Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the swinging angle" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the side close" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other side" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the side away" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the upper end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the rotation axis" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houle (US20160008866A1) in view Mikhajlovich (RU2314899C1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Houle discloses a manual hydraulic pipe expander (abstract, paragraphs 0023-0031), comprising:
a handle (fig.3: (102)) provided with a gripping part (fig.3: the gripping right side of the handle (102));
a wrench (fig.3: (108)) swingable relative to the handle;
a plunger (fig.3: (141)) movable back and forth relative to the handle;
an oil bag (fig.3: (126)); and
a pipe expanding assembly comprising a pipe expanding tube (see fig.3 below), a piston (fig.3: (130)) and a cone head (fig.3: (118)) provided in the pipe expanding tube, and a pipe expanding head (fig.3: (104)) provided on the pipe expanding tube (see fig.3 below),
the pipe expanding assembly being provided with an oil path (fig.3: (134)) respectively communicated with the oil bag (fig.3: (143)), the plunger (fig.3: (141)) and the piston (fig.3: (130)),
Houle does not disclose the handle and the wrench being configured to, in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on a swinging plane formed by the wrench coinciding with each other.
Mikhajlovich discloses a tool (paragraphs 0014-0016), comprising:
a handle (fig.1: (11)) provided with a gripping part (fig.1: the gripping left side of the handle (11));
a wrench (fig.1: (13)) swingable relative to the handle;
a plunger (fig.3: (3)) movable back and forth relative to the handle;
the handle and the wrench being configured to, in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on a swinging plane formed by the wrench coinciding with each other (fig.1).
Both of the prior arts of Houle and Mikhajlovich are related to a manual tool,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the handle and the wrench of the apparatus of Houle to have in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on a swinging plane formed by the wrench coinciding with each other as taught by Mikhajlovich, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claim 10, Mikhajlovich teaches wherein in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, the wrench and the handle are misaligned, and the projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on the swinging plane formed by the wrench coincide with each other (fig.1).
Therefore, the modification of Houle in view Mikhajlovich the limitations of claim 10.
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houle (US20160008866A1) in view Mikhajlovich (RU2314899C1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN216731611U attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claims 2-3, Houle in view Mikhajlovich does not disclose wherein the handle is provided with a wrench groove for accommodating the wrench; and wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove; in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, the wrench is only partially accommodated in the wrench groove.
Wang teaches a manual tool, comprising:
a handle (fig.1: (1)) is provided with a wrench groove for accommodating a wrench (fig.1: (5)); wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove (paragraph 0024))
Both of the prior arts of Houle and Wang are related to a manual tool,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the handle and the wrench of the apparatus of Houle in view Mikhajlovich of to have wherein the handle is provided with a wrench groove for accommodating the wrench; and wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove as taught by Wang, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove; in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, the wrench is only partially accommodated in the wrench groove.
Regrading claim 4, Houle in view Mikhajlovich and Wang does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim;
However, having the mechanical device in a specific construction would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result in order to meet specific requirements of the manual hydraulic pipe expander as desired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have wherein the handle comprises a first handle shell and a second handle shell that are in surface fit with each other, the first handle shell and the second handle shell are fixedly connected through screws along a thickness direction of the handle, and a positioning structure is formed between the first handle shell and the second handle shell; the manual hydraulic pipe expander further comprises a housing, the housing comprises a first shell and a second shell, the first shell and the second shell are fixedly connected through screws along the thickness direction of the handle, and a lower end of the housing is clamped with an upper end of the handle along a height direction;an angle between the housing and an end surface of the handle close to the wrench is between 95° and 120°, as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 9, Houle discloses wherein the oil bag (fig.3: (143)) is provided in the handle, the upper end of the wrench (fig.3: (143)) is rotatably connected with the handle, and the plunger (fig.3: (141)) is located below the rotation axis of the wrench.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the closet prior art is Houle (US20160008866A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the claim as recited.
Claims 6-7 are depended from claim 5.
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725