DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 08/03/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 08/03/2026 has been entered.
Claims 27-46 are pending
Claims 27, 29, 32-33, 36, 38-40, 42-44 and 46 are amended
Claims 1-26 are canceled
Claims 27-46 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 27 (and similarly, claim 33) recites the limitation "…the first indication information indicates that the data frame is allowed to be sent in the discovery window and is broadcast by the second electronic device in the discovery window and is received by the first electronic device in the discovery window." However, it is unclear if it is the “first indication information” or the “data frame” that is being “broadcast by the second electronic device” and “received by the first electronic device”. As written, the above cited limitation appears to state that, “…the data frame is allowed … and is broadcast … and is received…”, while Para. [00192] of the instant specification recites, “…the second electronic device broadcasts the first indication information in a discovery window. Correspondingly, the first electronic device receives the first indication information in the discovery window.” Hence, for examination purposes the referenced limitation, "…the first indication information indicates that the data frame is allowed to be sent in the discovery window and is broadcast by the second electronic device in the discovery window and is received by the first electronic device in the discovery window" in claim 27 and as similarly recited in claim 33) has been construed to mean that the indication information and the data frame are broadcasted and received. The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Dependent claims 28-32 and 34-38 not addressed above are rejected under the same rational as the parent claims 27 and 33 respectively due to a failure to resolve the deficiencies of the parent claim discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-42 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20190075609 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu.
Regarding claims 27 and 33, Liu teaches a data transmission method for a first electronic device when connected to a first cluster of a first network (Fig. 2, Para. [0084]-Liu discloses AP 112 may include processor(s) 204 which may execute program instructions for the AP 112. The processor(s) 204 may also be coupled (directly or indirectly) to memory management unit (MMU) 240. Para. [0010]-Liu discloses peer wireless station are associated with a data cluster. Fig. 1, Para. [0082]-Liu discloses the peer wireless device and the wireless device 106 may have an active peer-to-peer data session and may be associated with a first cluster of devices. See also Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]), the method comprising:
determining that a to-be-sent data frame exists in a discovery window (Para. [0010]-Liu discloses wireless station may be configured to determine that the wireless station has one or more pending data frames to transmit for the paged data link. Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) {paged NAN data link} may include a discovery window (DW) 525. Para. [0101]-Liu discloses a wireless station may negotiate a common discovery window for exchange of synchronization packets to help ensure the devices that are communicating directly with each other are properly synchronized to enable the communication. Once two wireless stations have the same discovery window they may exchange synchronization packets to stay synchronized with each other);
receiving first indication information from a second electronic device that is a master device (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735)),
the first indication information indicates that the data frame is allowed to be sent in the discovery window (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted). Fig. 5, Para. [0104]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW) and is
broadcast by the second electronic device in the discovery window (Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device) and is
received by the first electronic device in the discovery window (Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device); and
sending the data frame in the discovery window based on the first indication information (Para. [0101]-Liu discloses the wireless stations may also use the discovery window to exchange service discovery frames to convey other information. Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device. Para. [0101]-Liu discloses a wireless station may negotiate a common discovery window for exchange of synchronization packets to help ensure the devices that are communicating directly with each other are properly synchronized to enable the communication. Once two wireless stations have the same discovery window they may exchange synchronization packets to stay synchronized with each other).
Regarding claims 28 and 34, Liu teaches the method according to claim 27 and The device according to claim 33 respectively,
Liu further teaches the determining that a to-be-sent data frame exists in a discovery window comprises detecting that a to-be-sent data frame already exists in a time period corresponding to the discovery window or detecting that a to-be-sent data frame newly arrives in a time period corresponding to the discovery window (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses if the device does not receive a page message from the peer device during a PW and the device does not have any pending (buffered) transmission (e.g., one or more pending data frames) for the peer device. (See also Para. [0010 and 0101])).
Regarding claims 29 and 35, Liu teaches the method according to claim 27 and The device according to claim 33 respectively,
Liu further teaches receiving a first instruction indicating to enable a first function improving data transmission performance (Fig. 9B, Para. [0115]-Liu discloses when the device requests, to the peer device, a switch from a synchronized data link to a paged data link, the peer device may accept the switch, reject the switch, or reject the switch and terminate the data link {Corresponding to the peer device receives a request to switch to page data link, the page data link improves performance in certain conditions}).
