Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 2, 2026 amends claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, and adds claims 14-20. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 2, 2026 regarding the newly presented claim limitations in the independent claims have been fully considered and are moot as shown in the rejections that follow. The amended and the newly presented claims, which necessitate a new ground of rejection, are taught by newly cited references, Hunt et al. (US 7778752) and Maeda et al. (US 2020/0296732), as shown in detail in the rejections that follow.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the term “circuitry” as recited in claims 1-4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, the term “circuitry” does not have corresponding structure in the specification for performing the claimed function. The specification of the present application does not describe “circuitry” or any circuitry-based hardware that performs the recited wireless communication function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Independent claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is requested to provide evidence from the specification to support any amended claim. Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation: “the device comprising: circuitry configured to:” as recited in each of claims 1 and 14. Applicant has not identified, and the specification does not appear to contain, a written description of the term, “circuitry”, or any circuitry-based structure that performs the recited wireless communication function. The generic disclosure that the invention may be implemented in hardware form does not provide sufficient written description support for the specific structure limitation now claimed. Accordingly, claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description.
Claims 4-6, which depend on claim 1, fail to resolve the deficiencies of independent claim 1. As a consequence, they are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph for the same reasons stated above for claim 1.
Claims 15-20, which depend on claim 14, fail to resolve the deficiencies of independent claim 14. As a consequence, they are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph for the same reasons stated above for claim 14.
Appropriate amendments are required to address and correct the foregoing issues. No new matter should be added. For the sake of an examination on the merits, the Examiner will strike out the term “circuitry” until the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been addressed.
Each of independent claims 1, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Each of these claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is requested to provide evidence from the specification to support any amended claim. Applicant has not pointed out where the amended claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation: “receive (or receiving), via wireless communication, data of an engine of the vehicle from the dongle connected to a corresponding the vehicle, the dongle receiving the data of the engine of the vehicle from the vehicle via a dongle wireless communication link” as recited in each of claims 1, 7, and 14. While the published specification at [0004] and at [0011] disclose “dongles that can be connected to a vehicle, through an on board diagnostics, hereafter OBD, port of the vehicle”… “for providing data read from the vehicle” and “a dongle connected to a vehicle, e.g. connected to an OBD port of the vehicle”, nowhere does the specification disclose anything about “the dongle receiving the data of the engine of the vehicle from the vehicle via a dongle wireless communication link” as recited in each of claims 1, 7, and 14. Examiner notes that the specification discloses that the dongle is connected to an OBD port of the vehicle in order to read data from the vehicle which contradicts what is recited in the amendment. Therefore, contrary to what is recited, the dongle receives data of the engine of the vehicle from the vehicle via a connection to the vehicle.
Dependent claims 2-7, 8-13, and 15-20 fail to resolve the deficiencies of their respective independent claims 1, 7, and 14. As a consequence, they are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph for the same reasons stated above.
Appropriate amendments are required to address and correct the foregoing issues. No new matter should be added. For the sake of examination on the merits, the Examiner will strike out the affected verbiage denoted in bold italics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US 7778752) in view of Maeda et al. (US 2020/0296732).
Regarding claim 1, Hunt teaches a device for accessing data sent by a dongle connected to a vehicle, the device being battery powered, the device comprising: [circuitry] configured to: receive, via wireless communication, data of an engine of the vehicle from the dongle connected to the vehicle, [the dongle receiving the data of the engine of the vehicle from the vehicle via a dongle wireless communication link], (see Hunt at the Summary which discloses that the system may comprise a short-range wireless transmitter and a short-range wireless receiver and that the short-range wireless transmitter may be connected to an in-vehicle diagnostic system installed in the host vehicle. Hunt at the Summary further states that the short-range wireless receiver may be configured to be connected to the telematics device installed in the host vehicle and that the short-range wireless transmitter may be configured to wirelessly transmit diagnostic data to the short-range wireless receiver. Also, see Hunt at col. 8 in conjunction with Fig. 4 and Table 2 (showing connector 27p providing battery power at 12v) which discloses that FIG. 4 illustrates each of the sixteen cavities 27a-p within the effective OBD connector 27 of this embodiment, and as shown in Table 2, below, the cavities may supply power (12V), ground, and a serial interface to one of five serial vehicle-communication protocols currently supported by the host vehicle and described above and that through these protocols the connector 27 receives data from the vehicle's ECU that characterize the on-board electrical, mechanical, and emissions systems. Examiner notes that the on-board electrical power is provided to components using battery power at 12V. Examiner maps short-range wireless transmitter to the recited dongle. Examiner maps short-range wireless receiver to the recited device. Examiner notes that the data is accessed by the short-range wireless receiver which is connected to the telematics device.)
communicate, via a wireless communication, with a backend server through a communications network; (see Hunt at col. 9 lines 55-63 which discloses that the telematics device 20 retrieves diagnostic data collected from the host vehicle 12, and location based data from a GPS that collects signals from a constellation of overlying satellites through an airlink 62, that the device 20 formats these data in separate packets and transmits them over an airlink 59 to a base station 61 included in a wireless network 54 and that the packets propagate through the wireless network 54 to a gateway software piece 55 running on a host computer system 57; Hunt at col. 9 lines 63-67 discloses that the host computer system 57 processes and stores information from the packets in a database 63 using the gateway software piece 55. The host computer system 57 additionally hosts a web site 66 that, once accessed, displays the information. Examiner maps host computing system to the backend server.)
