DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an acquisition module” in claim 14;
“a control module” in claim 14;
After reviewing the specification, the acquisition module is not defined, and the control module is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim limitation “an acquisition module and a control module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The limitations each invoke 112f by the recitation of functional language, in this case being “acquisition” and “control,” with the generic placeholder of “module” which does not define the structure or what constitutes what is performing the functions of the claim. Therefore, rendering the claim indefinite.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (CN215295159U – provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Oh (US 2005/0081543 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, FOR1 teaches an air conditioner (see Abstract), comprising an outdoor unit and an indoor unit group (implicit to any air conditioner, see Fig. 1), wherein the indoor unit comprises, and at least one indoor unit comprises:
a main flow path comprising a main pipeline, an electronic expansion valve (9, Fig. 1, see Description) and an indoor heat exchanger connected sequentially through the main pipeline (10, Fig. 1, see Description), wherein at least part of the main pipeline located at a refrigerant inlet end of the electronic expansion valve is defined as a subcooling parallel section (connected with 6 through 12 which is defined as the subcooling parallel section);
a subcooling branch comprising a subcooler (6, Fig. 1, see Description) and connected in parallel with the subcooling parallel section (see Fig. 1); and
a switching connection assembly configured to be controlled to connect at least one of the subcooling parallel section or the subcooling branch with the electronic expansion valve (4, Fig. 1, see Description).
FOR1 does not teach a plurality of indoor units connected in parallel.
Oh teaches an air conditioner (Oh, Title) which features an outdoor unit connected to a plurality of indoor units (Oh, outdoor unit 100, indoor units 114, see Fig. 2, see paragraphs [0058]-[0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide FOR1 with a plurality of indoor units connected in parallel, as taught by Oh, in order to utilize configurations that are known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, FOR1 as modified teaches the multi-split air conditioner according to claim 1, wherein the subcooler is disposed at a wind area of an air outlet side of the indoor heat exchanger (FOR1, see Fig. 1 the airflow identified by 5).
Regarding claim 4, FOR1 as modified teaches the multi-split air conditioner according to claim 1, wherein the switching connection assembly comprises:
a first solenoid valve disposed at the subcooling parallel section (FOR1, 4, Fig. 1, see Description); and
a second solenoid valve disposed at the subcooling branch (FOR1, 7, Fig. 1, see Description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-14, 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art of record is FOR1 (CN215295159U – provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Oh (US 2005/0081543 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
The prior art of record when considered as a whole, either alone or in combination, does not anticipate or render obvious:
wherein the indoor unit further comprises:
a main air duct provided with an indoor heat exchanger; and
a subcooling air duct disposed at a downstream air path of the main air duct and connected in series with the main air duct, wherein the subcooler is disposed in the subcooling air duct, and an air inlet of the subcooling air duct is further provided with a damper configured to be controlled to adjust
an opening degree of the air inlet of the subcooling air duct to change the air flow rate flowing through the subcooling air duct from the main air duct.
In the Examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to further modify the prior art structures to arrive at the claimed invention, absent impermissible hindsight. Therefore, rendering claim 3, with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art of record is FOR1 (CN215295159U – provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Oh (US 2005/0081543 – provided by Applicant in the IDS) and Zhai (US 11,732,939).
The prior art of record when considered as a whole, either alone or in combination, does not anticipate or render obvious:
A method for controlling the multi-split air conditioner comprising an outdoor unit and an indoor unit group, wherein the indoor unit comprises a plurality of indoor units connected in parrel, and at least one indoor unit comprises:
a main flow path comprising a main pipeline, an electronic expansion valve and an indoor heat exchanger connected sequentially through the main pipeline,
wherein at least part of the main pipeline located at a refrigerant inlet end of the electronic expansion valve is defined as an subcooling parallel section;
a subcooling branch comprising a subcooler and connected in parallel with the subcooling parallel section; and
a switching connection assembly configured to be controlled to connect at least one of the subcooling parallel section and the subcooling branch with the electronic expansion valve, the method comprising:
in response to a cooling mode operation command, obtaining a current first subcooling degree at the refrigerant inlet end of the electronic expansion valve; and
in a case where the current first subcooling degree is less than or equal to the first preset subcooling degree, controlling the switching connection assembly to connect the subcooling branch to the electronic expansion valve.
In the Examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to further modify the prior art structures to arrive at the claimed invention, absent impermissible hindsight. Therefore, rendering independent claim 5, with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art of record is FOR1 (CN215295159U – provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Oh (US 2005/0081543 – provided by Applicant in the IDS) and Zhai (US 11,732,939).
The prior art of record when considered as a whole, either alone or in combination, does not anticipate or render obvious:
A device for controlling the multi-split air conditioner comprising an outdoor unit and an indoor unit group, wherein the indoor unit comprises a plurality of indoor units connected in parrel, and at least one indoor unit comprises: a main flow path comprising a main pipeline, an electronic expansion valve and an indoor heat exchanger connected sequentially through the main pipeline, wherein at least part of the main pipeline located at a refrigerant inlet end of the electronic expansion valve is defined as an subcooling parallel section; a subcooling branch comprising a subcooler and connected in parallel with the subcooling parallel section; and a switching connection assembly configured to be controlled to connect at least one of the subcooling parallel section and the subcooling branch with the electronic expansion valve, the device comprising:
an acquisition module configured to, in response to a cooling mode operation command, obtain
a current first subcooling degree at a refrigerant inlet end of an electronic expansion valve; and
a control module configured to, in a case where the current first subcooling degree is less than or equal to a first preset subcooling degree, control a switching connection assembly to connect a subcooling branch with the electronic expansion valve.
In the Examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to further modify the prior art structures to arrive at the claimed invention, absent impermissible hindsight. Therefore, rendering independent claim 14, with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763