Regarding claims 30 and 36, Liu teaches the method according to claim 27 and The device according to claim 33 respectively,
Liu further teaches detecting that a preset scenario exists and enabling a first function, wherein the first function is a function of improving data transmission performance (Fig. 9B, Para. [0115]-Liu discloses a device pair may switch to a paged data link when the device pair has bursty (e.g., intermittent, infrequent, or low levels) and/or unpredictable traffic flow and thus wants to enable paging and triggering for more power efficient operation. {Corresponding to Paged data link is enabled based upon application traffic conditions}), and
the preset scenario comprises one or a combination of the following scenarios : the first electronic device starts a preset application, and the to-be-sent data frame is a data frame of the preset application; and the first electronic device enables a preset function of the preset application (Fig. 9B, Para. [0115]-Liu discloses a peer device may establish a synchronized data link with a peer device and, at 924, the device may determine to switch the synchronized data link to a paged data link. The switch, in some embodiments, may be based (at least in part) on application traffic conditions. For example, a device pair may switch to a paged data link when the device pair has bursty (e.g., intermittent, infrequent, or low levels) and/or unpredictable traffic flow and thus wants to enable paging and triggering for more power efficient operation), and
the to- be-sent data frame is a data frame of the preset function (Fig. 6, Para. [0105]-Liu discloses a device may schedule multiple peers in common paged NDL CRBs and may then transmit a broadcast page message 611 during a shared PW and include a traffic indication map (TIM) in the broadcast page message to indicate which peers are paged (and which are not) and then transmit data (e.g., 620, 630, 640) responsive to trigger frames (e.g., 622, 632, 642) received from peer devices. Fig. 9B, Para. [0115]-Liu discloses a peer device may establish a synchronized data link with a peer device and, at 924, the device may determine to switch the synchronized data link to a paged data link. The switch, in some embodiments, may be based (at least in part) on application traffic conditions. For example, a device pair may switch to a paged data link when the device pair has bursty (e.g., intermittent, infrequent, or low levels) and/or unpredictable traffic flow and thus wants to enable paging and triggering for more power efficient operation).
Regarding claims 31 and 37, Liu teaches the method according to claim 30 and The device according to claim 36 respectively,
Liu further teaches receiving a second instruction to set the preset application (Fig. 4A, Para. [0096]-Liu discloses synchronization/discovery beacon frame format (e.g., as specified by NAN 2.0) may include fields such as a frame control (FC) filed, a duration field, multiple address fields (e.g., A1-A3), a sequence control field, a time stamp field, a beacon interval field, a capability information field, a NAN information element (IE) field, and/or a frame checksum (FCS) field {all corresponding to control field for indicating/instructing the applications/functions in the electronic devices within the network clusters}. The frame control field, duration field, sequence control field, time stamp field, beacon interval field, capability field, and FCS field may be defined by IEEE 802.11. Note that for synchronization beacons, the beacon interval field may be set to 512 TUs {Corresponding to one of the preset conditions disclosed in Liu et al. (US 20190075609 A1)}, which may correspond to a time interval between consecutive starts of discovery windows. In addition, for discovery beacons, the beacon interval field may be set to 100 TUs, which may correspond to an average time between consecutive discovery beacon transmissions by a device in a master role. (See also Para. [0105])).
Regarding claims 32 and 38, Liu teaches the method according to claim 27 and The device according to claim 33 respectively,
Liu further teaches the data frame sent by the first electronic device in the discovery window meets any one or more of the following conditions: a data amount is less than a seventh threshold, a sending rate is less than an eighth threshold, or a quantity of times of sending is less than a ninth threshold (Para. [0105]-Liu discloses in some implementations, if a paged NDL CRB is longer than 196 TUs {Time Units}, the CRB may be fragment into two or more shorter paged NDL CRBs and each fragmented CRB, except for the last one, may have a duration of 128 TU, while the last fragmented CRB may have a duration of up to 192 TUs. Para. [0107]-Liu discloses all paged NDL pairs with pending (buffered) data frames {which is associated with data amount} may need to transmit page messages (e.g., 621a-621e) at the start of the NDC CRB, however, the default NDC CRB {Common Resource Block} size is one NAN slot (e.g., 16 TU) so the corresponding PW {Paging Window} is 1.6 TU {Corresponding to a threshold data frame size}, which may not accommodate all of the page messages {which is associated with data amount} for the NDC. Hence, some devices may start to transmit trigger frames after the 1.6 TU PW (e.g., after paging window 537 and/or during transmission window 539), which may contend for medium access with page messages not transmitted in the PW).
