DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draghetti et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,207,155) in view of Zucker (U.S. Patent No. 3,238,697).
Regarding claim 13: Draghetti discloses a bundle pack for a group of compressible hygiene products (Figs. 1-5; via packets 2, inherently could be of any other type of articles), wherein the group of hygiene products exhibits a cuboidal shape and is surrounded by a sleeve (via packet 2 surrounded by sleeve of sheet 11) consisting of packaging material, preferentially paper-based, the sleeve having initially open opposing end faces which are at least partially sealed by means of envelope folds, produced by a method comprising the steps of:
applying lines of weakening to the web material (Fig. 7; via the shown doted fold lines 15);
separating a portion for a sleeve from the continuous web of material (inherently 11 was cut from a continuous web to a desired size; paragraph 29; “obtained by cutting”);
righting and inserting the portion and the preferentially compressed group of hygiene products (via 2) into the righted portion via at least one of the opposing end faces of the sleeve (Figs. 1-5; via packets 2 into the tubular wrapping 11 with its one of its tubular portions 21); and
sealing each of opposing end faces (via both open ended 21) of the sleeve by means of an envelope fold (Figs. 8-10; via adhesive label 27);
wherein the sleeve (11) exhibits an adhesion-bonded seam in the longitudinal direction of a web of material from which the sleeve has been separated, see for example (Figs. 8-12; via adhesive label 27 applied along longitudinal slit 16);
wherein the sleeve (11) exhibits lines of weakening, in order to make possible a preferentially sharp-edged fold around the cuboidal group of hygiene products (Fig. 7via the doted weak fold lines 15; the exact packed product to be hygiene products is an intended use of the actual claimed bundle pack, while inherently the packed articles 2 could be substituted by hygiene articles).
Draghetti does not disclose the step of unwinding a continuous web of material, preferentially paper-based, for the sleeve from a bobbin. However, Zucker discloses similar method with a step of unwinding a continuous web of material, see for example (Fig. 1; via supply roll 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted Draghetti’s supplying step, by another unwinding continuous web, as suggested by Zucker, in order to come up with faster, automatically, and simpler dispensing of the wrapping material (column 1, lines 25-39).
Regarding claim 16: Zucker discloses that the end faces with the envelope folds have been sealed in each instance by means of a covering label which has been connected by means of adhesive to the folding flaps folded in the manner of an envelope (Figs. 3-5; via the shown end folding flaps covering both ends of the tube).
Regarding claim 17: Zucker discloses that the end faces have been sealed by means of envelope folds overlapping one another, which have been at least partially connected to one another by means of adhesive, see for example (Fig. 3-5; the shown end overlapping ends inherently are sealed by adhesive).
Regarding claim 18: Draghetti discloses a use of adhesive (via 27), but not cold- glue-based adhesive to be employed. However, the Office takes an official notice that a use of cold glue to be used to avoid any damage to the wrapping materials and the wrapped stacked items is very old and available in the art.
Regarding claim 19: Zucker discloses that the end faces of the envelope folds have been sealed in each instance by means of a self-adhesive label, preferentially paper-based, (inherently the use of self-adhesive label could be used as such type of adhesive is old and well known in the art as such label adhesive suggested by Draghetti via 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 & 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely sole on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, the cited references of U.S. Pat. No. 3,278,016 and 3,027,998 suggest similar bundle pack for a group of products surrounded by sleeve material for packing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731