DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to claims 1-6, 9, 17, and 21-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1-6, 9, 17, and 21-22 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 15, applicant argues that “Based on the content disclosed in Ericsson, Ericsson discloses rules related to handover and management of QoE configurations, involving configuration handover/updates, which refers to modifications to the QoE configuration itself, and does not reflect the status of QoE configurations. In contrast, in claim 1 of the present application, what is exchanged between the terminal and the base station is the status information of the QoE configuration. Specifically, the terminal transmits to the first base station the first information indicating the status of the QoE configuration that the terminal is currently using; the terminal receives from the second base station the second information indicating the status of the QoE configuration in which the terminal is engaged. There is an intrinsic distinction between a configuration and its status information. Ericsson does not disclose the status information of the QoE configuration that the terminal is currently using, nor does it disclose information indicating such status information of the QoE configuration as recited in the present application. Therefore, Ericsson fails to disclose or teach "transmitting first information to a first base station; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of the QoE configuration which the terminal is in; receiving second information transmitted by a second base station; wherein the second information is used to indicate second status information of the QoE configuration, and the second status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the second base station for the terminal to be in" recited in claim 1. Shi does not remedy the deficiencies of Ericsson with respect to independent claim 1. For at least the above reasons, Applicant respectfully asserts that claim 1 defines over the cited art. Independent claims 7 and 15 include similar features, and are allowable for at least similar reasons as claim 1” in pages 11-13.
In response to applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Ericsson discloses transmitting first information to a first base station; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of the QoE configuration which the terminal is in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 2; UE performs HO to gNB2; transmitting information to gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)]; receiving second information transmitted by a second base station; wherein the second information is used to indicate second status information of the QoE configuration, and the second status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the second base station for the terminal to be in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE with the new configuration for service type 1; receiving information transmitted by gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)].
In view of the above response, Ericsson discloses every element of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 15-17, 20-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the target base station” in line 5. It is unclear whether it is referring to a) “the first base station” or b) “the second base station” since the claim recites the first base station and the second base station are target base stations. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 15 recites “a QoE configuration” in line 13. It is unclear whether or not it is the same as “the QoE configuration”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 16-17, 21, and 24 are also rejected since they are depended on the rejected claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13-17, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ERICSSON, "QoE Mobility Support", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #112-e, R3-211988, Online, May 17th-27th 2021, hereinafter “Ericsson”.
Regarding claim 1, Ericsson discloses An information processing method, performed by a terminal [see section 2.3.1; a UE], comprising:
performing a first operation; wherein the first operation includes at least one of the following:
transmitting first information to a first base station; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of the QoE configuration which the terminal is in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 2; UE performs HO to gNB2; transmitting information to gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)];
receiving second information transmitted by a second base station; wherein the second information is used to indicate second status information of the QoE configuration, and the second status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the second base station for the terminal to be in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE with the new configuration for service type 1; receiving information transmitted by gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)].
Regarding claim 2, Ericsson discloses wherein the first status information of the QoE configuration or the second status information of the QoE configuration includes at least one of the following: first state, wherein the first state corresponds to QoE report sending behavior; second state, wherein the second state corresponds to QoE report stop sending behavior [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; UE performs HO to gNB2: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based … gNB2 reconfigures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]; see section 2.2; upon mobility of a UE from a source NG-RAN node to a target NG-RAN node, the source NG-RAN node needs to indicate to the UE if the UE is required to stop QoE measurements in the target NG-RAN node. This indication applies to UE moving from a source RAN node included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, to a target RAN node not included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, and there is at least a session ongoing with QoE measurements configured].
Regarding claim 3, Ericsson discloses wherein the first base station and the second base station are the same, and are target base stations for handover by the terminal [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2 is for handover by the UE]; the first operation includes: transmitting the first information to the target base station; receiving the second information transmitted by the target base station; wherein the second status information of the QoE configuration is determined based on the first status information of the QoE configuration and a network status of the target base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; UE performs HO to gNB2: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based … gNB2 reconfigures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]].
Regarding claim 4, Ericsson discloses wherein after receiving the second information transmitted by the second base station, the status information of the QoE configuration of the terminal is the second status information of the QoE configuration [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, after step 4; UE continues with: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3], *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based].
Regarding claim 6, Ericsson discloses wherein when the second status information of the QoE configuration corresponds to the QoE report stop sending behavior, the second information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a QoE reference identifier of the terminal; a first reason value [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]; see section 2.2; upon mobility of a UE from a source NG-RAN node to a target NG-RAN node, the source NG-RAN node needs to indicate to the UE if the UE is required to stop QoE measurements in the target NG-RAN node. This indication applies to UE moving from a source RAN node included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, to a target RAN node not included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, and there is at least a session ongoing with QoE measurements configured].