Hunt does not expressly disclose communicate, via wireless communication, with a terminal equipment configured to act as a relay between the device and the backend server which in a related art Maeda teaches (see Maeda at [0005] which discloses that a smartphone has a tethering function, it can operate as a relay device (an access point) for other wireless communication apparatuses and that if the vehicle can communicate with the telematics server via the smartphone and the cellular communication network when the communication quality of the wireless line between the TCU and the telematics base station has dropped, the user would be able to continuously receive the telematics service and enjoy its convenience. Also, see Maeda at [0018] in conjunction with Fig. 1 (see P2, see smartphone 106, see telematics server 101) which discloses that in general, the smartphone 106 has a tethering function and that the tethering function is a function whereby the smartphone 106 performs relay between another communication apparatus, such as the vehicle 105, and a cellular network. Examiner maps smartphone to the recited terminal equipment configured to act as a relay.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunt to communicate, via wireless communication, with a terminal equipment configured to act as a relay between the device and the backend server, as taught by Maeda.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that a user would be able to continuously receive the telematics service and enjoy its convenience by way of using a smartphone which has a tethering function, as it can operate as a relay device (an access point) for other wireless communication apparatuses, as suggested by Maeda at [0005].
Regarding claim 2, the modified Hunt teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry includes a short-range wireless communications transceiver for communicating with at least one terminal equipment (see Maeda at [0021] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that communication IF 207 may be a wireless communication interface, such as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth®, or may be a wired communication interface, such as a USB interface. Examiner maps the communication IF to the recited short-range wireless communications transceiver.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Hunt teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry includes a long-range wireless communications transceiver configured to communicate with said backend server through the communications network (see Maeda at [0017] in conjunction with Fig. 1 (see P1) which discloses that a first communication path P1 is a communication path that connects the vehicle 105, telematics base station 103, network 102, and telematics server 101. Also, see Maeda at [0022] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that the CPU 201 selects whether to connect to the telematics server 101 via the TCU 205, or to connect to the telematics server 101 via the communication IF 207. Maeda at [0021] in conjunction with Fig. 2 discloses that an antenna 206 is a transmission/reception antenna for wireless communication with the telematics base station 103. Examiner maps the TCU (telematics control unit) and/or antenna to the long-range wireless communications transceiver.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Hunt teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the device is implemented, in the vehicle, the circuitry being configured to communicate with the dongle connected to said vehicle (see Hunt at the Summary which discloses that the system may comprise a short-range wireless transmitter and a short-range wireless receiver and that the short-range wireless transmitter may be connected to an in-vehicle diagnostic system installed in the host vehicle. Hunt at the Summary further states that the short-range wireless receiver may be configured to be connected to the telematics device installed in the host vehicle and that the short-range wireless transmitter may be configured to wirelessly transmit diagnostic data to the short-range wireless receiver. Examiner mapped short-range wireless transmitter to the recited dongle. Examiner mapped short-range wireless receiver to the recited device. Examiner notes that the data is accessed by the short-range wireless receiver which is connected to the telematics device by way of the short-range wireless transmitter. Examiner notes that by way of accessing data received by the short-range wireless receiver, data is communicated between the dongle and the device.)
Claim 7 is directed toward a method that performs the steps recited in the device of claim 1. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the steps recited in the method of claim 7. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected under the same rationale used in the rejection of claim 1. Also, see Maeda at [0022] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that the CPU 201 selects whether to connect to the telematics server 101 via the TCU 205, or to connect to the telematics server 101 via the communication IF 207. Examiner notes that connecting and or switching between the TCU and the communication IF to connect to the telematics server corresponds to establishing and/or ending a wireless link between a device and a backend server.
Claim 14 is directed toward a device that performs the steps recited in the device of claim 1. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the steps recited in the method of claim 14. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale used in the rejection of claim 1. Also, see Maeda at [0022] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that the CPU 201 selects whether to connect to the telematics server 101 via the TCU 205, or to connect to the telematics server 101 via the communication IF 207. Examiner notes that connecting and or switching between the TCU and the communication IF to connect to the telematics server corresponds to establishing and/or ending a wireless link between a device and a backend server.
