DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowable and claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Greitman, Applicant argues that 1) “no identification of a cooling unit or a cooling air inlet region” – the Examiner has amended the claims to better address these limitations; 2) Outlet vs. inlet – the Examiner addressed the fact that Greitman discusses an outlet and not an inlet. The Examiner noted that reversing the fan of the cooling system would likewise reverse the inlet/outlet positions. Further, the Examiner notes that no criticality is given to this feature. Finally, the Applicant’s application does not have outlets at all, highlighting the fact that often times the location of vent features is overlooked in a patent application, as it is not particularly important or critical; 3) The naming and location of the various “housings” in the application. Please see the 112B rejection which has been added to this office action regarding this feature. The Examiner notes that merely rearranging the names of the items would alter the interpretation without changing the structure; 4) Applicant argues there is no “reversing motor” for a fan – The Examiner was merely highlighting a conceptual factor of fans and inlet/outlet features, as opposed to explicitly citing this as a feature. As this was done in an advisory action, this level of discussion is in accordance with office procedure. Finally, the Examiner has made these arguments moot, as new 103 rejections have been included to address these features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greitman US 2024/0051109.
Regarding claim 1, Greitman discloses: A housing apparatus (Figs. 1-7, housing 6) for a hand-held angle grinder (Figs. 1-7, power tool 1), comprising:
at least one handle housing (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) which comprises at least one bow handle (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13);
at least one motor housing (Figs. 1-7, motor housing 22) which comprises a storage area configured to receive a drive unit (Figs. 1-7, motor 5) of the hand-held angle grinder ([0015] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the power tool is a cut-off grinder.”) and which specifies an orientation of an axis of rotation of the drive unit wherein (see Fig. 5), viewed in a direction parallel to the axis of rotation, the bow handle is disposed on the motor housing at least substantially entirely on a side of the motor housing facing away from a gearbox housing (Fig. 5, drive means 26 and/or transmission 23) connection region of the motor housing; and
at least one battery pack interface (Figs. 1-7, interfaces 18 or contacts 19) configured for placement of at least one battery pack (Figs. 1-7, batteries 2,3) which is disposed on the handle housing on a side of the handle housing facing away from the bow handle;
wherein, viewed along a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation, the bow handle projects largely beyond the motor housing (see Figs. 1-7), and
for at least one cooling unit ([0033], “The carrier unit can comprise a heat sink for cooling the electronics, wherein an air flow can be guided through the carrier to cool the electronics.”) for cooling an interior space of the at least one motor housing and/or for cooling an interior space of the at least one handle housing, which is disposed on the at least one handle housing at least partly opposite to the at least one bow handle the at least one handle housing comprises a cooling air inlet region which at least one of:
faces the at least one bow handle and/or
is disposed at ventilation openings of the at least one cooling unit and
is disposed at least substantially entirely between the axis of rotation and the at least one bow handle ([0055], “The motor housing 22 can have air outlets, from which the spent cooling air can be expelled from the interior of the power tool 1. In particular, slots from which the cooling air is expelled can be provided on the underside and/or rear side of the motor housing 22.” - The Examiner notes that, as discussed in the Advisory Action, the having of air outlets guarantees that inlets must exist. It is often the case that air inlets AND outlets are not always disclosed in a specification, as is the case in the current application (the Examiner was not able to find any air outlets discussed in the current Application). Furthermore, as noted by the Examiner, inlets and outlets can be exchanged by reversing the direction of the fan. Finally, the Examiner notes that no criticality exists in the specification that would require that inlets to exist on the handle housing as opposed to the outlets.).
Alternative Rejection for Claim 1
As discussed above in the 102 rejection, it can be argued that Greitman does not explicitly disclose the features of the air inlet region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before invention to utilize the location of the air outlets as described in [0055] as air inlets, as one having ordinary skill in the art would locate the air inlets in an appropriate location as a matter of design choice. The Examiner notes that the specification attaches no criticality to the location of air inlets as pertains to the handle. The benefit of this arrangement would lead to air flow around the handle of the user, thereby providing a cooling and drying function.
