DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 3/25/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 13, and 15-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 3/25/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Foged in view of Pesach
Claims 1-6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foged et al.(USPubN 2022/0087519; hereinafter Foged) in view of Pesach et al.(USPubN 2020/0205942; hereinafter Pesach).
As per claim 1, Foged teaches an image processing apparatus comprising:
a tool detachably coupled to one end of a scanner body(“a scanning system 1 with a scanning device 2 configured with a manufacturer-detachable-scanning tip 43 mounted to the scanner body in such a way that during normal operation of the scanner” in Para.[0186], Fig. 15);
the scanner body having one end to which the tool is coupled(“a scanning system 1 with a scanning device 2 configured with a manufacturer-detachable-scanning tip 43 mounted to the scanner body in such a way that during normal operation of the scanner” in Para.[0186], Fig. 15); and
a control unit configured to control an operation of the scanner body in response to the tool(“The identification-number is forwarded to the controller 8 located on the externally connected computer 11 Based on the scanner-tip identification-number 17, the controller 8 instructs the processor 7 on the scanner device 2 to process a continuous sequence of 2D-images 15 recorded with an infrared-light illumination on the object.” In Para.[0121]).
Foged is silent about wherein the control unit is configured to determine a type of the tool attached to the scanner body, and when the tool is determined as a calibration tool, perform a calibration operation.
Pesach teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine a type of the tool attached to the scanner body, and when the tool is determined as a calibration tool, perform a calibration operation(“the attachment may include a calibration element. For example, a compound image may include two or more subfields and the calibration element. The image of the calibration element may be used to determine the position and/or orientation of the attachment with respect to the IOS.” in Para.[0155], “calibrating compound field of view attachments in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, calibration may facilitate precise calculation of the distance between points in different subfields of a compound field of view. In some embodiments, calibration is performed once or a few times (for example at the begging and/or end of a scan and/or periodically).” in Para.[0424], The attachment includes a calibration element can be interpreted as a calibration tool because it use to calibrate intraoral scanner and calibration is performed at least once if the attachment is attached to intraoral scanner.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
As per claim 2, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Foged teaches a scanning tool formed into a shape with one side open(“The scan head may be detached from the main body 2 and replaced with another scan head by a technical skilled person following a specific operational procedure.” In Para.[0186], The scanner body is opened for detachable scanning tips/heads.).
Foged is silent about wherein the tool comprises: the calibration tool formed into a shape with one side closed and configured to calibrate the scanner body.
Pesach teaches wherein the tool comprises: a calibration tool formed into a shape with one side closed and configured to calibrate the scanner body(Fig. 28, Para.[0424], [0425]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
As per claim 3, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Foged teaches wherein the scanner body comprises: an attachment/detachment detection sensor formed on at least a portion of the scanner body and configured to identify whether the tool is attached to or detached from an attachment/detachment surface which couples the tool to the scanner body(“The tip interface of the scanning device is configured with a service connector interface 46 and proximity sensors (for example hall sensors) 47 to enable detection of which sleeve type is used over the scanner when the scan head is mounted.” in Para.[0188]);
a projector configured to emit a predetermined output light toward the tool(“The PCB may also contain a multiplexer for individual IR led control. These IR LEDs 37 may be located in two arrays of 3 IR LEDs located on each side of the scan head 43” in Para.[0190]); and
at least one camera configured to receive reflection light generated by reflection of the output light and acquire at least one piece of image data from the reflection light(“wherein the optical element is configured for receiving the white light as back-reflected from the teeth, such that when the optical element receives the white light from teeth, the scanning-tip provides the white light to a first image sensor in the scanning device” in Para.[0038]).
As per claim 4, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Foged teaches wherein the projector is configured to, when attachment or detachment of the tool is identified by the attachment/detachment detection sensor, emit the output light(“an optical element located at the distal end of the scanning-tip with a reflective surface inside the scanning-tip such that when the optical element receives light from a white light source located in the scanning device, the scanning tip provides white light to the teeth, wherein the optical element is configured for receiving the white light as back-reflected from the teeth, such that when the optical element receives the white light from teeth, the scanning-tip provides the white light to a first image sensor in the scanning device” in Para.[0038]).
