DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
The Examiner notes that the response to restriction requirement included claim 13 in Group I, but claim 13 is drawn to an article and is part of non-elected Group II.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of the entire application could be performed without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the groups were shown to be distinct for the reasons given in the Restriction Requirement mailed 06/09/2026 and have acquired a separate status in the art because of their recognized divergent subject matter. Further, the Examiner notes that unity of invention for 371 applications has different requirements than restriction practice for national applications, where the requirement for lack of unity involves determining why there is no single general inventive concept, as discussed previously regarding the special technical feature not making a contribution over the prior art (see MPEP 1893.03(d)). Thus, there is no requirement to show serious search burden for lack of unity, whether or not all the claims were searched in the underlying PCT application.
Additionally, examination is not limited simply to search. In addition to the search, much of the examination is devoted to determining patentability of claims. Said determination requires the formulation of rejections and responding to applicant's arguments with regard to same. The Examiner notes that product and method claims are evaluated differently when determining patentability. For example, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113. The additional search and the determination of patentability for multiple, patentability distinct inventions would place serious burden on the examiner.
Where unity of invention exists “a priori,” the prior art must be consulted to determine whether the shared (or corresponding) technical feature is novel and nonobvious and thereby a “special” technical feature. Unity of invention is said to exist “a posteriori” – that is, after the prior art has been reviewed – when the shared technical feature is a “special” technical feature. In other words, the shared (or corresponding) technical feature is considered to be novel and nonobvious over the prior art. When unity of invention exists a posteriori, a restriction requirement is improper.
Conversely, if the shared technical feature is anticipated by or obvious over the prior art, then the claimed inventions are said to lack unity “a posteriori,” and a restriction requirement may be proper.
In the instant case, the claimed inventions are said to lack unity “a posteriori,” because the shared technical feature as required by instant claims 1 and 13 is anticipated by or obvious over cited prior art KR 102103376 B1 of Ha (as cited in prior Office action, with reference to its English machine translation). Hence, a restriction requirement is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Priority
Copies of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received in this National Stage application from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two (2) information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 04/11/2024 and 09/18/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the instant specification recites “Figs. 5A-5C” ([00016]) but the drawings only include Fig. 5A and Fig. 5B, and not a Fig. 5C.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 recites “The method according claim 1”. This appears to be a typographical error missing a word between “according” and “claim 1” (e.g. “method according to claim 1”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding claim 1, the Examiner notes that the preamble recites “a method for additively manufacturing a sintered article” (emphasis added). The claimed method, as best understood, forms a type of mold by adding binder to only certain portions of powder composition and the additively manufactured mold encases loose powder in the inner parts of each layer of the middle portion in which no binder is added. As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art and described by Applicant, additive manufacturing involves manufacturing an article one layer at a time ([0002]). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the resulting article of claim 1 is a result of a method for additively manufacturing a sintered article since the additively manufactured mold is included in the article of claim 1. See MPEP 2111.
However, claim 11 removes the additively manufactured mold. In view of claim 11, it is believed that Applicant’s intention in the instant invention is to manufacture a sintered article with the final product including only the inner volume formed from the encased loose powder. Since the article resulting from only the inner volume does not have layers, one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably consider this article as additively manufactured. The combination of the preamble reciting “a method for additively manufacturing a sintered article” (emphasis added) and removing the additively manufactured parts leads to indefiniteness issues (see 112b in this Office action) since the claimed sintered article in claim 11 is not additively manufactured.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein a thickness of each bottom, middle and top portion with binder added is in a range of 0.05 - 0.5 mm” is interpreted as referring to the thickness of only the regions with binder of the bottom, middle, and top portions. The instant specification recites “the thickness of the outer parts 210, 220, 230 is in the range of 0,05 - 0,5 mm”, which suggests the claimed thickness is intended to pertain only to the outer parts of the bottom, middle, and top portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recites the limitations “a porosity of the granules in the powder is 0-15 wt%” and “wherein the porosity of granules in the powder is 0 - 3 wt%” respectively. This limitation renders the claim indefinite since porosity, by definition, does not have a weight and can therefore not be measured by wt%. Porosity is typically reported in vol%. The instant specification recites a porosity of “about 1-3vol%” in Examples 1-4.