Regarding claim 4, Greitman further discloses: the at least one bow handle (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) comprises at least one gripping surface (see Examiner Illustration 1, items labeled GP1, GP2, GP3) which faces the at least one handle housing (each of the labeled gripping surfaces faces another portion of the handle housing) and, viewed along the direction parallel to the axis of rotation is spaced apart from the at least one motor housing (see Examiner Illustration 1) and viewed along the direction parallel to the axis of rotation, comprises at least two gripping surface portions which, viewed in the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation, enclose an angle of at least 70
°
(see Examiner Illustration 1)
Examiner Illustration 1
Regarding claim 6, Greitman further discloses: a gripping surface portion of a gripping surface of the at least one bow handle encloses an angle with the axis of rotation which has a value between 90° and 120° (Based upon Examiner Illustration 1, this claim must be met by the Greitman reference, as there exist 4 bow handle angles, and at least one of those angles is clearly less than 90 degrees, meaning that one of the other angles must be equal to or greater than 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 7, Greitman further discloses: the at least one bow handle (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) comprises at least one control element (Figs. 1-7, operating switch 21) which, viewed along a maximum handle length of the at least one bow handle , is disposed in a central region of the at least one bow handle; and a value of a maximum longitudinal extension of the at least one control element is at least 20% of a value of the maximum handle length of the at least one bow (see Fig. 4, the switch 21 is clearly greater than half GP2). .
Regarding claim 8, Greitman further discloses: the at least one battery pack interface (Figs. 1-7, interfaces 18 or contacts 19) is disposed in the immediate vicinity of the axis of rotation (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Greitman further discloses: a drive unit which comprises the axis of rotation (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Greitman further discloses: at least one battery pack interface (Figs. 1-7, interfaces 18 or contacts 19) for placement of at least one battery pack (Figs. 1-7, batteries 2,3), which is disposed on the at least one handle housing (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) on a side of the at least one handle housing facing away from the at least one bow handle ((Figs. 1-7, second handle 13);in wherein the at least one battery pack interface is disposed in an immediate vicinity of the an axis of rotation of the drive unit (see Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 15, Greitman further discloses: a hand-held power tool center of gravity, wherein the at least one battery pack interface is disposed in an immediate vicinity of the hand-held power tool center of gravity ([0027] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the motor of the power tool is oriented centrally, transversely to the rechargeable batteries and to the working direction of the power tool. As a result, the center of gravity of the power tool is substantially at the center of the motor, and therefore the load on the circumferential, front handle is as small as possible during the operation or carrying of the power tool. In other words, a particularly well-balanced power tool which, despite its weight, can be easily carried and has good ergonomics during cutting can be provided by means of the preferably central arrangement of the motor, the working axis of which is preferably perpendicular to a central axis of the power tool.”).
air
Regarding claim 16, Greitman further discloses: the hand-held power tool is an angle grinder ([0015] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the power tool is a cut-off grinder.”).
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding, US 20200230718.
Regarding claim 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 14-16, the following rejection of claim 18 contains all pertinent citations applicable to these claims. As such, these citations are incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 18, Ding discloses: A housing apparatus (Fig. 1, housing 2) for a hand-held angle grinder ([0138], “Therefore, the power tool described in the present example may correspond to the circular saw, the electric drill, the angle grinder, the reciprocating saw, the polishing machine, the screwdriver, the spanner, the mixer, etc.”), comprising:
at least one handle housing which comprises at least one bow handle (Fig. 1, bow handle surrounding switch SW1);
at least one motor housing (Figs. 1 and 2, the housing surrounding the motor 5) which comprises a storage area configured to receive a drive unit (Fig. 2, motor 5) of the hand-held angle grinder and which specifies an orientation of an axis of rotation of the drive unit (see Figs. 2 and 3), wherein the axis of rotation extends from a rearward portion of the at least one motor housing to a forward portion of the at least one motor housing (see Figs. 2 and 3), and wherein the at least one handle housing is disposed on the at least one motor housing at least substantially entirely on a rear side of the at least one motor housing (see Figs. 2 and 3) facing away from a gearbox housing connection region (Fig. 2,transmission device 7 and outer housing), the gearbox housing connection region at a forward portion of the at least one motor housing; and
at least one battery pack interface (Fig. 2, connection to battery pack 11), configured for placement of at least one battery pack Fig. 2, battery pack 11), which is disposed on the at least one handle housing on a lower side of the at least one handle housing facing away from the at least one bow handle,
wherein the at least one bow handle projects largely higher than the at least one motor housing (see Fig. 3),
for at least one cooling unit (Examiner Illustration A) for cooling an interior space of the at least one motor housing and/or for cooling an interior space of the at least one handle housing, which is disposed on the at least one handle housing at least partly opposite to the at least one bow handle the at least one handle housing comprises a cooling air inlet region (see Examiner Illustration A – the Examiner notes that the disclosure does not discuss this feature. However, it is obvious from the drawings that the slots shown in the Illustration are clearly either inlets or outlets for the air from the cited fan. As discussed above, whether these inlet air or outlet air can be decided by the direction in which the fan spins, thus meeting the claim limitation.) which at least one of:
faces the at least one bow handle and/or
is disposed at ventilation openings of the at least one cooling unit and
is disposed at least substantially entirely between the axis of rotation and the at least one bow handle .
