DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. In response to the amendments filed 06/04/2026, claims 1, 4, 8, 11-12, 15 and 18 were amended, claims 2-3, 9-10 and 21-23 were canceled and new claims 24-27 and 29-30 were added. Therefore, claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-19, 24-27 and 29-30 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Objections
3. The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 29 and 30 should be claims 28-29, because there is no claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-19, 24-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (Ma; US 2024/0089921) in view of Cui et al. (Cui; US 2024/0244583).
For claim 1, Ma discloses a method for transmitting energy-saving indication information, performed by a network device [E.g. 0137-0138, 0054-0060], comprising:
sending a system message to a user device, wherein the system message comprises information indicating enabling a paging early indication (PEI) [E.g. 0137: One embodiment provides a signal sending method applied by a base station. The signal sending method is applicable to the case where multiple PEI time domain positions are determined. As shown in FIG. 2A, the signal sending method provided by the embodiment of the present application mainly includes S21, 0138: In S21, a PEI signal is sent before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for instructing a UE to perform a predefined operation based on the PEI signal];
wherein the system message comprises a higher-layer parameter representing the information for indicating to enable the PEI [E.g. 0175-0187, 0199, 0231]; and
in response to the network device being configured with a control resource set for transmitting the PEI, performing: configuring a common search space (CSS) for transmitting downlink control information (DCI) carrying the PEI, and transmitting the DCI carrying the PEI through the CSS [E.g. 0325-0329, 0348].
Ma fails to expressly disclose wherein the system message comprises a number of user device groups corresponding to each paging occasion (PO) supported by the PEI, and a number of POs corresponding to the PEI.
However, as shown by Cui, it was well known in the art of communication to include system message comprises a number of user device groups corresponding to each paging occasion (PO) supported by the PEI, and a number of POs corresponding to the PEI [E.g. 0058-0059, 0063, 0066-0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of communication before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Ma with the teaching of Cui in order to manage a larger number of user devices and Pos more efficiently, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 3, Ma discloses wherein the system message comprises at least one of: a number of user device groups corresponding to each paging occasion (PO) supported by the PEI; or a number of POs corresponding to the PEI [E.g. 0195-0203].
For claim 4, Ma discloses transmitting the DCI carrying the PEI through one of: Type #0 CSS, Type #0-A CSS, Type #1 CSS, or Type #2 CSS [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 5, Ma discloses in response to the network device not being configured with a control resource set for transmitting the PEI, transmitting DCI carrying the PEI based on a default CSS [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 6, Ma discloses wherein the default CSS is specified by a communication protocol [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 7, Ma discloses wherein the default CSS comprises one of: a CSS for transmitting DCI for scheduling paging, Type #0 CSS, Type #0-A CSS, Type #1 CSS, or Type #2 CSS [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 8, Ma discloses a method for receiving energy-saving indication information, performed by a user device [E.g. 0137-0138, 0510, Fig. 11]., comprising:
receiving a system message from a network device, wherein the system message comprises information indicating enabling a paging early indication (PEI) [E.g. 0137: One embodiment provides a signal sending method applied by a base station. The signal sending method is applicable to the case where multiple PEI time domain positions are determined. As shown in FIG. 2A, the signal sending method provided by the embodiment of the present application mainly includes S21, 0138: In S21, a PEI signal is sent before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for instructing a UE to perform a predefined operation based on the PEI signal];
wherein the system message comprises a higher-layer parameter representing the information for indicating to enable the PEI [E.g. 0175-0187, 0199, 0231]; and
the network device being configured with a control resource set for transmitting the PEI, receiving downlink control information (DCI) carrying the PEI based on a common search space (CSS) for transmitting downlink control information (DCI) carrying the PEI [E.g. 0325-0329, 0348].
Ma fails to expressly disclose wherein the system message comprises a number of user device groups corresponding to each paging occasion (PO) supported by the PEI, and a number of POs corresponding to the PEI.
However, as shown by Cui, it was well known in the art of communication to include system message comprises a number of user device groups corresponding to each paging occasion (PO) supported by the PEI, and a number of POs corresponding to the PEI [E.g. 0058-0059, 0063, 0066-0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of communication before the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Ma with the teaching of Cui in order to manage a larger number of user devices and Pos more efficiently, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 11, Ma discloses determining at least one of the following specified by a communication protocol: a number of user device groups corresponding to each PO supported by the PEI; or a number of POs corresponding to the PEI [E.g. 0195-0203].
For claim 12, Ma discloses wherein the DCI carrying the PEI is received based on one of: a common search space (CSS) for transmitting the DCI carrying the PEI, Type #0 CSS, Type #0-A CSS, Type #1 CSS, or Type #2 CSS [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 13, Ma discloses in response to the network device not being configured with a control resource set for transmitting the PEI, receiving DCI carrying the PEI based on a default CSS [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 14, Ma discloses wherein the default CSS is specified by a communication protocol [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 15, Ma discloses wherein the default CSS comprises one of: a CSS for transmitting DCI for scheduling paging, Type #0 CSS, Type #0-A CSS, Type #1 CSS, or Type #2 CSS [E.g. 0327-0330].
For claim 18, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
For claim 19, Ma discloses a mobile terminal comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein, the processor is configured to perform the method for receiving energy-saving indication information according to claim 8 [E.g. 0137-0138, 0510, Fig. 11].
For claim 24, Cui further teaches wherein one PEI corresponds to one PO or multiple Pos [E.g. 0058-0059].
For claim 25, Ma disclose wherein the information indicating enabling the PEI is used to configure a CSS for the DCI carrying the PEI [E.g. 0231, 0315, 0322, 0328, 0348].
For claim 26, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 24.
For claim 27, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 25.
For claim 29, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 24.
For claim 30, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 25.
Response to Remarks
7. The Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689