Status of claims
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, and 13 are currently amended. Claims 3, 7-8, and 11-12 are previously presented. Claims 1-13 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/078026, filed on 10/10/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 21204229.5, filed on 10/22/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/27/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examine
Rejections and Objections withdrawn
All objections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
All 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward the rejections are now moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For the purpose of examination, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising" until any prior art additive is shown to affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed composition/product. See MPEP 2111.03.
Rejections modified in view of substantial amendments (i.e., adding “wherein the composition comprises less than 5% by weight of other components” per claim 4): prior art unchanged, prior art mappings added, Claims 10-11 and their corresponding mappings removed.
Claims 4-7, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider (US20090005246A1).
Schneider discloses a herbicidal composition in the form of an emulsifiable concentrate which comprises, in addition to emulsifiers and water-insoluble solvents, 2,2-dimethyl-propionic acid 8-(2,6-diethyl-4-methyl-phenyl)-9-oxo-1,2,4,5-tetrahydro-9H-pyrazolo[1,2-d][1,4,5]oxadiazepin-7-yl ester (also known as pinoxaden) and an alcohol (abstract). In independent claim 1, Schneider teaches that the composition contains pinoxaden and an alcohol, while its dependent claim 2 teaches that such composition also comprises 2-ethylhexanol, n-octanol, benzyl alcohol, tetrahydrofurfuryl alcohol, 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol, 4-hydroxy-4- methyl-2-pentanone, cyclohexanol, methyl lactate or butyl lactate (pages 3-4). Claim 5 states that the composition may comprises from 1 to 97% by weight of alcohol---––which indicates the that the claimed composition may contain less than 5% by weight of other components (e.g., 97% of alcohol by weight indicates less than 3% of other components by weight). Schneider teaches that the above compositions of the present invention are made via stirring until a solution (which is homogenous) is formed (paragraph 20), which will thus inherently reduce the risk of pinoxaden powder becoming airborne.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejections Modified in view of amendments (i.e., the addition of “wherein the composition comprises less than 5% by weight of other components” per claims 1 and 4): Prior arts unchanged, prior art mappings modified
Rejections modified in view of substantial amendments (i.e., adding “wherein the composition comprises less than 5% by weight of other components” per claims 1 and 4): prior art unchanged, Claims 10-11 added to the 35 USC 103 over Schneider, prior art mappings added.
Claims 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20090005246A1).
In the above embodiments of its claims and disclosures, Schneider already anticipates all of the limitations of present claims 4-7, 9, and 13.
However, in such embodiments, Schneider fails to also anticipate the limitations of present claims 8, 10-11, and 12.
In other embodiments, Schneider also teaches that 1% to 50% of herbicides including pinoxaden can be used in such compositions (paragraph 17). Schneider teaches that benzyl alcohol and 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol can be included in the composition (paragraphs 7 and 10). Schneider teaches that such alcohols can be present in the composition as mixtures (paragraph 12). Schneider teaches that preferably from 1% to 97% by weight of said alcohols may be present in the composition (paragraph 11). The above teachings also encompass combinations satisfying the limitation of less than 5% by weight of other components, the weight ratio limitations of present claims 10-11, and the pinoxaden concentration limitation of present claim 12 (e.g., 20.1% of pinoxaden and 76.9% of benzyl alcohol by weight is equivalent to a weight ratio of approximately 20.7:79.3, has a sum of 97 wt.% and thus contains 3% of other components, which is less than 5%).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the composition of schneider such that the alcohol comprises a mixture of 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol and benzyl alcohol in a ratio of 80-20 to 20-80% by weight, the weight ratio of pinoxaden to alcohol is 10:90 to 40:60 or 15:85 to 30:70, and such that the amount of pinoxaden by weight is more than 20%, as recited in claims 8 and 10-12. This is because Schneider teaches that benzyl alcohol and 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol are suitable alcohols to be used in such compositions as mixtures at a broad amount of up to 97% by weight, thereby providing formulation flexibility to select relative proportions of mixed alcohol, which indicates that their ratio range in claim 8 is a matter of routine optimization absent proof of unexpected results or criticality. Furthermore, Schneider teaches that herbicides such as pinoxaden in addition to alcohol may be included in the composition at concentrations and ratios that overlap with those stated in claim 10-12. In view of these teachings, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select and combine the expressly disclosed alcohols at the claimed ratios in addition to the amount of pinoxaden and alcohols at the claimed concentrations and ratios to obtain an emulsifiable concentrate composition suitable for handling and storage. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because Schneider teaches that such compositions are readily prepared by stirring, and the various embodiments (EC-2 & EC-3) exemplify pinoxaden formulations containing alcohol, which provide points of reference for modifying the composition.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20090005246A1) in view of Barion (US20180030253A1).
Schneider discloses all of the limitations previously listed, including a composition comprising pinoxaden in addition to an ester, a ketone and/or an alcohol, wherein the composition comprises less than 5% by weight of other components.
However, Schneider fails to teach a transport system comprising a suitable container containing a composition consisting essentially of pinoxaden in addition to an ester, a ketone and/or an alcohol. Schneider further fails to teach the container to be an IBC having the capacity that overlaps with 100 litres and 10,000 litres.