Examiner Illustration A
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Greitman US 2024/0051109 in view of Ding, US 20200230718.
Regarding claim 1, Greitman discloses: A housing apparatus (Figs. 1-7, housing 6) for a hand-held angle grinder (Figs. 1-7, power tool 1) ([0015] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the power tool is a cut-off grinder.”), comprising:
at least one handle housing (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) which comprises at least one bow handle (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13);
at least one motor housing (Figs. 1-7, motor housing 22) which comprises a storage area configured to receive a drive unit (Figs. 1-7, motor 5) of the hand-held angle grinder and which specifies an orientation of an axis of rotation of the drive unit wherein (see Fig. 5), viewed in a direction parallel to the axis of rotation, the at least one bow handle is disposed on the at least one motor housing at least substantially entirely on a side of the at least one motor housing facing away from a gearbox housing (Fig. 5, drive means 26 and/or transmission 23) connection region of the at least one motor housing; and
at least one battery pack interface (Figs. 1-7, interfaces 18 or contacts 19) configured for placement of at least one battery pack (Figs. 1-7, batteries 2,3) which is disposed on the at least one handle housing on a side of the at least one handle housing facing away from the at least one bow handle;
wherein, viewed along a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation, the bow handle projects largely beyond the at least one motor housing (see Figs. 1-7),
for at least one cooling unit ([0033], “The carrier unit can comprise a heat sink for cooling the electronics, wherein an air flow can be guided through the carrier to cool the electronics.”) for cooling an interior space of the at least one motor housing and/or for cooling an interior space of the at least one handle housing, which is disposed on the at least one handle housing at least partly opposite to the at least one bow handle the at least one handle housing comprises a cooling air inlet region which at least one of:
faces the at least one bow handle and/or
is disposed at ventilation openings of the at least one cooling unit and
is disposed at least substantially entirely between the axis of rotation and the at least one bow handle ([0055], “The motor housing 22 can have air outlets, from which the spent cooling air can be expelled from the interior of the power tool 1. In particular, slots from which the cooling air is expelled can be provided on the underside and/or rear side of the motor housing 22.” - The Examiner notes that, as discussed in the Advisory Action, the having of air outlets guarantees that inlets must exist. It is often the case that air inlets AND outlets are not always disclosed in a specification, as is the case in the current application (the Examiner was not able to find any air outlets discussed in the current Application). Furthermore, as noted by the Examiner, inlets and outlets can be exchanged by reversing the direction of the fan. Finally, the Examiner notes that no criticality exists in the specification that would require that inlets to exist on the handle housing as opposed to the outlets.).
Due to the confusion surrounding the views as claimed, the Examiner is including the following combination.
The Ding reference contains an identical location relationship between its handle, motor, gearbox and housing. This can be seen in the following illustration, which contains the same parts as the Greitman reference, but utilizes a different motor orientation.
