DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a §371 national phase entry of International Application No. PCT/IB2022/059780, filed 12 October 2022, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application 63/257212 filed 19 October 2021 and 63/255056 filed 13 October 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2026 and 09/02/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 27, 2026. Claims 2-14, 16, 18-30, 32, 34-38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-51, 54-55, 57-65, and 69-79 are pending and under examination. Claims 1, 15, 17, 31, 33, 39-40, 43, 46, 52-53, 56, and 66-68 are canceled.
Action Summary
The rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn in view of the amendment correcting its dependency from canceled claim 1 to claim 2.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. in view of Gills et al., and Chingunpituk, and further view of Losch et al. and Rowe et al., where applicable, are maintained as modified in view of the claim amendments.
The rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,541,055B2 and 12,129,255B2 in view of Bauer et al. and Chingunpituk, and further view of Losch et al. and Rowe et al., where applicable, are maintained as modified in view of the claim amendments.
New rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 are set forth for newly added claims 76 and 77 based on the additional teachings of Iorio et al. and SINOCMC TEAM, respectively.
The specific claims subject to each rejection and the supporting references are identified in the corresponding rejection sections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7-14, 18-19, 23-30, 34-36, 38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-49, 51, 54-55, 57-65, 69-75, and 78-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US2020/0038389 A1) in view of Gillis et al (WO2020/254985A1), Chingunpituk (Walailak J Sci & Tech 2007; 4(2): 139-153). Copy of both Gills’ references are provided in the IDS dated 04/11/2024.
Bauer teaches a method of treating human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection in a heavily treatment-experienced patient, the method comprising administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (Ib):
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and these compounds are Capsid inhibitors, where patient refers to humans. (See claim 1; Title; Abstract; and paragraph [0074].) Bauer teaches the patient is concurrently treated with at least one additional antiretroviral medication, wherein the additional medication is selected from emtricitabine, lamivudine (3TC), zidovudine (azidothymi dine (AZT), didanosine (ddI), dideoxyinosine, tenofovir, tenofovir alafenamide, tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, stavudine (d4T), zalcitabine (dideoxycytidine, ddC), and abacavir. (See paragraphs [0026] & {0027].)
Bauer also teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib); or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of a solution and the solution comprises PEG 300 and water. (See claim 88.) Particular preference is given to a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a solution, wherein the solution comprises:
(i) about 10 w/w % to about 45 w/w % water;
(ii) about 30 w/w % to about 85 w/w % PEG 300;
(iii) about 0.5 w/w % to about 40 w/w % of a compound of Formula (Ia), or a sodium salt thereof; and
(iv) about 0.1 w/w % to about 10 w/w % of poloxamer 188, (See claims 93 and 94.) The solution formulation includes about 5% to about 20% ethanol, about 5% to about 20% water, and about 60% to about 90% PEG 200. The solution formulation comprises about 10% to about 15% ethanol, about 10% to about 15% water, and about 70% to about 80% PEG 200. (See paragraph [0186].) Bauer teaches the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered subcutaneously at a concentration of about 50 mg/mL to about 500 mg/mL. (See paragraph [0019].
Bauer teaches the specific examples of PEG include, but are not limited to, PEG 100, PEG 200, PEG 300, PEG 400, PEG 500, and PEG 600. (See paragraph 0155].) Examples of water-soluble excipients include, but are not limited to, dimethylacetamide (DMA), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ethanol, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), PEG 300, PEG 400, PEG 600, propylene glycol, hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin, glycerin, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether (e.g., Transcutol® HP), and phospholipids. Examples of phospholipids include, but are not limited to, hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine (HSPC), di stearoylphosphatidylglycerol (DSPG), L-α-dimyristoylphosphatidyl-choline (DMPC), and L-α-dimyristoylphosphatidyl-glycerol (DMPG). (See paragraph [0144].)
Another preferred solution comprises 5% Ethanol/20% Propylene Glycol/45% PEG 300/30% 0.01 N HCl Oral Formulation. (See paragraph [0436.) The compounds of Formula (la) or Formula (lb), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, are administered orally, subcutaneously, intramuscularly, or intravenously. (See paragraph [0017].)
Bauer teaches the solutions disclosed herein may be prepared by mixing the individual ingredients together and heating the resulting mixture. (See paragraph [0264].) One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a solution containing dissolved components in a single liquid phase constitutes a homogeneous solution because the components are substantially uniformly distributed throughout the composition.
Bauer explains that the sterile injectable preparation disclosed herein can also be a sterile injectable solution or suspension prepared from a reconstituted lyophilized powder in a non-toxic parenterally acceptable diluent or solvent, such as a solution in 1,3-butane-diol and also discloses non-aqueous sterile suspensions which can include suspending agents and thickening agents where the suspension is a micro-suspension. In certain embodiments, the suspension is a nanosuspension. (See paragraph [0147].)
Bauer further teaches the solution comprises poloxamer in saline. In some embodiments the solution comprises 2 % poloxamer 188 in normal saline. (See paragraph [0182].) This particular solution does not expressly contain PEG, thereby meeting the less than 1% by weight of PEG recited in claims 33 and 34. The saline contains sodium chloride.
Bauer does not expressly teach the specific formula IB and concentrations of the formula IB and inactive ingredients claimed.
. Additionally, Bauer does not expressly teach the particle size claimed.
