DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on April 10, 2024 Claims 1-20 havebeen examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 4/10/2024, has been acknowledged.
Response to Amendments
Amendment filed 4/10/2024 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matov (US 2020/0146776 A1) in view of Shah (US 2020/0402222 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Matov discloses a dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model ([0115] Virtual tooth models may be acquired through various means, including, but not limited to, digitization of a patient's teeth via processes such as X–ray (imaging apparatus)),
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein the tooth model is at least partially transparent to visible light.
Shah discloses that the tooth model is at least partially transparent to visible light (where the composition or material may be transparent or translucent to the particular wavelength of light).
Matov and Shah are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of making molds or models of teeth. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Matov, further including the model being partially transparent to visible light as taught by Shah for the purpose of determining the composition of the model based on the wavelengths of light that it is transparent for (Shah, [0062]).
Regarding Claim 2, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a plurality of nodes and connections, the plurality of nodes connected by the connections, thus forming the tooth model in the form of a mesh ([0047] The grid of a 3D model of a tooth (or referred to as the surface grid of a tooth) may include a 3D mesh outlining the tooth. The surface grid may be constructed of a plurality of 2D polygons (connections), for example, triangular in shape, situated in a 3D space, and coupled in such a manner as to create the surface of a 3D model, [0049] Referring still to FIG. 7, once a surface grid of a tooth has been obtained, a first surface grid node can be chosen 720. As used herein, a surface grid node is a point at which the lines used to form the polygons of the surface grid intersect (nodes and connections)).
Regarding Claim 3, Matov discloses wherein the connections are configured to be deformable to change relative distances and positions of the plurality of nodes ([0055] If not, a next tooth surface node can be chosen (nodes can change distances and positions), [0095] The points 1123, 1124 from the 2D grid nodes 1121, 1122 deformed onto the 3D mesh of the tooth 1100 form a rectangular 3D mesh of the tooth).
Regarding Claim 4, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a first set of nodes having a cross-section of a first shape, the first set of nodes configured to indicate a mesial area of the tooth model (Fig. 1 Element A).
Regarding Claim 5, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a second set of nodes having a cross-section of a second shape, the second set of nodes configured to indicate a middle area of the tooth model (Fig. Element C).
Regarding Claim 6, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a third set of nodes having a cross-section of a third shape, the third set of nodes configured to indicate a distal area of the tooth model (Fig. 1 Element B).
Regarding Claim 8, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a fifth set of nodes having a cross-section of a fifth shape, the fifth set of nodes configured to indicate a coronal plane of the tooth model (Figure 2B Element A).
Regarding Claim 9, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a sixth set of nodes having a cross-section of a sixth shape, the sixth set of nodes configured to indicate a transverse plane of the tooth model (Fig. 3A Element A).
Regarding Claim 10, Matov discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a seventh set of nodes having a cross-section of a seventh shape, the seventh set of nodes configured to indicate a sagittal plane of the tooth model (Fig. 2A Element 220 Indicates Sagittal Plane).
Regarding Claim 11, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 3.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein, in the tooth model, the other space than a space occupied by the nodes and the connections is filled with a material at least partially transparent to visible light.
Shah discloses wherein, in the tooth model, the other space than a space occupied by the nodes and the connections is filled with a material at least partially transparent to visible light ([0062] the second property may be a material of the 3D object 114, which may indicate a range of wavelengths of light for which the material is transparent or translucent).
Regarding Claim 12, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 3.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein, in the tooth model, the nodes and the connections are made of materials at least partially transparent to visible light.
Shah discloses wherein, in the tooth model, the nodes and the connections are made of materials at least partially transparent to visible light ([0062] the second property may be a material of the 3D object 114, which may indicate a range of wavelengths of light for which the material is transparent or translucent).
Regarding Claim 13, Matov discloses characterized in further comprising a light source ([0048] The platform apparatus 102 may further include one or more light sources), the light source comprising a light source body, a light source support and a light source base, the light source body connected to the light source base by the light source support (Fig. 2B Elements A (support), B (base), and C (body)).
Regarding Claim 14, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 13.
Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein the light source body is configured to emit visible light.
Shah discloses wherein the light source body is configured to emit visible light ([0048] a light-emitting diode (LED), a neon lamp, and so forth. In one embodiment, the one or more of the light emitting elements 108 may emit full spectrum light (includes visible light)).
Regarding Claim 15, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 13.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein a first movable device is provided at a junction of the light source support and the light source base, the first movable device used to adjust the light source in height and angle.