Claims 3-12 depend on claim 1, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the powder composition includes 8 - 14% metallic binder phase”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear whether “%” refers to wt%, vol%, or a different measurement. In contrast, claim 4 recites 9.5-10.5 wt% as is not indefinite.
Claims 7, 8, and 12 recite the limitation “the article”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether “the article” refers to “the printed article”, “the sintered article”, or a different article.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the step of removing". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since a step of removing was not introduced before “the step of removing”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “further comprising the step of removing each bottom portion, top portion, and the outer parts of each middle portion”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1, on which claim 11 depends, recites the preamble “a method for additively manufacturing a sintered article”. However, removing each bottom portion, top portion, and the outer parts of each middle portion leaves only the center part with no binder. In the claimed process, as best understood, the center part of the article is not additively manufactured since only the bottom portion, outer parts of the middle portion, and top portion have binder. One of ordinary skill in the art understands additive manufactured articles have layers and the resulting article of claim 11 will not have any layers since the center part is formed from loose powder that was contained inside an additively manufactured mold. Therefore, the method of claim 11 does not “additively manufacture” a sintered article since none of the remaining parts were manufactured by additive manufacturing. See Examiner’s Note.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein part of the article is manufactured using steps a)-d), and a rest of the article is manufactured by depositing a layer of powder composition and adding binder to an entirety of the layer of powder composition“. Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the article includes a plurality of parts manufactured according to steps a)-d), and a rest of the article is manufactured by depositing a layer of powder composition and adding binder to an entirety of the layer of powder composition”. Claim 1, on which claims 7 and 8 depend, recites the limitation of adding binder to an entire surface of each layer of the bottom portion in step a) and an entire surface of each layer of the top portion in step c) thereby producing a printed article. Since claim 1 requires applying binder to the entire surface of the printed article, modifying the article to include a “part of the article” in claim 7 and “a plurality of parts” in claim 8 does not include all the limitations of steps a)-d) of claim 1 since the entirety of the article has already been treated by the method of claim 1. Therefore, claims 7 and 8 fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0168299 A1 of Prichard.
Regarding claims 1-2, Prichard teaches a method of making a sintered article comprises providing a composite article comprising a porous exterior printed from a powder composition via one or more additive manufacturing techniques and the porous exterior and loose powder component are simultaneously sintered to provide the sintered article comprising a sintered interior and sintered exterior (Abstract, reads on claimed additively manufacturing a sintered article from a powder composition).
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation a method for additively manufacturing a sintered article from a powder composition of claim 1.
Regarding the granules of claims 1 and 2, Prichard teaches the loose powder is sintered cemented carbide particles ([0016]-[0022], reads on claimed granules of cemented carbide). Prichard teaches the sintered cemented carbide particles can exhibit an average individual particle density of 90 to 98 percent theoretical density ([0018], one of ordinary skill in the art understands 90-98% density implies a porosity of 2-10 vol%, which overlaps with the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Prichard therefore reads on the limitations a powder composition including granules of cemented carbide or cermet of claim 1, wherein a porosity of the granules in the powder is 0-15 wt% of claim 1, and wherein the porosity of granules in the powder is 0 - 3 wt% of claim 2.
Regarding steps a)-c) of claim 1, Prichard teaches a method of making a sintered article comrpsing a composite article including a porous exterior printed from a powder composition via binder jetting, the porous exterior defining an interior volume with loose powder (claims 1 and 26, porous exterior reads on claimed bottom portion, outer parts of a middle portion and top portion). Prichard teaches composite articles were printed with a 3D printing system from ExOne, and a binder was used for printing the green exterior in a cube format ([0033]). Prichard teaches Prichard teaches the porous exterior was formed around loose powder in the build box of the 3D printing apparatus and the composite articles were completely formed at the conclusion of the binder jetting process ([0033]). Prichard teaches the porous exterior can serve as one of more walls defining an interior of the composite article ([0012]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that printing a green exterior cube formed around a loose powder interior volume in a binder jetting process implies adding binder to a bottom portion, adding binder only in the outer parts of a middle portion, and adding binder to the top portion of the composite article to form the porous exterior of Prichard. See Fig. 3(a)-3(c) for examples of the composite articles.
