Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election to prosecute group I, claims 1-10 in communication dated 10/20/2026 is acknowledged. Applicants did not explicitly whether the election is made with or without traverse. The examiner will treat instant claims as elected without traverse due to lack of arguments, however, confirmation from applicants is requested.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recited (meth)acrylates and (meth)acrylic acid derivatives, wherein (meth)acrylates are the derivatives of (meth)acrylic acid. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 5 required components B and E in an amount of up to 6 wt.% of B and up to 17 wt.% of E. Since applicants do not disclose lower limit for B and E, their content can be zero as well.
With respect to properties required by claim 9 - claim depends on instant claim 1 which requires: 2-49.8 wt.% of ethylene containing polar group, 30-60 wt.% of flame retardant filler and 2-10 wt.% of zirconium phosphate. Consequently, these properties under broadest reasonable interpretation define properties of the composition of claim on which they depend (here claim 1) and will be inherent in the prior art that teaches the same components and in the same amount.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al Synergistic flame retardant effect of zirconium phosphate in low density polyethylene/ethylene-vinyl acetate/aluminum hydroxide hybrids.
With respect to claim 1, Yang discloses composition comprising (Table 1):
With respect to claim 2, the polar copolymer is ethylene-vinyl acetate.
With respect to claim 3, EVA has acetate content of 28%. With respect to malt flow rate Akrema teaches following EVA tradenames with VA content of 28% (see attached brochures)
Evatane 28-03 VA content 28% MFR 3 g/10 min (ISO 1133)
Evatane 28-25 VA content 27-29% MFR22-28 g/10 min (ISO 1133)
Evatane 28-05 VA content 27-29% MFR 5-8 g/10 min (ISO 1133)
All of them meet the MFR and VA content of instant claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, the flame retardant is aluminum hydroxide in hydrated from.
With respect to claim 5, consistent with claim interpretation above under broadest reasonable interpretation, the content of components B and E is optional.
With respect to claim 9, physical properties of the composition are cumulative properties of every single component of the composition, and this is because the compounds and their properties are mutually exclusive. Consequently, if the prior art teaches EVA with ATH and ZrP in the same amount, therefore the composition will inherently meet the limitation of instant claim 9.
With respect to claim 10, composition of Yang for composition PE4 has UL-94 of V-0. With respect to HRR, as seen from Figure 4:
Figure 4 shows that the peak heat release depends on the content of the flame retardant fillers. Higher content of ZrP and lower content of ATH the peak decreases. This means that the HRR is a result effective variable and lower content of ZrP will further lower the HRR peak.
With respect to claim 19, ATH stands for alumina trihydrate.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN 103450544 translation provided).
With respect to claim 1, example 5 of Wu discloses following composition:
40 pbw of EVA
5 pbw of maleic anhydride grafted EVA copolymer (EVA-MA)
2 pbw ZrP
50 pbw of magnesium hydroxide coated with zinc stannate.
Example 1 discloses using 45 pbw of EVA. Other examples use MA-PE which is also considered a preferred compatibilizer type polymer.
With respect to claim 2, EVA is ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer. Additionally, Wu teaches that 5 pbw of SBS block copolymer can be replaced with PE-MA, PE, PP-MA, POE.
A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination." Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (quoting In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681(CCPA 1962)). The court determine that when 1 compound is limited by generic claim consisting of 20 compounds, the reference sufficiently described permutations involved. Claimed 1 compound out of 20 anticipates the claim.
In instant claims election of component E, specifically ethylene-octene copolymer is 1 out of 4 renders the selection even narrower than the latitude given in In re Petering.
With respect to claim 4, examples above utilize magnesium hydroxide however specification also teaches aluminum hydroxide.
With respect to claim 5, Example 5 explicitly states that in lieu of SBS polymer can be replaced with polyethylene grafted with maleic anhydride or propylene grafted with maleic anhydride [0048]. The amount of the graft polymers would be therefore within the same range as that of SBS. It is noted that the components B and E without lower content are considered also optional components.
With respect to claim 9, Table 1 of Wu discloses tensile strength in a range of 12.4-16.9 PMa (second column from the right), elongation at break in a range of 132-167% (far right column).
With respect to claim 10, composition of Wu has HRR of 109-221 KW/m2.