Gillis teaches a method of treating HIV infection in a human comprising administration of a compound or salt
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, the composition is suitable for oral administration, for intramuscular injection, or for subcutaneous injection. (See claims 1-7.) The compounds and salts of the invention are believed to have as their biological target the HIV capsid and thus their mechanism of action is to modify in one or more ways the function of the HIV capsid. For example, the compounds and salts of the invention may act as capsid inhibitors. (See lines 29-32 of page 5.)
Gillis also teaches PK was investigated in male CDI mice, Wistar Han Rats, Cynomolgus monkeys, and Beagle. Two groups of animals (N = 3 per group) received test compound either as an intravenous (IV) dose (1 mg/kg) Or by Oral gavage (5 mg/kg solution and suspension). Drug was formulated in 90% PEG 400, 10% ethanol for IV administration and in 90% PEG400, 5% ethanol for PO administration. Blood samples were collected at 0.167, 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 24, 48, 72 and 96 h post dose for lV; 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 24, 48, 72 and 96 h post dose for oral. (See lines 1-8 of page 41.) Gillis further demonstrates that drug was formulated in 1% Kolliphor, P188/1%, PEG3350/3.5%, mannitol/94.5%, Water and then administered to Wistar Han Rats as a subcutaneous injection at a dose of 20 mg/kg. Blood samples were collected at 0.167, 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 24, 48, 72, 96 h, and then every 3 days for up to 122 days. (See lines 23-27 of page 43.)
Chingunpituk teaches the poor water solubility of drugs is major problem for drug formulation. To date, nanoscale systems for drug delivery have gained much interest as a way to improve the solubility problems. The reduction of drug particles into the sub-micron range leads to a significant increase in the dissolution rate and therefore enhances bioavailability. Nanosuspensions are promising candidates that can be used for enhancing the dissolution of poorly water-soluble drugs. Nanosuspensions contain submicron colloidal dispersion of pharmaceutical active ingredient particles in a liquid phase stabilized by surfactants. Production of drugs as nanosuspensions has been developed for drug delivery systems as an oral formulation and non-oral administration. (See Abstract.)
Moreover, Chingunpituk teaches pharmaceutical nanosuspension is defined as very finely dispersed solid drug particles in an aqueous vehicle for either oral and topical use or parenteral and pulmonary administration. The particle size distribution of the solid particles in nanosuspensions is usually less than one micron with an average particle size ranging between 200 and 600 nm. Nanosuspensions differ from nanoparticles. Nanoparticles are commonly polymeric colloidal carriers of drugs whereas solid lipid nanoparticles are lipidic carriers of drugs. In nanosuspension technology, the drug is maintained in the required crystalline state with reduced particle size, leading to an increased dissolution rate and therefore improved bioavailability. An increase in the dissolution rate of micronized particles (particle size < 10 μm) is related to an increase in the surface area and consequently the dissolution velocity. Nanosized particles can increase solution velocity and saturation solubility because of the vapor pressure effect. In addition, the diffusional distance on the surface of drug nanoparticles is decreased, thus leading to an increased concentration gradient. The increases in surface area and concentration gradient lead to a much more pronounced increase in the dissolution velocity as compared to a micronized product. Furthermore, the saturation solubility is increased as well. Another possible explanation for the increased saturation solubility is the creation of high energy surfaces when disrupting the more or less ideal drug microcrystals to nanoparticles. Dissolution experiments can be performed to quantify the increase in the saturation solubility of a drug when formulated into a nanosuspension [3]. The stability of the particles obtained in the nanosuspension is attributed to their uniform particle size which is created by various manufacturing processes. The absence of particles with large differences in their size in nanosuspensions prevents the existence of different saturation solubilities and concentration gradients, consequently preventing the Oswald ripening effect. Ostwald ripening is responsible for crystal growth and subsequently formation of microparticles. It is caused by a difference in dissolution pressure/saturation solubility between small and large particles. Molecules diffuse from the higher concentration area around small particles which have higher saturation solubility to an area around larger particles possessing a lower drug concentration. This leads to the formation of a supersaturated solution around the large particles and consequently to drug crystallization and growth of the large particles. (See page 140.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to formulate the HIV capsid inhibitor compounds of Formula Ib taught by Bauer, and Gillis using the pharmaceutical excipients such as solvents, phospholipids/surfactants, PEG components, ethanol, and water, and the nanosuspension systems disclosed by the cited references because the references are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely pharmaceutical formulation for HIV capsid inhibitor compounds useful for treating HIV infection.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bauer and Gillis in order to utilize the specifically disclosed Formula Ib compounds within known pharmaceutical formulation systems suitable for oral, intramuscular, and subcutaneous administration because the references collectively teach the compounds possess the same biological target and mechanism of action as HIV capsid inhibitors.
A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because the cited references collectively teach structurally related HIV capsid inhibitor compounds formulated using conventional pharmaceutical excipients and delivery systems routinely employed for poorly-water soluble active agents. Chingunpituk teaches nanosuspension technologies and surfactant-stabilized dispersions were well known in the pharmaceutical art for improving dissolution, bioavailability, and injectable formulation properties of hydrophobic compounds. (See Abstract.) Therefore, one would have reasonably expected the specifically recited formulation components to successfully formulate the HIV capsid inhibitor compounds disclosed by Bauer and Gills.
With respect to the overlapping amounts of Formula IB, PEG and ethanol claimed. Bauer teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising overlapping amounts of ethanol and PEG components. Bauer specifically teaches formulations containing about 5-20% by weight of ethanol and about 60-90% PEG, as well as PEG 200, PEG 400, and PEG 400 excipients. Bauer further teaches the compound of Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered subcutaneously at a concentration of about 50 mg/mL to about 500 mg/mL. (See paragraph [0019]). The claimed ranges of Formula IB, ethanol, and PEG either overlap or fall within ranges taught by Bauer. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within ranges disclosed by the prior art, the claimed ranges are presumed obvious absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results.
