DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Goldberg et al., WO 2022072555 A1 (Goldberg).
Claim 10.
Goldberg teaches A method of a system comprising a hardware processor, comprising: receiving information relating to a tool useable for manufacturing parts; (Goldberg 00139) “The method starts with a manufacturing line and mold parameter receiving operation 902 in which the operator inputs the number and type of molds used in the manufacturing line.”
based on the information, determining physical properties of a plurality of repeating structures of the tool, (Goldberg 0049) “These patterns are mathematically generated by the slicer software for each layer based on mathematical rules specific to each pattern.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: Slicer generates infill geometry from parameters, and maps physical properties to that geometry.}
wherein the determining comprises specifying a first physical property for a first subset of the plurality of repeating structures, (Goldberg 0080) “of the mold may set to a first set of print parameters and the nearer to the contact surface with the fiber.”
and specifying a different second physical property for a second subset of the plurality of repeating structures; (Goldberg 0080) “. . . and the nearer to the contact surface with the fiber, a second, different set of print parameters may be used.”
and generating a digital representation of the tool, the digital representation including information specifying the first physical property for the first subset of the plurality of repeating structures, and specifying the second physical property for the second subset of the plurality of repeating structures. (Goldberg 00145) “the mold model generation computer program then creates a model for each mold type needed in a mold model(s) creation operation 908. . . . The mold type model further defines the fill density and the fill pattern necessary to achieve the desired porosity in each section of the mold, both in the mold core and the part contact surface.”
Claim 11.
Goldberg teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the physical properties of the plurality of repeating structures is based on orientations of respective repeating structures of the plurality of repeating structures on a build surface of the tool or based on presence of masses proximate repeating structures of the plurality of repeating structures. From the above list of alternatives, the Examiner is selecting "on a build surface of the tool". (Goldberg 0092) “This simple embodiment separates the mold screen into two bodies based on the angle of the contact surface and varies the infill density for those two bodies. By changing the infill density based on the angle of the contact surface, the porosity of the surface can be controlled in order to achieve a more uniform porosity across the entire contact surf ace.”
Claim 12.
Goldberg teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the physical properties of the plurality of repeating structures is based on liquid flow rates of respective regions of the tool. (Goldberg 00107) “These two changes result in an increased velocity of water flow through the different portions of the mold core (by reducing the volume of the core) and also increased the velocity of water flow through the mold screen.”
Claim 14.
Goldberg teaches A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that upon execution cause a system to: receive information relating to a tool useable for manufacturing parts; (Goldberg 00139) “The method starts with a manufacturing line and mold parameter receiving operation 902 in which the operator inputs the number and type of molds used in the manufacturing line.” (00111) “that computer-readable data storage media can be any available non-transitory, physical device, or article of manufacture from which the central display station can read data and/or instructions.”
based on the information that is indicative of an interaction of a material with the tool, determine physical properties of a plurality of repeating structures of the tool, (Goldberg 0049) “These patterns are mathematically generated by the slicer software for each layer based on mathematical rules specific to each pattern.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: Slicer generates infill geometry from parameters, and maps physical properties to that geometry.}
wherein the determining comprises specifying a first physical property for a first subset of the plurality of repeating structures, (Goldberg 0080) “of the mold may set to a first set of print parameters and the nearer to the contact surface with the fiber.”
and specifying a different second physical property for a second subset of the plurality of repeating structures; (Goldberg 0080) “. . . and the nearer to the contact surface with the fiber, a second, different set of print parameters may be used.”
and generate a digital representation of the tool, the digital representation including information specifying the first physical property for the first subset of the plurality of repeating structures, and specifying the second physical property for the second subset of the plurality of repeating structures. (Goldberg 00145) “the mold model generation computer program then creates a model for each mold type needed in a mold model(s) creation operation 908. . . . The mold type model further defines the fill density and the fill pattern necessary to achieve the desired porosity in each section of the mold, both in the mold core and the part contact surface.”
Claim 16.
Goldberg teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the first physical property comprises a first size, (Goldberg 0084) “the outer portion 1202 is provided with a more dense infill pattern creating small pores in the surface.”
and the second physical property comprises a second size different from the first size. (Goldberg 0084) “forms an outer screen of lower porosity and/or lower pore sizes.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: Under BRI, selecting Smaller pore sizes relative to the core is the second size different from the first.}
Claim 18.
Goldberg teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of repeating structures comprise pores through which a liquid is to pass to manufacture a part using the tool. (Goldberg 0085) “thereby drawing the water through the mold 1200 and depositing a layer of fiber on the fiber contact surface of the screen 1202.”
Claim 20.
Goldberg teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the tool comprises either a screen with pores, or a form for a molded fiber manufacturing process. From the above list of alternatives, the Examiner is selecting "a form for a molded fiber manufacturing process". (Goldberg 00129) “FIG. 7 illustrates an embodiment of a method for creating a porous mold for molded fiber part manufacturing.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al., WO 2022072555 A1 (Goldberg) in further view of Saviers et al., US 20220258241 A1 (Saviers).
Claim 13.