As per claim 5, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Foged is silent about wherein the control unit is configured to determine the type of the tool attached to the scanner body based on the image data acquired by the camera.
Pesach teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine the type of the tool attached to the scanner body based on the image data acquired by the camera(“the attachment may include a calibration element. For example, a compound image may include two or more subfields and the calibration element.” in Para.[0155], “The optical IOS elements (e.g., imaging microlens, image sensor, projection lens, structured light micro transparency, etc.) in this disclosure relate, in some embodiments, but not exclusively, to micro lens arrays such as, for example, wafer level optics (WLO) components or individual lenses camera/projector modules “ in Para.[0198], “calibration is performed once or a few times (for example at the begging and/or end of a scan and/or periodically). For example, a connection between the IOS and the attachment may be stable and/or the calibration substantially unchanging. Alternatively or additionally, calibration may be performed online (for example during scanning, constantly and/or at close intervals). For example, online calibration may facilitate accurate measurement in cases where the connection between the IOS and the attachment is unstable “ in Para.[0424], “calibration of an IOS scanner with an attachment in accordance with an embodiment of the current disclosure. Optionally, an attachment may include a calibration area. For example, the calibration area may be including in a FOV of an imager. For example, an image may cover one or more subfields and/or the calibration are. The calibration area may include, for example, a known calibration pattern (fringe like), known sizes, known orientations, a white surface onto which a pattern is projected, multiple small markers (for example small reflective balls)” in Para.[0426], The calibration can be performed when there is calibration element in the attachment and it will be determined based on the compound image.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
As per claim 6, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 5.
Foged is silent about wherein the control unit is configured to, when a shape of the image data is determined to represent a pattern plate of the calibration tool, determine the type of the tool as the calibration tool.
Pesach teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when a shape of the image data is determined to represent a pattern plate of the calibration tool, determine the type of the tool as the calibration tool (“the attachment may include a calibration element. For example, a compound image may include two or more subfields and the calibration element.” in Para.[0155], “The optical IOS elements (e.g., imaging microlens, image sensor, projection lens, structured light micro transparency, etc.) in this disclosure relate, in some embodiments, but not exclusively, to micro lens arrays such as, for example, wafer level optics (WLO) components or individual lenses camera/projector modules “ in Para.[0198], “calibration is performed once or a few times (for example at the begging and/or end of a scan and/or periodically). For example, a connection between the IOS and the attachment may be stable and/or the calibration substantially unchanging. Alternatively or additionally, calibration may be performed online (for example during scanning, constantly and/or at close intervals). For example, online calibration may facilitate accurate measurement in cases where the connection between the IOS and the attachment is unstable “ in Para.[0424], “calibration of an IOS scanner with an attachment in accordance with an embodiment of the current disclosure. Optionally, an attachment may include a calibration area. For example, the calibration area may be including in a FOV of an imager. For example, an image may cover one or more subfields and/or the calibration are. The calibration area may include, for example, a known calibration pattern (fringe like), known sizes, known orientations, a white surface onto which a pattern is projected, multiple small markers (for example small reflective balls)” in Para.[0426], The calibration can be performed when there is calibration element in the attachment and it will be determined based on the compound image includes calibration pattern.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
As per claim 13, Foged teaches an image processing method using an image processing apparatus, the method comprising:
a tool attachment operation in which a user attaches a predetermined tool to a scanner body(“a scanning system 1 with a scanning device 2 configured with a manufacturer-detachable-scanning tip 43 mounted to the scanner body in such a way that during normal operation of the scanner” in Para.[0186], Fig. 15);
a tool attachment/detachment identification operation in which a control unit determines attachment/detachment of the tool to/from the scanner body(“The tip interface of the scanning device is configured with a service connector interface 46 and proximity sensors (for example hall sensors) 47 to enable detection of which sleeve type is used over the scanner when the scan head is mounted.” in Para.[0188]);
a tool distinguishing operation in which the control unit distinguishes a type of the tool(“By having a scanner device that can replaceably mount the scanning-tip, the scanner device will be more versatile. Other types of scanning-tips may be employed, and he replaceable scanning-tip may be changed for each new patient, and/or be autoclaveable. This allows for a more hygienic scanning system” in Para.[0092]); and
a scanner control operation in which the control unit controls an operation of the scanner body in response to the type of the tool(“The identification-number is forwarded to the controller 8 located on the externally connected computer 11 Based on the scanner-tip identification-number 17, the controller 8 instructs the processor 7 on the scanner device 2 to process a continuous sequence of 2D-images 15 recorded with an infrared-light illumination on the object.” In Para.[0121]).
