DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority Documents
The Japanese foreign priority document(s)2021-171523, submitted under 35
U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on May 9, 2025 and placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 10, 2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 2, the term “the plurality of second grooves contact the plurality of second grooves” is of uncertain meaning rendering the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear as to how the second grooves contact themselves. This appears to be a typo because the drawings do not illustrate this groove configuration. For the purposes of this Office Action, the limitation will be considered: “the plurality of second grooves contact the polygon at only one vertex of the polygon” as illustrated by Fig, 4B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al., JP 06333548A in view of ITO et al., JP-06140011-A (See Also attached Machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, Aoki teaches a cylindrical battery (Fig. 1), comprising: an electrode assembly (lithium secondary battery; See the Abstract; Examiners Note: electrode assemblies are required for lithium, ion batteries to function); an electrolyte (lithium secondary battery; See the Abstract; Examiners Note: electrolytes are required for lithium, ion batteries to function); a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can that houses the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (Fig. 1)
; and a sealing assembly with which an opening of the exterior housing can is capped (12 & 15; Fig. 1), wherein a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove that forms (Fig. 2).
Aoki, does not teach or suggest: a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove that forms a polygon, and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices of the polygon (claim 1); the plurality of second grooves contact the plurality of second grooves and the polygon at only one vertex of the polygon (claim 2); the plurality of second grooves are provided on respective extension lines of sides of the polygon connected to contacts with the polygon in a vicinity of the contacts (claim 3); the plurality of second grooves extend in a same rotation direction with respect to a center of the bottom of the exterior housing can (claim 4); finish ends of the plurality of second grooves are located on a same circumference (claim 5).
However, ITO teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove (first groove; Fig. 7), and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 1); the plurality of second grooves contact the polygon at only one vertex (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 2); the plurality of second grooves are provided on respective extension lines of sides of the shape connected to contacts with the shape in a vicinity of the contacts (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 3); the plurality of second grooves extend in a same rotation direction with respect to a center of the bottom of the exterior housing can (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 4); finish ends of the plurality of second grooves are located on a same circumference (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 5).
Aoki and ITO are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating explosion proof batteries with grooved vents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove, and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices of ITO, as the first and second groove configuration at the bottom of the exterior casing of Aoki, in order to further prevent an abnormal increase in internal pressure. The skilled artisan recognizes the position, size and shape of the grooves control rupture rate and efficiency. With respect to the first groove forming a polygon (claims 1-3), it would have been obvious in the cylindrical battery of Aoki in view of ITO, in order to further prevent an abnormal increase in internal pressure. The skilled artisan recognizes the position, size and shape of the grooves control rupture rate and efficiency. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Lastly, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANIMOTO et al., JP-2004259456-A in view of ITO et al., JP-06140011-A (See Also attached Machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, TANIMOTO teaches a cylindrical battery (Fig. 2), comprising: an electrode assembly (lithium cell; See the Abstract; Examiners Note: electrode assemblies are required for lithium, ion batteries to function); an electrolyte (lithium cell; See the Abstract; Examiners Note: electrolytes are required for lithium, ion batteries to function); a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can that houses the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (Fig. 2)
; and a sealing assembly with which an opening of the exterior housing can is capped (Fig. 1), wherein a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove that forms (Fig. 2).
TANIMOTO, does not teach or suggest: a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove that forms a polygon, and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices of the polygon (claim 1); the plurality of second grooves contact the plurality of second grooves and the polygon at only one vertex of the polygon (claim 2); the plurality of second grooves are provided on respective extension lines of sides of the polygon connected to contacts with the polygon in a vicinity of the contacts (claim 3); the plurality of second grooves extend in a same rotation direction with respect to a center of the bottom of the exterior housing can (claim 4); finish ends of the plurality of second grooves are located on a same circumference (claim 5).
However, ITO teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove (first groove; Fig. 7), and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 1); the plurality of second grooves contact the polygon at only one vertex (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 2); the plurality of second grooves are provided on respective extension lines of sides of the shape connected to contacts with the shape in a vicinity of the contacts (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 3); the plurality of second grooves extend in a same rotation direction with respect to a center of the bottom of the exterior housing can (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 4); finish ends of the plurality of second grooves are located on a same circumference (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 5).
TANIMOTO and ITO are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating explosion proof batteries with grooved vents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove, and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices of ITO, as the first and second groove configuration at the bottom of the exterior casing of TANIMOTO, in order to further prevent an abnormal increase in internal pressure. The skilled artisan recognizes the position, size and shape of the grooves control rupture rate and efficiency. With respect to the first groove forming a polygon (claims 1-3), it would have been obvious in the cylindrical battery of TANIMOTO in view of ITO, in order to further prevent an abnormal increase in internal pressure. The skilled artisan recognizes the position, size and shape of the grooves control rupture rate and efficiency. TANIMOTO teaches various vent shapes., See Fig. 2. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Lastly, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOISHIKAWA et al., JP-2006338979-Ain view of ITO et al., JP-06140011-A (See Also attached Machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, KOISHIKAWA teaches a cylindrical battery (Fig. 1), comprising: an electrode assembly (lithium secondary battery; See the Abstract; Examiners Note: electrode assemblies are required for lithium, ion batteries to function); an electrolyte (lithium secondary battery; See the Abstract; Examiners Note: electrolytes are required for lithium, ion batteries to function); a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can that houses the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (Fig. 1)
Fig. 3
; and a sealing assembly with which an opening of the exterior housing can is capped (Fig. 1), wherein a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove that forms (Fig. 3 above).
KOISHIKAWA, does not teach or suggest: a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove that forms a polygon, and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices of the polygon (claim 1); the plurality of second grooves contact the plurality of second grooves and the polygon at only one vertex of the polygon (claim 2); the plurality of second grooves are provided on respective extension lines of sides of the polygon connected to contacts with the polygon in a vicinity of the contacts (claim 3); the plurality of second grooves extend in a same rotation direction with respect to a center of the bottom of the exterior housing can (claim 4); finish ends of the plurality of second grooves are located on a same circumference (claim 5).
However, ITO teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove (first groove; Fig. 7), and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 1); the plurality of second grooves contact the polygon at only one vertex (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 2); the plurality of second grooves are provided on respective extension lines of sides of the shape connected to contacts with the shape in a vicinity of the contacts (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 3); the plurality of second grooves extend in a same rotation direction with respect to a center of the bottom of the exterior housing can (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 4); finish ends of the plurality of second grooves are located on a same circumference (second grooves; Fig. 7; claim 5).
KOISHIKAWA and ITO are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating explosion proof batteries with grooved vents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a bottom of the exterior housing can includes a first groove, and a plurality of second grooves that extend outward from each of a plurality of vertices of ITO, as the first and second groove configuration at the bottom of the exterior casing of KOISHIKAWA, in order to further prevent an abnormal increase in internal pressure. The skilled artisan recognizes the position, size and shape of the grooves control rupture rate and efficiency. With respect to the first groove forming a polygon (claims 1-3), it would have been obvious in the cylindrical battery of KOISHIKAWA in view of ITO, in order to further prevent an abnormal increase in internal pressure. The skilled artisan recognizes the position, size and shape of the grooves control rupture rate and efficiency. KOISHIKAWA teaches various vent shapes and multiple grooves., See Fig. 3. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Lastly, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723