DETAILED ACTION
Claims 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US20240032102) in view of Zhang et al. (US20240349347).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches A method comprising: receiving, by a User Equipment (UE), configuration information related to a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets ([0117] “At 704, it is determined whether the UE and the base station support a second feature specific RA procedure for the second features. Operation 704 can be similar to operation 606 of FIG. 6 performed for the second feature, [0103] “UE 103 can determine whether base station 101 supports feature specific RA procedure for the determined feature based on information and configurations that UE 103 receives from base station 101”, [0033-35] “The different PRACH configuration indexes can indicate the different RO timing locations. In other words, different PRACH configuration indexes are used for different RO patterns for different features supported by base station 101 and UE 103.…Additionally, or alternatively, different frequency resources can be used for different features in the unified RA procedure. For example, the unified RA procedure can configure the same RO time location for multiple features, but configure different frequency resources for different features, (Examiner’s Note: different frequency resource == a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets );
triggering, by the UE an RA procedure for two or more features ([0073] “For example, UE 103 can determine one or more features supported by UE 103 and base station 101. UE 103 can further select one or more feature specific RACH resources (ROs and/or preambles) based on the determined one or more features. According to some examples, the feature specific RACH resource can include one or more ROs and/or one or more preambles partitioned based on a plurality of features associated with the initial access of UE 103 to base station 101”, [0116] “At 702, a second feature to be indicated at the initial access of the UE to the base station is determined. For example, UE 103 determine a second feature (in addition to the first feature determine at 604 of FIG. 6 )”) (Examiner’s Note: initial access == triggering, further shown in [0002] “RA procedure (or Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure as referred herein in some aspects) is a procedure that can be used by the UE and the network for an initial access of the UE to the network. The RA procedure for the initial connection can be triggered when the UE is first joining the network and has data to send to the network”);
based on there being a second RA resource set available for indicating a subset of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets ([0121] “At 710, the feature specific RACH resource for the first feature or a second feature specific RACH resource for the second feature is selected. For example, UE 103 can select feature specific RACH resource for the first feature or the second feature based on a predefined rule”),
and performing, by the UE the RA procedure based on the selected RA resource set ([0126] “At 712, a 4-step RA procedure or a 2-step RA procedure is performed based on the selected feature specific RACH resource for the first feature or the selected second feature specific RACH resource for the second feature. For example, UE 103 performs the 4-step RA procedure or the 2-step RA procedure based on the feature specific RACH resource selected at 710”);
and transmitting, by the UE intention information indicating the two or more features for which the RA procedure was triggered ([0053] “In other words, message 321 of FIG. 3B can include a combination of Msg 1 and Msg 3. As discussed in more detail below, UE 103 can select preamble of message 321 and/or its RACH occasion (RO) based on the unified RA procedure of this disclosure. In some aspects, message 321 can be referred to as Msg A transmission from UE 103 to base station 101.”, [0048] “FIG. 3A illustrates an exemplary signaling 300 for 4-step RA procedure that can be used with the unified RA procedure for multiple features of this disclosure. FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary signaling 320 for 2-step RA procedure that can be used with the unified RA procedure for multiple features of this disclosure”, (Examiner’s Note: based on the unified RA procedure == Fig 7 is multiple feature unified RA procedure == information indicating the two or more features).
Xu does not teach based on there not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets.
Zhang teaches based on there not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets ([0077] “According to FIG. 3A, a set of ROs are numbered as RO #0, RO # 1, RO # 2, . . . , RO # 7. The ROs with odd indices, i.e., RO # 1, RO # 3, RO # 5, and RO # 7, are configured with feature A. A feature-related RACH configuration associated with feature A may indicate ROs configured with feature A and/or a number of preambles configured for feature A. In other words, UEs with feature A may use the preambles configured for feature A to perform the CB RA procedure in these ROs. The ROs with even indices, i.e., RO #0, RO # 2, RO #4, and RO # 6, are configured without feature A. That is, UEs with feature A cannot perform the CB RA procedure in these Ros”, [0087] “The preamble set marked by “B” in FIG. 4A-4C is corresponding to the preambles configured for feature B what is supported by the cell but not configured in the RO. Accordingly, in this RO, UEs with feature A may use the preambles in the preamble subset marked by “A” to perform the CB RA procedure, and UEs with feature C may use the preambles in the preamble subset marked by “C” to perform the CB RA procedure, while UEs with feature B cannot use the preambles in the preamble subset marked by “B” to perform the CB RA procedure because feature B is not configured in this RO. Instead, advanced UEs may use the preambles in the CB preamble set for normal UEs (marked as “part1”) and the preamble subset marked by “B” (marked as “part2”) to perform the CB RA procedure in the RO” (Examiner’s Note: both mapping can be used to interpret not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce overhead.