Foged is silent about wherein the controlling comprises: when the type of the tool distinguished as a calibration tool, performing, by the control unit, a calibration operation.
Pesach teaches wherein the controlling comprises: when the type of the tool distinguished as a calibration tool, performing, by the control unit, a calibration operation (“the attachment may include a calibration element. For example, a compound image may include two or more subfields and the calibration element. The image of the calibration element may be used to determine the position and/or orientation of the attachment with respect to the IOS.” in Para.[0155], “calibrating compound field of view attachments in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, calibration may facilitate precise calculation of the distance between points in different subfields of a compound field of view. In some embodiments, calibration is performed once or a few times (for example at the begging and/or end of a scan and/or periodically).” in Para.[0424], The attachment includes a calibration element can be interpreted as a calibration tool because it use to calibrate intraoral scanner and calibration is performed at least once if the attachment is attached to intraoral scanner.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
As per claim 14, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 13.
Foged teaches wherein in the tool attachment/detachment identification operation, the attachment/detachment of the tool is identified by an attachment/detachment detection sensor formed on an attachment/detachment surface which is formed on at least a portion of the scanner body and configured to couple the tool to the scanner body(“The tip interface of the scanning device is configured with a service connector interface 46 and proximity sensors (for example hall sensors) 47 to enable detection of which sleeve type is used over the scanner when the scan head is mounted.” in Para.[0188]).
Foged in view of Pesach and Saphier
Claims 9, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foged et al.(USPubN 2022/0087519; hereinafter Foged) in view of Pesach et al.(USPubN 2020/0205942; hereinafter Pesach) further in view of Saphier et al.(USPubN 2020/0404243; hereinafter Saphier).
As per claim 9, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Foged is silent about wherein the control unit is configured to, when the tool is determined as the calibration tool, automatically execute a calibration application to be displayed on a display unit.
Pesach teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when the tool is determined as the calibration tool, automatically execute a calibration application(“the attachment may include a calibration element. For example, a compound image may include two or more subfields and the calibration element. The image of the calibration element may be used to determine the position and/or orientation of the attachment with respect to the IOS.” in Para.[0155], “calibrating compound field of view attachments in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, calibration may facilitate precise calculation of the distance between points in different subfields of a compound field of view. In some embodiments, calibration is performed once or a few times (for example at the begging and/or end of a scan and/or periodically).” in Para.[0424], The attachment includes a calibration element can be interpreted as a calibration tool because it use to calibrate intraoral scanner and calibration is performed at least once if the attachment is attached to intraoral scanner.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
Saphier teaches wherein the control unit is configured to execute a calibration application to be displayed on a display unit(“automatic calibration or manual calibration may be scheduled for that future date/time. In an example, processing logic assesses a state of calibration through time (e.g., by comparing states of calibration at multiple different points in time), and from such a comparison determines a rate of drift. From the rate of drift, the processing logic can predict when calibration should be performed based on the trend data.” in Para.[0028], “Processing logic then outputs an indication associated with the assessed calibration. The indication may be output to a display and/or to a user.” In Para.[0603]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged and Pesach with the above teachings of Saphier in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 10, Foged, Pesach and Saphier teach all of limitation of claim 9.
Foged and Pesach are silent about wherein the control unit is configured to, when the tool is determined as a manual calibration tool among the calibration tool, control a guide message to be output on the display unit to guide a user to operate the manual calibration tool.
