DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 10, 7, 7a, 7b, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, 22, 24, 74, 28b, 30, 32, 89, 90, 36, 69, 48, 67, 66, 72, 80, 78, 38, 39, 41, 44, 45, 46, 47.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “21” has been used to designate both storage compartment and touch bar.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “71” has been used to designate both top lid and bottom lid and button switch.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “70” has been used to designate both top lid and bottom lid.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “21” has been used to designate both storage compartment and touch bar.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “28a” has been used to designate both top portion and bottom portion.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “76” has been used to designate both bottom portion and separating joint.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “38” has been used to designate both audio amplifier and speaker module.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “47” has been used to designate both control module and Bluetooth module.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "21" and "24" have both been used to designate touch bar.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "28a" and "28b" have both been used to designate bottom portion.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "36" and "68" have both been used to designate holding container.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "76" and "47" have both been used to designate bottom.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "71" and "70" have both been used to designate top lid.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "71" and "70" have both been used to designate bottom lid.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "36" and "38" have both been used to designate speaker module.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "41" and "47" have both been used to control module.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "44" and "47" have both been used to designate Bluetooth module.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: for the phrase “a dispensing section that comprises” the “a” should be “the”. Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: for the phrase “wherein drawer of the dispensing section” it should be “the drawer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CA 2,948,509 to Sarpoushan et al (Dina).
Concerning claim 1, Dina discloses an apparatus for processing dry materials, comprising:
an enclosure (inherently disclosed) defining an interior cavity divided into sections by walls that define interior regions comprising a grinding section (E1 in the figure reproduced below), a dispensing section (E2 in the figure reproduced below), and an electronics section (E3 in the figure reproduced below);
a grinder assembly (2, 4) that fits within the grinding section and configured to receive dry materials for grinding;
a dispensing section that comprises a drawer (25) receiving ground materials from the grinder assembly;
an electronic control system (14) that fits within the electronics section;
an insulator layer (E4 in the figure reproduced below) connected to at least the walls defining the electronics section to separate the electronics section from the grinder assembly and the dispensing section.
Concerning claim 2, Dina discloses the grinder assembly comprises a motor (16) controlled by the electronic control system.
Concerning claim 3, Dina discloses the grinder assembly comprises grinding elements (2.2 and 4.6) connected to a respective top section (2) and bottom section (4) of the grinder assembly.
Concerning claim 4, Dina discloses the top section (2) and the bottom section (4) of the grinder assembly are configured to join together and define an area for receiving the ground material.
Concerning claim 5, Dina discloses the area (4.8) is surrounded by portions of the grinder assembly (2, 4) defining a holding container for the ground material.
Concerning claim 6, Dina discloses the grinder assembly further comprises a screen between the grinding elements and the holding container, wherein the screen allows select particles of the ground material to enter the holding container (page 12, last paragraph).
Concerning claim 7, Dina discloses drawer (25) of the dispensing section receives the ground material from the screen.
Concerning claim 10, Dina discloses the electronics section comprises a computer (14) storing a control system that operates a motor (16) connected to the grinder assembly.
Concerning claim 12, Dina discloses the electronics section comprises a power supply (28) connected to the computer (14) and the motor (16).
Concerning claim 13, Dina discloses the electronics section comprises a computer (14( configured to receive electrical inputs from ports built into the enclosure (such as 14.4).
Concerning claim 14, Dina discloses the electronic control system and the grinding assembly operate simultaneously while separated from each other by the insulator layer.
Concerning claim 15, Dina discloses the drawer (25) is removable from the dispensing section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dina in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0177763 to Robillard (Robillard).
Concerning claims 8-9, Dina does not disclose the insulator layer comprises shock absorbing materials.
Robillard discloses an apparatus for processing dry materials, comprising:
an enclosure (10) defining an interior cavity divided into sections by walls that define interior regions comprising a grinding section (40), and an electronics section (see figure 5);
an insulator layer (¶25) connected to at least the walls defining the electronics section;
the insulator layer comprises shock absorbing materials (¶25) to separate vibrational energy from the grinding section from the electronics section;
wherein the insulator layer comprises a polymer, a rubber (¶25), a nylon, or a plastic.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the shock absorbing rubber to the insulation layer of Dina because, as disclosed by Robillard, “isolation material, such as rubber-like materials, foams, or other materials having sound and/or vibration absorbing characteristics, may be used to inhibit the transfer of vibration to any surface upon which grinder 210 rests” (¶25).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dina in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0015146 to Chaben et al (Chaben).
Concerning claim 11, Dina does not disclose an entertainment system comprising speakers.
Chaben discloses an apparatus for processing dry materials, comprising: an electronics section (¶75) that comprises a computer storing a control system that operates an entertainment system comprising speakers (50).
Because both these references are concerned with a similar problem, i.e. an apparatus for processing dry materials, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the entertainment system comprising speakers of Chaben to the apparatus of Dina. In KSR (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)) the courts held that combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Accordingly a simple addition of the entertainment system comprising speakers of Chaben to the apparatus of Dina will obtain predictable results and is therefore obvious and proper combination of the references is made. The predictable results being a speaker that can play sounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 10,661,281 discloses a similar apparatus where “various components may comprise metal while other components may comprise plastics and/or rubber” (column 15, line 39 to column 16, line 11). U.S. Patent No. 10,455,984 discloses a grinding apparatus with an electronics section (6). Finally, both U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0313020 and 2022/0265090 discloses grinding apparatuses with drawers.
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
3/19/2026