DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 10/15/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of InmotionAir1 (previously used video) and InmotionAir2 (newly used video).
Applicant submits that the cited video does not show all the inflatable beams being inflated at once. This argument is persuasive, however, the Office does not concede that the arrows used to point out “multiple valves [and] multiple inflation points”. Those locations are best understood as tie-down locations to prevent the backstop from blowing away in the wind. Nevertheless, the argument that there are multiple independent bladders cannot be verified or determined by the reference alone. This is enough to be dispositive on the issue of whether or not a new reference is needed. Thus, InmotionAir2 is used to teach the new claim limitation and modify the previously used video.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claim 9’s fastening means for securing the net to a surface corresponding to tie- downs, straps, peg apertures per specification [0009] and [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InmotionAir1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AzqPFJR-qc in view of InmotionAir2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7TqRjS1sdms.
Regarding claim 1, InmotionAir1 discloses an inflatable sports net comprising
an archway comprised of a plurality of geodesic polyhedra comprised of inflatable beams arranged in unitary fluid communication
an inflatable arcuate base beam extending unilaterally from said archway beam and via which a plurality of inflatable panel beams is interconnected to the archway to form at least one polygonal panel between the base beam and geodesic polyhedra to define a substantially half- dome structure supported by said archway and arcuate base beams when inflated, the beams all arranged in unitary fluid communication in order to define a single, joined inflatable space or bladder, such that inflation of one beam leads to inflation of all beams, a foraminous mesh suspended between said beams to form a ball arresting surface along said half-dome structure (see screenshot).
However, it does not explicitly teach a collective single unitary inflatable bladder.
InmotioAir2 teaches an inflatable sports net comprising a single unitary inflatable bladder (see screenshot) which improves the ease and time to inflate the inflatable sports net. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sports net as taught by InmotionAir1 by utilizing the collective single unitary inflatable bladder as taught by InmotionAir2 in order to improve the ease and time to inflate the inflatable sports net.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 9, 10, and 11, InmotionAir1 further discloses an inflatable sports net comprising the limitations thereof. See annotated image of InmotionAir1 for specific limitations.
Regarding claim 3, InmotionAir2 further teaches at least one valve via which the respective beams are inflatable.
Regarding claim 4, the combination does not teach that the valve comprises an inflatable boat air valve. Official notice is being taken that such valves are common and well known prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the valve in the combination by utilizing a common and well-known valve for inflatable structures in order to inflate the structure.
Regarding claim 5, the combination does not teach that the valve is arranged externally to the half-dome structure opposite the archway beam so that said valve is not impactable by a ball when the net is in use. Applicant has not disclosed that having the valve located there solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that it prevents impact by a ball. It appears that the combination would perform equally well with the valve located as claimed by applicant. Thus, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed limitation is significant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the location of the valve in the combination by utilizing the location as claimed for the purpose of preventing impact from balls. See, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 8, InmotionAir1 further discloses that the foraminous (open) mesh comprises a material with foramina (openings) configured according to a ball size the net is to arrest. However, it does not teach that the material is a synthetic polymer. Official notice is being taken that nylon is a well-known and conventional synthetic polymer used in nets. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the material taught by InmotionAir1 by utilizing nylon in order to use well-known and conventional materials.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InmotionAir1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AzqPFJR-qc in view of InmotionAir2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7TqRjS1sdms and further in view of Visser US 20040031208.
Regarding claim 6, InmotionAir1 does not teach that the beams are manufactured from a synthetic polymer material such as nylon, polyester and/or marine grade polyvinyl chloride, with laminated, heat pressed seams for strength.
Visser teaches inflatable structures manufactured from a synthetic polymer material such as nylon, polyester and/or marine grade polyvinyl chloride, with laminated, heat pressed seams for strength ([0005]) are conventional. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the structure of InmotionAir1 by utilizing synthetic polymers laminated and heat pressed are conventional manufacturing techniques.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711