DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-36, 39-40, 42-47 and 54 are rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos.
Regarding Claim 35, Alexandratos is directed to generally to anion exchange resins. More particularly, it relates to a class of anion exchange resins containing two different exchange sites with improved selectivity, sorptive capacity, and exchange kinetics (Col. 1, Lines 20-23).
Alexandratos discloses a treatment process for preparing a treated liquid, the treatment process comprising the following treatment steps:
providing a source liquid (Col. 3, Lines 61-66, [a process for separating chemical species from a liquid which contains the chemical species in solution comprising the steps of: contacting the liquid with resins of the above kind such that the chemical species are retained]).
the source liquid comprising:
water at a content of at least 70 wt. %, and (col. 8, comparative example 2, Lines 9-18, [This example demonstrates the removal of technetium as pertechnetate from dilute salt solutions. Sorption of pertechnetate was measured by exposing samples of moist resin to known volumes (e.g., 100 mL) of test solution containing pertechnetate (.sup.99 TcO.sub.4.sup.-) at six micromolar in concentration in an electrolyte matrix containing sodium chloride, sodium nitrate, and sodium sulfate, each at 60 millimolar), which anticipate the claimed range of water at a content of at least 70 wt. %.
one or more X-constituents at a total content of at least 10-10 wt. %, each X- constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide (
T
c
99
O
4
-
) (Col. 8, Lines 9-16, [removal of technetium as pertechnetate from dilute salt solutions. Sorption of pertechnetate was measured by exposing samples of moist resin to test solution containing pertechnetate (
T
c
99
O
4
-
) ]).
providing a plurality of solid M-bodies, each M-body comprising:
an R-body of one or more R-constituents at a dry weight total content of at least 80 wt. %, each R-constituent being a polymer (Col. 3, [Lines 12-18, [copolymer beads have from about 90 to about 97 weight percent of the monovinyl aromatic monomer with from about 3 to about 10 weight percent being the cross-linking monomer]).
first and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at a total dry weight content in the range from 0.1 to 10 wt. % ( Col. 8, Comparative Example 2, Lines 9-18, [ moist resin (approximately 200 mg dry weight) to known volumes (e.g., 100 mL) of test solution containing pertechnetate]) , which is equal to a total dry weight content of 0.2 wt. %, which anticipate the claimed range of first and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at a total dry weight content in the range from 0.1 to 10 wt. %.
each N-constituent comprising an N atom present as an amine or an ammonium (Col. 2, Lines 33-64, [preparing bifunctional anion-exchange resins comprising the steps of: reacting haloalkylated, cross-linked copolymer beads with a first tertiary amine under conditions and in an amount sufficient to substitute at least a portion of the haloalkylated sites and obtain partially functionalized copolymer beads, and reacting the partially functionalized copolymer beads with a second tertiary amine under conditions and in an amount sufficient to functionalize at least a portion of the remaining haloalkylated sites]);
water at a content of up to 90 wt. %, based on the total weight of the M- body (Col.7, Lines 66-67, [The resin beads had the following characteristics: total solids= 41.8.+-.1.2%]) which corresponds to water at a content 58.2 % which overlaps with water at a content of up to 90 wt.%.
contacting the source liquid with the plurality of M-bodies to obtain the treated liquid, the treated liquid having a lower total content of X-constituents than the source liquid (Col. 8, Lines 9-16, [removal of technetium as pertechnetate from dilute salt solutions. Sorption of pertechnetate was measured by exposing samples of moist resin to test solution containing pertechnetate (
T
c
99
O
4
-
); (Col. 8, Lines 28-32, [The amount of Tc sorbed onto the resin was determined by subtracting the Tc activity in the solution following the exposure period from the total Tc activity in the starting solution]; Col.3, Lines 61-65, [provides a process for separating chemical species from a liquid which contains the chemical species in solution comprising the steps of: contacting the liquid with resins of the above kind such that the chemical species are retained]).
wherein at least the first N-constituents have one or more L-chains connected to the N atom, each L-chain having a C chain of length 4 or less (Col. 12, Lines 7-9, [the second tertiary amine is selected from the group consisting of trimethyl amine, triethyl amine, tri-n-propyl amine, tri-n-butyl amine, and tri (isobutyl) amine]).