With respect to the heterogenous limitation claimed. Chingunpituk teaches pharmaceutical nanosuspension comprises finely dispersed solid drug particles in an aqueous vehicle, which inherently represents a heterogenous suspension system rather than a homogeneous solution.
With respect to the mean particle size claimed. Chingunpituk teaches nanosuspension having average particle sizes ranging between 200 and 600 nm, which overlaps the presently claimed particle range of 0.2 µm to 0.5 µm. where the claimed range and the prior art overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. With respect to the limitation of less than or equal to 0.2 µm average particle diameter. Chingunpituk further teaches reducing particle size increases dissolution rate, saturation solubility, and bioavailability. Therefore, optimization of particle size values at or below 0.2 µm would have represented no more than routine optimization of a result-effective variable to further enhance dissolution and bioavailability.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected success in modifying the Bauer and Gills compositions to possess nanosuspension particle sizes taught by Chingunpituk because Chingunpituk expressly teaches such particle size reduction improves dissolution properties, saturation dissolution, bioavailability, and suspension stability of poorly-water-soluble pharmaceutical compounds.
Claims 4-6, 16, 20-22, 32, 37, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US2020/0038389 A1) in view of Gillis et al. (WO2020/254985A1), and Chingunpituk (Walailak J Sci & Tech 2007; 4(2): 139-153) as applied to claims 2-3, 7-14, 18-19, 23-30, 34-36, 38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-49, 51, 54-55, 57-65, 69-75, and 78-79, in further view of Losch et al. (US5,310,734A) and Rowe et al. (Handbookd of Pharmaceutical Excipients, Sixth Edition, 2009).
The teachings of Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk have been discussed above.
Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk collectively do not teach lecithin wherein the lecithin comprises egg-based or soy-based is about 80 weight% phosphatidylcholine and about 100 weight% phosphatidylcholine. Moreover, Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk collectively do not teach sodium acetate and acetic acid.
However, Bauer expressly teaches formulations suitable for parenteral administration include aqueous and non-aqueous sterile injection solutions which can contain anti-oxidants, buffers, bacteriostats and solutes which render the formulation isotonic with the blood of the intended recipient; and aqueous and non-aqueous sterile suspensions which can include suspending agents and thickening agents. (See paragraph [0147].) Bauer further teaches examples of water-soluble excipients include, but are not limited to, dimethylacetamide (DMA), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ethanol, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), PEG 300, PEG 400, PEG 600, propylene glycol, hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin, glycerin, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether (e.g., Transcutol® HP), and phospholipids. Examples of phospholipids include, but are not limited to, hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine (HSPC). (See paragraph [0144].)
Losch teaches a phospholipid composition exhibiting a phosphatidylcholine content of at least 80% by weight is described. Whereby this pulverized or granulated composition is free from additives. (Abstract.) Losch also teaches various highly purified phospholipid compositions isolated from natural products can be employed as starting materials for the process according to the invention, provided that they contain at least 80% by weight phosphatidylcholine. Such a composition can be isolated preferably from eggs, oil seeds and oil fruit and particularly soybean by the known procedures. However, it is particularly suitable when a soy (soybean) lecithin whose phosphatidylcholine content is at least 90% by weight and preferably 93±3% by weight is employed in the process. (See lines 19-29 of column 4.) Losch further teaches the powdered or granulated phospholipid composition according to the invention is very easy to handle and can be employed for various purposes. Thus, for example, such a powdered or granulated phospholipid composition can be used as solution promoter, natural surfactant and/or liposome former in cosmetic products and especially in pharmaceutical products, since the phospholipid composition according to the invention is free from solidifying agents. (See lines 49-53 of column 4.)
Rowe teaches glacial and diluted acetic acid solutions are widely used as acidifying agents in a variety of pharmaceutical formulations and food preparations. Acetic acid is used in pharmaceutical products as a buffer system when combined with an acetate salt such as sodium. (See page 5.) Rowe further teaches acetic acid is an FDA inactive ingredient database inclusion and pharmaceutical application. (See page 6.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was filed to modify the pharmaceutical composition of Bauer in view of Gillis, and Chingunpituk to further include lecithin/phosphatidylcholine compositions as taught by Losch and sodium acetate/acetic acid buffer components as taught by Rowe because Bauer expressly teaches pharmaceutical formulations for parenteral administration may contain buffers, suspending agents, surfactants, and phospholipids (e.g., phosphatidylcholine), while Losch teaches highly purified phosphatidylcholine-rich lecithin from egg-based or soy-based compositions suitable for pharmaceutical product as solution promoters, natural surfactants, and liposome formers, and Rowe teaches acetic acid and sodium acetate are conventionally used pharmaceutical buffering agents in pharmaceutical formulations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the phosphatidylcholine-rich lecithin compositions of Losch into the formulations of Bauer/Gillis in order to provide pharmaceutically acceptable surfactant and stabilizing properties for the nanosuspension formulations taught by Chingunpituk, particularly because Chingunpituk teaches nanosuspensions require surfactant-stabilized dispersed particles to improve dissolution and bioavailability of poorly water-soluble drugs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would also have been motivated to utilize the sodium acetate/acetic acid buffering system taught by Rowe in the pharmaceutical compositions of Bauer because Bauer expressly contemplates the use of buffers in injectable formulations and Rowe teaches sodium acetate and acetic acid are well-known pharmaceutically acceptable buffering agents routinely employed in pharmaceutical formulations to maintain the desired pH conditions and formulation stability.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining these teachings because each reference is directed to pharmaceutical formulations utilizing conventional excipients and formulation components for predictable pharmaceutical purpose, including stabilization, buffering, surfactant activity, suspension formation, and enhancement of bioavailability. The combination merely involves the use of known pharmaceutical excipients according to their established functions in the art.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on August 27, 2026.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the differences in chemical structure and pharmacokinetic behavior between the compounds of Formula Ia and Formula IB demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would have lacked a motivation to combine the teachings of Bauer and Gillis with a reasonable expectation of success. In support thereof, Applicant relies upon Formulations A and B and the corresponding pharmacokinetic results reported in the specification.