Shah discloses wherein a first movable device is provided at a junction of the light source support and the light source base, the first movable device used to adjust the light source in height and angle (Fig. 2B Elements 260, 260A, and 260B are adjustable in angle, and sliding elements on platform indicate they are adjustable in height, which can be seen by 260A; [0051] Additionally, or alternatively, one or more of the light emitting elements 108 in the first light source 106, second light source 112 and/or third light source 120 may be moveable, and may be positioned to achieve light from a target angle).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matov (US 2020/0146776 A1) in view of Shah (US 2020/0402222 A1), and in further view of Karkar (US 2010/0105009 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of Claim 3.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein the tooth model comprises a fourth set of nodes having a cross-section of a fourth shape, the fourth set of nodes configured to indicate a pulp of the tooth model.
Karkar discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a fourth set of nodes having a cross-section of a fourth shape, the fourth set of nodes configured to indicate a pulp of the tooth model (Fig. 1A Cross Section shows Pulp).
Matov and Karkar are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental modeling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Matov, further including the model having a cross-section configured to indicate a pulp of the tooth as taught by Karkar for the purpose of showing the basic elements of a natural tooth and model (Karkar, [0044]).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matov (US 2020/0146776 A1) in view of Shah (US 2020/0402222 A1), and in further view of Acevedo (US 3,787,979).
Regarding Claim 16, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 1.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein the tooth model comprises a tooth model body, a tooth model support and a tooth model base, the tooth model body connected to the tooth model base by the tooth model support.
Acevedo discloses wherein the tooth model comprises a tooth model body, a tooth model support and a tooth model base, the tooth model body connected to the tooth model base by the tooth model support (Col. 1 Lines 47-52 As illustrated in FIGS. 1-4, each tooth support comprises a tooth 1 supported for universal movement on a universal joint means which may be in the form of a ball and socket joint, Col. 2 Lines 6-10 A ball 7 is secured to rod 6. The ball cooperates with a socket 8a formed in a supporting base 8. Base 8 may be in the form of a rectangular plate which serves as a firm support to the post and the tooth mounted thereon).
Matov and Acevedo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental modeling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Matov, further including the model having a support attached to a base as taught by Acevedo for the purpose of serving as a firm support to the post and tooth (Acevedo, Col. 2 Lines 8-10).
Regarding Claim 17, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 16.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein a second movable device is provided at a junction of the tooth model support and the tooth model base, the second movable device used to adjust the tooth model in height and angle.
Acevedo discloses wherein a second movable device is provided at a junction of the tooth model support and the tooth model base, the second movable device used to adjust the tooth model in height and angle (Col. 1 Lines 59-63 Ball 2 (allows for angle adjustment) is secured to the top of a vertically adjustable post comprising telescopic members 3 and 6. The ball is soldered or otherwise secured to the hollow tube-like member 3 slidable or telescoping upon the rod member 6 (allows for height adjustment)).
Matov and Acevedo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental modeling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Matov, further including the model having a support attached to a base as taught by Shah for the purpose of allowing the tooth to be moved to any desired spatial position (Acevedo, Col. 2 Lines 12-15).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matov (US 2020/0146776 A1) in view of Shah (US 2020/0402222 A1), and in further view of Simonsen (WO 81/02973).
Regarding Claim 18, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 1.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing characterized in further comprising an imaging plate, the imaging plate comprising an imaging plate body, an imaging plate support and an imaging plate base, the imaging plate body connected to the imaging plate base by the imaging plate support.
Simonsen discloses characterized in further comprising an imaging plate, the imaging plate comprising an imaging plate body, an imaging plate support and an imaging plate base, the imaging plate body connected to the imaging plate base by the imaging plate support (Pg. 5 Lines 1-12).
Regarding Claim 19, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 18.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein a third movable device is provided at a junction of the imaging plate support and the imaging plate base, the third movable device used to adjust the imaging plate in height and angle.
Simonsen discloses wherein a third movable device is provided at a junction of the imaging plate support and the imaging plate base, the third movable device used to adjust the imaging plate in height and angle (Pg. 5 Lines 1-12).
Matov and Simonsen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of dental imaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention to modify dental imaging teaching apparatus comprising a tooth model, as disclosed by Matov, further including the base plat having an adjustable support and base as taught by Simonsen for the purpose of ensuring that the bisector between the part of the tooth to be radiographed and the X-ray film placed on the plate holder is positioned at right angles irrespective of the structure of the patient’s oral cavity (Simonsen, Pg. 2 Lines 23-31 – Pg. 3 Lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 20, Matov discloses the dental imaging teaching apparatus of claim 18.
However, Matov is not relied upon disclosing wherein the imaging plate body is provided with graduations in the form of a grid.
Simonsen discloses wherein the imaging plate body is provided with graduations in the form of a grid (Fig. 1 Element 1 (vertical lines indicate a grid)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wen (US 2017/0100207 A1) teaches a tooth modeling system.
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715