Goldberg does not explicitly teach, but Saviers teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the determining of the physical properties of the plurality of repeating structures is based on a factor relating to cleaning residue powdered build material. (Saviers 0033-0034) “The tortuous design of fluid circuit 28 can make removal of excess powder challenging once cold plate 12 is fully assembled with outer casing 16. . . . Excess powder is removed or exhausted through apertures 56 from the internal space of cold plate 12 after fluid circuit 28 and outer housing 16 is formed.”
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify the manufacturing method of Goldberg with the repeating structures of Saviers to improve thermal transfer as Saviers suggests (0002).
Claims 15, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al., WO 2022072555 A1 (Goldberg) in further view of Gutierrez et al., WO 2020159508 A1 (Gutierrez).
Claim 15.
Goldberg does not explicitly teach, but Gutierrez teaches The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions upon execution cause the system to: detect different orientations of a first surface and a second surface of the tool; (Gutierrez 0034) “The faces are defined at different angles to the X and Y axes, and the outwards facing normals to the faces may be determined by reference to the coordinates used to define the vertices.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: Surface normal are calculated from model coordinates, applying that calculation to two differently oriented tool surfaces is the detection step.}
specify a first size of a first repeating structure on the first surface; (Gutierrez 0032) “the mesh model may be adjusted, expanded or contracted as set out by the determined geometrical compensation.”
specify a second size of a second repeating structure on the second surface; (Gutierrez 0048) “Using such a process, each vertex, edge and/or triangle of the mesh may be offset in a manner which is determined in terms of its orientation in the model.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: Corresponding orientation dependent adjustment to a second pore on the second surface.}
and include, in the digital representation, information specifying the first size of the first repeating structure and information specifying the second size of the second repeating structure, (Gutierrez 0032) the determined geometrical compensation to the object model data to determine modified object model data. In other words, the mesh model may be adjusted, expanded or contracted as set out by the determined geometrical compensation. In examples, the determined geometrical compensation may be applied to each of a plurality of at least one 15 of the vertices, edges and/or faces of the object.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: The modified mesh records compensated geometry. Applying this to both pore boundaries would encode their respective sizes.}
wherein the first repeating structure and the second repeating structure when built by an additive manufacturing machine have substantially a same size. (Gutierrez 0058) “the object once formed may end up being closer to an intended size.”
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify the manufacturing method of Goldberg with the digital representation of Gutierrez to “improve dimensional accuracy.” (Gutierrez 0026).
Claim 21.
Claim 21 contains similar limitations as claim 16, albeit for a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium. It is rejected for the same reasons claim 16 was rejected.
Claim 23.
Claim 23 contains similar limitations as claim 18, albeit for a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium. It is rejected for the same reasons claim 18 was rejected.
Claim 25.
Claim 25 contains similar limitations as claim 20, albeit for a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium. It is rejected for the same reasons claim 20 was rejected.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al., WO 2022072555 A1 (Goldberg) in further view of Andersson et al., US 20190376239 (Andersson).
Claim 17.
Goldberg does not explicitly teach, but Andersson teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the first physical property comprises a first shape, (Andersson 0010) “The channels are straight or curved with no more than one point of inflection.”
and the second physical property comprises a second shape different from the first shape. (Andersson 0093) “Specifically, such curved channels may be curved in one plane, as illustrated, or in two orthogonal planes.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: The curved axis channels differs from the first subsets straight axis geometry.}
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify the manufacturing method of Goldberg with the shapes of Andersson to reduce clogging and difficulty of repair as Andersson suggests (0004).
Claim 19.
Modified Goldberg with Andersson teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of repeating structures comprises either pillars to support the tool on another tool, or dimples or protrusions on a surface of the tool. (Andersson 0052) “This may be facilitated by forming the spacer elements on the rear face of the tool wall portion.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: The spacer could potentially be dimples or protrusions on the surface of the tool.}
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al., WO 2022072555 A1 (Goldberg) in further view of Gutierrez et al., WO 2020159508 A1 (Gutierrez) in further view of Andersson et al., US 20190376239 (Andersson).
Claim 22.
Goldberg and Gutierrez teach all of the limitations of parent claim 15 as stated above. Neither Goldberg not Guierrez teaches but Andersson teaches the limitation of Claim 22: Andersson teaches The method of claim 15, wherein the first physical property comprises a first shape, (Andersson 0010) “The channels are straight or curved with no more than one point of inflection.”
and the second physical property comprises a second shape different from the first shape. (Andersson 0093) “Specifically, such curved channels may be curved in one plane, as illustrated, or in two orthogonal planes.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: The curved axis channels differs from the first subsets straight axis geometry.}
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify the manufacturing method of modified Goldberg with the shapes of Andersson to reduce clogging and difficulty of repair as Andersson suggests (0004).
Claim 24.
Modified Goldberg with Andersson teaches The method of claim 15, wherein the plurality of repeating structures comprises either pillars to support the tool on another tool, or dimples or protrusions on a surface of the tool. (Andersson 0052) “This may be facilitated by forming the spacer elements on the rear face of the tool wall portion.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: The spacer could potentially be dimples or protrusions on the surface of the tool.}
Conclusion
/JOHN DAVID HAGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189