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation the method comprising the steps of: a) additively manufacturing a bottom portion by depositing a plurality of layers of powder composition, and adding binder to an entire surface of each layer of the bottom portion; b) additively manufacturing a middle portion by depositing a plurality of layers of powder composition, and adding binder to only outer parts of each layer of the middle portion; c) additively manufacturing a top portion by depositing a plurality of layers of powder composition, and adding binder to an entire surface of each layer of the top portion, thereby producing a printed article of claim 1.
Regarding step d) of claim 1, Prichard teaches the composite article is subjected to one or more sintering processes ([0030], reads on claimed sintering the printed article) and further teaches an example where composite articles were vacuum sintered ([0033], further reads on claimed sintering the printed article).
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation d) sintering the printed article of claim 1.
Prichard therefore reads on all the limitations of claims 1-2.
Regarding the metallic binder of claims 3 and 4, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches metallic binder is present in the sintered cemented carbide particles in an amount of 0.1 to 35 weight percent and can be selected from the group consisting of cobalt, nickel and iron and alloys thereof ([0023]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 6, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches wherein the porous exterior has thickness less than or equal to 0.5 mm (claim 18, porous exterior thickness reads on the claimed wherein thickness of each bottom, middle and top portion with binder as best understood given the 112b rejection in this Office action; Prichard teaches the porous exterior has binder in at least [0025] and [0028]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation wherein a thickness of each bottom, middle and top portion with binder added is in a range of 0.05 - 0.5 mm of claim 6.
Regarding claims 7-8, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches the composite article can also be enhanced via one or more printed infill structures spanning the interior volume defined by the porous exterior ([0028]). Prichard teaches specific design and placement of infill structures can be dependent on particular design parameters and strength requirements of the composite article, size of the interior volume may vary and one or more lattice structures span the interior volume ([0028]).
Prichard therefore reads on the limitations wherein part of the article is manufactured using steps a)-d), and a rest of the article is manufactured by depositing a layer of powder composition and adding binder to an entirety of the layer of powder composition of claim 7 and wherein the article includes a plurality of parts manufactured according to steps a)-d), and a rest of the article is manufactured by depositing a layer of powder composition and adding binder to an entirety of the layer of powder composition of claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches the sintered exterior is completely removed from the sintered article leaving behind the sintered interior ([0031]).
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation further comprising the step of removing each bottom portion, top portion, and the outer parts of each middle portion of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches making a sintered article via additive manufacturing (claim 1).
It is noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" See MPEP § 2111.04. In this case, the claimed method does not recite active method steps to obtain a component of a cutting tool or grinding tool for machining. Since Prichard teaches making a sintered article with steps reading on those of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the method of Prichard to be capable of forming a component of a cutting tool or grinding tool for machining.
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation wherein the article is a component of a cutting tool or grinding tool for machining of claim 12.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0168299 A1 of Prichard, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 2018/0221962 A1 of Stoyanov (as cited in IDS mailed 04/11/2024).
Regarding claim 5, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches the composite article is subjected to one or more sintering processes and the sintered article can be subjected to hot isostatic pressing subsequent to the sintering process ([0030], hot isostatic pressing reads on claimed high pressure sintering since hot isostatic pressing is a sintering method which uses high pressure). Prichard teaches vacuum sintering ([0033]).
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation wherein the sintering step includes both vacuum sintering and high pressure sintering of claim 5.
However, Prichard does not explicitly disclose with a pressure above 35 bar of claim 5.
Regarding the pressure of claim 5, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary pressure ranges used for hot isostatic pressing used for additively manufactured sintered articles. Stoyanov teaches a cutting tool made by additive manufacturing (Abstract). Stoyanov and Prichard are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with forming articles of sintered cemented carbide formed by additive manufacturing.
Stoyanov teaches the component is hot isostatic pressed at a pressure of 10,000 to 30,000 psi to obtain a highly dense and reliable structure ([0020], 10,000 to 30,000 psi is equivalent to 689-2068 bar, which meets the claimed above 35 bar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hot isostatic pressing of Prichard with the pressures of Stoyanov, such as within the claimed ranges, to form a conventional sintered article using known and tested amounts of pressures predictably suitable for additively manufactured articles, and to form a highly dense and reliable structure, as taught by Stoyanov.