Regarding Claim 36, Alexandratos discloses wherein there is one or more covalent bonds between the R-bodies and the N-constituents. (Col. 10, Lines 36-48, Claim1, [process of preparing bifunctional anion-exchange resins comprising the steps of: reacting haloalkylated, cross-linked copolymer beads with a first tertiary amine under conditions and in an amount sufficient to substitute at least a portion of the haloalkylated sites and obtain partially functionalized copolymer beads; and reacting the partially functionalized copolymer beads with a second tertiary amine under conditions and in an amount sufficient to functionalize at least a portion of the remaining haloalkylated sites]).
Regarding Claim 39, Alexandratos discloses the process wherein one or more of the R- bodies is a gel body (Col. 3, Lines 10-11, [The copolymer beads can be macroporous or a gel]).
Regarding Claim 40, Alexandratos discloses wherein one or more of the X- constituents comprises at least one of these elements: one or more F atoms per molecule, one or more Cl atoms, one or more perhalogen moieties, and a chemical complex comprising a radionuclide (Col. 8, Lines 9-16, [removal of technetium as pertechnetate from dilute salt solutions. Sorption of pertechnetate was measured by exposing samples of moist resin to test solution containing pertechnetate (
T
c
99
O
4
-
) ]).
Regarding Claim 42, Alexandratos discloses wherein one or more of the plurality of M-bodies is obtained by a preparation process comprising the following preparation process steps: a. providing a plurality of R-bodies; b. providing a fluid comprising one or more N-constituents; and c. contacting the plurality of R-bodies with the fluid to obtain the plurality of M- bodies; wherein the plurality of M-bodies has a greater total content of N-constituents than the plurality of R-bodies. (Col. 2, Lines 33-64, [preparing bifunctional anion-exchange resins comprising the steps of: reacting haloalkylated, cross-linked copolymer beads with a first tertiary amine under conditions and in an amount sufficient to substitute at least a portion of the haloalkylated sites and obtain partially functionalized copolymer beads, and reacting the partially functionalized copolymer beads with a second tertiary amine under conditions and in an amount sufficient to functionalize at least a portion of the remaining haloalkylated sites]).
Regarding Claim 43, Alexandratos discloses wherein the treatment process comprises a step of adding the plurality of M-bodies to the source liquid (Col. 6, Lines 19-26, [Suitable methods for conducting the separation are those resulting in intimate contact between the liquid and the resin. Examples of suitable methods include fluidized beds, stirred tanks, batch tanks, and cocurrent or countercurrent flow columns. The contact may occur batchwise, semi-batchwise, continuously, or semi-continuously. Preferably, the liquid is contacted with the resin in a continuous system employing a packed ion-exchange column]).
Regarding Claim 44, Alexandratos discloses wherein the plurality of M-bodies are contained in a module and the treatment process comprises the following steps: a. introducing the source liquid into the module before the contacting step; and b. the treated liquid exits the module after the contacting step (Col. 6, Lines 19-27, [Suitable methods for conducting the separation are those resulting in intimate contact between the liquid and the resin. Examples of suitable methods include fluidized beds, stirred tanks, batch tanks, and cocurrent or countercurrent flow columns. The contact may occur batchwise, semi-batchwise, continuously, or semi-continuously. Preferably, the liquid is contacted with the resin in a continuous system employing a packed ion-exchange column]).