Saphier teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when the tool is determined as a manual calibration tool among the calibration tool, control a guide message to be output on the display unit to guide a user to operate the manual calibration tool(“automatic calibration or manual calibration may be scheduled for that future date/time. In an example, processing logic assesses a state of calibration through time (e.g., by comparing states of calibration at multiple different points in time), and from such a comparison determines a rate of drift. From the rate of drift, the processing logic can predict when calibration should be performed based on the trend data.” in Para.[0028], “Processing logic then outputs an indication associated with the assessed calibration. The indication may be output to a display and/or to a user.” In Para.[0603]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged and Pesach with the above teachings of Saphier in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 18, Foged and Pesach teaches all of limitation of claim 13.
Foged is silent about wherein the performing comprises: a calibration application execution operation in which the control unit is configured to, when the control unit determines the tool as a calibration tool, automatically execute a calibration application to be displayed on a display unit.
Pesach teaches wherein the performing comprises: a calibration application execution operation in which the control unit is configured to, when the control unit determines the tool as a calibration tool, automatically execute a calibration application (“the attachment may include a calibration element. For example, a compound image may include two or more subfields and the calibration element. The image of the calibration element may be used to determine the position and/or orientation of the attachment with respect to the IOS.” in Para.[0155], “calibrating compound field of view attachments in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, calibration may facilitate precise calculation of the distance between points in different subfields of a compound field of view. In some embodiments, calibration is performed once or a few times (for example at the begging and/or end of a scan and/or periodically).” in Para.[0424], The attachment includes a calibration element can be interpreted as a calibration tool because it use to calibrate intraoral scanner and calibration is performed at least once if the attachment is attached to intraoral scanner.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged with the above teachings of Pesach in order to improve potential performance.
Saphier teaches wherein the control unit is configured to execute a calibration application to be displayed on a display unit(“automatic calibration or manual calibration may be scheduled for that future date/time. In an example, processing logic assesses a state of calibration through time (e.g., by comparing states of calibration at multiple different points in time), and from such a comparison determines a rate of drift. From the rate of drift, the processing logic can predict when calibration should be performed based on the trend data.” in Para.[0028], “Processing logic then outputs an indication associated with the assessed calibration. The indication may be output to a display and/or to a user.” In Para.[0603]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged and Pesach with the above teachings of Saphier in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 19, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 13.
Foged and Pesach are silent about wherein the performing comprises: when the type of the tool distinguished as a manual calibration tool among the calibration tool, controlling, by the control unit, a guide message to be output on a display unit to guide the user to operate the manual calibration tool.
Saphier teaches wherein the performing comprises: when the type of the tool distinguished as a manual calibration tool among the calibration tool, controlling, by the control unit, a guide message to be output on a display unit to guide the user to operate the manual calibration tool (“automatic calibration or manual calibration may be scheduled for that future date/time. In an example, processing logic assesses a state of calibration through time (e.g., by comparing states of calibration at multiple different points in time), and from such a comparison determines a rate of drift. From the rate of drift, the processing logic can predict when calibration should be performed based on the trend data.” in Para.[0028], “Processing logic then outputs an indication associated with the assessed calibration. The indication may be output to a display and/or to a user.” In Para.[0603]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged and Pesach with the above teachings of Saphier in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 20, Foged and Pesach teach all of limitation of claim 13.
Foged and Pesach are silent about wherein the control unit is configured to, when the control unit distinguishes a type of the tool as an auto-calibration tool among the calibration tool, control at least one selected from the group of the scanner body and the auto-calibration tool so that a calibration operation is automatically performed in the scanner control operation.
Saphier teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when the control unit distinguishes a type of the tool as an auto-calibration tool among the calibration tool, control at least one selected from the group of the scanner body and the auto-calibration tool so that a calibration operation is automatically performed in the scanner control operation (“automatic calibration or manual calibration may be scheduled for that future date/time. In an example, processing logic assesses a state of calibration through time (e.g., by comparing states of calibration at multiple different points in time), and from such a comparison determines a rate of drift. From the rate of drift, the processing logic can predict when calibration should be performed based on the trend data.” in Para.[0028], “Processing logic then outputs an indication associated with the assessed calibration. The indication may be output to a display and/or to a user.” In Para.[0603]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Foged and Pesach with the above teachings of Saphier in order to improve user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 11, 12 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484