DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed June 18, 2026. Applicant has amended claim 1. Claim 7 has been cancelled. New claim 11 has been added. Currently, claims 1-6 and 8-11 remain pending in the application.
The objection of the first line of the specification is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-6 and 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaschig et al, WO 03/089108, as evidenced by Colson et al, EP 1,075,864 is maintained for the reasons of record.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitation “each R7 is independently selected from an acyclic group having 10 to 20 carbon atoms and wherein each R7 is a hydrocarbyl group” in independent claim 1. This limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite, since R7 cannot be both an acyclic group having 10 to 20 carbon atoms and any hydrocarbyl group. Claims 2-6 and 8-11 are included in this rejection for being dependent upon claim 1. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaschig et al, WO 03/089108, as evidenced by Colson et al, EP 1,075,864.
Kaschig et al, WO 03/089108, discloses a particulate foam control agent comprising 1-30 parts by weight of a silicone antifoam (i.e., a drainage aid component), 45-99 parts by weight of a particulate solid carrier for the antifoam, 2-50 parts by weight of a fluorescent whitening agent, and from 1-40 parts by weight of a binder (see abstract and page 1, line 31-page 2, line 1). It is further taught by Kaschig et al that the silicone antifoam contains a combination of a liquid organopolysiloxane of formula (1) and an organosilicon resin, as described in Colson et al, EP 1,075,864 (see page 2, line 6-page 4, line 2 of Kaschig et al, WO 03/089108), wherein Colson et al, EP 1,075,864, discloses in paragraph 18 that the organosilicon resin is present in an amount of 2-30% by weight based on the organopolysiloxane (i.e., resulting in a foam control agent that contains 70-98% by weight of an organopolysiloxane and 2-30% by weight of an organosilicon resin), that the particulate foam control agent contains 1-25% by weight of a filler particle, such as silica (see page 4, line 4-page 5, line 6), that suitable carriers include zeolites (see page 5, lines 8-27), that suitable binders include polyethylene glycol (see page 12, line 20-page 15, line 1), wherein the particulate foam control agent is combined in an amount of 0.02-5 parts by weight with a detergent composition in powder form that contains dyes and perfumes, and is used in a process to wash laundry in a washing machine according to European washing conditions that include a liquor ratio of 10-1 and 1-5 wash cycles, (see page 16, line 1-page 22, line 12), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-6.
Although Kaschig et al generally discloses a particulate foam control agent containing 70-98% by weight of an organopolysiloxane and 2-30% by weight of an organosilicon resin, the reference does not require such particulate foam control agents containing these components with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a particulate foam control agent, as taught by Kaschig et al, which contained 70-98% by weight of an organopolysiloxane and 2-30% by weight of an organosilicon resin, because such particulate foam control agents fall within the scope of those taught by Kaschig et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a particulate foam control agent containing 70-98% by weight of an organopolysiloxane and 2-30% by weight of an organosilicon resin is expressly suggested by the Kaschig et al disclosure and therefore is an obvious formulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant seems to argue that Kaschig et al, WO 03/089108, does not teach or suggest in general a particulate foam control agent that contains 0.01-25% by weight of a drainage aid component, wherein the drainage aid component contains 40-99% by weight of a linear organopolysiloxane of formula III, as required by applicant in newly amended claim 1. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Kaschig et al clearly discloses that their particulate foam control agent comprises a silicone antifoam that contains a combination of a liquid organopolysiloxane of formula (1) and an organosilicon resin, as described in Colson et al, EP 1,075,864 (see page 2, line 6-page 4, line 2 of Kaschig et al, WO 03/089108), wherein Colson et al, EP 1,075,864, discloses in paragraph 18 that the organosilicon resin is present in an amount of 2-30% by weight based on the organopolysiloxane (i.e., resulting in a foam control agent that contains 70-98% by weight of an organopolysiloxane and 2-30% by weight of an organosilicon resin), as required by applicant in the newly amended claims. The examiner further notes that the R1 and R3 groups disclosed in Kaschig et al are identical to the R7 groups required in the instant claims when c is zero and b is zero.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
August 11, 2026