Regarding Claim 45-46, Alexandratos discloses wherein the further N-constituents have one or more L-chains connected to the N atom, wherein the further N-constituents are different from the first N-constituents (Claim 45), Alexandratos discloses, wherein one of the following applies: A/ each L-chain of the further N-constituents has a C chain of length 4 or less. B/ each L-chain of the further N-constituents has a C chain of length of 5 or more (Claim 46) (Col. 10, Lines 42-64, [wherein the first tertiary amine has higher alkyl moieties; and reacting the partially functionalized copolymer beads with a second tertiary amine, wherein the second tertiary amine has lower alkyl moieties. Preferably, the first tertiary amine corresponds to the formula NR.sub.1 R.sub.2 R.sub.3 and the second tertiary amine corresponds to the formula NR.sub.4 R.sub.5 R.sub.6, where R.sub.1, R.sub.2, and R.sub.3 are independently selected from alkyl moieties having 5 or more carbons and R.sub.4, R.sub.5, and R.sub.6 are independently selected from alkyl moieties having 1 to 4 carbons. It is preferred that the first tertiary amine be selected from the group consisting of tri-n-pentylamine, tri-n-hexylamine, tri-n-heptylamine, and tri (isooctyl) amine, and that the second tertiary amine be selected from the group consisting of trimethyl, triethyl, tri-n-propyl, tri-n-butyl amine, and tri (isobutyl) amine.]).
Regarding Claim 47, Alexandratos discloses the process of claim 35, wherein the plurality of solid M-bodies comprises at least two species of M-bodies, which are a first and a further species, wherein the first and further species of M-bodies are different from each other ( Col. 9, Lines 49-56, [blending of the trihexyl amine (which delivers exceptional pertechnetate activity) with a smaller tertiary amine such as tripropyl (which develops its maximum capacity much more quickly) provides a resin with superior sorptive capacity and selectivity in a shorter period of time. As can be seen from FIGS. 1 and 2, this is indeed the case. Combining the two different tertiary amines in a unique way results in resins with superior short-term sorption of pertechnetate]).
Regarding Claim 54, Alexandratos discloses the X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide, the treated liquid having a lower total content of radionuclide than the source liquid (Col. 8, Lines 9-16, [removal of technetium as pertechnetate from dilute salt solutions. Sorption of pertechnetate was measured by exposing samples of moist resin to test solution containing pertechnetate (
T
c
99
O
4
-
); (Col. 8, Lines 28-32, [The amount of Tc sorbed onto the resin was determined by subtracting the Tc activity in the solution following the exposure period from the total Tc activity in the starting solution]; Col.3, Lines 61-65, [provides a process for separating chemical species from a liquid which contains the chemical species in solution comprising the steps of: contacting the liquid with resins of the above kind such that the chemical species are retained]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 38, 40 and 52-53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zaggia et al. (Use of strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants) herein known as Zaggia, in view of Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos.
Regarding Claim 35, Zaggia is directed to strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants (Title).
Zaggia discloses a treatment process for preparing a treated liquid, the treatment process comprising the following treatment steps:
providing a source liquid, the source liquid comprising: (Page 139, Left Col., Section 2.2. Batch experiments, [Batch experiments were carried out bringing 1.0 gr of resin in
contact with 1000 mL of solutions of 4 different PFAS (PFOS, PFOA,
PFBS, PFBA) with initial concentration of 1000 mg/L in a flask]).
i. water at a content of at least 70 wt. %, and ii. one or more X-constituents at a total content of at least 10-10 wt. %, each X- constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide (Abstract, [ application of three strong anion exchange resins (Purolite® A520E, A600E and A532E) for the removal of traces of PFOA, PFOS, PFBA and PFBS (concentration of hundreds of ng/ L) from drinking water]).
b. providing a plurality of solid M-bodies(Resins A520E, A532E, A600E) , each M-body comprising: (2.1. Materials)
each R-constituent being a polymer (Polystyrene-DVB) (Table1),
ii. first and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at each N-constituent comprising an N atom present as an amine or an ammonium (Section 3.1, [A600E is a regular resin having a trimethyl quaternary ammonium functional group. A520E is a macroporous resin with a triethyl quaternary ammonium functional groups. A532E is a regular resin called “bifunctional” because it has two different quaternary ammonium groups]).
iii. water at a content of up to 90 wt. %, based on the total weight of the M- body;
c. contacting the source liquid with the plurality of M-bodies to obtain the treated liquid, the treated liquid having a lower total content of X-constituents than the source liquid (Page 139, Section 2.2. Batch experiments, [Batch experiments were carried out bringing 1.0 gr of resin in contact with 1000 mL of solutions of 4 different PFAS (PFOS, PFOA, PFBS, PFBA) with initial concentration of 1000 mg L1 in])
wherein at least the first N-constituents have one or more L-chains connected to the N atom, each L-chain having a C chain of length 4 or less (Page 140, section 3.1, [the resin A600E comprises methyl chains, the resin A520E comprises ethyl chains; the resin A532E comprises two types of alkyl chains including one short chain of only 2-3 carbon atoms]).