Regarding claim 7, Ericsson discloses An information processing method, performed by a first base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2], comprising:
performing a second operation; wherein the second operation includes at least one of the following:
receiving first information transmitted by a first device; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of a QoE configuration which a terminal is in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 2; UE performs HO to gNB2; receiving information transmitted by UE; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)];
transmitting third information to the first device; wherein the third information is used to indicate third status information of a QoE configuration, and the third status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the first base station for the terminal to be in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE; transmitting information to UE; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)];
wherein the first device is the terminal or a second base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; UE].
Regarding claim 8, Ericsson discloses wherein the first status information of the QoE configuration or the third status information of the QoE configuration includes at least one of the following: first state, wherein the first state corresponds to QoE report sending behavior; second state, wherein the second state corresponds to QoE report stop sending behavior [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; UE performs HO to gNB2: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based … gNB2 reconfigures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]; see section 2.2; upon mobility of a UE from a source NG-RAN node to a target NG-RAN node, the source NG-RAN node needs to indicate to the UE if the UE is required to stop QoE measurements in the target NG-RAN node. This indication applies to UE moving from a source RAN node included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, to a target RAN node not included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, and there is at least a session ongoing with QoE measurements configured].
Regarding claim 9, Ericsson discloses wherein the second operation includes: transmitting third information to the terminal [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 1; gNB1 configures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based]; wherein the first base station is a target base station for handover by the terminal, and the second base station is a source base station for handover by the terminal [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2 is a target base station for handover by the UE, and gNB1 is a source base station for handover by the UE]; the second operation includes: receiving the first information transmitted by the second base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, steps 1-2; receiving the information transmitted by gNB1; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based].
Regarding claim 13, Ericsson discloses wherein before performing the second operation, the method further includes: performing a third operation, wherein the third operation includes: receiving fifth information transmitted by the second base station, wherein the fifth information is used to indicate whether the second base station supports QoE configuration [see section 2.3.1; gNB2 receives from gNB1, as part of the handover procedure, the indication that “Ongoing QoE measurement type” for service type1 is “management-based QoE”].
Regarding claim 14, Ericsson discloses wherein in case that the third status information of the QoE configuration corresponds to QoE report stop sending behavior, the third information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a QoE reference identifier of the terminal; a second reason value [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE; *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]; see section 2.2; upon mobility of a UE from a source NG-RAN node to a target NG-RAN node, the source NG-RAN node needs to indicate to the UE if the UE is required to stop QoE measurements in the target NG-RAN node. This indication applies to UE moving from a source RAN node included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, to a target RAN node not included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, and there is at least a session ongoing with QoE measurements configured].
Regarding claim 15, Ericsson discloses An information processing method, performed by a second base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB1], comprising:
performing a fourth operation, wherein the fourth operation includes at least one of the following:
transmitting first information to a first base station; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of a QoE configuration which a terminal is in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, steps 1-2; transmitting information to gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)];
transmitting the second information or third information to the terminal; wherein the second information is used to indicate second status information of a QoE configuration, and the second status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the second base station for the terminal to be in [see pages 3-6, section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 1; gNB1 configures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based. Note that what is exchanged is the status information of the management-based QoE configuration and the signalling-based QoE configuration (e.g., management-based QoE is ongoing for one service type and signalling-based QoE is ongoing for another service type)].
Regarding claim 16, Ericsson discloses wherein the first status information of the QoE configuration or the second status information of the QoE configuration or the third status information of the QoE configuration includes at least one of the following: first state, wherein the first state corresponds to QoE report sending behavior; second state, wherein the second state corresponds to QoE report stop sending behavior [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based; see section 2.2; upon mobility of a UE from a source NG-RAN node to a target NG-RAN node, the source NG-RAN node needs to indicate to the UE if the UE is required to stop QoE measurements in the target NG-RAN node. This indication applies to UE moving from a source RAN node included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, to a target RAN node not included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, and there is at least a session ongoing with QoE measurements configured].
Regarding claim 17, Ericsson discloses wherein the fourth operation includes: transmitting the second information to the terminal [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 1; gNB1 configures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based]; wherein the first base station is a target base station for handover by the terminal, and the second base station is a source base station for handover by the terminal [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2 is a target base station for handover by the UE, and gNB1 is a source base station for handover by the UE]; the fourth operation includes: transmitting the first information to the first base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, steps 1-2; transmitting information to gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based].
