DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note: A review of applicant’s specification does not provide any structure to the koji or sake derived vesicles. Just that they are inherently formed and derived when rice, barley, soybean, or yeast are contacted with the Koji or Sake. It seems like the contact with Sake or Koji would inherently produce the inhibiting composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Indefiniteness)
Claims 1-3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claims require inhibiting the binding of the spike protein to ACEII or CD147 of the vesicles.
It is unclear if the ACE II enzyme or CD147 are part of the vesicles or whether they are what the vesicles are acting on.
Looking at applicants claim 4 it seems that the vesicles are inhibiting the ACE II receptor or CD147. Applicant should amend claim 1 to be structurally set similar to claim 4.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 11, it is unclear as to how something could be isolated from something that does not contain it. If you have a composition that is considered non-exosome materials, how would you get exosomes. Also, what would non-exosome materials mean if they do have exosomes. A review of the specification shows no explanation that would help interpret this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Written Description – New Matter)
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A review of the specification does not find much if any support for isolation of exosomes, specifically from non-exosome materials. Thus, the introduction of isolation from non-exosome material in the claims amendments on 10/24/24 introduce new matter to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Written Description)
Claims 1-3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 and 7-12 mechanically is simple in that exosomes (Koji/Sake derived) are used to treat coronavirus infection.
A review of applicant’s specification provides the following:
There was no actual “in vivo” testing of their invention where they validated that corona virus invention is inhibited or treated in humans or any living organism.
The only examples utilize an “in vitro” or controlled environment using a COVID-19 Spike ACE2 Binding Assay kit manufactured by RAYBIO to test binding inhibition.
The control was not even another plant derived exosome but the exosome of an ACE2 protein expressing PNT2 cell. So, it is unclear if Koji or sake loading adds any value from normal plant derived exosomes.
A review of the literature shows that years after the filing date of the instant application, the use of Exosomes to treat SARS-Cov-2 Infection (coronavirus) is not settled. Specifically, Li et al. (Exosomes and SARS-COV-2 Infection) teaches that “exosomes are a double-edged sword in viral infection. Future studies should aim to elucidate these dual roles and examine how exosome-mediated interactions can be harnessed to devise novel therapeutic strategies against COVID-19.” (See conclusion section on page 6).
This reference seems to highlight the issues of in vivo actual use verses in vitro testing.
Additionally, Turner et al. teaches that as of 2023 there were no approved exosome treatments used to treat coronavirus (Covid-19). (See Page 1 left column 1st full paragraph).
Due to post filing literature questioning exosomes effectiveness to treat coronavirus and the lack of actual human trials by the application, the disclosure does not support the fact that applicant had in possession an exosome that could inhibit actual coronavirus infection in a medicinal or pharmaceutical way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
With respect to claims 4-6 the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. The claim recites an inhibitor (rice koji) that is just a vesicle (exosome) produced from a rice plant that has been loaded with Aspergillus Orzae. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because rice koji can occur in nature because “Aspergillus Oryzae grows on the heads of rice plants in East Asia. This is their optimal breeding ground. It can be found natural in the rice fields of Japan, China, and Korea,a nd harvested by hand by workers tromping through the soggy fields.” (See Miyamoto). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the applicant has not provided any specific structure or method for forming making koji rice different than what would occur in nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muranaka (WO 2020/158930 A1), US2022/0133826 A1 is the English language equivalent of WO 2020/158930 A1).
Regarding claims 1-8, Muranaka teaches a koji rice or miso exosome used in medicinal/pharmaceutical applications with additives (carriers). (See paragraph 0002, 0008, 0032, 0041).
While Muranaka does not explicitly treat coronavirus it must flow from the use of the koji/miso derived exosome so the office assumes that this activity is inherent in Muranaka’s composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muranaka (WO 2020/158930 A1), US2022/0133826 A1 is the English language equivalent of WO 2020/158930 A1) in further view of Zhang (US 20230201244 A1).
Regarding claims 9-12, Muranaka teaches a koji rice or miso exosome used in medicinal/pharmaceutical applications with additives (carriers). (See paragraph 0002, 0008, 0032, 0041).
While Muranaka does not explicitly treat coronavirus it must flow from the use of the koji/miso derived exosome so the office assumes that this activity is inherent in Muranaka’s composition.
With respect to claims 9-12, Muranaka does not teach wherein the Koji/Miso exosomes are applied to treat Coronavirus.
However, Zhang teaches that plant exosomes could treat Coviod-19. (See paragraphs 0044 and 0204).
It would have been obvious to select available plant exosomes like Muranaka’s exosomes to treat covid as suggested by Zhang.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18690212(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications central inventive component is koji derived exosomes and structurally they are the same thing and would be used with acceptable pharmaceutical carriers to allow for medicinal use which is notoriously well known in the art.
Claims 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18690212(reference application) in further view of Zhang (US 20230201244 A1) as described above in the 103. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications central inventive component is koji derived exosomes and structurally they are the same thing and would be used with acceptable pharmaceutical carriers to allow for medicinal use which is notoriously well known in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
AMJAD A. ABRAHAM
SPE AU 1663
Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663