DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/700366, “BATTERY”, is the national stage entry of a PCT application filed on 3/30/23 and claims priority from a foreign application filed on 3/30/22.
This Office Action on the merits is in response to communication filed on 9/18/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation, “an annular edge section of the safety valve, which is continuous to the exterior body includes a first edge section formed in an arc shape and a second edge section formed with a radius larger than a radius of the first edge section or formed in a linear shape, the first edge section includes a groove, and a central portion of the first edge section has a minimum curvature” [emphasis added] is unclear.
More specifically, the claim requires that the second edge section has a radius larger than a radius of the first edge or is linear, but subsequently requires that a central portion of the first edges section has a “minimum curvature”. It is unclear how any portion of the first edge could have a minimum curvature because the second edge section has a larger radius [implying a lower curvature] or is linear [implying a curvature of 0, which is also lower].
The unclarity is associated with the failure of the claim to give context to “a minimum curvature”, which is a relative term without a reference to what the curvature is minimum with respect to. As worded, “a minimum curvature” could be considered with respect to any component of the battery, some portions of which may be flat or linear. For example, “a minimum curvature” could be interpreted to refer to a minimum amongst the curvature of the first edge section [the central portion having lower curvature than other portions of the first edge section], or alternatively, “a minimum curvature” could be interpreted to refer to a minimum amongst all the parts of the valve, or even more broadly all the parts of the battery. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marubayashi (US 2005/0112455).
Regarding claim 1, Marubayashi teaches a battery (Figs. 1, 2) comprising: a charge/discharge body (item 7); an exterior body (items 8,6) in which the charge/discharge body is housed; and a safety valve (item 2) provided at the exterior body and configured to open from inside the exterior body to outside when pressure inside the exterior body becomes equal to or larger than a predetermined value (paragraph [0016]), wherein thickness of the safety valve is smaller than thickness of the exterior body (Fig. 2; paragraph [0037]), an annular edge section of the safety valve, which is continuous to the exterior body includes a first edge section formed in an arc shape and a second edge section formed with a radius larger than a radius of the first edge section or formed in a linear shape (Figs 4, 5; e.g. Fig. 5b), and the first edge section includes a groove (item 4; Figs. 2b, 4, 5).
Regarding the 9/18/26 amendment to claim 1, Marubayashi further teaches wherein a central portion of the first edge section has a minimum curvature (see Figs. 5a-5e. For example, Fig. 5b shows an oblong oval, racetrack type shape, where the top of the oblong oval may be considered a second edge section formed in a linear shape [0 curvature], and the sides and bottom of the oblong oval may together be considered a first edge, which includes a central portion [bottom only] having a linear shape with a curvature of 0, matching the minimum curvature. The same analysis may be applied to the oval shape of Fig. 5d or the egg shape of Fig. 5e, where the top of the valve is mapped to the second edge, and the bottom of the valve is mapped to a central portion of the first edge, possessing a minimum curvature matching the minimum curvature of the second edge.)
Regarding claim 2, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve is curved in a convex shape in a direction approaching the charge/discharge body (Fig. 2; paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve is curved in a convex shape in a direction departing from the charge/discharge body (Figs. 8,9).
Regarding claim 4, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 2. Marubayashi further teaches wherein in the safety valve, a curvature of a first curved section curved in a convex shape from the first edge section is smaller than a curvature of a second curved section curved in a convex shape from the second edge section (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0061] teach that the safety valve may have an egg shape or an elliptical shape, each of which have first sections having smaller radius of curvature than second sections).
Regarding claim 5, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 2. Marubayashi further teaches wherein a distal end section of the safety valve is positioned closer to the second edge section than a central section of the safety valve (the distal ends section of the safety valve would be closer to the second edge having larger radius of curvature for at least the egg-shaped embodiments of Fig. 5 and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve extends in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body (see Fig 4b, where the safety valve includes a flat portion at its periphery, adjacent to the wall of the body 6, the flat portion connected to the convex portion by the groove 4).
Regarding claim 7, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the edge section is formed in a rotationally asymmetric annular shape (see at least Figs. 5b, 5d and 5e).
