DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 3-5 are withdrawn. Claim 6 is new. Claims 1 and 6 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Previous Rejections
The rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’981 (JP 2019-143981, IDS dated 06/02/2025) is withdrawn in view of the applicants’ amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites a tensile strength of 1664 MPa or more. However, Table 1 of instant Specification shows that when radius of curvature is ≥300 mm, the tensile strength is 1680 MPa or more. There is no support that when radius of curvature is ≥300 mm, the tensile strength is less than 1680 MPa. There is new matter issue and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’042 (JP2000-199042A), and further in view of CN’871 (CN211027871).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, JP’042 teaches a Cu-Ag alloy wire containing 10 mass% Ag ([0048]; Table 2, Example 7), which meets the recited alloy composition in claim 1. JP’042 discloses that the conductivity (%IACS) is 60% (Table 2, Example 7). The specific resistivity is calculated to be 172.41/60=2.87 µΩ∙cm and meets the recited specific resistance in claim 1.
JP’042 discloses that the tensile strength is 1735 MPa (Table 2, Example 7), which meets the recited tensile strength in claims 1 and 6. Tensile strength of 1735 MPa converts to 352.3 HV and meets the recited hardness in claim 1.
JP’042 is silent on the radius of curvature. However, straightening a copper alloy wire is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by CN’871. CN’871 teaches a device for making a copper alloy wire and discloses that straightening copper alloy wire is necessary prior to cutting in order to reduce rejection rate in the process of cutting (Abstract; [0002]). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a straightening process prior to cutting the wire as taught by CN’871 in the process of JP’042 in order to reduce rejection rate in the process of cutting as disclosed by CN’871. A straight Cu-Ag wire meets the recited radius of curvature in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new rejection ground.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733