Regarding claim 39, Liu teaches a master electronic device connectable to a network in which a first cluster of a first network is located, the master electronic device (Para. [0010]-Liu discloses a wireless station may be configured to establish, with a peer wireless station, a peer-to-peer data communication session (e.g., a paged data link), where the wireless station and the peer wireless station are associated with a data cluster. Fig. 1, Para. [0082]-Liu discloses the peer wireless device and the wireless device 106 may have an active peer-to-peer data session and may be associated with a first cluster of devices. The wireless device 106 may be configured to notify the peer wireless device of a merge to a second cluster of devices ... for at least a first time period, discovery beacons to the peer wireless device in one or more data cluster management windows. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Fig. 2, Para. [0084]-Liu discloses AP 112 may include processor(s) 204 which may execute program instructions for the AP 112. The processor(s) 204 may also be coupled (directly or indirectly) to memory management unit (MMU) 240, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 204 and to translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 260 and read only memory (ROM) 250) or to other circuits or devices) comprising:
a processor configured to determine first indication information (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted). Fig. 5, Para. [0104]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW); and
a transceiver configured to send the first indication information to a first electronic device (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735)),
the first indication information indicates that the first electronic device is allowed to send a data frame in a discovery window (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted). Fig. 5, Para. [0104]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW), and
the transceiver is configured to broadcast the first indication information in the discovery window (Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device),
the master electronic device is configured to join the first cluster (Para. [0010]-Liu discloses a wireless station may be configured to establish, with a peer wireless station, a peer-to-peer data communication session (e.g., a paged data link), where the wireless station and the peer wireless station are associated with a data cluster. Fig. 1, Para. [0082]-Liu discloses the peer wireless device and the wireless device 106 may have an active peer-to-peer data session and may be associated with a first cluster of devices. The wireless device 106 may be configured to notify the peer wireless device of a merge to a second cluster of devices ... for at least a first time period, discovery beacons to the peer wireless device in one or more data cluster management windows. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Fig. 2, Para. [0084]-Liu discloses AP 112 may include processor(s) 204 which may execute program instructions for the AP 112. The processor(s) 204 may also be coupled (directly or indirectly) to memory management unit (MMU) 240, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 204 and to translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 260 and read only memory (ROM) 250) or to other circuits or devices).
Regarding claim 40, Liu teaches the device according to claim 39,
Liu further teaches determination by the processor of the first indication information comprises determining when a first condition has been met for allowing the first electronic device to send the data frame in the discovery window (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger {Corresponding to meeting the condition for transmitting data frame} from the device. Para. [0010]-Liu discloses wireless station may be configured to determine that the wireless station has one or more pending data frames to transmit for the paged data link and transmit, outside of a scheduled paging window associated with the paged data link, a beacon to the peer wireless station ..., the beacon may include a paging attribute indicating the pending data frames. Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device may transmit paging beacons with a higher medium access priority {Corresponding to a condition for transmitting data frame} than other frames. Para. [0119]-Liu discloses the beacon may be transmitted with a higher medium access priority than other frames transmitting during the scheduled periodic CRBs. Fig. 9B, Para. [0115]-Liu discloses a peer device may establish a synchronized data link with a peer device and, at 924, the device may determine to switch the synchronized data link to a paged data link. The switch, in some embodiments, may be based (at least in part) on application traffic conditions {Corresponding to a condition for transmitting data frame}. For example, a device pair may switch to a paged data link when the device pair has bursty (e.g., intermittent, infrequent, or low levels) and/or unpredictable traffic flow {Corresponding to conditions for transmitting data frame} and thus wants to enable paging and triggering for more power efficient operation.).
