DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2023/0178847 A1), hereinafter “Lim.”
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a battery module part comprising:
a body made of a synthetic resin, in this case the first and second resin filter layers (¶ [0056], Figs. 6, ref. nos. 32a & 32b); and
a mesh made of a metal and embedded in the body (¶ [0014], [0044], [0056], & [0066] Fig. 6, ref. no. 33);
wherein the body has a lower melting point than the mesh, in this case the resin filter layer is made of fluororesin, polyurethane resin, or epoxy resin (¶ [0016]), which would possess a lower melting point than the metal mesh that is made of stainless steel (¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Lim further discloses that:
the mesh is embedded in the body part by injection molding (¶ [0044]); and
at least a portion of the mesh is exposed on an inner surface of the body, in this case the edge regions are exposed (¶ [0056], Fig. 6, ref. no. 33d).
Regarding claim 3, Lim further discloses that the body forms an end plate of the battery module frame, in this case the filter is a part of the hole cover assembly (¶ [0031], Figs. 1-3, ref. no. 30) which is a port of the bottom plate (¶ [0035]), Figs. 1-3, ref. no. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Lim further discloses that an outer surface of the body includes a vulnerable portion with a lower heat resistance than a surrounding portion on the outer surface of the body, in this case the second filter layer is located below the mesh (¶ [0055]-[0056]) and is surrounded by and would have a lower heat resistance than the metal edge region (¶ [0056], Fig. 6, ref. no. 33d).
Regarding claim 6, Lim further discloses that the mesh is made of stainless steel (¶ [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Lim further discloses that the mesh is embedded in the body part by injection molding (¶ [0044]) and the mesh is not exposed to an outside of the body (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Lim further discloses that an inner surface of the body includes at least one vulnerable portion with a lower heat resistance than a surrounding portion of the inner surface of the body, in this case the first filter layer would have a lower heat resistance than the surrounding metal edge region (Fig. 6, ref. nos. 32a & 33d).
Regarding claim 9, Lim further discloses that a portion of an outer surface of the body includes a second vulnerable portion with lower heat resistance than a surrounding portion of the outer surface of the body, in this case the second filter layer would have a lower heat resistance than the surrounding metal edge region (Fig. 6, ref. nos. 32a & 33d).
Regarding claim 12, Lim further discloses that the second vulnerable portion includes a filter with denser dimensions than the mesh, in this case the second filter layer (¶ [0055], Fig. 6, ref. no. 32a) would be more densely packed than the mesh (¶ [0055], Fig. 6, ref. no. 33) due to the empty spaces in the mesh.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claims 4 and 9, above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0147605 A1), hereinafter “Kim.”
Regarding claim 5, Lim does not disclose that the resin material is formed to be thinner than the outer surface of the body. However, Kim teaches forming a vent portion to be thinner than other portions in order to enable fracturing when battery internal pressure exceeds a desired limit (see ¶ [0038]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that such a thinner portion would have allowed battery pressure to be relieved when it reached unsafe levels (see ¶ [0038]), thereby facilitating improved battery safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have made the resin material thinner than the body outer surface in order to have facilitated improved battery safety.
Regarding claim 10, Lim does not disclose that the resin material is formed to be thinner than the outer surface of the body. However, Kim teaches forming a vent portion to be thinner than other portions in order to enable fracturing when battery internal pressure exceeds a desired limit (see ¶ [0038]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that such a thinner portion would have allowed battery pressure to be relieved when it reached unsafe levels (see ¶ [0038]), thereby facilitating improved battery safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have made the resin material thinner than the body outer surface in order to have facilitated improved battery safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim is 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: no prior art reference could be found that fairly teaches or suggests a vulnerable portion provided as a plurality of first vulnerable portions equidistant from a second vulnerable portion as recited in claim 11.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J. CHMIELECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729