DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
An amendment, filed 9/3/2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-3 and 6 are amended; Claim 7 is newly added. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the two adjacent rods among the plurality of rods” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Specifically, while there is antecedent basis for a plurality of rods, there is no antecedent basis for which two rods constitute “the two adjacent rods.” As a result, it is unclear which of the plurality of rods must meet the claim limitation. It is also noted that the limitation is interpreted as limited to two adjacent rods. If Applicant intends to claim where any two adjacent rods of the plurality of rods meets the claimed relationship, it should be amended to reflect that.
Furthermore, as detailed in the previous Office Action, Claim 3 is indefinite as it is unclear as to what arrangement, relative spacing, and “thickness” of the plurality of rods is required.
Claim 6 has been amended to recite “when a longest line segment among line segments connecting two points of an outline projected on a plane perpendicular to a pressurized direction is drawn, and a plurality of cutting planes that perpendicularly intersect the line segment and divide the line segment into six equal parts are used to cut the molded body.” Applicant appears to have included a portion of a measurement protocol but the limitation is indefinite as to what is required and how it modifies the remainder of the claim. In particular, it is unclear what “a pressurized direction” requires.
Additionally, Claim 6 recites the limitation "each obtained sample" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the claim recites a step of cutting the molded body, it does not actually recite that the cut pieces are samples and therefore, it is unclear if the passage reciting the cutting step is drawn to method of making a sample part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2010/0183869)(previously cited).
With respect to Claim 6, Lin teaches a metal molded body, the molded body formed by, for example, semi-solid casting, the molded body comprising a tailored mixture of an alpha-aluminum phase (primary crystals) and eutectic crystal phase. (para. 113, 149). Lin further teaches wherein the molded body is made by flowing a molten metal and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect for “fiber flow” to continuously exist. See also MPEP 2112.01.
Additionally, Lin teaches wherein the molded body may be made such that semi-solid particles are uniformly mixed so that the body may be molded without defects, and wherein the content and uniformity of microstructure may be tailored to obtain desired microstructure and resulting appearance. (para. 253-254, 257). While Lin does not specifically teach measuring a “variation coefficient,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maximize the uniformity of the eutectic phase distribution, in view of the teachings of Lin, and thus, to minimize a measured variation coefficient, in order to obtain the desired utility of Lin drawn to tailoring a uniform defect free appearance comprising eutectic phase crystals. See also MPEP 2144.
Additionally, as Lin teaches a molded body with the required structure of primary and eutectic crystals, and exhibiting high uniformity, it would necessarily be expected to result in a variation coefficient meeting the instant claim. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the burden is shifted to the applicant to prove that the product of the prior art does not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics attributed to the claimed product. See In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."); MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the prima facie case can only be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach a production method for a semi-solidified slurry comprising a solid phase and liquid phase, as recited in Claim 1, a stirring step of stirring the molten metal by performing reciprocating movement of a rod placed in the molten metal in a length direction of the rod, the reciprocating movement including moving the rod until a distal end portion of the rod comes out of a liquid surface of the molten metal, and then moving the distal end portion of the rod toward a bottom of the container, wherein the stirring step is performed so that a solid phase ratio at any portion of the molten metal in the container reaches 80% or more. Closest prior art Yan teaches a method of stirring a molten metal slurry comprising vertical movement of a plurality of rods, but fails to teach reciprocating movement such that a distal end portion of the rod comes out of a liquid surface of the molten metal then moves towards the bottom of the container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/3/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yan in view of Abe have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Specifically, Yan and Abe fail to teach a stirring step of stirring the molten metal by performing reciprocating movement of a rod placed in the molten metal in a length direction of the rod, the reciprocating movement including moving the rod until a distal end portion of the rod comes out of a liquid surface of the molten metal, and then moving the distal end portion of the rod toward a bottom of the container. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 with respect to the rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Lin have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lin fails to the specific quantitative variation coefficient recited in the amended Claim 6. Applicant argues that the claimed variation coefficient “reduces variation of proof stress, which correlates with the eutectic area ratio.” (Remarks, p. 13). Applicant also points to paragraphs 65 and 67 of the instant specification to support their arguments with regards to the benefit of a low variation coefficient. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
As detailed in the rejection, although Lin does not specifically teach measuring a “variation coefficient,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maximize the uniformity of the eutectic phase distribution, in view of the teachings of Lin, and thus, to minimize a measured variation coefficient, in order to obtain the desired utility of Lin drawn to tailoring a uniform defect free appearance comprising eutectic phase crystals. See also MPEP 2144.
Additionally, as Lin teaches a molded body with the required structure of primary and eutectic crystals, and exhibiting high uniformity, it would necessarily be expected to result in a variation coefficient meeting the instant claim. MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the prima facie case can only be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
Applicant fails to provide sufficient evidence commensurate with the scope of the claims (which broadly includes all metal molded bodies having primary crystals and eutectic crystals of any composition) to demonstrate that the particular method of making disclosed in the specification (not claimed in claim 6) is critical to the recited structure of claim 6.
Additionally, as Lin is drawn to a highly uniform molded body, and the limitation in question is drawn to low variation (i.e. high uniformity), Applicant fails to provide sufficient evidence to rebut the prima facie case of obviousness established by Lin. The comparative example noted by Applicant does not sufficiently correspond to the structure nor method of making disclosed of Lin, and therefore, is not sufficient to rebut the prima facie case of obviousness.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., variation in proof stress) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735