Regarding claim 41, Liu teaches the device according to claim 40,
Liu further teaches the first condition comprises any one or more of the following: a channel busy ratio of the first network is less than a first threshold, a packet loss rate of the first electronic device is less than a second threshold, a retransmission rate of the first electronic device is less than a third threshold, a quantity of devices in the first cluster is less than a fifth threshold, a service priority of the first electronic device is greater than a fourth threshold, or a received signal strength indicator RSSI of the first electronic device is greater than a sixth threshold (Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device may transmit paging beacons with a higher medium access priority {Corresponding to a threshold condition} than other frames. Para. [0119]-Liu discloses the beacon may be transmitted with a higher medium access priority than other frames transmitting during the scheduled periodic CRBs. Para. [0065]-Liu discloses wireless communication network or RAT that is serviced by WLAN access points and which provides connectivity through these access points to the Internet. Para. [0072]-Liu discloses wireless communication network or RAT that is serviced {Corresponding to connectivity as a service} by wireless LAN (WLAN) access points and which provides connectivity {Corresponding to connectivity as a service} through these access points to the Internet).
Regarding claim 42, Liu teaches the device according to claim 39,
Liu further teaches the transceiver is further configured to receive a period notification frame from the first electronic device in the discovery window (Fig. 4A, Para. [0095-0096]-Liu discloses Wi-Fi devices (e.g., client station 106) may be able to communicate with each other in a peer to peer manner, e.g., without the communications going through an intervening access point. In some embodiments, devices may exchange one or more management frames, e.g., such as synchronization/discovery beacon frames, service discovery frames (SDFs), and/or action frames, in order to synchronize, advertise, solicit, and/or negotiate a peer-to-peer data session, such as a NAN datapath and/or a NAN datalink. In some embodiments, particular management frame formats (e.g., synchronization/discovery beacon frame formats, SDF formats, and/or action frame formats) may be implemented to transport information ... synchronization/discovery beacon frame format (e.g., as specified by NAN 2.0) may include fields such as ... cluster identifier address (A3)),
the period notification frame indicating the first cluster to which the first electronic device belongs (Fig. 4A, Para. [0095-0096]-Liu discloses Wi-Fi devices (e.g., client station 106) may be able to communicate with each other in a peer to peer manner, e.g., without the communications going through an intervening access point. In some embodiments, devices may exchange one or more management frames, e.g., such as synchronization/discovery beacon frames, service discovery frames (SDFs), and/or action frames, in order to synchronize, advertise, solicit, and/or negotiate a peer-to-peer data session, such as a NAN datapath and/or a NAN datalink. In some embodiments, particular management frame formats (e.g., synchronization/discovery beacon frame formats, SDF formats, and/or action frame formats) may be implemented to transport information ... synchronization/discovery beacon frame format (e.g., as specified by NAN 2.0) may include fields such as ... cluster identifier address (A3).{Corresponding to indication for the cluster to which the electronic device belongs}).
Regarding claim 45, Liu teaches the device according to claim 39,
Liu further teaches the transceiver is further configured to send a beacon frame to the first electronic device in the discovery window (Para. [0082]-Liu discloses wireless device 106 may be configured to perform methods to transmit, while operating in a first state, synchronization beacons to a peer wireless device within one or more discovery windows. Fig. 4A, Para. [0096]-Liu discloses synchronization/discovery beacon frame format (e.g., as specified by NAN 2.0) may include fields such as a frame control (FC) filed, a duration field, multiple address fields (e.g., A1-A3) … for synchronization beacons, the beacon interval field may be set to 512 TUs, which may correspond to a time interval between consecutive starts of discovery windows ... Addresses may include a broadcast address (A1), a transmitter medium access control (MAC) address (A2), and a cluster identifier address (A3). (See also Para. [0096])).
Regarding claim 46, Liu teaches the device according to claim 45,
Liu further teaches the beacon frame carries a master device election attribute that includes an identifier of the first cluster (Fig. 4A, Para. [0096]-Liu discloses synchronization/discovery beacon frame format (e.g., as specified by NAN 2.0) may include fields {indicating master device electronic attributes} such as a frame control (FC) filed, a duration field, multiple address fields (e.g., A1-A3) … for synchronization beacons, the beacon interval field may be set to 512 TUs, which may correspond to a time interval between consecutive starts of discovery windows ... Addresses may include a broadcast address (A1), a transmitter medium access control (MAC) address (A2), and a cluster identifier address {Corresponding to identifier of the cluster} (A3). Fig. 4C, Para. [0098]-Liu discloses the NAN attribute field (e.g., as specified by NAN 2.0) includes multiple fields. Para. [0119]-Liu discloses beacon may include a paging attribute indicating the pending data frames).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20190075609 A1), hereinafter referenced as Liu, in view of Vandwalle et al. (US 20150006633 A1), hereinafter referenced as Vandwalle.