In response, the Examiner acknowledges that the specification reports difference in plasma concentrations and pharmacokinetic profile between Formulations A and B. However, these differences do not establish that one of ordinary skill in the art would have lacked a reasonable expectation of successfully preparing the presently claimed pharmaceutical compositions. The claims do not require the particular plasma concentration, time to maximum concentration, or pharmacokinetic profiles relied upon by Applicant. Accordingly, the reported differences are not commensurate in scope with the claimed subject matter insofar as they are relied upon to establish unexpected pharmacokinetic results throughout that scope.
Furthermore, although Formulations A and B contain similar categories and nominal amounts of pharmaceutical excipients, the formulations differ not only in the chemical structures of their respective active compounds but also in their reported mean particle diameters and certain buffer-component concentrations. Thus, the evidence does not establish that the observed pharmacokinetic differences are attributable exclusively to differences in the claimed structures of the active compounds.
More importantly, the rejection does not require that the compounds disclosed by Bauer and Gillis exhibit identical physiochemical properties or pharmacokinetic behavior. Rather, the rejection is based upon the collective teachings of the cited references concerning pharmaceutical composition comprising HIV capsid inhibitors, including the use of polyethylene glycol, ethanol, surfactants, and other pharmaceutically acceptable excipients in pharmaceutical solution and suspension. Gillis further discloses formulation and administration of the specifically formula IB compound, thereby providing additional support for the suitability of known formulation systems fort that compound.
While the Examiner recognizes that differences in chemical structures may influence formulation performance, a reasonable expectation of success does not require certainty of success or predictability of every pharmacokinetic parameter. See MPEP §2143.02. Applicant’s evidence of differing pharmacokinetic profiles does not, without more, establish that the claimed combinations of pharmaceutical ingredients would have been beyond the reasonable expectation of success of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the prima facie case of obviousness and the ejection under U.S.C. §103 and maintained as modified.
Claim 76 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US2020/0038389 A1) in view of and Gillis et al. (WO2020/254985A1), and Chingunpituk (Walailak J Sci & Tech 2007; 4(2): 139-153) as applied to claims 2-3, 7-14, 18-19, 23-30, 34-36, 38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-49, 51, 54-55, 57-65, 69-75, and 78-79, in further view of Iorio et al. (US2023/0043290 A1, published on Feb 9, 2023, and filed on December 21,2020).
The teachings of Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk have been discussed above.
Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk do not collectively and expressly teach trehalose in the range of about 7 to about 10 weight%.
However, Bauer expressly teaches sterile injectable preparation disclosed herein can also be a sterile injectable solution or suspension prepared from a reconstituted lyophilized powder in a non-toxic parenterally acceptable diluent or solvent, such as a solution in 1,3-butane-diol and also discloses non-aqueous sterile suspensions which can include suspending agents and thickening agents where the suspension is a micro-suspension. In certain embodiments, the suspension is a nanosuspension. (See paragraph [0147].)
Iorio teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising an IgG: TGFβR fusion protein, a buffer, surfactant, sugar component, amino acid component, tonicifier, antioxidant, chelator. (See paragraph [0018].) Iorio further teaches the pharmaceutical composition preferably comprises a sugar component, such as a lyoprotectant sugar component. In the context of the invention, a sugar component can serve one or more functions within the pharmaceutical composition. For instance, they may serve as a lyoprotectant during freeze drying. A sugar component may impart tonicity, for instance, to bring the osmolality within a desired range (e.g. for isotonicity of a formulation for injection without prior dilution—e.g. an osmolality of 200-400 mOsmol/L, more preferably 250-350 mOsmol/L, most preferably 270-310 mOsmol/L). Using sugar components to contribute towards tonicity can be particularly useful where high ionic strengths are less desirable, though in general compositions of the invention tend to favour higher ionic strengths for higher concentrations of fusion protein and the sugar is selected from the group consisting of trehalose, sucrose, mannitol, and sorbitol, preferably from trehalose or sucrose. (See Paragraphs [0215] & [0218].) Figure 2 FIG. 2 shows a graphical representation of the relationship between Tg′ (in oC) and NaCl concentration for formulations containing 8% trehalose (diamonds), 4% trehalose (squares), and 2% trehalose (triangles). It is undesirable for Tg′ values to be below −40° C. from the point of view of practicalities when freeze drying. (See Figure 2 and paragraph [0032].)