Regarding claim 20, Ericsson discloses wherein before performing the fourth operation, the method further includes: performing a fifth operation, wherein the fifth operation includes: transmitting fifth information to the first base station, wherein the fifth information is used to indicate whether the second base station supports QoE configuration [see section 2.3.1; gNB1 sends to gNB2, as part of the handover procedure, the indication that “Ongoing QoE measurement type” for service type1 is “management-based QoE”].
Regarding claim 21, Ericsson discloses wherein in case that the second status information of the QoE configuration corresponds to QoE report stop sending behavior, the second information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a QoE reference identifier of the terminal; a first reason value [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 1; gNB1 configures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based; see section 2.2; upon mobility of a UE from a source NG-RAN node to a target NG-RAN node, the source NG-RAN node needs to indicate to the UE if the UE is required to stop QoE measurements in the target NG-RAN node. This indication applies to UE moving from a source RAN node included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, to a target RAN node not included in the area where QoE measurements are to be collected, and there is at least a session ongoing with QoE measurements configured].
Regarding claim 22, Ericsson discloses An information processing device for performing the information processing method according to claim 1 [see section 2.3.1; a UE], comprising:
a first transceiver [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; the UE comprising a transceiver] configured to perform a first operation, wherein the first operation includes at least one of the following:
transmitting first information to a first base station; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of a QoE configuration which the terminal is in [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 2; UE performs HO to gNB2; transmitting information to gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based];
receiving second information transmitted by a second base station; wherein the second information is used to indicate second status information of a QoE configuration, and the second status information of the QoE configuration is status information of a QoE configuration indicated by the second base station for the terminal to be in [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE; receiving information transmitted by gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]].
Regarding claim 23, Ericsson discloses An information processing device information processing method according to claim 7 [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2], comprising:
a second transceiver [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2 comprising a transceiver] configured to perform a second operation, wherein the second operation includes at least one of the following:
receiving first information transmitted by a first device; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of a QoE configuration which a terminal is in [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 2; UE performs HO to gNB2; receiving information transmitted by UE; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based];
transmitting third information to the first device; wherein the third information is used to indicate third status information of a QoE configuration, and the third status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the first base station for the terminal to be in [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 4; gNB2 reconfigures UE; transmitting information to UE; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB2, gNB3]];
wherein the first device is the terminal or a second base station [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; UE].
Regarding claim 24, Ericsson discloses An information processing device information processing method according to claim 15 [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB1], comprising:
a third transceiver [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB1 comprising a transceiver] configured to perform a fourth operation, wherein the fourth operation includes at least one of the following:
transmitting first information to a first base station; wherein the first information is used to indicate first status information of a QoE configuration, and the first status information of the QoE configuration is current status information of a QoE configuration which a terminal is in [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, steps 1-2; transmitting information to gNB2; wherein the information is used to indicate: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based];
transmitting the second information or third information to the terminal; wherein the second information is used to indicate second status information of a QoE configuration, and the second status information of the QoE configuration is status information of the QoE configuration indicated by the second base station for the terminal to be in [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5, step 1; gNB1 configures UE: *QoE config 1, service type 1, management based, area = [gNB1, gNB2]; *QoE config 2, service type 2, signaling based].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson in view of Shi et al. (US 2020/0022034 A1, hereinafter “Shi”).
Regarding claim 25, Ericsson discloses An electronic device to perform steps of the method according to claim 7 [see section 2.3.1, figure in page 5; gNB2 perform steps of the method according to claim 7].
Ericsson does not explicitly disclose the electronic device “comprising: a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor; wherein the processor executes the computer program” to perform steps of the method according to claim 7.
However, Shi teaches a target network node comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor; wherein the processor executes the computer program to perform a method of transferring service of a terminal, for which a QoE measurement is configured, from a source network node [see Fig. 2, 3, 5, para. 50, 59-63, 78; target network node comprising processing circuitry, storage, and computer program stored on the storage, wherein the processing circuitry executes the computer program to perform a method of transferring service of a terminal, for which a QoE measurement is configured, from a source network node].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a target network node comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor; wherein the processor executes the computer program to perform a method of transferring service of a terminal, for which a QoE measurement is configured, from a source network node”, as taught by Shi, into the system of Ericsson so that it would allow QoE Measurement collection to continue across a transfer of service of a terminal from a source network node to a target network node [see Shi, para. 79].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469