Regarding claim 11, modified Hunt teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising exchanging, via the device, information with the terminal equipment, the exchanging information comprising: receiving, via the device, a command, sent by the terminal equipment, for implementing a corresponding action in the terminal equipment (see Maeda at [0051-0053] which discloses that the CPU 201 transmits an IP address of the telematics server 101, as well as a command for executing PING with respect to this IP address, to an IP address of the TCU 205, and that the CPU 201 instructs the TCU 205 to establish a Wi-Fi connection with the smartphone 106 by giving notification of an SSID and a security key of the smartphone 106, that the TCU 205 connects to five smartphone 106 based on the SSID and security key of the smartphone 106, that the smartphone 106 notifies the TCU 205 of its own IP address, and also allocates a local IP address to the TCU 205, and that upon perceiving the IP address of the smartphone 106, the TCU 205 obtains a communication quality Q5 by executing PING with respect to this IP address.)
Regarding claim 12, the modified Hunt teaches the method according to claim 11, the exchanging information comprising: receiving a request, send by the terminal equipment, for providing data; responsive to receiving said request, sending the requested data to the terminal equipment (see Maeda at [0017] which discloses that the telematics service is a service that provides information used by the vehicle (e.g., map information, traffic information, image/moving image information obtained by another apparatus, surrounding environment information necessary for automated driving), entertainment information (e.g., moving images and music), and/or communication with another communication terminal (e.g., SNS, SMS, telephone call, and videophoning and that the telematics base station 103 transmits information of the telematics service provided by the telematics server 101 to the vehicle 105 by executing wireless communication with the vehicle 105. Examiner notes that for the vehicle to receive the information used by the vehicle, communications performed by the communication terminal includes a request sent by the communication terminal.)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Hunt teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising ending, via the device, the connection with the terminal equipment; and re-establishing, via the device, a wireless communication link with the backend server through the communications network (see Maeda at [0022] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that the CPU 201 selects whether to connect to the telematics server 101 via the TCU 205, or to connect to the telematics server 101 via the communication IF 207. Examiner notes that connecting and or switching between the TCU and the communication IF to connect to the telematics server corresponds to ending the connection with the terminal equipment; and re-establishing, via the device (as was mapped to Hunt’s short-range wireless receiver), a wireless communication link with the backend server through the communications network.)
Claims 18-20 are directed toward devices that performs the steps recited in the devices of claims 11-13. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejection of claims 18-20 teach the steps recited in the devices of claims 18-20. Therefore, claims 18-20 is rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claim 11-13.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US 7778752) in view of Maeda et al. (US 2020/0296732) and further in view of Srinivasulu (US 2019/0141156).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hunt does not expressly disclose the device according to claim 4, wherein said device is not electrically wired connected to said vehicle which in a related art Srinivasulu teaches (see Srinivasulu at [0041] which discloses that the vehicle telematics device 20 can be self-powered and/or connected into the electrical system of the vehicle in which the vehicle telematics device 20 is installed. Examiner notes that a vehicle telematics device that is self-powered as opposed to being connected into the electrical system of the vehicle corresponds to wherein said device is not electrically wired connected to said vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunt to include wherein said device is not electrically wired connected to said vehicle, as taught by Srinivasulu.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to facilitate installation in vehicles in a variety of embodiments to provide a variety of telematics functionality, as suggested by Srinivasulu at [0003] and at [0040-0041].
Regarding claim 6, the modified Hunt does not expressly disclose a vehicle comprising the device according to claim 1, wherein said device is not electrically wired connected to said vehicle which in a related art Srinivasulu teaches (see Srinivasulu at [0041] which discloses that the vehicle telematics device 20 can be self-powered and/or connected into the electrical system of the vehicle in which the vehicle telematics device 20 is installed. Examiner notes that a vehicle telematics device that is self-powered as opposed to being connected into the electrical system of the vehicle corresponds to wherein said device is not electrically wired connected to said vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunt to include wherein said device is not electrically wired connected to said vehicle, as taught by Srinivasulu.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to facilitate installation in vehicles in a variety of embodiments to provide a variety of telematics functionality, as suggested by Srinivasulu at [0003] and at [0040-0041].