Iorio further teaches the pharmaceutical composition is a liquid pharmaceutical composition, preferably an aqueous pharmaceutical composition (which thus comprises water, preferably water for injection, as diluent). However, the pharmaceutical composition may also be a lyophilised composition (i.e. and thus preferably a solid lyophilised pharmaceutical composition). Such a lyophilised composition may be preferably reconstituted to provide a liquid pharmaceutical composition, preferably an aqueous pharmaceutical composition. (See paragraph [0139].)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was filed to modify the pharmaceutical composition of Bauer in view of Gillis, and Chingunpituk to further incorporate trehalose in an amount of about 7 about 10 wt.%, as taught Iorio, because Bauer expressly contemplates sterile injectable suspensions and pharmaceutical preparations obtained from reconstituted lyophilized materials, while iorio teaches trehalose as a preferred pharmaceutically acceptable sugar component useful as lyoprotectant during freeze-drying and for adjusting formulation tonicity. Iorio further discloses formulations containing 8% trehalose, which falls within the presently claimed range, provided as a weight basis. (See paragraph [0128] &{0129].)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate trehalose into the into the pharmaceutical suspension to provide its known lyoprotective properties during lyophilization and to contribute to the desired tonicity of an injectable formulation. The skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success because Iorio demonstrates the use of trehalose in pharmaceutical formulation as injectable and for lyophilized compostions for these established functions, and Bauer expressly contemplates injectable pharmaceutical preparations involving lyophilization. Accordingly, the proposed modification would have involved incorporating a known pharmaceutical excipient for its recognized pharmaceutical function, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining the corresponding formulation benefits.
Claim 77 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US2020/0038389 A1) in view of and Gillis et al. (WO2020/254985A1), and Chingunpituk (Walailak J Sci & Tech 2007; 4(2): 139-153) as applied to claims 2-3, 7-14, 18-19, 23-30, 34-36, 38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-49, 51, 54-55, 57-65, 69-75, and 78-79, in further view of SINOCMC TEAM (The Application and Dosage of Sodium CMC in Pharmaceutical Industry, March 11, 2022).
The teachings of Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk have been discussed above.
Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk do not collectively and expressly teach sodium carboxymethyl cellulose.
However, Bauer expressly teaches aqueous and non-aqueous sterile suspensions which can include suspending agents and thickening agents. (See paragraph [0147].)
SINOCMC TEAM teaches below are some of the applications of Sodium CMC in the pharmaceutical industry:
It can be used as a binder for solid preparations and low viscosity CMC is often used for this application.
It can be used as water retention agent and dispersant of ointment drugs.
It can be used as suspension, thickening and sticking-enhancing agent for liquid preparations like medicine pulp.
It can be used as a film-forming material and water-soluble matrix.
It can also be used as emulsifying agent for injection.
It can also be used as a sustained-release skeleton tablet and a sustained-release drug film agent material in slow-release preparations. CMC is prepared into gel carrier. The drug can be controlled and released by gel swelling and shrinking. High viscosity CMC can be used for hydrophilic gel matrix tablets, which can be combined with hydroxypropyl methylcellulose to control drug release.
The dosage of tablet adhesive is 1.0%~6.0%, film coating material is 2%~5%, gel agent is 3.0%~6.0%, oral liquid is 0.1%~1%, injection is 0.05%~0.75%, and emulsifier is 0.25%~1.0%. (See whole document.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was filed to modify the pharmaceutical composition of Bauer in view of Gillis, and Chingunpituk to further incorporate sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, as taught by SINOCMC TEAM, because Bauer expressly teaches that aqueous and non-aqueous sterile pharmaceutical suspensions may contain suspending agents and thickening agents (paragraph [0147]), while SINOCMC TEAM expressly teaches that sodium carboxymethyl cellulose is useful as suspending and thickening agent in pharmaceutical liquid preparation, including injectable formulations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate sodium carboxymethyl cellulose into the pharmaceutical suspension suggested by Bauer, Gillis, and Chingunpituk in order to provide suspending and viscosity-increasing properties, thereby facilitating the dispersion and maintenance of solid pharmaceutical particles within the liquid vehicle. The proposed modification would have involved selecting known pharmaceutically acceptable suspending agent for the very purpose contemplated by Bauer.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating sodium carboxymethyl cellulose into the proposed pharmaceutical suspension because SINOCMC TEAM expressly identifies sodium carboxymethyl cellulose as suitable for pharmaceutical liquid preparations and injectable applications. Accordingly, the proposed combination would have involved employing a known pharmaceutical excipient according to its established suspending and thickening functions, with routine adjustment of the formulation as appropriate.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-3, 7-14, 18-19, 23-30, 34-36, 38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-49, 51, 54-55, 57-65, 69-75, and 78-79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,541,055B2 and over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,129,255B2 in view of Bauer et al. (US2020/0038389 A1) and Chingunpituk (Walailak J Sci & Tech 2007; 4(2): 139-153).
Both U.S. patent claims teach a method for treating HIV injection comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound including
and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient, and/or diluent, wherein the composition is suitable for oral administration, for intramuscular injection, or for subcutaneous injection. Moreover, both U.S. patent claims teach the method further comprises administration of at least one other agent used for treatment of HIV infection in a human, wherein the at least one other agent is selected from the group consisting of abacavir, atazanavir, bictegravir, cabotegravir, dolutegravir, darunavir, doravirine, fostemsavir, lamivudine, maraviroc, rilpiverine, tenofovir disoproxil, tenofovir, and tenofovir afenamide, and wherein the at least one other agent is selected from the group consisting of dolutegravir, lamivudine, fostemsavir, and cabotegravir. It is noted the specification of both patent claims disclosed these compounds as being HIV capsid inhibitors.