Furthermore, the amended claim limitation is cited here for convenience - for at least one cooling unit (Examiner Illustration A ) for cooling an interior space of the at least one motor housing and/or for cooling an interior space of the at least one handle housing, which is disposed on the at least one handle housing at least partly opposite to the at least one bow handle the at least one handle housing comprises a cooling air inlet region (see Examiner Illustration A – the Examiner notes that the disclosure does not discuss this feature. However, it is obvious from the drawings that the slots shown in the Illustration are clearly either inlets or outlets for the air from the cited fan. As discussed above, whether these inlet air or outlet air can be decided by the direction in which the fan spins, thus meeting the claim limitation.) which at least one of:
faces the at least one bow handle and/or
is disposed at ventilation openings of the at least one cooling unit and
is disposed at least substantially entirely between the axis of rotation and the at least one bow handle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before filing to utilize the housing arrangement as taught by Ding in combination with the device of Greitman, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. This alteration represents a simple substitution of one design arrangement for another, with both accomplishing the same function.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Greitman further discloses: the at least one bow handle (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) comprises at least one gripping surface (see Examiner Illustration 1, items labeled GP1, GP2, GP3) which faces the at least one handle housing (each of the labeled gripping surfaces faces another portion of the handle housing) and, viewed along the direction parallel to the axis of rotation is spaced apart from the at least one motor housing (see Examiner Illustration 1 for Greitman handle location, utilizing the motor direction as taught by Ding) and viewed along the direction parallel to the axis of rotation, comprises at least two gripping surface portions which, viewed in the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation, enclose an angle of at least 70
°
(see Examiner Illustration 1 for Greitman handle location, utilizing the motor direction as taught by Ding).
Examiner Illustration 1
Regarding claim 6, the modified Greitman further discloses: a gripping surface portion of a gripping surface of the at least one bow handle encloses an angle with the axis of rotation which has a value between 90° and 120° (Based upon Examiner Illustration 1, this claim must be met by the Greitman reference, as there exist 4 bow handle angles, and at least one of those angles is clearly less than 90 degrees, meaning that one of the other angles must be equal to or greater than 90 degrees) (see Examiner Illustration 1 for Greitman handle location, utilizing the rotation axis as taught by Ding).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Greitman further discloses: the at least one bow handle (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) comprises at least one control element (Figs. 1-7, operating switch 21) which, viewed along a maximum handle length of the at least one bow handle , is disposed in a central region of the at least one bow handle; and a value of a maximum longitudinal extension of the at least one control element is at least 20% of a value of the maximum handle length of the at least one bow (see Fig. 4, the switch 21 is clearly greater than half GP2). .
Regarding claim 8, the modified Greitman further discloses: the at least one battery pack interface (Figs. 1-7, interfaces 18 or contacts 19) is disposed in the immediate vicinity of the axis of rotation (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Greitman further discloses: a drive unit which comprises the axis of rotation (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Greitman further discloses: at least one battery pack interface (Figs. 1-7, interfaces 18 or contacts 19) for placement of at least one battery pack (Figs. 1-7, batteries 2,3), which is disposed on the at least one handle housing (Figs. 1-7, second handle 13) on a side of the at least one handle housing facing away from the at least one bow handle ((Figs. 1-7, second handle 13);in wherein the at least one battery pack interface is disposed in an immediate vicinity of the an axis of rotation of the drive unit (see Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Greitman further discloses: a hand-held power tool center of gravity, wherein the at least one battery pack interface is disposed in an immediate vicinity of the hand-held power tool center of gravity ([0027] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the motor of the power tool is oriented centrally, transversely to the rechargeable batteries and to the working direction of the power tool. As a result, the center of gravity of the power tool is substantially at the center of the motor, and therefore the load on the circumferential, front handle is as small as possible during the operation or carrying of the power tool. In other words, a particularly well-balanced power tool which, despite its weight, can be easily carried and has good ergonomics during cutting can be provided by means of the preferably central arrangement of the motor, the working axis of which is preferably perpendicular to a central axis of the power tool.”).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Greitman further discloses: the hand-held power tool is an angle grinder ([0015] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the power tool is a cut-off grinder.”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greitman in view of Meuer, US 20240001526.
Regarding claim 2, Greitman discloses the device of claim 1.
Greitman does not explicitly disclose: a maximum spacing of the at least one bow handle relative to the axis of rotation is at least 80 mm viewed along the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation.