Claims 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US 7778752) in view of Maeda et al. (US 2020/0296732) and further in view of Oesterling et al. (US 10,377,345).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Hunt does not expressly disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein said establishing the wireless communication link with the terminal equipment comprises: broadcasting an advertisement message; and responsive to said broadcasting, receiving a request, sent by the terminal equipment, for establishing said wireless communication link with the terminal equipment which in a related art Oesterling teaches (see Oesterling at col. 17 lines 21-49 which discloses that in one embodiment, the SRWC circuit 102 can be used to periodically transmit an advertisement message that is to be received by the personal SRWC device 90, that the advertisement can include a reservation identifier, vehicle identification information, and/or a personal SRWC device identification information, as discussed more below, that for example, the advertisement can include a vehicle identification number (VIN), an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), a reservation identifier, or other identifying information that particularly identifies the vehicle 12 or the vehicle electronics module 100 and that the personal SRWC device 90 can receive this advertisement message, which can be sent using BLE, and, in response, the personal SRWC device 90 can send a response message and/or carry out a handshake with the vehicle electronics module 100. Oesterling at col. 17 lines 37-45 further discloses that after the personal SRWC device 90 and the vehicle electronics module 100 create a secure connection, the personal SRWC device 90 can wirelessly transmit reservation information (e.g., reservation authentication information, reservation authorization information) to the vehicle electronics module 100, which can then verify the information with reservation information pre-stored thereon in memory 110 (or received in response to establishing a reservation. Examiner notes that carrying out a handshake and/or a secure connection corresponds to at least receiving a request for establishing a wireless communication link with the terminal equipment.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunt to include broadcasting an advertisement message; and responsive to said broadcasting, receiving a request, sent by the terminal equipment, for establishing said wireless communication link with the terminal equipment, as taught by Oesterling.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to facilitate installation in vehicles in a variety of embodiments to create a secure connection such that the personal SRWC device can wirelessly transmit reservation information, as suggested by Oesterling at col. 17 lines 37-40.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Hunt teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein said establishing the wireless communication link with the terminal equipment comprises: receiving an advertisement message broadcasted by the terminal equipment, said broadcasting an advertisement message by the device being responsive to the receiving the advertisement message broadcasted by the terminal equipment (see Oesterling at col. 17 lines 21-49 which discloses that in one embodiment, the SRWC circuit 102 can be used to periodically transmit an advertisement message that is to be received by the personal SRWC device 90, that the advertisement can include a reservation identifier, vehicle identification information, and/or a personal SRWC device identification information, as discussed more below, that for example, the advertisement can include a vehicle identification number (VIN), an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), a reservation identifier, or other identifying information that particularly identifies the vehicle 12 or the vehicle electronics module 100 and that the personal SRWC device 90 can receive this advertisement message, which can be sent using BLE, and, in response, the personal SRWC device 90 can send a response message and/or carry out a handshake with the vehicle electronics module 100. Examiner notes that carrying out a handshake corresponds to at least receiving an advertisement message broadcasted by the terminal equipment, said broadcasting an advertisement message by the device being responsive to the receiving the advertisement message broadcasted by the terminal equipment.)
Claims 15-16 are directed toward devices that performs the steps recited in the devices of claims 8-9. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claims 8-9 teach the steps recited in the devices of claims 8-9. Therefore, claims 15-16 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 8-9.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US 7778752) in view of Maeda et al. (US 2020/0296732) and further in view of Grothaus et al. (US 2014/0266779).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Hunt does not expressly disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein prior to the establishing the wireless communication link with the terminal equipment, the device pairs with a given terminal equipment, the pairing comprising: receiving a request, sent by the backend server, for initiating a discovery procedure; responsive to the receiving the request, broadcasting a discovery message; and receiving a request, sent by the backend server, for pairing with the given terminal equipment that received the broadcasted discovery message, said connection with the terminal equipment being established only if the device identifies the terminal equipment as being the given terminal equipment that the device has been paired with which in a related art, Grothaus teaches (see Grothaus at [0059] which discloses that according to illustrative aspects of the present disclosure, the battery management module and the communication device communicate wirelessly using Bluetooth, that in order for pairing in Bluetooth to take place, the Bluetooth pairing protocol must be followed. Grothaus at [0059] further discloses that in an exemplary implementation, the discovery parameter is used to set up a paired wireless connection with the communication device on the industrial vehicle by implementing a discoverable mode, that here, the battery monitor wirelessly transmits the discovery parameter as a broadcast name, that the communication device recognizes the discovery name that it placed into the encoded message and issues a pairing request and thus the pairing request is from the communication device to the battery monitor. Examiner maps the communication device to the backend server.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunt to include receiving a request, sent by the backend server, for initiating a discovery procedure; responsive to the receiving the request, broadcasting a discovery message; and receiving a request, sent by the backend server, for pairing with a given terminal equipment that received the broadcasted discovery message, said connection with the terminal equipment being established only if the device identifies the terminal equipment as being the given terminal equipment it has been paired with, as taught by Grothaus.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to facilitate pairing in Bluetooth to take place, as suggested by Grothaus at [0059].
Claim 17 is directed toward a device that performs the steps recited in the device of claim 10. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejection of claim 10 teach the steps recited in the method of claim 17. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale used in the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664