Regarding claim 43, Liu teaches the device according to claim 42,
Liu fails to explicitly teach to determine a quantity of devices in the first cluster to which the master device belongs based on the period notification frame.
However, Vandwalle teaches to determine a quantity of devices in the first cluster to which the master device belongs based on the period notification frame (Para. [0012]-Vandwalle discloses each master reports to a higher-level master the number of devices synchronized to it, and the anchor master (and/or other devices within the cluster) can determine or estimate the total number of devices participating in the cluster. (See also Para. [0150 and 0165])).
Liu and Vandwalle are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with peer-to-peer networking environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Vandwalle on network clusters, with a motivation to determine the quantity devices in the cluster, and ensure Wi-Fi mobile stations are able to communicate directly with each other, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 44, Liu in view of Vandwalle, teaches the device according to claim 43,
Liu fails to explicitly teach to send the first indication information to the first electronic device when the quantity of devices in the first cluster is less than a fifth threshold.
However, Vandwalle teaches to send the first indication information to the first electronic device when the quantity of devices in the first cluster is less than a fifth threshold (Para. [0144]-Vandwalle discloses the number of frames needed for all devices to discover each other is proportional to the number of devices. Para. [0113-0114]-Vandwalle discloses traffic reduction or limitation measures may be implemented during some or all discovery windows in order to reduce communication congestion and collisions. Illustratively, the master that controls the discovery window sequence may specify when a measure is in place. In some implementations, traffic reduction measures are only applied during discovery windows ... traffic reduction measure may serve to limit a device regarding the number of multicast frames it may transmit during one discovery window (e.g., approximately three). Transmission of unicast frames may also be limited. Fig. 1, Para. [0075]-Vandwalle discloses discovery beacon may include information elements other than those depicted in DB 110x of FIG. 1. For example, a beacon may identify an algorithm for selecting masters, specify constraints on masters (e.g., how many can be within range of each other), advertise a maximum depth for the device's cluster, provide a notification that a device is departing the cluster, etc. Thus, various cluster attributes identified above and below, which reflect operation or structure of a cluster, and/or attributes of one or more specific (master) devices, may be conveyed within a discovery beacon and/or other beacon frames. (See also Para. [0148-0149 and 0192-0193])).
Vandwalle is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with peer-to-peer networking environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Liu to incorporate the teachings of Vandwalle on network clusters, with a motivation to send indication information when the quantity of devices in the cluster is less than a threshold, and ensure Wi-Fi mobile stations are able to communicate directly with each other, (Liu, Para. [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 08/03/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of claims 27-46 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 7, Lines [6-9], Applicant argues that, “…Liu does not disclose sending a data frame in a discovery window ... Liu maintains its discovery window and its data-transmission resources strictly separate.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…sending the data frame in the discovery window based on the first indication information,” as recited in the incumbent claim 27, in Para. [0101]-Liu discloses wireless stations may also use the discovery window to exchange service discovery frames to convey other information.
Hence, Liu teaches sending the data frame in the discovery window based on the first indication information (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device. Para. [0101]-Liu discloses a wireless station may negotiate a common discovery window for exchange of synchronization packets to help ensure the devices that are communicating directly with each other are properly synchronized to enable the communication. Once two wireless stations have the same discovery window they may exchange synchronization packets to stay synchronized with each other).
In the remarks, on page 7, Lines [7-8], Applicant argues that, “…Liu fails to disclose broadcasting the first indication information in a discovery window.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the first indication information … is broadcast by the second electronic device in the discovery window,” as recited in the incumbent claim 27, in Fig. 7A and Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows.
In the remarks, on page 8, Lines [3-7], Applicant argues that, “…Liu does not disclose the features of "sending the data frame in the discovery window based on the first indication information" wherein "the first indication information is broadcast by the second electronic device in the discovery window and is received by the first electronic device in the discovery window," as recited by claim 27, nor the corresponding limitations of claims 33 and 39” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, as recited in the incumbent claim 27, Liu teaches the first indication information indicates that the data frame is allowed to be sent in the discovery window (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted). Fig. 5, Para. [0104]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW) and is broadcast by the second electronic device in the discovery window (Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device) and is received by the first electronic device in the discovery window (Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device); and sending the data frame in the discovery window based on the first indication information (Para. [0101]-Liu discloses the wireless stations may also use the discovery window to exchange service discovery frames to convey other information. Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device. Para. [0101]-Liu discloses a wireless station may negotiate a common discovery window for exchange of synchronization packets to help ensure the devices that are communicating directly with each other are properly synchronized to enable the communication. Once two wireless stations have the same discovery window they may exchange synchronization packets to stay synchronized with each other).