Regarding claim 15, 19, 20, Xu teaches A user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor ([0137] “Computer system 800 includes one or more processors (also called central processing units, or CPUs), such as a processor 804. Processor 804 is connected to a communication infrastructure 806 (e.g., a bus)”); at least one computer memory and storing instructions that ([0137] “Computer system 800 also includes a main or primary memory 808, such as random access memory (RAM). Main memory 808 may include one or more levels of cache”), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations ([0137] “Computer system 800 includes one or more processors (also called central processing units, or CPUs), such as a processor 804. Processor 804 is connected to a communication infrastructure 806 (e.g., a bus)”) comprising:
receiving configuration information related to a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets ([0117] “At 704, it is determined whether the UE and the base station support a second feature specific RA procedure for the second features. Operation 704 can be similar to operation 606 of FIG. 6 performed for the second feature, [0103] “UE 103 can determine whether base station 101 supports feature specific RA procedure for the determined feature based on information and configurations that UE 103 receives from base station 101”, [0033-35] “The different PRACH configuration indexes can indicate the different RO timing locations. In other words, different PRACH configuration indexes are used for different RO patterns for different features supported by base station 101 and UE 103.…Additionally, or alternatively, different frequency resources can be used for different features in the unified RA procedure. For example, the unified RA procedure can configure the same RO time location for multiple features, but configure different frequency resources for different features, (Examiner’s Note: different frequency resource == a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets );
triggering an RA procedure for two or more features ([0073] “For example, UE 103 can determine one or more features supported by UE 103 and base station 101. UE 103 can further select one or more feature specific RACH resources (ROs and/or preambles) based on the determined one or more features. According to some examples, the feature specific RACH resource can include one or more ROs and/or one or more preambles partitioned based on a plurality of features associated with the initial access of UE 103 to base station 101”, [0116] “At 702, a second feature to be indicated at the initial access of the UE to the base station is determined. For example, UE 103 determine a second feature (in addition to the first feature determine at 604 of FIG. 6 )”) (Examiner’s Note: initial access == triggering, further shown in [0002] “RA procedure (or Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure as referred herein in some aspects) is a procedure that can be used by the UE and the network for an initial access of the UE to the network. The RA procedure for the initial connection can be triggered when the UE is first joining the network and has data to send to the network”);
and based on there being a second RA resource set available for indicating a subset of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets ([0121] “At 710, the feature specific RACH resource for the first feature or a second feature specific RACH resource for the second feature is selected. For example, UE 103 can select feature specific RACH resource for the first feature or the second feature based on a predefined rule”),
performing the RA procedure based on the second RA resource set ([0126] “At 712, a 4-step RA procedure or a 2-step RA procedure is performed based on the selected feature specific RACH resource for the first feature or the selected second feature specific RACH resource for the second feature. For example, UE 103 performs the 4-step RA procedure or the 2-step RA procedure based on the feature specific RACH resource selected at 710”);
and transmitting intention information indicating the two or more features for which the RA procedure was triggered ([0053] “In other words, message 321 of FIG. 3B can include a combination of Msg 1 and Msg 3. As discussed in more detail below, UE 103 can select preamble of message 321 and/or its RACH occasion (RO) based on the unified RA procedure of this disclosure. In some aspects, message 321 can be referred to as Msg A transmission from UE 103 to base station 101.”, [0048] “FIG. 3A illustrates an exemplary signaling 300 for 4-step RA procedure that can be used with the unified RA procedure for multiple features of this disclosure. FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary signaling 320 for 2-step RA procedure that can be used with the unified RA procedure for multiple features of this disclosure” (Examiner’s Note: based on the unified RA procedure == Fig 7 is multiple feature unified RA procedure == information indicating the two or more features).
Xu does not teach based on there not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets.
Zhang teaches based on there not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets ([0077] “According to FIG. 3A, a set of ROs are numbered as RO #0, RO # 1, RO # 2, . . . , RO # 7. The ROs with odd indices, i.e., RO # 1, RO # 3, RO # 5, and RO # 7, are configured with feature A. A feature-related RACH configuration associated with feature A may indicate ROs configured with feature A and/or a number of preambles configured for feature A. In other words, UEs with feature A may use the preambles configured for feature A to perform the CB RA procedure in these ROs. The ROs with even indices, i.e., RO #0, RO # 2, RO #4, and RO # 6, are configured without feature A. That is, UEs with feature A cannot perform the CB RA procedure in these Ros”, [0087] “The preamble set marked by “B” in FIG. 4A-4C is corresponding to the preambles configured for feature B what is supported by the cell but not configured in the RO. Accordingly, in this RO, UEs with feature A may use the preambles in the preamble subset marked by “A” to perform the CB RA procedure, and UEs with feature C may use the preambles in the preamble subset marked by “C” to perform the CB RA procedure, while UEs with feature B cannot use the preambles in the preamble subset marked by “B” to perform the CB RA procedure because feature B is not configured in this RO. Instead, advanced UEs may use the preambles in the CB preamble set for normal UEs (marked as “part1”) and the preamble subset marked by “B” (marked as “part2”) to perform the CB RA procedure in the RO” (Examiner’s Note: both mapping can be used to interpret not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu to incorporate Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce overhead.
