DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/700366, “BATTERY”, is the national stage entry of a PCT application filed on 3/30/23 and claims priority from a foreign application filed on 3/30/22.
This Office Action on the merits is in response to communication filed on 9/4/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marubayashi (US 2005/0112455).
Regarding claim 1, Marybayashi teaches a battery (Figs. 1, 2) comprising: a charge/discharge body (item 7); an exterior body (items 8,6) in which the charge/discharge body is housed; and a safety valve (item 2) provided at the exterior body and configured to open from inside the exterior body to outside when pressure inside the exterior body becomes equal to or larger than a predetermined value (paragraph [0016]), wherein thickness of the safety valve is smaller than thickness of the exterior body (Fig. 2; paragraph [0037]), an annular edge section of the safety valve, which is continuous to the exterior body includes a first edge section formed in an arc shape and a second edge section formed with a radius larger than a radius of the first edge section or formed in a linear shape (Figs 4, 5; e.g. Fig. 5b), and the first edge section includes a groove (item 4; Figs. 2b, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 2, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve is curved in a convex shape in a direction approaching the charge/discharge body (Fig. 2; paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve is curved in a convex shape in a direction departing from the charge/discharge body (Figs. 8,9).
Regarding claim 4, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 2. Marubayashi further teaches wherein in the safety valve, a curvature of a first curved section curved in a convex shape from the first edge section is smaller than a curvature of a second curved section curved in a convex shape from the second edge section (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0061] teach that the safety valve may have an egg shape or an elliptical shape, each of which have first sections having smaller radius of curvature than second sections).
Regarding claim 5, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 2. Marubayashi further teaches wherein a distal end section of the safety valve is positioned closer to the second edge section than a central section of the safety valve (the distal ends section of the safety valve would be closer to the second edge having larger radius of curvature for at least the egg-shaped embodiments of Fig. 5 and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve extends in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body (see Fig 4b, where the safety valve includes a flat portion at its periphery, adjacent to the wall of the body 6, the flat portion connected to the convex portion by the groove 4).
Regarding claim 7, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the edge section is formed in a rotationally asymmetric annular shape (see at least Figs. 5b, 5d and 5e).
Regarding claim 8, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein at least the edge section of the safety valve is positioned between an outer surface and an inner surface facing each other and constituting a thickness part of the exterior body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 8. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the entire safety valve is positioned between the outer surface and the inner surface (see Fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marubayashi (US 2005/0112455) in view of Marubayashi’880 (US 2003/0131880).
Regarding claim 6, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 1. Marubayashi further teaches wherein the safety valve is a flat structure, extending in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body.
In the battery art, Marubayashi’880 teaches that a safety valve may be configured to have a flat structure, extending in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body (Fig. 11). Marubayashi’880 further teaches that when the groove has a flat structure, safety may be slightly improved (paragraph [0128]).
The simple substitution of the Marubayashi domed safety valve, for a safety vale having a flat structure, extending in a flat plate shape along an outer shape of the exterior body, as taught by Marubayashi’880, merely requires the simple substitution of one known valve structure for another to yield predictable results; therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, such a modification may provide benefits such as improved safety; therefore, additional motivation exists to make such a modification in that improves safety may be achieved.
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Marubayashi remains as applied to claim 3. As described above, Marubayashi teaches a battery comprising a safety valve, wherein the safety valve is curved in a convex shape in a direction departing from the charge/discharge body (see Fig. 8,9, which represent a Comparative Example as described in paragraphs [0032-0033]), but does not appear to teach wherein in the safety valve, a curvature of a first curved section curved in a convex shape from the first edge section is smaller than a curvature of a second curved section curved in a convex shape from the second edge section, or wherein a distal end section of the safety valve is positioned closer to the second edge section than a central section of the safety valve.
However, Marubayashi further teaches that a safety valve may have an egg-type shape for the benefit of stress concentration and easy breakability (paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 8,9 by forming the valve to have an egg-shape as such a structure is associated with improved breakability as taught by Marubayashi at paragraph [0061]).
The egg-shape implies a curvature of a first curved section curved in a convex shape from the first edge section is smaller than a curvature of a second curved section curved in a convex shape from the second edge section, and wherein a distal end section of the safety valve is positioned closer to the second edge section than a central section of the safety valve, as required by claims 10 and 11, respectively.
It is noted that Figs. 8 and 9 are disclosed as a Comparative Example (paragraphs [0033]) with the finding that the inventive embodiments (e.g. Fig. 2, 5) which have a convex up valve shape desirably require less pressure for bursting than the convex down shape of the Fig. 8,9 Comparative Example (paragraph [0052]).
However, it has been held that, “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain…A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments… Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments… A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” (MPEP 2123)
Here, the Comparative Example of Marubayahsi, wherein the valve is configured in a concave down manner, represents a conventional prior art embodiment (see also Marubayashi’880 Fig. 4 where the concave down valve is an inventive embodiment of that reference), thus a skilled artisan would have understood that this concave down structure provides a workable valve, albeit one that requires a higher pressure for bursting than then improved valves of Marubayashi. The modification of such a conventional concave down valve to have an egg-like shape for a benefit of improving its breakability is found to be an obvious embodiment suggested by the cited art (combination of known elements to yield predictable results is obvious -MPEP 2141), notwithstanding that even better performance is possibly achievable by utilizing a concave up type valve in view of Marubayashi’s suggestion.
Relevant or Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, though not necessarily pertinent to applicant’s invention as claimed.
Morishita (JP 2001-256944) battery comprising concave down explosion valve;
Yoshida (JP 2011-175937) battery comprising concave up explosion valve;
Urano (US 2014/0141293) battery with flat and concave down safety valves;
Osafune (US 2023/0352794)) battery with irregular bends in a safety valve;
Moriyama (US 2024/0186647) battery with irregular bends in a safety valve.
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH R SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723