In the remarks, on page 8, Lines [15-17], Applicant argues that, “…No single embodiment of Liu discloses a master device sending an indication permitting a recipient to transmit a data frame in a discovery window.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the first indication information indicates that the data frame is allowed to be sent in the discovery window,” as recited in the incumbent claim 27, in Para. [0106 and 0104 respectively]-Liu discloses, “page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted)”; and “communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW,” respectively.
In the remarks, on page 8, Lines [23-30], Applicant argues that, “…claims 32 and 38 recite that the data frame sent in the discovery window meets one or more of a data amount less than a seventh threshold, a sending rate less than an eighth threshold, or a quantity of times of sending less than a ninth threshold. The Office Action relies on Liu's disclosure that a paged NDL CRB longer than 196 TUs may be fragmented into CRBs of 128 TU and up to 192 TUs, and that the default NDC CRB size is one NAN slot (16 TU) so the corresponding PW is 1.6 TU.8 These referenced TUs are "time units"9 and are window durations, not a data amount, a sending rate, or a quantity of times of sending of any data frame as recited in each of claims 32 and 38.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the data frame sent by the first electronic device in the discovery window meets any one or more of the following conditions: a data amount is less than a seventh threshold, a sending rate is less than an eighth threshold, or a quantity of times of sending is less than a ninth threshold,” as recited in the incumbent claim 32 (and similarly in claim 38), in Para. [0107]-Liu discloses pending (buffered) data frames {which is associated with data amount} may need to transmit page messages …, however, the default NDC CRB {Common Resource Block} size is one NAN slot (e.g., 16 TU) so the corresponding PW {Paging Window} is 1.6 TU {which corresponds to the threshold data frame size}, which may not accommodate all of the page messages {which is associated with data amount} for the NDC.
Hence, Liu discloses the referenced limitation in Para. [0105]-Liu discloses in some implementations, if a paged NDL CRB is longer than 196 TUs {Time Units}, the CRB may be fragment into two or more shorter paged NDL CRBs and each fragmented CRB, except for the last one, may have a duration of 128 TU, while the last fragmented CRB may have a duration of up to 192 TUs. Para. [0107]-Liu discloses all paged NDL pairs with pending (buffered) data frames may need to transmit page messages (e.g., 621a-621e) at the start of the NDC CRB, however, the default NDC CRB {Common Resource Block} size is one NAN slot (e.g., 16 TU) so the corresponding PW {Paging Window} is 1.6 TU {Corresponding to a threshold data frame size}, which may not accommodate all of the page messages for the NDC. Hence, some devices may start to transmit trigger frames after the 1.6 TU PW (e.g., after paging window 537 and/or during transmission window 539), which may contend for medium access with page messages not transmitted in the PW.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [7-13], Applicant argues that, “…Vandwalle fails to disclose any aspect of "a processor configured to determine first indication information" or "a transceiver configured to send the first indication information to a first electronic device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the first electronic device is allowed to send a data frame in a discovery window, and wherein the transceiver is configured to broadcast the first indication information in the discovery window, wherein the master electronic device is configured to join the first cluster" as recited in independent claim 39.”
