Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on June 11, 2026. Claims 50, 51, 55, and 56 are amended. Claims 53, 54, 58 and 59 have been canceled. Claims 60 and 61 are newly added.
Claims 50-52, 55-57, 60 and 61 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to claims 50-59 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-52, 55-57, 60 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2023/0126864 A1) in view of Lai et al. (US 2023/0050524 A1).
4. Regarding claim 50, Lei teaches a method performed by a first terminal device communicating with a second terminal device via a sidelink channel (Fig. 3 and 6 UE 310a and 310b communicating; receiving sidelink control information and transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback), the method comprises:
receiving, from the second terminal device, a first sidelink transmission within a first resource block set (Paragraph [0113] UE receives sidelink control information on an interlace on a carrier; SCI schedules data transmission on the carrier);
determining a plurality of first resources for transmitting feedback
information in response to the first sidelink transmission, and the common resource being determined based on first information received from a network (Paragraphs [0033], [0034], [0051], [0113] and [0114] common resource block; interlaced resource block; RBs in frequency domain).
Lei does not explicitly disclose the plurality of first resources being within the first resource block set, the plurality of first resources comprising a common resource
and at least one dedicated resource, and the common resource being in a first interlace
and the at least one dedicated resource being in a second interlace and transmitting the feedback information on the common resource in the first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource in the second interlace.
Lai teaches the plurality of first resources being within the first resource block set, the plurality of first resources comprising a common resource
and at least one dedicated resource, and the common resource being in a first interlace
and the at least one dedicated resource being in a second interlace and transmitting the feedback information on the common resource in the first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource in the second interlace (Paragraph [0149] to [0155] transmits hARQ-ACK, SR, and CSI reports/feedback over both the first and second interlaces).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of first resources being within the first resource block set, the plurality of first resources comprising a common resourceand at least one dedicated resource, and the common resource being in a first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource being in a second interlace and transmitting the feedback information on the common resource in the first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource in the second interlace as taught by Lai in the system of Lei for logical channel based prioritization see abstract of Lai.
5. Regarding claim 55, Lei teaches a first terminal device communicating with a secondterminal device via a sidelink channel (Fig. 3 and 6, UE 310a and 310b communicating; receiving sidelink control information and transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback), the first terminal device comprises:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors configured to process the instructions to control the first terminal device to:
receive, from the second terminal device, a first sidelink transmission within a first resource block set (Paragraph [0113] UE receives sidelink control information on an interlace on a carrier; SCI schedules data transmission on the carrier);
determine a plurality of first resources for transmitting feedback
information in response to the first sidelink transmission, and the common resource being determined based on first information received from a network (Paragraphs [0033], [0034], [0051], [0113] and [0114] common resource block; interlaced resource block; RBs in frequency domain).
Lei does not explicitly disclose the plurality of first resources being within the first resource block set, the plurality of first resources comprising a common resource
and at least one dedicated resource, and the common resource being in a first interlace
and the at least one dedicated resource being in a second interlace and transmit the feedback information on the common resource in the first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource in the second interlace.
Lai teaches the plurality of first resources being within the first resource block set, the plurality of first resources comprising a common resource
and at least one dedicated resource, and the common resource being in a first interlace
and the at least one dedicated resource being in a second interlace and transmit the feedback information on the common resource in the first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource in the second interlace (Paragraph [0149] to [0155] transmits hARQ-ACK, SR, and CSI reports/feedback over both the first and second interlaces).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of first resources being within the first resource block set, the plurality of first resources comprising a common resource and at least one dedicated resource, and the common resource being in a first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource being in a second interlace and transmit the feedback information on the common resource in the first interlace and the at least one dedicated resource in the second interlace as taught by Lai in the system of Lei for logical channel based prioritization see abstract of Lai.
6. Regarding claims 51 and 56, Lei in view of Lai teaches wherein
the first resource block set comprises a plurality of sets of interlaced resource blocks in frequency domain, and the common resource corresponds to one set of the plurality of sets of interlaced resource blocks (Lei, Paragraphs [0033], [0034], [0113], and [0114] common resource block; interlaced resource block; RBs in frequency domain).
7. Regarding claims 52 and 57, Lei in view of Lai teaches wherein
the sidelink transmission is an interlace-based sidelink transmission (Fig. 6 Paragraphs [0113] and [0114] SCI; interlace includes evenly spaced resource blocks in frequency domain).
8. Regarding claims 60 and 61, Lei in view of Lai teaches wherein the common resource is to meet occupied channel bandwidth (OCB) requirements (Lei, Paragraph [0055] interlace based; meet regulatory requirements of OCB).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466