However, Zaggia is silent to an R-body of one or more R-constituents at a dry weight total content of at least 80 wt. %, first and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at a total dry weight content in the range from 0.1 to 10 wt. %.
Alexandratos is directed to generally to anion exchange resins. More particularly, it relates to a class of anion exchange resins containing two different exchange sites with improved selectivity, sorptive capacity, and exchange kinetics (Col. 1, Lines 20-23), To balance and optimize the competing properties of large, bulky tertiary amines (Col.2, Lines 11-12).
Alexandratos discloses an R-body of one or more R-constituents at a dry weight total content of at least 80 wt. %, (Col. 3, [Lines 12-18, [copolymer beads have from about 90 to about 97 weight percent of the monovinyl aromatic monomer with from about 3 to about 10 weight percent being the cross-linking monomer]).
First and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at a total dry weight content in the range from 0.1 to 10 wt. %.% ( Col. 8, Comparative Example 2, Lines 9-18, [ moist resin (approximately 200 mg dry weight) to known volumes (e.g., 100 mL) of test solution containing pertechnetate]) , which is equal to a total dry weight content of 0.2 wt. %, which anticipate the claimed range of first and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at a total dry weight content in the range from 0.1 to 10 wt. %.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zaggia s method as taught by Alexandratos wherein an R-body of one or more R-constituents at a dry weight total content of at least 80 wt. %, first and further N-constituents adjacent to the R-body at a total dry weight content in the range from 0.1 to 10 wt. %, in order to balance and optimize the competing properties of large, bulky tertiary amines (See Alexandratos, [Col.2, Lines 11-12]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claim 38, 40 and 52-53, modified Zaggia teaches all the limitations in claim 35 as set forth above.
Zaggia discloses wherein one or more of the X-constituents is an X*-constituent, each X*-constituent having 20 carbon atoms or less per molecular unit and wherein the total content of X*-constituents in the treated liquid is less than the total content of X*-constituents in the source liquid (Claim 38), wherein one or more of the X- constituents comprises at least one of these elements: one or more F atoms per molecule, one or more Cl atoms, one or more perhalogen moieties, and a chemical complex comprising a radionuclide (Claim 40), the source liquid being selected from drinking water and treated waste water (Claim 52), the X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, the treated liquid having a lower total content of the halogenated organic compound than the source liquid (Claim 53), (Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA (8 carbon atoms), PFOS (8 carbon atoms), PFBA (4 carbon atoms) and PFBS (4 carbon atoms) (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
Claims 38, and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, as applied to the claim 35 above, in view of Zaggia et al. (Use of strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants) herein known as Zaggia.
Regarding Claim 38, and 52-53, Alexandratos teaches all the limitations in claim 35 as set forth above.
However, Alexandratos is silent to wherein one or more of the X-constituents is an X*-constituent, each X*-constituent having 20 carbon atoms or less per molecular unit and wherein the total content of X*-constituents in the treated liquid is less than the total content of X*-constituents in the source liquid (Claim 38), the source liquid being selected from drinking water and treated waste water (Claim 52), the X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, the treated liquid having a lower total content of the halogenated organic compound than the source liquid (Claim 53).
Alexandratos also discloses Some of the physical properties of a resin that are known to enhance selectivity for less hydrated anions over other more hydrated anions such include increasing the hydrophobicity the alkyl groups surrounding the anion exchange site ( Col. 1, Lines 57-61)
Zaggia is directed to strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants (Title).
Zaggia also discloses a strong relationship between the hydrophobicity of the exchange functional group of the resin and its capacity in removing PFAS exists. A600E (non hydrophobic) and A520E (fairly hydrophobic) show a reduced sorption capacity compared to A532E (highly hydrophobic) (Abstract).
