DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of claims 1-15 are sufficient related and would not constitute serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the claims are different statutory categories of invention and require significantly different search strategies, and furthermore lack unity of invention as discussed in the restriction requirement mailed 06/10/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Status of Claims
Pending: claims 1-15
Elected: claims 1-10
Withdrawn: claims 11-15
Under examination: claims 1-10
Rejected: claims 1-10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites that there is less cobalt enrichment areas in the at least one binder-free region than in a rest of the article, which is indefinite because claim 1 does not recite any instance of cobalt, which means that cobalt is understood as being absent; thus, if both regions have zero cobalt, it is indefinite to claim that one region has less than zero cobalt.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the cemented carbide includes cobalt as a binder phase”, which lacks antecedent basis for when in claim 1, “cermet” is selected instead of “cemented carbide”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoyanov et al. (US 20180221962 A1).
Regarding claim 1, with regard to the claimed “A method for additively manufacturing an article including cemented carbide or cermet, wherein the article includes at least one binder-free region,” Stoyanov teaches making a cutting tool via an additive manufacturing (AM) process (Abstract), and further teaches that the tool is made of a cemented carbide or cermet [0003]. Stoyanov further teaches that the AM techniques enable a wholly enclosed cavity to be designed into a cutting tool [0029], which is achieved by selectively spraying liquid binder [0020], which means that while liquid binder is sprayed in some places during the AM build, it is not sprayed in other places, making the other regions binder-free.
With regard to the claimed “the method comprising: a) depositing a layer of powder composition; b) adding binder to an area corresponding to a cross-section of the article in the powder composition, except for the at least one binder-free region, if present in that layer;” Stoyanov teaches selectively spraying liquid binder onto a bed of powder based on a 3D model of a component, solidifying the binder and powder into a cross-section, depositing additional powder then binder to form the next layer of the object and repeating this process until the green component is finished [0020]. To selectively spray means that there would be liquid binder in some places during the AM build, and absent in other places, making the other regions binder-free.
With regard to the claimed “repeating steps a) and b) for each layer of the article, thereby obtaining a green article; “Stoyanov teaches repeating this process until the green component is finished [0020].
With regard to the claimed “and sintering the green article, thus obtaining a manufactured article”, Stoyanov teaches sintering the green component subsequent to the binder jetting [0020].
Regarding claim 2, Stoyanov meets the claim due to an absence of any clear and specific definition of “performance region” in the claim. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as an area having less porosity and/or an improved microstructure, per the instant specification. As such, Stoyanov nonetheless meets this limitation, as Stoyanov teaches that the enclosed cavity and lattice design improved the mechanical properties and wear resistance [0008], and is located at the working end of the drill ([0019], claim 17 of Stoyanov; also see Fig. 5 with cavity 34).
Regarding claim 3, Stoyanov meets the claim due to an absence of any clear and specific definition of “engagement region” in the claim. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as a region comprising an engagement surface, wherein the engagement surface is a part of the article adapted to be in engagement with other objects, for example the tip of a drill or the cutting edge of a tool. As such, Stoyanov nonetheless meets this limitation, as Stoyanov teaches that the enclosed cavity and lattice design improved the mechanical properties and wear resistance [0008], and is located at the working end of the drill ([0019], claim 17 of Stoyanov; also see Fig. 5 and cutting tip 32).
Regarding claims 4-5, As can be seen from Fig. 4 which is an example of an embodiment of the invention of Stoyanov, made via AM [0019]-[0020], there is a continuous edge of the cutting portion, and a continuous cavity which defines the cutting edge, and are elongated through the longitudinal and axial directions (a drill bit is a helix).
Regarding claims 6-8, Stoyanov teaches that the sintered body includes a cobalt binder phase [0023] and can have a surface zone of alloy binder enrichment [0025]; the hollow cavity regions contain no solid material ergo would have zero cobalt enrichment areas compared to the rest of the article, which meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Stoyanov teaches that the article is a cutting tool and may be an insert, drill or endmill with coolant holes (Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Stoyanov teaches that the article is manufactured with binder jetting [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoyanov et al. (US 20180221962 A1).
Regarding claim 7, although Stoyanov does not explicitly teach that a thickness of at least one binder-free region is less than 2 mm, Stoyanov does teach producing a drill bit (Abstract; see Fig. 4) using the AM method described in at least [0020], and further teaches that there may be a lattice structure 18 incorporated to improve the mechanical strength and integrity to the tool [0017]. A POSITA would understand that the tightness and pattern of the lattice structure would have an effect on the strength and integrity of the article being produced. A POSITA would understand that a lower porosity due to an absence of material has a negative impact on the strength and integrity of the article, but that lattice supports may largely make up for this, albeit not completely, but allows for saving on material use while still maintaining a relatively high mechanical strength [0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a binder free region thickness of less than 2 mm, as doing so would allow for saving on material while still maintaining a sufficiently high mechanical strength of a tool being produced [0029].
Furthermore, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV. A-B).
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735