However, Liu teaches a master electronic device connectable to a network in which a first cluster of a first network is located, the master electronic device (Para. [0010]-Liu discloses a wireless station may be configured to establish, with a peer wireless station, a peer-to-peer data communication session (e.g., a paged data link), where the wireless station and the peer wireless station are associated with a data cluster. Fig. 1, Para. [0082]-Liu discloses the peer wireless device and the wireless device 106 may have an active peer-to-peer data session and may be associated with a first cluster of devices. The wireless device 106 may be configured to notify the peer wireless device of a merge to a second cluster of devices ... for at least a first time period, discovery beacons to the peer wireless device in one or more data cluster management windows. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Fig. 2, Para. [0084]-Liu discloses AP 112 may include processor(s) 204 which may execute program instructions for the AP 112. The processor(s) 204 may also be coupled (directly or indirectly) to memory management unit (MMU) 240, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 204 and to translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 260 and read only memory (ROM) 250) or to other circuits or devices) comprising: a processor configured to determine first indication information (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted). Fig. 5, Para. [0104]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW); and a transceiver configured to send the first indication information to a first electronic device (Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735)), wherein the first indication information indicates that the first electronic device is allowed to send a data frame in a discovery window (Fig. 6D, Para. [0106]-Liu discloses page-trigger mechanism may allow a device to skip one or multiple paged NDL CRBs since a peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger from the device (e.g., cancelling trigger frame 622 results in data frame 620 not being transmitted). Fig. 5, Para. [0104]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 followed by a NAN data cluster window (NDC) 535. In addition, the communication schedule may include an additional DW followed by one or more CRBs (e.g., such as P-NDL CRBs 500 and 510). In some implementations, a CRB of a paged NDL may include two windows. The first window may be a paging window (PW), such as paging window 502, that starts the paged NDL CRB. The second window may be a transmission window (TxW), such as transmission window 504, that follows the PW), and wherein the transceiver is configured to broadcast the first indication information in the discovery window (Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses beacons may serve as broadcast paging messages (e.g., paging beacons). For example, ... device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Figs. 5-6, Para. [0104-0106]-Liu discloses communication schedule for a paged NDL (P-NDL) may include a discovery window (DW) 525 ... peer device will not transmit pending (buffered) data frames until after the peer device receives a trigger (indication) from the device), wherein the master electronic device is configured to join the first cluster (Para. [0010]-Liu discloses a wireless station may be configured to establish, with a peer wireless station, a peer-to-peer data communication session (e.g., a paged data link), where the wireless station and the peer wireless station are associated with a data cluster. Fig. 1, Para. [0082]-Liu discloses the peer wireless device and the wireless device 106 may have an active peer-to-peer data session and may be associated with a first cluster of devices. The wireless device 106 may be configured to notify the peer wireless device of a merge to a second cluster of devices ... for at least a first time period, discovery beacons to the peer wireless device in one or more data cluster management windows. Fig. 7A, Para. [0108]-Liu discloses device (e.g., STA 1 to STA n) in a master role or a non-master role sync state may transmit paging beacons (e.g., beacons 701a-701e) during discovery windows (e.g., DW 725 and NDC CRB 735). Fig. 2, Para. [0084]-Liu discloses AP 112 may include processor(s) 204 which may execute program instructions for the AP 112. The processor(s) 204 may also be coupled (directly or indirectly) to memory management unit (MMU) 240, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 204 and to translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 260 and read only memory (ROM) 250) or to other circuits or devices).
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [30-32], Applicant argues that, “…Vandwalle's teaching that discovery-window traffic should be curtailed to avoid congestion would discourage, rather than suggest, adding data-frame traffic to the discovery window as claim 44 requires.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the transceiver further configured to send the first indication information to the first electronic device when the quantity of devices in the cluster is less than a fifth threshold,” as recited in the incumbent claim 44, Liu in Para. [0144]-Vandwalle discloses the number of frames needed for all devices to discover each other is proportional to the number of devices. Para. [0113-0114]-Vandwalle discloses traffic reduction or limitation measures may be implemented during some or all discovery windows in order to reduce communication congestion and collisions. Illustratively, the master that controls the discovery window sequence may specify when a measure is in place. In some implementations, traffic reduction measures are only applied during discovery windows ... traffic reduction measure may serve to limit a device regarding the number of multicast frames it may transmit during one discovery window (e.g., approximately three). Transmission of unicast frames may also be limited. Fig. 1, Para. [0075]-Vandwalle discloses discovery beacon may include information elements other than those depicted in DB 110x of FIG. 1. For example, a beacon may identify an algorithm for selecting masters, specify constraints on masters (e.g., how many can be within range of each other), advertise a maximum depth for the device's cluster, provide a notification that a device is departing the cluster, etc. Thus, various cluster attributes identified above and below, which reflect operation or structure of a cluster, and/or attributes of one or more specific (master) devices, may be conveyed within a discovery beacon and/or other beacon frames. (See also Para. [0148-0149 and 0192-0193]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472