DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On pages 5 and 8, it is unclear whether “[Chem. 1]”, “[Chem. 2]”, and “General Formula (1)” represent the same compound.
On pages 5 and 8, there are “…”after a chemical structure and before the names of General Formulas such as “(1)”, “(2-1)”, “(2-2)”, “(3-1)”, and “(3-2).” It is unclear what these three dots represent.
The mixed use of the terms “General Formula” and “Formula” throughout the specification creates ambiguity as to whether Applicant intends to attribute different technical meanings or limitations to these terms. To overcome this objection, Applicant required to amend the specification to consistently use either “General Formula” or “Formula” throughout.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The mixed use of the terms “General Formula” and “Formula” within the claim creates ambiguity as to whether Applicant intends to attribute different technical meanings or limitations to these terms. To overcome this objection, Applicant required to amend the claim to consistently use either “General Formula” or “Formula.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Indefiniteness
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “General Formula (1)” and “[Chem. 1].” It is unclear whether “General Formula (1)” and “[Chem. 1]” represent the same compound. Additionally, the use of three dots (“…”) after a chemical structure and before the names of General Formulas such as “(1)”, “(2-1)”, “(2-2)”, “(3-1)”, and “(3-2)” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what these three dots represent.
Furthermore, the use of parentheses for introductory text such as “(in General Formula (1),……)”, “(in Formula (2-2),……)”, “(in Formula (3-1),……), and “(in Formula (3-2),……)” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear why this text is in parentheses. If these parenthetical expressions represent preferences or examples, it may lead to confusion over the intended scope of the claim.
The dependent claims 2-6 and 8-11, and the independent claims 7 and 12 comprising the compound according to claims 1 and 2 fall therewith.
Clarification and/or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2009 0264397; cited on PTO-892) in view of Buschken et al. (US 5416215, 1995; cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 8, and 9, Yu discloses a compound comprising the structure of fluorinated dendron such as
when n is 1 (¶ 340), which reads on the X of general formula (2-2) when m is 2 and the Y of general formula (3-1) of instant claims. Regarding claims 6, 7, 11, and 12, Yu discloses that this moiety with fluorine atoms in spherically symmetric positions (symmetric branching) can greatly elevate the sensitivity for magnetic resonance detection of the 19F signal (¶ 143). Yu discloses that because there is no magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)-detectable endogenous 19F signal, this fluorocarbon moiety can serve as an excellent probe (contrast agent) for in vivo MRI of biochemical processes associated with normal physiological and pathophysiological states (¶ 143). Accordingly, Yu discloses the same intended use of the compound as recited in instant claims 6 and 11. Yu discloses that such a moiety can be attached to an chemical construct (¶ 143). Yu discloses that the fluorocarbon moiety can be attached to DOTA (1,4,7,10-tetraazacyclododecane-1,4,7,10-tetraacetate) or peptide for various applications (¶ 221).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, and 10, Yu does not disclose the structure of nitroxide radical-containing group
attached to the fluorocarbon moiety (X-Y moiety of instant claims).
Buschken discloses the structure of 2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine-N-oxyl (TEMP-N-oxyl, TEMPO) and its 4-position substituted derivatives of formula 1,
where X can be Cl, Br, H, or OH (claim 1), which reads on the structure of the nitroxide radical-containing group of instant claims when R1, R2, R3, and R4 are methyl groups. Buschken discloses that these compounds can be important stabilizers for polymeric materials, and can be useful as redox catalysts, light stabilizers, or ESR (electron spin resonance) spin probes (column 2, lines 14-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the fluorocarbon moiety of Yu with the stable TEMPO moiety of Buschken in order to develop an effective 19F MRI contrast agent. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Buschken teaches that the TEMPO moiety can be used as a stable compound, and Yu discloses that the fluorocarbon moiety can be attached to various compounds. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to couple the fluorine-rich scaffold with stable nitroxide radical in order to enable faster imaging and boosted sensitivity as a metal-free, safe MRI contrast agent. Accordingly, combining the teachings of Yu and Buschken constitutes no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and therefore renders instant claims obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/280,627 (US 2024 0173439; cited on PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8-10, claim 1 of the ‘627 recites a fluorine-containing compound
wherein R1, R2, R3, and R4 can be C1 alkyl groups; X can be
, L4 can be - CH2-CH2-O-CH2-C(CH2-)3; and q can be 3.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 11, and 12, claims 6 and 7 of the ‘627 recites that the fluorine-containing compound can be used in a contrast medium for MRI diagnosis using fluorine as a detection nucleus, and that a contrast medium for MRI diagnosis using fluorine as a detection nucleus can comprise the fluorine-containing compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618