Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendment filed 4/10/2024 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farnan et al. (US 20200261644, hereinafter Farnan, published Aug. 20, 2020, over one year before the effective filing date (Oct. 12, 2021) of the current application).
Claims 1, 11. Farnan discloses a method of and a system for pairing a user-wearable infusion pump with a remote control device, the user-wearable infusion pump including one or more indicator lights, comprising:
receiving input at the remote control device to initiate a pairing procedure for pairing the remote control device with the user-wearable infusion pump ([0009], [0010], [0035], [0036]);
presenting a series of different light patterns with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump ([0029], [0034], [0035], [0038], [0039], [0040]);
presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device ([0035], [0036], [0038]);
verifying that each of the different light patterns entered by the user matches each of the different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump ([0035], [0038], [0039] the system and user verify correct execution of each pairing step (e.g., button presses, light feedback) as instructed); and
pairing the remote control device with the user-wearable infusion pump if each of the different light patterns entered by the user matches each of the different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump ([0009], [0010], [0039], [0041] “Step by step instructions for the pairing procedure can be presented on a display screen of the remote control device and visual feedback as to an ongoing status of the pairing procedure can be provided with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump. Successful pairing of the remote control device with the user-wearable infusion pump can be confirmed with both the display screen of the remote control device and the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump”).
Claims 2, 12. Farnan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein presenting a series of different light patterns includes displaying different color combinations with the one or more indicator lights ([0029]).
Claims 3, 13. Farnan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device includes displaying a plurality of different individual color objects and instructing the user to select the color objects matching a currently displayed light pattern ([0039][0040][0042]).
Claims 4, 14. Farnan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device includes displaying a plurality of different light combinations and instructing the user to select a light combination matching a currently displayed light pattern ([0035], [0040], [0042]).
Claims 5, 15. Farnan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein presenting a series of different light patterns includes varying whether one or more indicator lights are on, off or flashing ([0029], [0036] flash).
Claims 6, 16. Farnan discloses the method of claim 5, wherein presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device includes displaying text relating to combinations of the one or more indicator lights being on, off or flashing and instructing the user to select the text corresponding to a currently displayed light pattern ([0036][0038][0040]).
Claims 7, 17. Farnan discloses the method of claim 5, wherein presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device includes displaying icons depicting combinations of the one or more indicator lights being on or off and instructing the user to select the icon corresponding to a currently displayed light pattern ([0036][0038][0042] icon).
Claims 8, 18. Farnan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device includes updating a status of the pairing procedure on the remote control device ([0010] status).
Claims 9, 19. Farnan discloses the method of claim 8, wherein updating the status of the pairing procedure on the remote control device includes updating the status each time a light pattern entered by the user matches a light pattern presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump ([0011][0038][0039][0040]).
Claims 10, 20. Farnan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein presenting instructions on the remote control device for the user to enter each of the series of different light patterns presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump into the remote control device includes presenting an error message if a light pattern entered by the user does not match a light pattern presented with the one or more indicator lights of the user-wearable infusion pump ([0035][0036][0038][0042] Farnan provides for the display of error or timeout messages on the remote control device whenever the user fails to match the expected indicator light pattern or does not follow the correct procedure… While Farnan uses terms like “Timeout” or “Alarm” rather than “error message,” the function is the same: the user is notified when their input does not match the required action or pattern).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180314406 - Powderly et al. disclose a light emitting user input device can include a touch sensitive portion configured to accept user input (e.g., from a user's thumb) and a light emitting portion configured to output a light pattern. The light pattern can be used to assist the user in interacting with the user input device. Examples include emulating a multi-degree-of-freedom controller, indicating scrolling or swiping actions, indicating presence of objects nearby the device, indicating receipt of notifications, assisting pairing the user input device with another device, or assisting calibrating the user input device. The light emitting user input device can be used to provide user input to a wearable device, such as, e.g., a head mounted display device.
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644