DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sardelli et al., US 11,280,121 B2.
Claim 1: Sardelli discloses a motor vehicle lock comprising:
a locking mechanism including a rotary latch (30) and a pawl (32),
an electromotive drive including a control element (Fig. 3G depicts a motor 50 with a control element formed by gear 56 with stop 114 and a cam 58), and
an actuating lever mechanism with at least a release lever (60) and a control lever (68), wherein the control element directly operates on the release lever for opening the locking mechanism (Fig. 2B; col. 8 ln. 4-9) and on the control lever (col. 9 ln. 61-col. 10 ln. 6),
wherein the locking mechanism is opened during a normal powered operation by operation of the electromotive drive causing the control element to operate directly on the release lever (col. 8 ln. 4-9), and the control lever assumes a locked position during the normal powered operation (movement from Fig. 4 to Fig. 5),
a manually actuatable operating lever (24), wherein the locking mechanism cannot be opened with the aid of the manually actuatable operating lever during the normal powered operation (col. 8 ln. 63-67),
a clutch lever (36), wherein with the aid of the control lever, the clutch lever is transferred into an engaged position corresponding to an unlocked state of the control lever in which a position of the release lever is manually biased (Fig. 9; col. 11 ln. 66-col. 12 ln. 7) and the locking mechanism is opened via the manually actuatable operating lever by movement as an alternative to the electromotive drive (col. 7 ln. 24-33; col. 11 ln. 66-col. 12 ln. 7), and
a force transmission element (108), wherein the locking mechanism is opened during an emergency powered opening by operation of the electromotive drive causing the control element to move the control lever to an emergency opening position (Fig. 8) such that the force transmission element is directly engageable by the control element (col. 11 ln. 45-66),
wherein the force transmission element cooperating with the release lever provides an emergency opening of the locking mechanism, with the aid of which a rotary movement exerted by the electromotive drive on the locking mechanism is translated or reduced (col. 11 ln. 48-col. 12 ln. 7 (force transmission member translates movement of the electromotive drive from element 114 and the force transmission element indirectly cooperates with the release lever by coupling it with the control lever for an emergency opening)),
wherein during normal powered operation, the control element is spaced from the force transmission element (Fig. 5B; col. 10 ln. 66-67), and
wherein the force transmission element is a lever or lever arm which is connected to the release lever (Figs. 4-4B illustrate the force transmission element 108 is structured as a lever and is connected in the same assembly with the release lever 60).
Claim 8: Sardelli discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the manually actuatable operating lever is provided as a component of the actuating lever mechanism (Fig. 10, the manually operably operating lever is part of the actuating lever mechanism).
Claim 11: Sardelli discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the emergency powered opening occurs when an on-board power supply voltage is below a threshold amount (col. 13 ln. 20-41).
Claim 12: Sardelli discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the control lever (68) is movable between the locked position (Fig. 4), the emergency opening position (Fig. 8), and an unlocked position (Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sardelli, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leondardi et al., US 2022/0282530 A1.
Claim 10: Sardelli discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, but is silent to the electromotive drive having an output disk that acts on the control element that operates the release lever.
Leonardi teaches an electromotive drive (Fig. 5A) having an output disk (96) that acts on a control element (100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electromotive drive disclosed by Sardelli to include an output disk that acts on the control element that operates the release lever to provide a gear reduction arrangement to achieve increased torque and reduce the motor size, as taught by Leonardi (Leonardi [0102]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 allowed.
Claims 4-7, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of Applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 4-7, 9, 13-14.
In regards to claim 4, Sardelli fails to disclose the force transmission element dips into a control contour of the control lever. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the force transmission element and control lever disclosed by Sardelli to be configured such that the force transmission element dips into a control contour of the control lever without use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the intended structure.
In regards to claims 5-7, the prior art fails to disclose each and every limitation of claim 4 from which the claims depend.
Claim 9 is allowable for the reasons indicated in the previous non-final office action, mailed 14 Aug. 2025.
Claim 13 includes the subject matter of claim 7 and is allowable for the reasons indicated in the previous non-final office action.
Claim 14 includes the subject matter of claim 9 and is allowable for the reasons indicated in the previous non-final office action.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2), Applicant argued Sardelli does not teach the feature of the control element being spaced from the force transmission element during normal powered operation and does not teach the locking mechanism is opened during a normal powered operation by operation of the electromotive drive causing the control element to operate directly on the release lever.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, and the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference.
As shown above, Sardelli teaches a control element (power release gear 56 with stop member 114 and power release cam 58 that is connected to the gear) that is spaced apart from a force transmission element (double pull sector 108) during normal powered operation; Sardelli further teaches the control element is configured to operate directly on a release lever (actuator output lever 60) during a normal powered operation.
Applicant's arguments with respect to new claims 11 and 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The above interpretation of Sardelli teaches the emergency powered opening occurs when an on-board power supply voltage drops below a threshold and the control lever is movable between the three positions.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, with respect to the objections to the specification and claims 3, 8, 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, with respect to rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EGB/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675