DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the storage tank in a ship (claim 1), the compressor (claim 1), a flow meter (claim 2), and a refrigerant circulation unit and refrigerant used for heat exchange (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 states “wherein blanket nitrogen is supplied….to maintain a constant pressure in the separator” and “nitrogen consumption…is monitored….reliquefaction system is operated in a bypass operation mode….” Which is found to be indefinite as these are positively recited method steps in an apparatus or structural claim. It is unclear how these steps structurally modify the apparatus. For the purpose of examination, the method steps are considered functional language and as long as the structure is recited in the prior art it will be assumed that the functional language can be performed, i.e. flow meter monitoring flow rate, presences of a bypass line and nitrogen blanket line as disclosed in claim 1.
Claim 4 states “subcooled reliquefied gas is supplied to the separator…..and….flow rate is monitored to determine whether to return….to a normal operation mode” all of which is claimed as method or process steps in an apparatus claim and is therefore found to be indefinite as it is unclear how the supplying and monitoring should be interpreted. For the purpose of this office action it will be assumed that this steps are functional language in an apparatus claim and therefore can be performed as long as there are control valves provided.
Claims 3 and 5-7 depend from claims 2 and 4 rejected above and therefore inherit the 35 USC 112 deficiencies of their parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-0638924 Daewoo in view of KR 10-1770917 Hyundai (both cited and provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Daewoo discloses A boil-off gas reliquefaction system for ships (see figure and abstract), comprising: a compressor 10 compressing boil-off gas generated from liquefied gas stored in a storage tank in a ship (boil off from cargo tanks sent to 10, see abstract); a reliquefaction line connecting the compressor to the storage tank and allowing the boil- off gas to be reliquefied and returned to the storage tank therealong (see piping/line through heat exchanger 20 liquefying boil off, sent through separator 30 and sent through valve 60 back to cargo tanks as LNG); a heat exchanger disposed on the reliquefaction line and cooling the boil-off gas compressed by the compressor (20); a separator (30) disposed on the reliquefaction line, separating the boil-off gas cooled by the heat exchanger into a gaseous phase and a liquid phase, and supplying separated liquefied gas to the storage tank (from separator 30 through valve 60 back to cargo tanks). Daewoo does not disclose a nitrogen blanket line along which nitrogen is supplied to an upstream side of the separator; and a bypass line branched from the reliquefaction line downstream of the heat exchanger and connected to the storage tank without passing through the separator. This is disclosed by Hyundai (figure 1) who provides a bypass line branched from the reliquefaction line downstream of the heat exchanger without passing through the separator and that liquefied being sent to a separator can also be sent through a bypass (see liquefied streams 11/12 to LNG drum 20 and also bypass stream 11 both of which have valves for controlling a bypass, see paragraph 34 and 69-72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to utilize a separator bypass line around an LNG separator as disclosed by Hyundai with the separator and liquefied natural gas feed of Daewoo in order to ensure flow control and even flow being distributed through the LNG pumps whether it be to a user or back to the ship tanks (paragraph 72) and also to help with separator pressure controls of the separator (see paragraphs 73-76). Hyundai further discloses a nitrogen blanket line along which nitrogen is supplied to an upstream side of the separator (see Nitrogen lines 22/22A/22B combining with boil off feed 23, see paragraphs 82-83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of applicant’s filing to utilize a nitrogen blanket stream as a feed to the LNG separator as disclosed by Hyundai with the LNG separator of Daewoo in order to allow for safe pressure regulation of the LNG drum and to keep internal pressure of the separator constant and at appropriate levels (see paragraphs 82-87).
Regarding claim 2, Daewoo and Hyundai both disclose utilizing pressure meters within the separator however neither disclose the use of a flow meter on the nitrogen supplied flow. The examiner goes on official notice that flow meters are well known in the art and can be applied to monitor the flow for any stream within the process and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to provide additional control to the valves being utilize to control quantity of the streams being sent along the blanket or bypass lines. Further this is a simple substitution of one known measuring meter for another and also the use of a known technique to a known device (flow meters to natural gas liquefying plant process streams). See the 35 USC 112b rejection above with regard to the rest of the claim limitations which are considered to be functional language. Further as disclosed with respect to cl aim 1 above, Hyundai discloses controlling the pressure of the separator utilizing the blanket nitrogen stream and bypass line.
Regarding claim 3, Hyundai discloses further comprising: a first control valve disposed on the reliquefaction line downstream of a junction between the bypass line and the reliquefaction line; and a second control valve disposed on the bypass line (see valves on streams 11 and 12). See motivation in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, wherein, while the second control valve is opened to deliver the subcooled reliquefied gas to the storage tank along the bypass line, some of the subcooled reliquefied gas is supplied to the separator through the first control valve and the flow rate of the nitrogen supplied to the separator is monitored to determine whether to return the boil-off gas reliquefaction system to a normal operation mode. See 35 USC 112B rejection above with regard to any functional method language. See controllable valves on lines 11 and 12 of Hyundai. Monitoring flow rate is well known in the art and the examiner goes on official notice (see rejection and motivation of claim 2) that flow meters on process streams is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Hyundai further comprising: a pressure detector detecting an internal pressure of the separator (pressure regulation paragraphs 82-86 require pressure monitoring). Daewoo as modified by Hyundai discloses a pressure compensation line branched from the reliquefaction line downstream of the compressor to bypass the heat exchanger and joined with the nitrogen blanket line to be connected to the upstream side of the separator (see bypass from compressor 10 utilized as boil-off blanket gas through valves 60 and 50; and a pressure compensation valve disposed on the pressure compensation line downstream of a junction between the pressure compensation line and the back-up nitrogen blanket line, wherein the boil-off gas or the nitrogen is adjusted in pressure by the pressure compensation valve based on a pressure value detected by the pressure detector prior to being supplied to the separator (see 60/50, see functional language explanation in the 35 USC 112B rejection above). Daewoo provides for utilizing a branch off of compressed boil off before liquefaction as a blanket gas and Hyundai provides for combining compressed boiloff 23a/23 with the nitrogen blanket stream 22. See motivations in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Daewoo and Hyundai do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a first shut-off valve disposed on the pressure compensation line upstream of the junction between the pressure compensation line and the nitrogen blanket line; a second shut-off valve disposed on the nitrogen blanket line; and a check valve disposed on the nitrogen blanket line downstream of the second shut-off valve to prevent backflow however Daewoo discloses utilization of pressure control and check valves (50/60 for the boil off blanket gas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to utilize the pressure and check valves provided by Daewoo upstream and/or downstream of combining with nitrogen streams. Utilization of pressure control valves and check valves are well known to be applied to separator feed streams in LNG plants and it would be use of a known technique to improve similar devices avoiding back flow and providing additional pressure control of feed streams.
Regarding claim 7, Daewoo discloses further comprising: a refrigerant circulation unit through which refrigerant used for heat exchange with the boil-off gas in the heat exchanger is circulated, wherein the refrigerant in the refrigerant circulation unit is nitrogen (see refrigerant loop 40 used in HE 20).
Conclusion
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798