Zaggia discloses wherein one or more of the X-constituents is an X*-constituent, each X*-constituent having 20 carbon atoms or less per molecular unit and wherein the total content of X*-constituents in the treated liquid is less than the total content of X*-constituents in the source liquid (Claim 38), the source liquid being selected from drinking water and treated waste water (Claim 52), the X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, the treated liquid having a lower total content of the halogenated organic compound than the source liquid (Claim 53). (Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA (8 carbon atoms), PFOS (8 carbon atoms), PFBA (4 carbon atoms) and PFBS (4 carbon atoms) (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alexandratos‘s method, as taught by Zaggia, wherein one or more of the X-constituents is an X*-constituent, each X*-constituent having 20 carbon atoms or less per molecular unit and wherein the total content of X*-constituents in the treated liquid is less than the total content of X*-constituents in the source liquid (Claim 38), the source liquid being selected from drinking water and treated waste water (Claim 52), the X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, the treated liquid having a lower total content of the halogenated organic compound than the source liquid (Claim 53), Because a strong relationship between the hydrophobicity of the exchange functional group of the resin and its capacity in removing PFAS exists (See Zaggia, Abstract), and in order for using strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water (See Zaggia, Title), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, as applied to the claim 35 above, in view of Best et al. (US 4982021 A), herein known as Best, and further in view of Batra et al. (Adsorption of Bisphenol-A from aqueous solution using amberlite XAD-7 impregnated with aliquat 336: Batch, column, and design studies, herein known as Batra.
Regarding Claim 37, Alexandratos teaches all the limitations in claim 35 as set forth above.
However modified Alexandratos is silent to the process of claim 35, wherein there is one or more non-covalent bonds between the R-bodies and the N-constituents.
Best is directed to processes for the production of alkylene glycols from alkylene oxides and water in a heterogeneous system (Col. 1, Lines 9-11).
Best discloses anion exchange resins having quaternary amine sites and tertiary amine sites are commercially available (Col.8, Lines 62-63). The electropositive complexing sites may be adsorbed, reacted or grafted on the resin (Col.7, Lines 68).
Batra is directed to adsorption of Bisphenol-A from aqueous solution using amberlite XAD-7 impregnated with aliquat 336: Batch, column, and design studies (Title).
Batra discloses wherein there is one or more non-covalent bonds between the R-bodies (Polymeric resin Amberlite XAD-7 ) and the N-constituents (Aliquat-336 (a quaternary amine, Tri-capryl-methyl ammonium chloride) (Abstract, [Bisphenol-A (BPA) was removed from water solution using washed (WX7) and impregnated (IX7) Amber-lite XAD-7 resin with Aliquat-336]). (Introduction, Page 233, right column, 2nd paragraph, Lines 7-18, [Treating pollutants containing wastewater by Extractant Impregnated Resin(EIR) is gaining attention and found to be an efficient separation method. This hybrid process combines the principles of adsorption, solvent extraction, and ion exchange, and has the following advantages: (i) the extractant impregnation inside the resin particle reduces the extractant loss to the aqueous phase, (ii) no emulsion formation, and simplified phase separation, (iii) easy equipment handling and operation, (iv) straightforward interaction mechanism of the extractant molecules with the adsorbate molecules, and (v) selective separation of adsorbate by the extractant. In EIR, the extractant molecules are physically attached to the pores of the resin. These pores are filled with the extractant molecules and remain inside the pores of the resin particles because of their hydrophobicity.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alexandratos‘s method, as taught by Batra and Best, wherein there is one or more non-covalent bonds between the R-bodies and the N-constituents, because the electropositive complexing sites may be adsorbed, reacted or grafted on the resin (See Best, [Col.7, Lines 68]) and because the extractant impregnation inside the resin particle reduces the extractant loss to the aqueous phase, no emulsion formation, and simplified phase separation, easy equipment handling and operation, straightforward interaction mechanism of the extractant molecules with the adsorbate molecules, and (v) selective separation of adsorbate by the extractant (See Batra, Introduction, Page 233, right column, 2nd paragraph, Lines 7-18), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Maurer et al. (US 20210276893 A1) herein known as Maurer.