Regarding claims 12, 16, Xu teaches wherein performing the RA procedure comprises: transmitting a random access preamble using the second RA resource set ([0049] “UE 103 transmits preamble 301 on PRACH. In some examples, preamble 301 can also be referred to as message 1 (Msg 1)”, [0115] “Method 700 can be used for selecting and using feature specific RACH resource for the 4-step RA procedure or the 2-step RA procedure for a second feature. In other words, if both UE 103 and base station 101 support multiple features (e.g., a first feature and a second feature), UE 103 can check RACH conditions for the multiple features. If one feature's condition is satisfied, UE 103 can perform unified RA procedure according to the feature specific RACH resource of that feature. If multiple features' conditions are satisfied, UE 103 can select the feature specific RACH resource for multiple features based on a predefined rule”);
receiving a random access response related to the random access preamble ([0050] “According to some aspects, base station 101 can send RA response 303 to UE 103. In some examples, RA response 303 can include information for UE 103 to transmit additional signal(s) to base station 101. For example, RA response 303 (also referred to as Msg 2) can include timing information for UE 103 to transmit additional signal(s) to base station 101”);
and transmitting an uplink signal including a Msg3 with the intention information based on the random access response ([0113] “In another non-limiting example, if the selected feature is coverage enhancement, base station 101 can allow use of repetitions in, for example, message 3. In another non-limiting example, if the selected feature is RAN slicing, the network (e.g., system 100 including base station 101) can choose a specific slicing from a plurality of slicings based on the selected feature (and/or information associated with the selected RAN slicing). In another non-limiting example, if the selected feature is small data transmission, the network (e.g., system 100 including base station 101) can choose a specific Transport Block (TB) size based on the selected feature. For example, base station 101 can allow use of larger message 3, as one example, if the selected feature is small data transmission”).
Regarding claim 13, 17, Xu teaches wherein the intention information is transmitted after the RA procedure is successfully completed ([0113] “By using the selected feature specific RACH resource, base station 101 can determine the feature that UE 103 has selected and is about to use. In other words, by using the unified RA procedure of this disclosure (e.g., using the selected feature specific RACH resource for the 4-step RA procedure or the 2-step RA procedure), UE 103 and base station 101 perform the initial access procedure for a specific feature to be used by UE 103. By knowing the feature that UE 103 has selected, base station 101 can perform specific scheduling for the selected features and can communicate specific information and signals to UE 103 based on the selected feature. In a non-limiting example, if the selected feature is RedCap, base station 101 can determine and use specific Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for RedCap feature. In another non-limiting example, if the selected feature is coverage enhancement, base station 101 can allow use of repetitions in, for example, message 3”).
Regarding claims 14, 18, Xu teaches wherein the two or more features comprise at least one of Coverage enhancement (CE), Small Data Transmission by using a RA procedure (RA-SDT), Reduced Capability (RedCap) and Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing ([0003] “The multiple features can include, but are not limited to, reduced capability (RedCap), coverage enhancement, Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing, small data transmission, and the like”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument 1
In Xu, the base station determines the feature that the UE has selected implicitly based on the specific RACH resource (preamble or RO) used by the UE. If a UE triggers two features but selects the resource for the highest-priority feature, the base station in Xu only identifies that single selected feature. Xu fails to teach any mechanism for the UE to explicitly report the entire original set of triggered Applicant remarks features (the "intention information") after it has been forced to use a resource that only represents a subset.
According to the claimed features, the "intention information" is not merely an indication of the feature used for access; it is an explicit report of the "two or more features" that originally triggered the procedure. This allows the network to recognize the UE's original intent (e.g., both RedCap and Slicing) even though the UE could only signal one of them (e.g., RedCap) during the initial preamble transmission due to resource partitioning constraints.
The claimed features can provide technological improvements by helping to address a specific problem of "resource fragmentation" where a network cannot provide dedicated resources for every possible combination of features (e.g., RedCap, SDT, CE, Slicing). By explicitly reporting the "intended feature list" via intention information, the network can gather statistics on which feature combinations are frequently requested but lack dedicated resources, thereby allowing for popularity-based resource optimization.
Xu provides no such feedback mechanism for unindicated features. In general, Xu fails to disclose or suggest the features of the amended claims.
Examiner’s Response 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. None of what applicant is argue is in the claim, for example there is no list of all features, no feedback mechanism for unindicated features further more applicant amended to remove the priority claim limitation.
The claim states triggering, by the UE, an RA procedure for two or more features; based on there not being a first RA resource set available for indicating all of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets and a second RA resource set available for indicating a subset of the two or more features in the plurality of RA resource sets, performing, by the UE, the RA procedure based on the second RA resource set; and transmitting, by the UE, intention information indicating the two or more features for which the RA procedure was triggered which is taught by the combination of Xu in view of Zhang in updated rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20250168888 -multiple features with RA contention, US20240237082- multiple features in a PRACH, US20240349347- multiple preamble/features in RACH.
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411