Modified Prichard therefore reads on the limitation wherein the sintering step includes both vacuum sintering and high pressure sintering with a pressure above 35 bar of claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches making a sintered article via additive manufacturing (claim 1).
However, alternatively, Prichard does not explicitly disclose wherein the article is a component of a cutting tool or grinding tool for machining of claim 12.
Stoyanov teaches a cutting tool made by additive manufacturing (Abstract). Stoyanov and Prichard are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with forming articles of sintered cemented carbide formed by additive manufacturing. Stoyanov teaches making a cutting tool from a powder composition via binder jetting processes (claim 1). Stoyanov teaches cemented carbides offer attractive combinations of strength, toughness, and abrasion/erosion (i.e., wear) resistance for use as cutting tools, including, for example, turning inserts and milling inserts ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the article of Prichard to form the cutting tool of Stoyanov with a reasonable expectation of success since both Prichard and Stoyanov form articles via binder jetting processes of cemented carbides.
Prichard therefore reads on the limitation wherein the article is a component of a cutting tool or grinding tool for machining of claim 12.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0168299 A1 of Prichard, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of “Bio-based thermosets: Effect of the structure of polycarboxylic acids on the thermal crosslinking of maltodextrins” of Castro-Cabado.
Regarding the binder of claim 9 and 10, Prichard teaches the method of claim 1 as described above.
Prichard teaches any suitable binder can be used in the binder jetting process, including one or more organic binders ([0011], reads on claimed at least one organic substance).
However, Prichard does not explicitly disclose wherein the binder is a water-soluble thermoset binder including a compound A being at least one organic, non-aromatic substance, comprising at least two hydroxyl groups and a compound B being at least one organic, non-aromatic substance, comprising at least two carboxyl groups, wherein the compound A and compound B are monomers or oligomers of claim 9 and wherein compound A is selected from propylene glycol, glycerol, maltodextrin, erythritol, xylitol, sorbitol and mannitol, and wherein compound B is selected from citric acid, tartaric acid, succinic acid, fumaric acid, maleic acid, polyacrylic acid oligomer and carballylic acid of claim 10.
Castro-Cabado teaches fully bio-based binding systems based on maltrodextrin and polycarboxylic acids, citric acid and tartatic acid (Abstract). Castro-Cabado and Prichard are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with binders, including one or more organic binders.
Castro-Cabado teaches eco-friendly bio-based polymers are desired to reduce the use of unhealthy and environmentally unfriendly petroleum-based synthetic polymers (Section 1. Introduction). Castro-Cabado teaches a binder formed with maltodextrin and citric acid, or maltodextrin and tartaric acid (Section 2. Materials and Methods, maltodextrin reads on claimed compound A and citric acid or tartaric acid reads on claimed compound B). Castro-Cabado teaches the resulting binder is a thermoset binder material upon thermal treatment and suitable for various applications such as with fibers, glass, or wood (Section 4. Conclusions, thermoset binder reads on claimed water-soluble thermoset binder since one of ordinary skill in the art understands maltodextrin, citric acid, and tartaric acid are water-soluble). Castro-Cabado teaches the binders with higher content of maltodextrin lead to better mechanical performance (Abstract and Section 3.4 Mechanical properties characterization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the binder of Prichard with the eco-friendly binder with maltodextrin and citric or tartaric acid of Castro-Cabado to provide an environmentally friendly binder with good mechanical performance suitable for use as a binder, as taught by Castro-Cabado.
Modified Prichard therefore reads on the limitation wherein the binder is a water-soluble thermoset binder including a compound A being at least one organic, non-aromatic substance, comprising at least two hydroxyl groups and a compound B being at least one organic, non-aromatic substance, comprising at least two carboxyl groups, wherein the compound A and compound B are monomers or oligomers of claim 9 and wherein compound A is selected from propylene glycol, glycerol, maltodextrin, erythritol, xylitol, sorbitol and mannitol, and wherein compound B is selected from citric acid, tartaric acid, succinic acid, fumaric acid, maleic acid, polyacrylic acid oligomer and carballylic acid of claim 10.
Additionally, or alternatively, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP § 2143 I. B. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the binder of Castro-Cabado to work in the method of Prichard since Prichard teaches any suitable binder may be used.
Conclusion
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733