Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC
§ 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “In response, a portion of allowable claim 5 has been incorporated into independent claim 1. Thus, claim 1 now recites "wherein the oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston." While claim 5 is indicated in the current Office Action as being allowable over the utilized prior art, it is respectfully submitted that this portion of claim 5 alone is allowable over the utilized prior art. For instance, in Houle, the cited oil bag 126 is not between the cited plunger 141 and the cited piston 130. Mikhajlovich is cited for the asserted teaching of features relating to the handle, wrench and plunger. This document fails to teach an oil bag or that an oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston.Wang is cited in the rejection of certain dependent claims. This document discloses a hose clamp that includes a handle, a pin shaft and a fixed plier head. This document also fails to teach an oil bag or that an oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston. Accordingly, amended claim 1 is allowable over the utilized prior art.
In response to this argument, the prior art of Houle discloses a plunger (fig.3: (141)); an oil bag (fig.3: (126)); and a piston (fig.3: (130));
Houle does not disclose wherein the oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston;
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange a plunger; an oil bag; and a piston of Houle to be wherein the oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04, VI C).
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houle (US20160008866A1) in view Mikhajlovich (RU2314899C1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Houle discloses a manual hydraulic pipe expander (abstract, paragraphs 0023-0031), comprising:
a handle (fig.3: (102)) provided with a gripping part (fig.3: the gripping right side of the handle (102));
a wrench (fig.3: (108)) swingable relative to the handle;
a plunger (fig.3: (141)) movable back and forth relative to the handle;
an oil bag (fig.3: (126)); and
a pipe expanding assembly comprising a pipe expanding tube (see fig.3 below), a piston (fig.3: (130)) and a cone head (fig.3: (118)) provided in the pipe expanding tube, and a pipe expanding head (fig.3: (104)) provided on the pipe expanding tube (see fig.3 below),
the pipe expanding assembly being provided with an oil path (fig.3: (134)) respectively communicated with the oil bag (fig.3: (143)), the plunger (fig.3: (141)) and the piston (fig.3: (130)),
Houle does not disclose wherein the oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston;
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange a plunger; an oil bag; and a piston of Houle to be wherein the oil bag is located between the plunger and the piston, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04, VI C).
Houle does not disclose the handle and the wrench being configured to, in a case that a swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on a swinging plane formed by the wrench coinciding with each other.
Mikhajlovich discloses a tool (paragraphs 0014-0016), comprising:
a handle (fig.1: (11)) provided with a gripping part (fig.1: the gripping left side of the handle (11));
a wrench (fig.1: (13)) swingable relative to the handle;
a plunger (fig.3: (3)) movable back and forth relative to the handle;
the handle and the wrench being configured to, in a case that a swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on a swinging plane formed by the wrench coinciding with each other (fig.1).
Both of the prior arts of Houle and Mikhajlovich are related to a manual tool,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the handle and the wrench of the apparatus of Houle to have in a case that a swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on a swinging plane formed by the wrench coinciding with each other as taught by Mikhajlovich, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claim 10, Mikhajlovich teaches wherein in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, the wrench and the handle are misaligned, and the projections of the wrench and the gripping part of the handle on the swinging plane formed by the wrench coincide with each other (fig.1).
Therefore, the modification of Houle in view Mikhajlovich the limitations of claim 10.
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houle (US20160008866A1) in view Mikhajlovich (RU2314899C1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN216731611U attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claims 2-3, Houle in view Mikhajlovich does not disclose wherein the handle is provided with a wrench groove for accommodating the wrench; and wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove; in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, the wrench is only partially accommodated in the wrench groove.
Wang teaches a manual tool, comprising:
a handle (fig.1: (1)) is provided with a wrench groove for accommodating a wrench (fig.1: (5)); wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove (paragraph 0024))
Both of the prior arts of Houle and Wang are related to a manual tool,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the handle and the wrench of the apparatus of Houle in view Mikhajlovich of to have wherein the handle is provided with a wrench groove for accommodating the wrench; and wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove as taught by Wang, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having wherein a middle of a thickness direction of the handle is provided with the wrench groove; in a case that the swinging angle of the wrench is maximum, the wrench is only partially accommodated in the wrench groove.
Regrading claims 4 and 8, Houle in view Mikhajlovich and Wang does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 4 and 8;
However, having the mechanical device in a specific construction would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result in order to meet specific requirements of the manual hydraulic pipe expander as desired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have wherein the handle comprises a first handle shell and a second handle shell that are in surface fit with each other, the first handle shell and the second handle shell are fixedly connected through screws along a thickness direction of the handle, and a positioning structure is formed between the first handle shell and the second handle shell; the manual hydraulic pipe expander further comprises a housing, the housing comprises a first shell and a second shell, the first shell and the second shell are fixedly connected through screws along the thickness direction of the handle, and a lower end of the housing is clamped with an upper end of the handle along a height direction; an angle between the housing and an end surface of the handle close to the wrench is between 95° and 120°; and wherein an upper part of the handle extends towards a side away from the wrench to form a protruding part; the oil bag sleeves the pipe expanding tube; a plunger chamber is formed in the pipe expanding tube, and one end of the plunger is located in the plunger chamber, as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 9, Houle discloses wherein the oil bag (fig.3: (143)) is provided in the handle, an upper end of the wrench (fig.3: (143)) is rotatably connected with the handle, and the plunger (fig.3: (141)) is located below a rotation axis of the wrench.
Therefore, the modification of Houle in view Mikhajlovich and Wang the limitations of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the closet prior art is Houle (US20160008866A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the claim as recited.
Regarding claim 5, the closet prior art is Houle (US20160008866A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “wherein the wrench groove comprises a side groove in a side close to the wrench and a top surface groove in a top of the handle, the side groove is communicated with the top groove, a pair of brackets are provided in the handle, upper ends of the brackets are higher than the handle, and the wrench is rotatably connected with the brackets; an upper end of the wrench is provided with two parallel parts, and a roller for abutting the plunger is provided between the two parallel parts, and a rotation axis of the roller is higher than a rotation axis of the wrench” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 6-7 are depended from claim 5.
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725