Regarding Claim 41, Alexandratos teaches all the limitations in claim 35 as set forth above.
However, modified Alexandratos is silent to the process of claim 35, wherein the plurality of M-bodies satisfies one or more of the following criteria:
a. A d50 for M-body diameter in the range from 10 μm up to 10 mm or in the range from 1 to 200 μm;
b. A d50 for pore size in the range from 1 nm to 104 nm; and
c. A moisture holding capacity in the range from 20 to 90 %, being the maximum content of water based on the total weight of the wet body.
Maurer is directed to a device and a method for the electrodeionization of a liquid [0001].
Maurer discloses wherein the plurality of M-bodies satisfies one or more of the following criteria: a. A d50 for M-body diameter in the range from 10 μm up to 10 mm or in the range from 1 to 200 μm; b. A d50 for pore size in the range from 1 nm to 104 nm; and c. A moisture holding capacity in the range from 20 to 90 %, being the maximum content of water based on the total weight of the wet body. ([0041],[Typical monodisperse ion exchange resins, for example, have a ball diameter of 0.65 mm]), which anticipate the claimed range of 10 μm up to 10 mm.
Maurer also discloses a filter unit in front of the opening of the treatment chamber, prevents the washing out of ion exchangers from the treatment chamber with the sample liquid. The pore size of the filter unit can, for example, be between 5% and 50% of the minimum diameter of the ion exchanger in order to reliably retain the ion exchanger [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alexandratos‘s method, as taught by Maurer, wherein the plurality of M-bodies satisfies the following criteria: a. A d50 for M-body diameter in the range from 10 μm up to 10 mm, in order for the pore size of the filter unit can, for example, be between 5% and 50% of the minimum diameter of the ion exchanger in order to reliably retain the ion exchanger (See Maurer, [0040]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Atnoor et al. (WO 9729048 A1) herein known as Atnoor.
Regarding Claim 48, Alexandratos teaches all the limitations in claim 35 as set forth above.
Modified Alexandratos discloses A) providing a precursor liquid comprising:
I) water,
II) one or more X-constituents, each X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X- constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide (see Zaggia, Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA, PFOS, PFBA and PFBS (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
However modified Alexandratos is silent to wherein a pre-treatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers.
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid,
the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid.
Atnoor is directed to a method and apparatus for purifying water and, more particularly, to a method and apparatus for purifying water such that it is substantially free of both organic and ionic contaminants. (page 3, Lines 1-4).
Atnoor discloses wherein a pre-treatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents (organic contaminants);
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers.
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid,
the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid (Abstract, [the method for purifying water includes providing a cartridge having an inlet and an outlet. The cartridge is filled with at least one layer of an activated carbon and at least one layer of a mixture of ion exchange resins. A water stream is fed into the cartridge through the inlet and through the separated layers of activated carbon and mixed ion exchange resins to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic and ionic contaminants]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alexandratos‘s method, as taught by Atnoor, wherein a pre-treatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers.
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid,
the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid, in order to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic contaminant (See Atnoor, Abstract), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaggia et al. (Use of strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants) herein known as Zaggia, in view of Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Atnoor et al. (WO 9729048 A1) herein known as Atnoor.
Regarding Claim 48, modified Zaggia teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Modified Zaggia discloses steps: A) providing a precursor liquid comprising:
I)water,
II) one or more X-constituents, each X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide (see Zaggia, Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA, PFOS, PFBA and PFBS (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
However modified Zaggia is silent to wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these
III) one or more B-constituents;
providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid.
Atnoor discloses wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these
III) one or more B-constituents; providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid (Abstract, [the method for purifying water includes providing a cartridge having an inlet and an outlet. The cartridge is filled with at least one layer of an activated carbon and at least one layer of a mixture of ion exchange resins. A water stream is fed into the cartridge through the inlet and through the separated layers of activated carbon and mixed ion exchange resins to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic and ionic contaminants]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Zaggia ‘s method, as taught by Atnoor, wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these
III) one or more B-constituents;
providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid, in order to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic contaminant (See Atnoor, Abstract), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, in view of Zaggia et al. (Use of strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants) herein known as Zaggia, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Atnoor et al. (WO 9729048 A1) herein known as Atnoor.
