Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/25/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Based on the definition provided by the original disclosure, a “low-functionality polymer” is interpreted as a polymer comprised principally of C-C and C-H bonds and, therefore, lacks reactive functional groups such as, for example, carbonyl groups, hydroxyl groups, amines, amide or ester linkages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (Jin, Improvement of coating durability, interfacial adhesion and compressive strength of UHMWPE fiber/epoxy composites through plasma pre-treatment and polypyrrole coating, Composites Science and Technology, 128, 2016, pg. 169-175) in view of Vic (US 20080069969).
Regarding Claim 1. Jin teaches a method for the preparation of a polymer composite material comprising the steps of: (a) treating a polymer substrate with a primer (2.2); and (b) treating the product with an epoxy resin and curing the resulting mixture (2.4).
Jin teaches a polypyrrole primer which generates an amine functionality on the surface for epoxy bonding (Fig. 1A). Jin does not explicitly teach diazirine-polyamine; however, Vic teaches a diazirine-polyamine compound desirable for forming a polyamine functionalized polyolefin surface (abstract, [101-103]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the primer of Jin to include a diazirine-polyamine compound, as taught in Vic, because it is a known compound for forming a polyamine functionalized polyolefin surface and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the functionalized surface for epoxy bonding of Jin with a compound as suggested by Vic.
Regarding Claim 2. Jin teaches the curing step is carried out in the presence of a hardener (curing agent, 2.4).
Regarding Claim 3. Jin teaches wherein the product of step (a) is sized with an epoxy resin prior to step (b) (injection of epoxy, i.e. a first portion of the epoxy applied is “size” and the remaining portion of the epoxy is the resin of step b).
Regarding Claims 4-6. Jin teaches ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE, 2.2).
Regarding Claim 7, Vic teaches the primer is derived from a polyamine which is an oligomeric or polymeric compound containing at least 3 repeat units, where each repeat unit is a molecular fragment defined by 1 or more nitrogen atoms covalently bonded to 1 or more carbon atoms ([0038-0039]).
Regarding Claim 8, Vic teaches the primer is derived from diazirine-containing haloaromatics ([0024-0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (Li, Surface modification of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene fibers via sequential photo induced graft polymerization, Applied Surface Science, 257, 2011, pg. 7600-7608) teaches methacrylic acid and acryl amide grafted UHMWPE fibers in an epoxy matrix.
/TABATHA L PENNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712