DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and the species drawn to an alloy powder (a) and wherein at least 90 wt% of the powder has a particle size of lower than 45 microns (a), corresponding to claims 1-6 and 15, in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of groups I and II and the recited species are sufficiently related that a search for the subject matter of any one group would necessarily encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining group and therefore, there is no serious search and examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the groups are drawn to different statutory classes of invention requiring different classification and field of search. Furthermore, the recited species are drawn to mutually exclusive structures. Therefore, the recited groups and species represent a serious search and examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 7-14 and 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama (JP 2020100856A)(machine translation provided).
With respect to Claim 1, Aoyama teaches a metal powder with a particle size of 30 microns or less and a composition, in weight%, as follows (pgs. 1-3 of translation):
Claim 1
Aoyama
Ni
9.0-12.0
2-40
Cr
2.0-4.5
2-40
Mo
3.5-4.5
0.1-5.0
Ti
0.1-1.0
0.05-1.0
Fe
Balance with impurities
Balance
Si
≤ 0.5
-
Mn
≤ 0.5
-
Al
≤ 0.1
-
Co
≤ 0.1
-
N
≤ 0.05
0.05-1.0
C
≤ 0.07
-
Other
-
Cu: 0.1-5
W: 0.1-5
V: 0.1-5
Nb: 0.05-1
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Thus, Aoyama teaches a metal powder with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Finally, with respect to the preamble limitation “A metal powder for additive manufacturing,” the recitation “for additive manufacturing” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, the claimed structure comprises the claimed composition in the form of a powder and the intended use does not further limit the claimed structure. Therefore, the metal powder of the prior art is deemed to meet the instantly claimed limitations.
With respect to Claim 2, the composition-based formula(s) in the instant claim fully depend on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art. In the instant case, as the metal powder of the prior art is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition-based formulas because the reference discloses utility throughout the disclosed ranges. See also MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 3, Aoyama teaches a metal powder with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges. (see rejection of claim 1 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 5, Aoyama teaches wherein the comprised elements are present as an alloy. (pgs. 1-2 of translation).
With respect to Claim 6, Aoyama teaches wherein the metal powder has a particle size of 30 microns or less, falling within the claimed range. (see rejection of claim 1 above; pgs. 1-2 of translation).
With respect to Claim 15, Aoyama teaches wherein the metal powder has a particle size of 30 microns or less, falling within the claimed range. (see rejection of claim 1 above; pgs. 1-2 of translation).
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woehrle (DE 102018201855A1)(machine translation provided) in view of Augustin (US 4514235).
With respect to Claim 1, Woehrle teaches a metal powder with a particle size of 30 microns or less and a composition, in weight%, as follows (see Augustin, col. 2, ln. 1-11; Woehrle, claim 1 in translation):
Claim 1
Augustin
Woehrle
Ni
9.0-12.0
7-20
0-20
Cr
2.0-4.5
0-13
0-20
Mo
3.5-4.5
1.5-6
0-10
Ti
0.1-1.0
0.1-1
0-10
Fe
Balance with impurities
Balance
Balance
Si
≤ 0.5
0.01-0.2
-
Mn
≤ 0.5
0.01-0.2
0-10
Al
≤ 0.1
0-0.2
0-20
Co
≤ 0.1
0-15
0-20
N
≤ 0.05
-
0-2
C
≤ 0.07
0.01-0.05
0-1
Other
-
B: 0-0.1
Zr: 0-0.1
B: 0.01-5
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements.
Thus, Augustin teaches a metal powder with compositional ranges closely overlapping each of the instantly required ranges. Augustin teaches that the steel composition has the benefit of weldability and workability after heat treatment and may be processed to obtain high hardness. Woehrle teaches a composition broadly overlapping that of Augustin and the instantly claimed ranges, and further, teaches the composition in the form of a powder useful for additive manufacturing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metal powder of Woehrle to select narrower compositional ranges of elements such as Ni, Cr, Mo, and Ti, and to optionally include elements such as Si, Mn, Al, and Co, as taught by Augustin, in order to obtain a metal powder composition capable of achieving mechanical properties such as weldability, workability, and/or high hardness under the appropriate processing conditions (e.g. heat treatment).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Finally, with respect to the preamble limitation “A metal powder for additive manufacturing,” the recitation “for additive manufacturing” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, the claimed structure comprises the claimed composition in the form of a powder and the intended use does not further limit the claimed structure. Therefore, the metal powder of the prior art is deemed to meet the instantly claimed limitations. Moreover, as Woehrle teaches a metal power suitable for additive manufacturing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the metal powder of Woehrle in view of Augustin for the same purpose, with a predictable result of success.
With respect to Claim 2, the composition-based formula(s) in the instant claim fully depend on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art. In the instant case, as the metal powder of the prior art is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition-based formulas because the reference discloses utility throughout the disclosed ranges. See also MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claims 3-4, Woehrle in view of Augustin teach a metal powder with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges. (see rejection of claim 1 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 5, Woehrle in view of Augustin teaches wherein the comprised elements are present as an alloy. (see Woehrle, abstract).
With respect to Claim 6, Woehrle teaches wherein the metal powder has a particle size d50 of 10-50 microns, falling within the claimed range. (pgs. of translation).
With respect to Claim 15, Woehrle teaches wherein the metal powder has a particle size d50 of 10-50 microns, deemed to encompass a powder with particle size overlapping the claimed range. (see pgs. of translation). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okabe (JP 2000-052086A) drawn to a metal powder some overlapping compositional ranges.
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735