The U.S. patent claims do not expressly teach the specific concentration of the inactive ingredients claimed and the particle size claimed.
Bauer teaches a method of treating human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection in a heavily treatment-experienced patient, the method comprising administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (Ib):
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and these compounds are Capsid inhibitors, where patient refers to humans. (See claim 1; Title; Abstract; and paragraph [0074].) Bauer teaches the patient is concurrently treated with at least one additional antiretroviral medication, wherein the additional medication is selected from emtricitabine, lamivudine (3TC), zidovudine (azidothymi dine (AZT), didanosine (ddI), dideoxyinosine, tenofovir, tenofovir alafenamide, tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, stavudine (d4T), zalcitabine (dideoxycytidine, ddC), and abacavir. (See paragraphs [0026] & {0027].)
Bauer also teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib); or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of a solution and the solution comprises PEG 300 and water. (See claim 88.) Particular preference is given to a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a solution, wherein the solution comprises:
(i) about 10 w/w % to about 45 w/w % water;
(ii) about 30 w/w % to about 85 w/w % PEG 300;
(iii) about 0.5 w/w % to about 40 w/w % of a compound of Formula (Ia), or a sodium salt thereof; and
(iv) about 0.1 w/w % to about 10 w/w % of poloxamer 188, (See claims 93 and 94.) The solution formulation includes about 5% to about 20% ethanol, about 5% to about 20% water, and about 60% to about 90% PEG 200. The solution formulation comprises about 10% to about 15% ethanol, about 10% to about 15% water, and about 70% to about 80% PEG 200. (See paragraph [0186].) Bauer teaches the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered subcutaneously at a concentration of about 50 mg/mL to about 500 mg/mL. (See paragraph [0019].
Bauer teaches the specific examples of PEG include, but are not limited to, PEG 100, PEG 200, PEG 300, PEG 400, PEG 500, and PEG 600. (See paragraph 0155].) Examples of water-soluble excipients include, but are not limited to, dimethylacetamide (DMA), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ethanol, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), PEG 300, PEG 400, PEG 600, propylene glycol, hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin, glycerin, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether (e.g., Transcutol® HP), and phospholipids. Examples of phospholipids include, but are not limited to, hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine (HSPC), di stearoylphosphatidylglycerol (DSPG), L-α-dimyristoylphosphatidyl-choline (DMPC), and L-α-dimyristoylphosphatidyl-glycerol (DMPG). (See paragraph [0144].)
Another preferred solution comprises 5% Ethanol/20% Propylene Glycol/45% PEG 300/30% 0.01 N HCl Oral Formulation. (See paragraph [0436.) The compounds of Formula (la) or Formula (lb), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, are administered orally, subcutaneously, intramuscularly, or intravenously. (See paragraph [0017].)
Bauer teaches the solutions disclosed herein may be prepared by mixing the individual ingredients together and heating the resulting mixture. (See paragraph [0264].) One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a solution containing dissolved components in a single liquid phase constitutes a homogeneous solution because the components are substantially uniformly distributed throughout the composition.
Bauer explains that the sterile injectable preparation disclosed herein can also be a sterile injectable solution or suspension prepared from a reconstituted lyophilized powder in a non-toxic parenterally acceptable diluent or solvent, such as a solution in 1,3-butane-diol and also discloses non-aqueous sterile suspensions which can include suspending agents and thickening agents where the suspension is a micro-suspension. In certain embodiments, the suspension is a nanosuspension. (See paragraph [0147].)
Bauer further teaches the solution comprises poloxamer in saline. In some embodiments the solution comprises 2 % poloxamer 188 in normal saline. (See paragraph [0182].) This particular solution does not expressly contain PEG, thereby meeting the less than 1% by weight of PEG recited in claims 33 and 34. The saline contains sodium chloride.
Chingunpituk teaches the poor water solubility of drugs is major problem for drug formulation. To date, nanoscale systems for drug delivery have gained much interest as a way to improve the solubility problems. The reduction of drug particles into the sub-micron range leads to a significant increase in the dissolution rate and therefore enhances bioavailability. Nanosuspensions are promising candidates that can be used for enhancing the dissolution of poorly water-soluble drugs. Nanosuspensions contain submicron colloidal dispersion of pharmaceutical active ingredient particles in a liquid phase stabilized by surfactants. Production of drugs as nanosuspensions has been developed for drug delivery systems as an oral formulation and non-oral administration. (See Abstract.)