With respect to claim 19, Wu clearly refers to the hydroxide as hydrated compounds which are MH and ATH [0006] so that they can generate water vapor which dilutes flammable gasses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU (CN 103450544) in view of Steffl (US 2013/0161059).
The discussion of Wu from paragraph 2 of this office action is incorporated here by reference. Wu discloses composition that meets the limitation of at least claim 1, wherein the composition is utilized to make a coating on electrical wires. While the components of the Wu meet independent claims, the reference is silent with respect to details of the polymeric components.
Steffl discloses composition for making jackets of the electrical cable, using the same polymeric components but additionally the reference provide much more details with respect to each polymeric component.
The composition of Steffl utilizes polyethylene having polar groups, functionalized polyethylene that is different from the polyethylene having polar group (Abstract). Steffl defines polyolefin as a polymer with building blocks based on polyethylene or polypropylene [0054].
With respect to claim 2, 3, 16 and 17, polar groups utilized include acetates, acrylates, (meth)acrylates [0075-0076] wherein the content of polar monomer is preferably no more than 25%, the range suitable is 5-50wt%. The ethylene polymer comprising polar group has density of 900-950 kg/m3 and MFR of 0.1-10 g/10 min.
With respect to claims 5 and 7, suitable additional polymers for use in electric cable jackets include functionalized polyethylene and copolymer with ethylene and alpha olefin.
Functionalized polyethylene is made by grating a functional group onto polyethylene [0078]. The functional group is preferably maleic anhydride [0084] which has MFR of 0.8-100 g/10 min [0087], density of 900-950 kg/m3 [0090] with maleic anhydride content of up to 10%.
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to utilized functionalized polyethylene and polar group containing polyethylene having properties as described above to obtain jackets for electrical wires. The functionalized polyethylene specifically is referred to as compatibilizer because it improves compatibility between non-polar polyethylene and polar flame retardants. Additionally, both references are directed at making electric wires comprising the composition consequently both references have to meet the same or similar requirements not only properly mold the coating onto electric cable but also to ensure that the jacket cannot delaminate and that the polymers utilized therein have good char formation.
Claims 2-8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU (CN 103450544) in view of Cree (US 2010/03919960).
The discussion of Wu from paragraph 2 of this office action is incorporated here by reference. Wu discloses composition that meets the limitation of at least claim 1, wherein the composition is utilized to make a coating on electrical wires. While the components of the Wu meet independent claims, the reference is silent with respect to details of the polymeric components.
Cree also discloses composition for use with electric wires and is utilized to provide details regarding polyethylene utilized in Wu.
Cree also discloses polyethylene having functional group which improves compatibility between hydrophilic flame retardants and hydrophobic polyethylene.
With respect to claims 2, 3, 8 and 18, the functional group grafted onto polyethylene can be maleic anhydride and silane compound which will inherently contain hydrophilic groups in order to improve compatibility [0035-0036]. Specific silane mentioned has vinyl group which will be subject to grafting and alkoxy silane groups for compatibility.
With respect to claim 16, Cree discloses use of EVA [0039].
With respect to claims 5 and 7, specific tradename of functionalized polymer is Fusabond 226D [0050] which has anhydride content in a range of 0.5-1% MFR of 1.75 g/10 min. polyethylene is LLDPE, density of this component is 0.93 g/cm3 (see attached TDS).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, ethylene alpha olefin of Cree has density of 877 kg/m3, MFR of 1g/10 min. (See TDS for utilized Fusabond 8100) [0051], wherein alpha olefin is octene.
With respect to claim 19, Cree also utilizes hydrated metal hydroxides such as precipitates forms for magnesium hydroxide and aluminum trihydrate (claim 3).
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention to utilize polymers of Wu with the properties disclosed by Cree in order to obtain functional jackets for electrical wiring.
The functionalized polyethylene specifically is referred to as compatibilizer because it improves compatibility between non-polar polyethylene and polar flame retardants. Additionally, both references are directed at making electric wires comprising the composition consequently both references have to meet the same or similar requirements in order to be able to not only properly mold the coating onto electric cable but also to ensure that the jacket cannot delaminate and that the polymers utilized therein have good char formation.
*** The examiner was unable to upload TDS for Engage 8100 into file wrapper consequently the TDS is pasted at the end of the office action
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 November 6, 2026
