Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 20, it’s unclear what Applicant means by “a constant mean circumferential position.” In this Office action, “a constant mean circumferential position” is interpreted as uniform distribution of the loops of the cooling channel in the axial direction around the stator.
Claims 22-23 are rejected because they depend on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-13, 15-17, 19-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oestreich, M., (US 20080303359 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Oestreich discloses a cooling body (cooling jacket, see the title: “Electrical Machine Having A Cooling Jacket”, see also figs. 1-4) configured to abut against an outer surface to be cooled of a stator housing (implied), comprising:
a circumferential wall (wall, annotated figs. 3 and 4), wherein
a cut-out circumferential region is cut out from the circumferential wall along at least a part of a longitudinal extent thereof as a cutout (see the remaining half circles in fig. 3) such that
wall edges (edges, annotated figs. 3 and 4) formed as a result are configured to be brought into abutment against the outer surface of the stator housing (see annotated figs. 3 and 4; see also para [0014] and [0015]: “[0014] The helix is adhesively bonded to the motor jacket and/or to the outer jacket. This at the same time results in sealing, with the result that forward flow and in particular return flow of the coolant in predetermined channels is provided. [0015] In a further embodiment, the helix can also be welded to the motor jacket.”).
Regarding claim 13, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein the circumferential wall is in a form of a flexible fabric and/or plastic tube (para [0012]: “However, the helix may also comprise a nonmetallic material such as plastic, for example.”).
Regarding claim 15, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein the wall edges form contact surfaces which are configured to be adhesively bonded and/or fused in a cooling-fluid-tight manner to the outer surface of the stator housing (see para [0014] and [0015] cited regarding claim 12).
Regarding claim 16, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein the cut-out circumferential region makes up a proportion of between 25% and 60% of an entire circumference (implied; in fig. 3, 50% of the circle is removed and another 50% is left).
Regarding claim 17, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 16, wherein the cut-out circumferential region makes up a proportion of between 30% and 40% of the entire circumference (see fig. 4, the cut-out portion is 1/3 of the triangle amounting to about 33%. In general, the amount of cut-out is a result effective variable that can be optimized by a person having ordinary skills in the art).
Regarding claim 19, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein, away from the cut-out circumferential region, a line cross section of the cooling body is part-ellipsoid form, circular-segment-shaped form (see fig. 3), prismatic form (see fig. 4), or rectangular form.
Regarding claim 20, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein the cutout has a constant mean circumferential position along the longitudinal extent of the cutout (the channels are uniformly distributed along the longitudinal axis of the stator; see figs. 3, 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 22, Oestreich discloses the stator-housing arrangement according to claim 20,
wherein an entry interface (inlet, annotated fig. 6) and an exit interface (outlet, annotated fig. 6) for the cooling fluid are arranged on opposite ends of the cooling body (see fig. 6; at the location marked as outlet, the cooling fluid exits the inner channels and is redirected in the reverse direction to flow within the outer channels).
Regarding claim 23, Oestreich discloses the stator-housing arrangement according to claim 20, wherein a conductor of the cooling fluid outside the cooling body is formed away from other constituent parts of the stator housing (see outside wall 1 in figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 24, Oestreich as discussed regarding claim 12, discloses a method for assembling a stator-house arrangement, comprising:
winding a cooling body and/or pushing on the cooling body in a spread manner around an outer surface of a stator-shell receptacle (hollow helix, see abstract), wherein
the cooling body includes a circumferential wall (wall, annotated figs. 3 and 4), wherein a cut-out circumferential region is cut out from the circumferential wall along at least a part of a longitudinal extent thereof as a cutout (see half circles in fig. 3) such that
wall edges (edges, annotated figs. 3 and 4) formed as a result are configured to be brought into abutment against the outer surface of the stator housing; and adhesively bonding and/or fusing the cooling body to the outer surface (see fig. 3; see also para [0014] and [0015]: “[0014] The helix is adhesively bonded to the motor jacket and/or to the outer jacket. This at the same time results in sealing, with the result that forward flow and in particular return flow of the coolant in predetermined channels is provided. [0015] In a further embodiment, the helix can also be welded to the motor jacket.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oestreich, M., (US 20080303359 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein the circumferential wall is formed by a deep-drawn sheet-metal construction (implied; see para [0011]: “The helix is made from a comparatively highly thermally conductive material, in particular from a metallic material such as copper or aluminum, for example.”; note: in a product claim, the method by which a part is made has no patentable weight; see MPEP 2113 (I)).
Regarding claim 18, Oestreich discloses the cooling body according to claim 12, wherein a pliability of the circumferential wall is configured to allow the cooling body to be wound multiple times around the outer surface of the stator housing (implied due to forming spiral around the stator and the cooling body being made of plastic), wherein the outer surface is in the form of a cylinder shell (implied).
Regarding claim 21, Oestreich discloses a stator-housing arrangement for an electric drive machine (intended application has no impact on the scope of the cooling body), comprising:
a stator housing with a stator-shell receptacle (implied, a hollow helix is the cooling jacket), said stator-shell receptacle having a cylinder inner shell to accommodate a stator outer shell, and having an outer surface which is in the form of a cylinder shell (implied); and
at least one cooling body according to claim 12 that is arranged on the outer surface of the stator housing and is connected thereto at the wall edges (see fig. 1).
Conclusion
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834