Moreover, Chingunpituk teaches a pharmaceutical nanosuspension is defined as very finely dispersed solid drug particles in an aqueous vehicle for either oral and topical use or parenteral and pulmonary administration. The particle size distribution of the solid particles in nanosuspensions is usually less than one micron with an average particle size ranging between 200 and 600 nm. Nanosuspensions differ from nanoparticles. Nanoparticles are commonly polymeric colloidal carriers of drugs whereas solid lipid nanoparticles are lipidic carriers of drugs. In nanosuspension technology, the drug is maintained in the required crystalline state with reduced particle size, leading to an increased dissolution rate and therefore improved bioavailability. An increase in the dissolution rate of micronized particles (particle size < 10 μm) is related to an increase in the surface area and consequently the dissolution velocity. Nanosized particles can increase solution velocity and saturation solubility because of the vapor pressure effect. In addition, the diffusional distance on the surface of drug nanoparticles is decreased, thus leading to an increased concentration gradient. The increases in surface area and concentration gradient lead to a much more pronounced increase in the dissolution velocity as compared to a micronized product. Furthermore, the saturation solubility is increased as well. Another possible explanation for the increased saturation solubility is the creation of high energy surfaces when disrupting the more or less ideal drug microcrystals to nanoparticles. Dissolution experiments can be performed to quantify the increase in the saturation solubility of a drug when formulated into a nanosuspension [3]. The stability of the particles obtained in the nanosuspension is attributed to their uniform particle size which is created by various manufacturing processes. The absence of particles with large differences in their size in nanosuspensions prevents the existence of different saturation solubilities and concentration gradients, consequently preventing the Oswald ripening effect. Ostwald ripening is responsible for crystal growth and subsequently formation of microparticles. It is caused by a difference in dissolution pressure/saturation solubility between small and large particles. Molecules diffuse from the higher concentration area around small particles which have higher saturation solubility to an area around larger particles possessing a lower drug concentration. This leads to the formation of a supersaturated solution around the large particles and consequently to drug crystallization and growth of the large particles. (See page 140.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to formulate the HIV capsid inhibitor compounds Formula Ib taught by the patent claims and Bauer, using the pharmaceutical excipients. Solvents, phospholipids/surfactants, PEG components, ethanol, and water, and the nanosuspension systems disclosed by the cited references because the references are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely pharmaceutical formulation for HIV capsid inhibitor compounds useful for treating HIV infection.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined the teachings of the patent claims and Bauer, in order to utilize the specifically disclosed Formula Ib compound within known pharmaceutical formulation systems suitable for oral, intramuscular, and subcutaneous administration because the references collectively teach the compounds possess the same biological target and mechanism of action as HIV capsid inhibitors.
A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because the cited references collectively teach structurally related HIV capsid inhibitor compounds formulated using conventional pharmaceutical excipients and delivery systems routinely employed for poorly-water soluble active agents. Chingunpituk teaches nanosuspension technologies and surfactant-stabilized dispersions were well known in the pharmaceutical art for improving dissolution, bioavailability, and injectable formulation properties of hydrophobic compounds. (See Abstract.) Therefore, one would have reasonably expected the specifically recited formulation components to successfully formulate the HIV capsid inhibitor compounds disclosed by the patent claims, Bauer and Gills.
With respect to the overlapping amounts of Formula IB, PEG and ethanol claimed. Bauer teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising overlapping amounts of ethanol and PEG components. Bauer specifically teaches formulations containing about 5-20% by weight of ethanol and about 60-90% PEG, as well as PEG 200, PEG 400, and PEG 400 excipients. Bauer further teaches the compound of Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered subcutaneously at a concentration of about 50 mg/mL to about 500 mg/mL. (See paragraph [0019]. The claimed ranges of Formula IB, ethanol, and PEG either overlap or fall within ranges taught by Bauer. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within ranges disclosed by the prior art, the claimed ranges are presumed obvious absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results.
With respect to the heterogenous limitation claimed. Chingunpituk teaches pharmaceutical nanosuspension comprises finely dispersed solid drug particles in an aqueous vehicle, which inherently represents a heterogenous suspension system rather than a homogeneous solution.
With respect to the mean particle size claimed. Chingunpituk teaches nanosuspension having average particle sizes ranging between 200 and 600 nm, which overlaps the presently claimed particle range of 0.2 µm to 0.5 µm. Where the claimed range and the prior art overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. With respect to the limitation of less than or equal to 0.2 µm average particle diameter. Chingunpituk further teaches reducing particle size increases dissolution rate, saturation solubility, and bioavailability. Therefore, optimization of particle size values at or below 0.2 µm would have represented no more than routine optimization of a result-effective variable to further enhance dissolution and bioavailability.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected success in modifying the Bauer and Gills compositions to possess nanosuspension particle sizes taught by Chingunpituk because Chingunpituk expressly teaches such particle size reduction improves dissolution properties, saturation dissolution, bioavailability, and suspension stability of poorly-water-soluble pharmaceutical compounds.
Claims 4-6, 16, 20-22, 32, 37, and 50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,541,055 B2 and over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,129,255B2 in view of Bauer et al. (US2020/0038389 A1) and Chingunpituk (Walailak J Sci & Tech 2007; 4(2): 139-153) as applied to claims 2-3, 7-14, 18-19, 23-30, 34-36, 38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-49, 51, 54-55, 57-65, 69-75, and 78-79, in further view of Losch et al. (U5,310,734) and Rowe et al. (Handbookd of Pharmaceutical Excipients, Sixth Edition, 2009).
The teachings of the U.S. patent claims, Bauer, and Chingunpituk have been discussed above.
The U.S., patent claims, Bauer, and Chingunpituk collectively do not teach lecithin wherein the lecithin comprises egg-based or soy-based is about 80 weight% phosphatidylcholine and about 100 weight% phosphatidylcholine. Moreover, patent claim, Bauer, Chingunpituk collectively do not teach sodium acetate and acetic acid. However, Bauer expressly teaches formulations suitable for parenteral administration include aqueous and non-aqueous sterile injection solutions which can contain antioxidants, buffers, bacteriostats and solutes which render the formulation isotonic with the blood of the intended recipient; and aqueous and non-aqueous sterile suspensions which can include suspending agents and thickening agents. (See paragraph [0147].) Bauer further teaches examples of water-soluble excipients include, but are not limited to, dimethylacetamide (DMA), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ethanol, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), PEG 300, PEG 400, PEG 600, propylene glycol, hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin, glycerin, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether (e.g., Transcutol® HP), and phospholipids. Examples of phospholipids include, but are not limited to, hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine (HSPC). (See paragraph [0144].)