Regarding claim 8, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein at least the edge section of the safety valve is positioned between an outer surface and an inner surface facing each other and constituting a thickness part of the exterior body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 8. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the entire safety valve is positioned between the outer surface and the inner surface (see Fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marubayashi (US 2005/0112455) in view of Marubayashi’880 (US 2003/0131880).
Regarding claim 6, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve is a flat structure, extending in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body.
In the battery art, Marubayashi’880 teaches that a safety valve may be configured to have a flat structure, extending in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body (Fig. 11). Marubayashi’880 further teaches that when the groove has a flat structure, safety may be slightly improved (paragraph [0128]).
The simple substitution of the Marubayashi domed safety valve, for a safety vale having a flat structure, extending in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body, as taught by Marubayashi’880, merely requires the simple substitution of one known valve structure for another to yield predictable results; therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, such a modification may provide benefits such as improved safety; therefore, additional motivation exists to make such a modification in that improves safety may be achieved.
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 3. As described above, Marubayashi teaches a battery comprising a safety valve, wherein the safety valve is curved in a convex shape in a direction departing from the charge/discharge body (see Fig. 8,9, which represent a Comparative Example as described in paragraphs [0032-0033]), but does not appear to teach wherein in the safety valve, a curvature of a first curved section curved in a convex shape from the first edge section is smaller than a curvature of a second curved section curved in a convex shape from the second edge section, or wherein a distal end section of the safety valve is positioned closer to the second edge section than a central section of the safety valve.
However, Marubayashi further teaches that a safety valve may have an egg-type shape for the benefit of stress concentration and easy breakability (paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 8,9 by forming the valve to have an egg-shape as such a structure is associated with improved breakability as taught by Marubayashi at paragraph [0061]).
The egg-shape implies a curvature of a first curved section curved in a convex shape from the first edge section is smaller than a curvature of a second curved section curved in a convex shape from the second edge section, and wherein a distal end section of the safety valve is positioned closer to the second edge section than a central section of the safety valve, as required by claims 10 and 11, respectively.
It is noted that Figs. 8 and 9 are disclosed as a Comparative Example (paragraphs [0033]) with the finding that the inventive embodiments (e.g. Fig. 2, 5) which have a convex up valve shape desirably require less pressure for bursting than the convex down shape of the Fig. 8,9 Comparative Example (paragraph [0052]).
However, it has been held that, “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain…A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments… Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments… A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” (MPEP 2123)
Here, the Comparative Example of Marubayahsi, wherein the valve is configured in a concave down manner, represents a conventional prior art embodiment (see also Marubayashi’880 Fig. 4 where the concave down valve is an inventive embodiment of that reference), thus a skilled artisan would have understood that this concave down structure provides a workable valve, albeit one that requires a higher pressure for bursting than then improved valves of Marubayashi. The modification of such a conventional concave down valve to have an egg-like shape for a benefit of improving its breakability is found to be an obvious embodiment suggested by the cited art (combination of known elements to yield predictable results is obvious -MPEP 2141), notwithstanding that even better performance is possibly achievable by utilizing a concave up type valve in view of Marubayashi’s suggestion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/18/26 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant presents the following arguments.
Marubayashi fails to teach “a central portion of the first edge section has a minimum curvature” because Marubayashi provides no teaching, suggestion, or disclosure of the curvature of a central portion of the first edge section. In response, Marubayahsi schematically illustrates exemplary valve designs in Fig. 5. Some of these possess a central portion of a first edge section having a minimum curvature as described in the art rejections in detail.
Marubayahi fails to contemplate on the effect of curvature of the central portion of the first edge having a minimum value. In response, Marubayahi is not required to provide the claimed structure for the same reason as does applicant (see MPEP 2112 which clarifies that advantages, such as new properties, identified by applicant are not required to be recognized by the prior art).
Relevant or Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, though not necessarily pertinent to applicant’s invention as claimed.
Morishita (JP 2001-256944) battery comprising concave down explosion valve;
Yoshida (JP 2011-175937) battery comprising concave up explosion valve;
Urano (US 2014/0141293) battery with flat and concave down safety valves;
Osafune (US 2023/0352794)) battery with irregular bends in a safety valve;
Moriyama (US 2024/0186647) battery with irregular bends in a safety valve.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH R SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723