DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/11/2024 was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 9’s fastening means for securing the net to a surface corresponding to tie- downs, straps, peg apertures per specification [0009] and [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by InmotionAir https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AzqPFJR-qc.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, and 11, InmotionAir discloses an inflatable sports net comprising the limitations thereof. See annotated image for specific limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InmotionAir https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AzqPFJR-qc.
Regarding claim 3, InmotionAir teaches at least one valve via which the respective beams are inflatable (inherent). However, it does not teach that there is only a singular valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would only use a singular valve in order to reduce manufacturing complexity. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the valve in InmotionAir by utilizing a singular valve in order to reduce manufacturing complexity.
Regarding claim 4, InmotionAir does not teach that the valve comprises an inflatable boat air valve. Official notice is being taken that such valves are common and well known prior to the filing date of the claimed invention. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the valve in InmotionAir by utilizing a common and well-known valve for inflatable structures in order to inflate the structure.
Regarding claim 5, InmotionAir does not teach that the valve is arranged externally to the half-dome structure opposite the archway beam so that said valve is not impactable by a ball when the net is in use. Applicant has not disclosed that having the valve located there solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that it prevents impact by a ball. It appears that InmotionAir would perform equally well with the valve located as claimed by applicant. Thus, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed limitation is significant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the location of the valve in InmotionAir by utilizing the location as claimed for the purpose of preventing impact from balls. See, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 8, InmotionAir further discloses that the foraminous mesh comprises a material with foramina configured according to a ball size the net is to arrest. However, it does not teach that the material is a synthetic polymer. Official notice is being taken that nylon is a well-known and conventional synthetic polymer used in nets. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the material taught by InmotionAir by utilizing nylon in order to use well-known and conventional materials.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InmotionAir https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AzqPFJR-qc and further in view of Visser US 20040031208.
Regarding claim 6, InmotionAir does not teach that the beams are manufactured from a synthetic polymer material such as nylon, polyester and/or marine grade polyvinyl chloride, with laminated, heat pressed seams for strength.
Visser teaches inflatable structures manufactured from a synthetic polymer material such as nylon, polyester and/or marine grade polyvinyl chloride, with laminated, heat pressed seams for strength ([0005]) are conventional. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the structure of InmotionAir by utilizing synthetic polymers laminated and heat pressed as such are conventional manufacturing techniques.
Conclusion
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711