set of nodes having a cross-section of a first shape, the first set of nodes configured to indicate a mesial area of the physical tooth model
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching a cross-section of a first shape, the first set of nodes configured to indicate a mesial area of the physical tooth model.
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
However, Bredt is not relied upon teaching the first set of nodes configured to indicate a mesial area of the physical tooth model.
Matov teaches indicating a mesial area of the tooth model (Fig. 1 Element A).
Sun and Bredt are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of three-dimensional models. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including a cross-section of a shape as taught by Bredt for the purpose of bonding layers together to form the desired three-dimensional article (Bredt, [0006]).
Sun and Matov are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of three-dimensional dental models. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including indicating a mesial area of the tooth model as taught by Matov for the purpose of being a reference for treatment planning or diagnostic purposes, such as determining malocclusions of a patient's teeth and/or bite, including open bite, overbite, under bite, and overjet, and also for determining bite angles, for example, the mandibular plane, or lower jaw, angle (Matov, [0128]).
Regarding Claim 5, Sun discloses the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing wherein the physical tooth model comprises a second set of nodes having a cross-section of a second shape, the second set of nodes configured to indicate a middle area of the physical tooth model.
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching a cross-section of a second shape, the second set of nodes configured to indicate a middle area of the physical tooth model.
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
However, Bredt is not relied upon teaching the second set of nodes configured to indicate a middle area of the physical tooth model.
Matov teaches indicating a middle area of the tooth model (Fig. 1 Element C).
Regarding Claim 6, Sun discloses the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing a third set of nodes having a cross-section of a third shape, the third set of nodes configured to indicate a distal area of the physical tooth model.
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b)))
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching having a cross-section of a third shape, the third set of nodes configured to indicate a distal area of the physical tooth model.
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
However, Bredt is not relied upon teaching the third set of nodes configured to indicate a distal area of the physical tooth model.
Matov teaches indicating a distal area of the tooth model (Fig. 1 Element B).
Regarding Claim 8, Sun discloses the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing a fifth set of nodes having a cross-section of a fifth shape, the fifth set of nodes configured to indicate a coronal plane of the physical tooth model
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching a cross-section of a fifth shape, the fifth set of nodes configured to indicate a coronal plane of the physical tooth model
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
However Bredt is not relied upon teaching the fifth set of nodes configured to indicate a coronal plane of the physical tooth model
Matov teaches indicating a coronal plane of the tooth model (Fig. 2B Element A).
Regarding Claim 9, Sun discloses the physical tooth model comprises a sixth set of nodes having a cross-section of a sixth shape, the sixth set of nodes configured to indicate a transverse plane of the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing wherein the physical tooth model comprises a sixth set of nodes having a cross-section of a sixth shape, the sixth set of nodes configured to indicate a transverse plane of the physical tooth model
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching a cross-section of a sixth shape, the sixth set of nodes configured to indicate a transverse plane of the physical tooth model
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
However, Bredt is not relied upon teaching the sixth set of nodes configured to indicate a transverse plane of the physical tooth model.
Matov teaches indicating a transverse plane of the tooth model (Fig. 3A Element A).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun discloses the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing a seventh set of nodes having a cross-section of a seventh shape, the seventh set of nodes configured to indicate a sagittal plane of the physical tooth model.
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b))).
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching having a cross-section of a seventh shape, the seventh set of nodes configured to indicate a sagittal plane of the physical tooth model.
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
However, Bredt is not relied upon teaching the seventh set of nodes configured to indicate a sagittal plane of the physical tooth model.
Matov teaches indicating a sagittal plane of the tooth model (Fig. 2A Element 220 indicates Sagittal Plane).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 109543670 A) in view of Endo/Endo 3DP Teeth [online]. Acadental, 2001 [retrieved on 2026-08-25]. Retrieved from the Internet: < URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210422162306/https:/acadental.com/product_page.php?id=152266977-37100350 >, from here on referred to as Acadental, in view of Wang et al. ‘Cost-effective Printing of 3D Objects with Skin-Frame Structures’, University of Science and Technology of China, November 2013, Vol. 32, No. 6, Article 177, pages 1-10, ACM, Transactions on Graphics [retrieved on 25 August 2026]. Retrieved from: ACM Digital Libray, DOI: 10.1145/2508363.2508382, and in further view of Bredt et al. (US 2002/0026982 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Sun discloses wherein the physical tooth model comprises an indication of a pulp of the physical tooth model ([0010] An evaluation scanning and imaging device for training using a transparent root canal tooth model… The transparent root canal tooth model is detachably mounted on the top of the tooth clamp. The area array camera assembly is suspended above the tooth clamp and is used to capture images of the opened pulp chamber roof of the transparent root canal tooth model fixed on the tooth clamp).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing a fourth set of nodes having a cross-section of a fourth shape.
Wang teaches a set of nodes (177:1 Col. 2 The key idea is to ‘hollow’ the object by creating a lightweight frame structure (see Figure 2), made of a mesh of nodes and thin cylindrical struts with large voids among them inside the object (see Figure 1 (b)))
However, Wang is not relied upon teaching a cross-section of a fourth shape.