Barion discloses polymer blend compositions and plastic containers for the transport of hazardous substances, made of the same (paragraph 1). Barion teaches that the polymer blend composition of the present invention is employed to manufacture inner containers for Intermediate Bulk Containers (IBC) for storage and collection of liquid or gel hazardous substances (paragraph 51). Barion teaches that the polymer blend composition of the present invention is particularly advantageous for the production of plastic containers to store solvents such as ketones and alcohols in addition to commercially based products including herbicides that are dissolved in such solvents (paragraph 52). Barion teaches that such containers according to the present invention preferably has a volume ranging between 800 Liters and 1200 Liters (paragraph 66).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the herbicide composition taught by Schneider into the transport system taught by Barion. This is because Schneider teaches all elements of the herbicidal composition stated in the present claims, which includes pinoxaden in addition to an ester, a ketone and/or an alcohol. Concurrently, Barion teaches that IBCs having an overlapping capacity with present claim 3 can be used to store and transport herbicides that are dissolved in the claimed solvents including ketones and alcohols. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the herbicidal composition taught by Schneider with the transport system taught by Barion in order to store and transport the known pinoxaden-containing solvent composition within a compatible IBC. Furthermore, because Barion teaches the IBCs to be compatible with such solvent-based herbicidal formulations, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success combining these teachings to reach the claimed invention.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument (p. 5, ¶1] that Schneider’s EC-3 contains surfactants/emulsifiers and a safener in amounts exceeding 5 wt.% and therefore does not disclose the amended composition:
This argument is moot with respect to the updated 35 USC 102/103 rejections of this correspondence. The aforementioned rejections no longer rely on EC-3 to establish the “less than 5% by weight of other components” limitation. Rather, Schneider expressly teaches compositions containing from 1-97% wt.% alcohol [claim 5 of Schneider]. At the expressly disclosed upper end of the 97 wt.% alcohol, less than 3 wt.% remains available for components other than the alcohol and required pinoxaden, thereby satisfying the presently claimed limitation of less than 5 wt.% of other components.
Regarding applicant’s argument [p. 5, ¶¶2-3] that Schneider emphasizes fully formulated emulsifiable concentrates containing substantial amounts of emulsifiers and safeners and therefore fails to suggest the amended compositions:
This argument is not persuasive. Schneider expressly discloses broad formulation ranges, including 1-97 wt.% alcohol and 1-50 wt.% pinoxaden, and therefore does not require the particular quantities of example EC-3. The presently rejected claims are evaluated against Schneider’s disclosure as a whole, not merely its individual working examples. Further, the present 35 USC 103 rejections rely on selection of concentrations within Schneider’s expressly disclosed ranges, including amounts that leave less than 5 wt.% for other components.
Regarding applicant’s argument [p. 6, ¶1] that reducing emulsifiers and safeners would render Schneider unsuitable for its intended purpose:
This argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not require eliminating formulation components contrary to Schneider’s teachings. Rather, the claimed compositions are obtained by selecting amounts within Schneider’s disclosed formulation ranges. Furthermore, applicant has not established that selecting amounts within those disclosed ranges would destroy the operability or intended function of Schneider’s compositions.
Regarding applicant’s argument [p. 6, ¶¶2-3] that Schneider addresses storage stability whereas the present application addresses airborne pinoxaden during transport and therefore schneider provides no motivation to arrive at the claimed compositions.
This argument is not persuasive. Obviousness does not require the prior art to recognize the problem identified by applicant. Schneider expressly teaches pinoxaden-containing alcohol compositions at broad concentration ranges. As set forth in the rejection, those ranges encompass combinations satisfying the pinoxaden-to-alcohol ratios of claims 10-11 and the pinoxaden concentration of claim 12, while Schneider further teaches that benzyl alcohol and 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol are suitable alcohols that may be used as mixtures. Selection and optimization of the disclosed amounts and relative proportions would have been within the ordinary skill in the art absent criticality or unexpected results.
Regarding applicant’s argument [p. 6, ¶¶4-6; p. 7, ¶1] that Schneider in view of Barion fails to suggest the claimed transport system and that the combination is based on hindsight.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Schneider supplies the claimed pinoxaden-containing solvent composition, while Barion expressly teaches intermediate bulk containers for storage and transporting hazardous liquid or gel materials, including herbicides dissolved in solvents such as ketones and alcohols, and further teaches container volumes of 800-1200 L, which fall within the presently claimed range. Thus, the references themselves provide a reason to place Schneider’s known solvent-based herbicidal composition in Barion’s expressly compatible IBC for storage and transport, without any reliance on applicant’s disclosure as a roadmap.
Regarding applicant’s argument [p. 7, ¶1-2] that neither Schneider nor Barion recognizes Applicant’s airborne-dust hazard or expressly teaches placing a highly loaded pinoxaden composition in an IBC for that purpose:
This argument is not persuasive. Claims 1-3 do not require recognition of the particular airborne-dust problem or require recognition of the particular airborne-dust problem or require a pinoxaden concentration greater than 20 wt.%. The rejection needs only to establish the claimed structural and compositional limitations and an articulated reason for combining the teachings. Barion expressly teaches IBC’s suitable for solvent-based herbicidal products, and Schneider expressly teaches the pinoxaden-containing solvent composition. Accordingly, the proposed combination is supported by the references themselves and would have provided a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusions
No claim is found allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Arya A. Bazargani, Ph.D.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1613
/MARK V STEVENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613