DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0169297), hereinafter Schaefer.
As to claim 9, Schaefer discloses a charging apparatus for charging a rechargeable battery of a mobile power tool [mobile tools’ see ¶008], wherein the charging apparatus is configured to detect a core temperature (TK) of the rechargeable battery [¶0022; claim 18].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0169297), hereinafter Schaefer, in view of Varipatis et al. (US 2021/0288373), hereinafter Varipatis.
As to claims 1, 11 and 18, Schaefer discloses , a method for charging a rechargeable battery of a mobile power tool [see Abstract and ¶008], wherein the rechargeable battery has an electrolyte that is liquid at room temperature , wherein charging is carried out at least temporarily at a core temperature (TK) of at least 60° C. and at a charging rate of at least 3 C [¶0022; claim 18].
Schaefer does not disclose explicitly, wherein the rechargeable battery comprises at least one pouch cell.
Varipatis discloses in figure 1, wherein the rechargeable battery comprises at least one pouch cell [¶00088 and ¶0116; using pouch cell is disclosed].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use pouch cell in Schaefer’s apparatus as taught by Vairpatis to reduce the battery pack size and save cost.
As to claim 2, Schaefer discloses, wherein the charging rate is reduced and/or a charging process is interrupted when the core temperature (TK) reaches or exceeds a limit temperature (TG) [¶0047 and claim 27]
As to claims 3 and 12, Schefer discloses, wherein the rechargeable battery is lithium-based [see abstract and also see ¶006 and ¶0009].
As to claims 4, 13 and 19, Schefer discloses, wherein charging takes place on a basis of an operating state of the rechargeable battery [see ¶0010].
As to claims 5, 14 and 20 , Schefer discloses, wherein charging takes place at the core temperature (TK) of at least 60° C., depending on a state of charge of the rechargeable battery [see ¶0010, ¶0047 and claim 27].
As to claims 6 and 15, Schefer discloses, including measuring the core temperature [see ¶0022. ¶0047 measuring temperature is disclosed].
As to claims 8 and 17, Schefer discloses, wherein an effective thermal resistance of the rechargeable battery is increased and/or reduced at least temporarily during charging [it is implicit that the charging battery is increased or decreased during charging].
As to claim 10, Schefer discloses, wherein the charging apparatus has a temperature sensor and/or an interface for a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the rechargeable battery [¶0022, 0047].
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Varipatis, and in view of Westerby et al. (US 2022/0137147), hereinafter Westerby.
As to claims 7 and 16, Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations except, including estimating the core temperature (TK).
Westerby discloses in figure 4, including estimating the core temperature (TK) [¶0014, ¶0123 and Claim 17].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to estimate battery temperature in Schefer’s apparatus as taught by Westerby in order to minimize circuit sizes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fauteux et al. (US 2016/0141728) discloses battery pack, tool, battery and battery operated tool.
Degelau et al. (US 2019/0386497) discloses portable rechargeable battery power pack for cordless power tools.
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859