Meuer teaches: a maximum spacing of the at least one bow handle relative to the axis of rotation is at least 80 mm viewed along the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation ([0020] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the second handle has a rear side region, which has a height h in a range of from 70 to 150 mm, preferably in a range of from 80 to 120 mm, and most preferably in a range of from 85 to 100 mm. For the purposes of the invention, the rear side region is preferably also referred to as the rear side part. The height h can be defined as the spacing between the longitudinal axis passing centrally through the grip region of the second handle and a region in which the rear side region of the second handle merges into the power tool or the protection frame of the power tool. Details can be taken from FIG. 1.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the handle dimensions as taught by Meuer in combination with the device of Greitman, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this is clearly stated in Meuer reference, paragraph [0021], “A height h in a region of 8.5 cm has proven to be an optimum mean for good handling of the power tool and sufficient space for the reach-through region between the second handle and the upper side of the power tool, on the one hand, and compactness and robustness of the power tool on the other hand”.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Meuer, US 20240001526.
Regarding claim 2, Ding discloses the device of claim 1.
Greitman does not explicitly disclose: a maximum spacing of the at least one bow handle relative to the axis of rotation is at least 80 mm viewed along the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation.
Meuer teaches: a maximum spacing of the at least one bow handle relative to the axis of rotation is at least 80 mm viewed along the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation ([0020] “For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the second handle has a rear side region, which has a height h in a range of from 70 to 150 mm, preferably in a range of from 80 to 120 mm, and most preferably in a range of from 85 to 100 mm. For the purposes of the invention, the rear side region is preferably also referred to as the rear side part. The height h can be defined as the spacing between the longitudinal axis passing centrally through the grip region of the second handle and a region in which the rear side region of the second handle merges into the power tool or the protection frame of the power tool. Details can be taken from FIG. 1.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the handle dimensions as taught by Meuer in combination with the device of Ding, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this is clearly stated in Meuer reference, paragraph [0021], “A height h in a region of 8.5 cm has proven to be an optimum mean for good handling of the power tool and sufficient space for the reach-through region between the second handle and the upper side of the power tool, on the one hand, and compactness and robustness of the power tool on the other hand”.
Regarding claim 3, Greitman/Ding discloses the device of claim 1.
Greitman/Ding does not explicitly disclose: the at least one bow handle) has a maximum handle length of at least 250 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize an appropriate handle length, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. As a matter of fact, the exact opposite s disclosed in the reference – [0045] “The bow handle 22a has a maximum handle length of at least 250 mm. The maximum handle length is measured along the central fiber 152a of the bow handle 22a. The maximum handle length of the bow handle 22a is at most 350 mm. The maximum handle length of the bow handle 22a is preferably between 280 mm and 320 mm, particularly preferably between 295 mm and 315 mm”.
Regarding claim 5, Greitman/Ding discloses the device of claim 1.
Greitman/Ding does not explicitly disclose: a gripping surface of the at least one bow handle encloses an angle with an axis which extends parallel to the axis of rotation which has a value between 40° and 50°.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize an appropriate handle angle, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations see [0076]. The Examiner further notes that upon viewing the Greitman device, it would appear that the angle of the cited portion of the device is approximately 45°, which would meet the claim limitation (if the angle was explicitly discussed).
Regarding claim 9, Greitman/Ding further discloses: on a side of the at least one battery pack interface facing away from the at least one motor housing, the at least one handle housing comprises a battery protection wall which has a maximum extension, starting from the axis of rotation and extending along a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation ([0045], “protection frame 14 preferably comprises two L-shaped structures 16, which are connected to one another by respective connecting webs on the rear side 9 and on the front handle 12 of the main body 4 of the power tool 1. For the purposes of the invention, it is preferred that the protection frame 14 comprises a plastic injection molding, preferably of circumferential design, which can have a U-shaped profile with ribs).
Greitman/Ding does not explicitly disclose: that corresponds to more than 25% of the maximum extension of the at least one motor housing starting from the axis of rotation along the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize an appropriate housing design, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations
Regarding claim 12, Greitman/Ding discloses the device of claim 11.
Greitman/Ding does not explicitly disclose: a value of a maximum spacing of the at least one bow handle to the axis of rotation is at least 20% of a value of the maximum hand-held power tool longitudinal extension, at least viewed along a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize an appropriate handle dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731