Losch teaches a phospholipid composition exhibiting a phosphatidylcholine content of at least 80% by weight is described. Whereby this pulverized or granulated composition is free from additives. (Abstract.) Losch also teaches various highly purified phospholipid compositions isolated from natural products can be employed as starting materials for the process according to the invention, provided that they contain at least 80% by weight phosphatidylcholine. Such a composition can be isolated preferably from eggs, oil seeds and oil fruit and particularly soybean by the known procedures. However, it is particularly suitable when a soy (soybean) lecithin whose phosphatidylcholine content is at least 90% by weight and preferably 93±3% by weight is employed in the process. (See lines 19-29 of column 4.) Losch further teaches he powdered or granulated phospholipid composition according to the invention is very easy to handle and can be employed for various purposes. Thus, for example, such a powdered or granulated phospholipid composition can be used as solution promoter, natural surfactant and/or liposome former in cosmetic products and especially in pharmaceutical products, since the phospholipid composition according to the invention is free from solidifying agents. (See lines 49-53 of column 4.)
Rowe teaches glacial and diluted acetic acid solutions are widely used as acidifying agents in a variety of pharmaceutical formulations and food preparations. Acetic acid is used in pharmaceutical products as a buffer system when combined with an acetate salt such as sodium. (See page 5.) Rowe further teaches acetic acid is an FDA inactive ingredient database inclusion and pharmaceutical application. (See page 6.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was filed to modify the pharmaceutical composition of patent claims in view of Bauer and Chingunpituk to further include lecithin/phosphatidylcholine compositions as taught by Losch and sodium acetate/acetic acid buffer components as taught by Rowe because Bauer expressly teaches pharmaceutical formulations for parenteral administration may contain buffers, suspending agents, surfactants, and phospholipids (e.g., phosphatidylcholine), while Losch teaches highly purified phosphatidylcholine-rich lecithin from egg-based or soy-based compositions suitable for pharmaceutical product as solution promoters, natural surfactants, and liposome formers, and Rowe teaches acetic acid and sodium acetate are conventionally used pharmaceutical buffering agents in pharmaceutical formulations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the phosphatidylcholine-rich lecithin compositions of Losch in to the formulations of patentclaims/Bauer/ in order to provide pharmaceutically acceptable surfactant and stabilizing properties for the nanosuspension formulations taught by Chingunpituk, particularly because Chingunpituk teaches nanosuspensions require surfactant-stabilized dispersed particles to improve dissolution and bioavailability of poorly water-soluble drugs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would also have been motivated to utilize the sodium acetate/acetic acid buffering system taught by Rowe in the pharmaceutical compositions of Bauer because Bauer expressly contemplates the use of buffers in injectable formulations and Rowe teaches sodium acetate and acetic acid are well known pharmaceutically acceptable buffering agents routinely employed in pharmaceutical formulations to maintain the desired pH conditions and formulation stability.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining these teachings because each reference is directed to pharmaceutical formulations utilizing conventional excipients and formulation components for predictable pharmaceutical purpose, including stabilization, buffering, surfactant activity, suspension formation, and enhancement of bioavailability. The combination merely involves the use of known pharmaceutical excipients according to their established functions in the art.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on August 27, 2026.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the claimed pharmaceutical compositions are patentably distinct from the subject matter of the cited patents because differences in the chemical structures or related compounds can result in different physiochemical and pharmacokinetic properties, as evidenced by Formula A and B disclosed in the specification.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims of the cited U.S. Patent Nos. 11,541,055 and 12,129,255 encompass the same compound of Formula Ib recited in the presently pending claims. Thus, the instant rejections do not depend upon substituting one structurally different active compound for another or upon an expectation that structurally different compounds necessarily exhibit identical physiochemical or pharmacokinetic properties. Rather, the differences between the subject matter of the cited patent claims and the presently claimed subject matter concern additional pharmaceutical formulation limitations, including the recited inactive ingredients, their respective concentrations, and particle size requirements.
As discussed in the rejection above, Bauer teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising known pharmaceutical excipients, including polyethylene glycol, ethanol, surfactants, and other formulation components together with relevant concentration ranges. Chingunpituk further teaches nanosuspension formulations having particle sizes within or overlapping the claimed ranges and the recognized advantages associated with reducing particle sizes.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to incorporate the known pharmaceutical excipients and their respective amounts, as taught by Bauer, and to employ the particle size characteristics taught by Chingunpituk in formulating the compound of Formula Ib encompassed by the cited patent claims with a reasonable expectation of obtaining the claimed pharmaceutical compositions, for the reasons set forth in the respective rejections.
Furthermore, Applicant’s reliance upon the pharmacokinetic differences between Formula A and B does not establish patentable distinctness. The reported results concern particular formulations containing different active compounds and do not demonstrate unexpected properties attributable to the presently claimed combinations of inactive ingredients, their concentrations, or particle size relative to the subject matter of the cited patent claims and the applied secondary references. Moreover, the pending claims do not require the particular pharmacokinetic profiles relied upon by Applicant.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments do not establish that the additional formulation limitations render the presently claimed subject matter patentably distinct from the subject matter of the cited patents. Accordingly, the rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting are maintained as modified.
Conclusion
Claims 2-14, 16, 18-30, 32, 34-38, 41-42, 44-45, 47-51, 54-55, 57-65, and 69-79 are not allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628