Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eric (FR 3061374).
As to claim 15, Eric discloses a circulation sump device for an electric drive unit of a motor vehicle (Fig. 2), which can be lubricated and/or temperature-controlled via a lubricant, comprising: a lubricant sump having a first axial region and a second axial region (Fig. 2), a lubricant reservoir which extends below the lubricant sump in the first axial region and is connected to the lubricant sump via a lubricant outflow opening (Fig. 2), and a lubricant sump-to-pump line which is specified to pump lubricant from the second axial region of the lubricant sump into the lubricant reservoir (Fig. 2).
As to claim 16, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15, wherein: the first axial region contains a position of stator end windings on a first side of a stator core of the drive unit (Fig. 2), and the second axial region contains a position of stator end windings on a second side (Fig. 2).
As to claim 17, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15, wherein: a reservoir pump is disposed in the lubricant sump-to-pump line (Fig. 2).
As to claim 18, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15, wherein: the lubricant sump-to-pump line is disposed in the second axial region so as to proceed from a stator core-distal axial end of the lubricant sump (Fig. 2).
As to claim 21, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15, wherein: the lubricant reservoir also extends in the second axial portion (Fig. 2).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric and in view of Huber (US 20190097482).
As to claim 19, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15.
Eric fails to disclose the lubricant outflow opening in the first axial region is disposed on a stator core- distal axial end of a machine housing and/or of the lubricant reservoir and/or of the lubricant sump.
Huber, however, discloses the lubricant outflow opening in the first axial region is disposed on a stator core- distal axial end of a machine housing (Para 0031; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with the lubricant outflow opening in the first axial region is disposed on a stator core- distal axial end of a machine housing, as disclosed by Huber, to optimize the flow of lubricant in the device.
As to claim 20, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15.
Eric fails to discloses a conveying outlet from the lubricant reservoir is disposed at or close to an axial position of the lubricant outflow opening.
Huber, however, discloses a conveying outlet from the lubricant reservoir is disposed at or close to an axial position of the lubricant outflow opening (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with a conveying outlet from the lubricant reservoir is disposed at or close to an axial position of the lubricant outflow opening, as disclosed by Huber, to optimize the flow of lubricant in the device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric and in view of Lui (CN 113803444).
As to claim 22, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15.
Eric fails to disclose a baffle is disposed in the lubricant reservoir, wherein a pressurized oil inlet of the lubricant sump-to-pump line and the conveying outlet from the lubricant reservoir are disposed on the same side of the baffle.
Liu, however, disclose a baffle is disposed in the lubricant reservoir (Fig. 1), wherein a pressurized oil inlet of the lubricant sump-to-pump line and the conveying outlet from the lubricant reservoir are disposed on the same side of the baffle (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with a baffle is disposed in the lubricant reservoir (Fig. 1), wherein a pressurized oil inlet of the lubricant sump-to-pump line and the conveying outlet from the lubricant reservoir are disposed on the same side of the baffle, as disclosed by Liu, to better control the flow of lubricant.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric, Liu and in view of Vladimir (CN 11520452).
As to claim 23, the combination of Eric and Liu discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 22.
Eric fails to disclose the baffle is specified to impede a flow of lubricant proceeding from the first axial region to the second axial region.
Vladimir, however, discloses the baffle is specified to impede a flow of lubricant proceeding from the first axial region to the second axial region (Fig. 4; “The valve located in the baffle is configured to alternately prevent flow”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with the baffle is specified to impede a flow of lubricant proceeding from the first axial region to the second axial region, as disclosed by Vladimir, in order to better control the flow of lubricant.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric and in view of Gebhard (US 20200284337).
As to claim 24, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15.
Eric fails to disclose provided between the lubricant reservoir and the second axial region of the lubricant sump is a connecting line for balancing a lubricant filling level and/or venting the lubricant reservoir.
Gebhard, however, discloses provided between the lubricant reservoir (62) and the second axial region of the lubricant sump (18) is a connecting line (36, 60) for balancing a lubricant filling level (Para 0023; Fig. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with provided between the lubricant reservoir and the second axial region of the lubricant sump is a connecting line for balancing a lubricant filling level, as disclosed by Gebhard, to ensure the desired lubricant level is maintained.
As to claim 25, Eric discloses the circulation sump device according to claim 15.
Eric fails to disclose a conveying pump, which is disposed in a conveying line that proceeds from the conveying outlet, and the reservoir pump are designed with a common pump drive.
Gebhard, however, discloses a conveying pump (20; Fig. 2), which is disposed in a conveying line that proceeds from the conveying outlet, and the reservoir pump are designed with a common pump drive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with a conveying pump, which is disposed in a conveying line that proceeds from the conveying outlet, and the reservoir pump are designed with a common pump drive, as disclosed by Gebhard, to allow for more lubricant to flow throughout the device.
Claims 26-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric and in view of Alberni (AU 680092).
As to claim 26, Eric discloses an electric drive unit for a motor vehicle (“when such a machine is mounted in a mobile assembly, for example in a motor vehicle”), comprising: an electric drive machine in a machine housing (3; Fig. 2), and a circulation sump device according to claim 15.
Eric fails to disclose an output transmission in a transmission housing.
Alberni, however, discloses an output transmission (12; Fig. 2) in a transmission housing (18; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with an output transmission in a transmission housing, as disclosed by Alberni, to protect the transmission from outer elements.
As to claim 27, the combination of Eric and Alberni discloses the electric drive unit according to claim 26, wherein: the lubricant sump of the circulation sump device is formed in the machine housing on both sides of a stator core of the drive machine (Fig. 1 of Eric).
As to claim 29, the combination of Eric and Alberni discloses the electric drive unit according to claim 26, wherein: the lubricant reservoir is disposed below the machine housing and extends between the conveying outlet and the beginning of the lubricant sump-to-pump line in a transverse direction of the drive unit (Fig. 1).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric, Alberni and in view of Klaus (DE 102014205881).
As to claim 28, the combination of Eric and Alberni discloses the electric drive unit according to claim 26.
Eric fails to disclose a transmission lubricant sump of the transmission housing can empty by way of an overflow into the lubricant sump of the circulation sump device in the machine housing.
Klaus, however, discloses a transmission lubricant sump of the transmission housing can empty by way of an overflow into the lubricant sump of the circulation sump device in the machine housing (Para 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Eric with a transmission lubricant sump of the transmission housing can empty by way of an overflow into the lubricant sump of the circulation sump device in the machine housing, as disclosed by Klaus, to recycle extra lubricant in the event there is overflow.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834