Regarding Claim 55, modified Alexandratos teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Modified Alexandratos discloses A) providing a precursor liquid comprising:
I) water,
II) one or more X-constituents, each X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide; (see Zaggia, Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA, PFOS, PFBA and PFBS (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
However modified Alexandratos is silent to wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid.
Atnoor is directed to a method and apparatus for purifying water and, more particularly, to a method and apparatus for purifying water such that it is substantially free of both organic and ionic contaminants. (page 3, Lines 1-4).
Atnoor discloses wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid (Abstract, [the method for purifying water includes providing a cartridge having an inlet and an outlet. The cartridge is filled with at least one layer of an activated carbon and at least one layer of a mixture of ion exchange resins. A water stream is fed into the cartridge through the inlet and through the separated layers of activated carbon and mixed ion exchange resins to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic and ionic contaminants]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alexandratos‘s method, as taught by Atnoor, wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid, in order to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic contaminant (See Atnoor, Abstract), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, in view of Zaggia et al. (Use of strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants) herein known as Zaggia, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Atnoor et al. (WO 9729048 A1) herein known as Atnoor.
Regarding Claim 55, modified Alexandratos teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Modified Alexandratos discloses A) providing a precursor liquid comprising:
I) water,
II) one or more X-constituents, each X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide; (see Zaggia, Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA, PFOS, PFBA and PFBS (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
However modified Alexandratos is silent to wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid.
Atnoor is directed to a method and apparatus for purifying water and, more particularly, to a method and apparatus for purifying water such that it is substantially free of both organic and ionic contaminants. (page 3, Lines 1-4).
Atnoor discloses wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid (Abstract, [the method for purifying water includes providing a cartridge having an inlet and an outlet. The cartridge is filled with at least one layer of an activated carbon and at least one layer of a mixture of ion exchange resins. A water stream is fed into the cartridge through the inlet and through the separated layers of activated carbon and mixed ion exchange resins to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic and ionic contaminants]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Alexandratos‘s method, as taught by Atnoor, wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid, in order to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic contaminant (See Atnoor, Abstract), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zaggia et al. (Use of strong anion exchange resins for the removal of perfluoroalkylated substances from contaminated drinking water in batch and continuous pilot plants) herein known as Zaggia, in view of Alexandratos et al. (US6059975A) herein known as Alexandratos, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Atnoor et al. (WO 9729048 A1) herein known as Atnoor.
Regarding Claim 55, modified Zaggia teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Modified Alexandratos discloses A) providing a precursor liquid comprising:
I) water,
II) one or more X-constituents, each X-constituent being a halogenated organic compound having 2 or more halogen atoms per molecular unit, or each X-constituent being a complex ion comprising at least one radionuclide; (see Zaggia, Abstract, [removal of traces of PFOA, PFOS, PFBA and PFBS (concentration of hundreds of ng
L
-
1
) from drinking water]).
However modified Zaggia is silent to wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid.
Atnoor is directed to a method and apparatus for purifying water and, more particularly, to a method and apparatus for purifying water such that it is substantially free of both organic and ionic contaminants. (page 3, Lines 1-4).
Atnoor discloses wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid (Abstract, [the method for purifying water includes providing a cartridge having an inlet and an outlet. The cartridge is filled with at least one layer of an activated carbon and at least one layer of a mixture of ion exchange resins. A water stream is fed into the cartridge through the inlet and through the separated layers of activated carbon and mixed ion exchange resins to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic and ionic contaminants]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zaggia ‘s method, as taught by Atnoor, wherein a pretreatment is conducted before step a., at least comprising these steps:
III) one or more B-constituents;
B) providing a plurality of solid A-bodies, each A-body being an element selected from the group selected from activated carbon; graphite; carbon molecular sieve, iron hydroxides and polymers,
C) contacting the precursor liquid with the plurality of A-bodies to obtain the source liquid, the source liquid having a lower amount of B-constituents than the precursor liquid, in order to produce a pure water stream substantially free of organic contaminant (See Atnoor, Abstract), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/
Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773