Bredt teaches a cross-section of a shape ([0073] was printed onto the layer of particulate material to form the shape of the cross section of the prototype).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 109543670 A) in view of Endo/Endo 3DP Teeth [online]. Acadental, 2001 [retrieved on 2026-08-25]. Retrieved from the Internet: < URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210422162306/https:/acadental.com/product_page.php?id=152266977-37100350 >, from here on referred to as Acadental, in view of Wang et al. ‘Cost-effective Printing of 3D Objects with Skin-Frame Structures’, University of Science and Technology of China, November 2013, Vol. 32, No. 6, Article 177, pages 1-10, ACM, Transactions on Graphics [retrieved on 25 August 2026]. Retrieved from: ACM Digital Libray, DOI: 10.1145/2508363.2508382, and in further view of Acevedo (US 3,787,979).
Regarding Claim 17, Sun discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus ([0002] This utility model relates to the field of oral teaching model technology, and in particular to an evaluation scanning and imaging device for practical training using transparent root canal tooth models).
However, Sun is not relied upon disclosing wherein a second movable device is provided at a junction of the tooth model support and the tooth model base, the second movable device used to adjust the physical tooth model in height and angle.
Acevedo discloses wherein a second movable device is provided at a junction of the tooth model support and the tooth model base, the second movable device used to adjust the tooth model in height and angle (Col. 1 Lines 59-63 Ball 2 (allows for angle adjustment) is secured to the top of a vertically adjustable post comprising telescopic members 3 and 6. The ball is soldered or otherwise secured to the hollow tube-like member 3 slidable or telescoping upon the rod member 6 (allows for height adjustment)).
Sun and Acevedo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental models. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including wherein a second movable device is provided at a junction of the tooth model support and the tooth model base, the second movable device used to adjust the tooth model in height and angle as taught by Acevedo for the purpose of allowing the tooth to be moved to any desired spatial position (Acevedo, Col. 2 Lines 12-15).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 109543670 A) in view of Endo/Endo 3DP Teeth [online]. Acadental, 2001 [retrieved on 2026-08-25]. Retrieved from the Internet: < URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210422162306/https:/acadental.com/product_page.php?id=152266977-37100350 >, from here on referred to as Acadental, in view of Wang et al. ‘Cost-effective Printing of 3D Objects with Skin-Frame Structures’, University of Science and Technology of China, November 2013, Vol. 32, No. 6, Article 177, pages 1-10, ACM, Transactions on Graphics [retrieved on 25 August 2026]. Retrieved from: ACM Digital Libray, DOI: 10.1145/2508363.2508382, and in further view of Stoeckl (US 2009/0154656 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Sun is not relied upon disclosing an imaging plate, the imaging plate comprising an imaging plate body, an imaging plate support and an imaging plate base, the imaging plate body connected to the imaging plate base by the imaging plate support.
Stoeckl teaches an imaging plate, the imaging plate comprising an imaging plate body, an imaging plate support and an imaging plate base, the imaging plate body connected to the imaging plate base by the imaging plate support (Fig. 1, [0012] The invention improves on the prior art in that a bite device includes a holding member held in a directionally fixed position relative to the X-ray device, and a plate (imaging plate) which is pivoted relative to the holding member (imaging plate support) and which has a bite piece on which the patient bites, [0036] Rotary unit 12 is pivotally or hingedly mounted on an arm 11 (imaging plate support) which is mounted on a column 13 (imaging plate base) for vertical adjustable thereon.).
Sun and Stoeckl are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental imaging devices or systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including an imaging plate, the imaging plate comprising an imaging plate body, an imaging plate support and an imaging plate base, the imaging plate body connected to the imaging plate base by the imaging plate support as taught by Stoeckl for the purpose of being able to adjust the position of the X-ray emitter and detector camera to the stature of a patient (Stoeckl, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 19, (Currently Amended) The dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 18, wherein a third movable device is provided at a junction of the imaging plate support and the imaging plate base, the third movable device used to adjust the imaging plate in height and angle.
Simonsen discloses wherein a third movable device is provided at a junction of the imaging plate support and the imaging plate base, the third movable device used to adjust the imaging plate in height and angle ([0016] In a preferred development of the bite device, there are further provided driving means (third movable device) for vertical adjustment (height) of the holding member and thus for pivoting the plate (angle adjustment) into a predetermined angular position).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 109543670 A) in view of Endo/Endo 3DP Teeth [online]. Acadental, 2001 [retrieved on 2026-08-25]. Retrieved from the Internet: < URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210422162306/https:/acadental.com/product_page.php?id=152266977-37100350 >, from here on referred to as Acadental, in view of Wang et al. ‘Cost-effective Printing of 3D Objects with Skin-Frame Structures’, University of Science and Technology of China, November 2013, Vol. 32, No. 6, Article 177, pages 1-10, ACM, Transactions on Graphics [retrieved on 25 August 2026]. Retrieved from: ACM Digital Libray, DOI: 10.1145/2508363.2508382, in view of Stoeckl (US 2009/0154656 A1), and in further view of Vitalini (US 4,181,859 A).
Regarding Claim 20, Sun is not relied upon disclosing wherein the imaging plate body is provided with graduations in the form of a grid.
Vitalini teaches wherein the imaging plate body is provided with graduations in the form of a grid (Col. 1 Lines 44-51 The reticle device of the present invention enables accurate measurements to be carried out on the exposed film by means of the reticle or grid image which appears superimposed on the exposed film, even if the film has undergone substantial deformations during exposure, since the flexible support sheet of the device will have followed faithfully the deformations of the film).
Sun and Vitalini are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Sun, further including wherein the imaging plate body is provided with graduations in the form of a grid as taught by Vitalini for the purpose of enabling accurate measurements to be carried out on the exposed film (Vitalini, Col. 1 Lines 44-51).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wen (US 2017/0100207 A1) is in the field of tooth modeling systems (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715