Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauble et al., US11956093 (hereinafter referred to as Schauble) and in view of DIN EN 60079-11 (hereinafter referred to as NPL U).
In regards to claim 7, Schauble teaches an intrinsically safe (current-limiting; [Col. 3, Ln. 39-44]) field device (field device; [Col. 3, Ln. 39-44]) of automation (HART; [Abstract]) technology for use in an explosion- hazard area (explosion-protection; [Col. 3, Ln. 39-44]), comprising: a first (connection element 11a; [Fig. 2]) and a second connection terminal (connection element 11b; [Fig. 2]) for connecting a two-wire line (implicit in a HART system and Fig. 2) via which a current (current I on the 11a line; [Fig. 2]) can be supplied (implicit of control system unit 31; [Col. 6, Ln. 63-Col. 7, Ln. 3] & [Fig. 2]); a sensor and/or actuator element (device electronics unit 4; [Fig. 2]) for detecting and/or setting (implicit of a load within a HART 2-wire system; [Fig. 2]) a process variable (variable output of the device electronics unit 4); and a field device electronic system (control system unit 31; [Fig. 2]) that is connected to the first and second connection terminals (implicit; [Fig. 2]) and conducts the current (implicit; [Fig. 2]), which can be supplied via the two-wire line (implicit; [Fig. 2]), from the first to the second connection terminal via a current path (current I with arrows; [Fig. 2]), wherein the field device electronic system is designed to transmit process variables detected via the sensor element via the two-wire line and/or to receive a process variable to be set by the actuator element via the two-wire line, and/or to correspondingly set the actuator element (implicit of a HART 2-wire system), and wherein the field device electronic system has a shunt resistor circuit (protection measures 28; [Fig. 2]) with a shunt resistor (resistors; [Col. 7, Ln. 17-24]), which is introduced into the current path (the resistors are in series with the current; [Fig. 2]), and a diode (Z-diode or Zener-diode within first and second supply circuits 15a & 15b; [Col. 7, Ln. 17-24]), each of which is connected in parallel to the shunt resistor (implicit; [Fig. 2]), wherein the diodes are wired such that the diodes are introduced into the current path in the flow direction (the diodes are in series with the current; [Fig. 2]).
Schauble does not teach the field device electronic system has two diodes, each of which is connected in parallel.
NPL U teaches the field device electronic system ( , Schauble) has two diodes (diodes & two… current paths; [8.7.1]), each of which is connected in parallel (two parallel diode; [8.7.1]) (Examiner’s Note: Please see the English translation of 8.7.1 below).
In regards to claim 8, Schauble teaches wherein the shunt resistor (shunt regulator; [Col. 4, Ln. 1-4]) has a resistance value in the range of 5-40 ohms (Examiner’s Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would select a shunt resistor to be in the range of milliohms to ~100ohms. Therefore, 5-40 ohms is within that range.).
In regards to claim 9, Schauble teaches wherein the two diodes are silicon diodes having a forward voltage of approximately 0.6 to 0.7 V (Zener diode; [Col. 5, Ln. 54-56]) (Examiner’s Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would know that a Zener diode would have a forward voltage of approximately 0.6 to 0.7 V. Below is a screenshot of a Google result.).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauble et al., US11956093 (hereinafter referred to as Schauble) in view of DIN EN 60079-11 (hereinafter referred to as NPL U) and in further view of Seifried, US20160141955A1 (hereinafter referred to as Seifried).
In regards to claim 10, Schauble & NPL U do not teach wherein the field device electronics are configured to transmit a value corresponding to the process variable according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard and/or to receive a value corresponding to the process variable for setting the actuator element according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard.
Seifried teaches wherein the field device electronics are configured to transmit a value corresponding to the process variable according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard (Profibus standard PA; [0007]) and/or to receive a value corresponding to the process variable for setting the actuator element according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard (Profibus standard PA; [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schauble & NPL U to incorporate wherein the field device electronics are configured to transmit a value corresponding to the process variable according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard and/or to receive a value corresponding to the process variable for setting the actuator element according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard as taught by Seifried. The motivation for doing so would be to have the device compliant with the appropriate communications protocol.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauble et al., US11956093 (hereinafter referred to as Schauble) and in view of DIN EN 60079-11 (hereinafter referred to as NPL U) and in further view of Seifried, US20160141955A1 (hereinafter referred to as Seifried) and in further view of Friedl, US5793589 (hereinafter referred to as Friedl).
In regards to claim 11, Schauble, NPL U, and Seifried do not teach wherein the shunt resistor circuit further has an inductance connected in series to the shunt resistor for increasing the stability of a communication according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard, and wherein the diodes are connected in parallel to the shunt resistor and the inductance
Friedl teaches wherein the shunt resistor circuit (current sensor 8; [0007]) (protection measures 28, Schauble) further has an inductance (inductor 9; [0007]) connected in series (series; [0007]) to the shunt resistor (measuring resistor 10; [0007]) (resistor, Schauble) for increasing the stability of a communication according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard (Profibus standard PA, Seifried), and wherein the diodes are connected in parallel to the shunt resistor and the inductance (implicit in [Fig. 2], Schauble).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schauble, NPL U, & Seifried to incorporate wherein the shunt resistor circuit further has an inductance connected in series to the shunt resistor for increasing the stability of a communication according to the Profibus PA or Foundation Fieldbus FF standard, and wherein the diodes are connected in parallel to the shunt resistor and the inductance as taught by Friedl. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the current sensor by substituting the protection measures resistor which performs a current sensing function with Friedl's current sensor 8.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauble et al., US11956093 (hereinafter referred to as Schauble) and in view of DIN EN 60079-11 (hereinafter referred to as NPL U) and in further view of Nakashima et al., US3818273 (hereinafter referred to as Nakashima).
In regards to claim 12, Schauble & NPL U do not teach wherein the field device electronic system has a bridge rectifier which is connected on the input side to the connection terminals and which is designed to rectify a terminal voltage applied to the input side and to provide the rectified terminal voltage on the output side for supplying power to the field device electronic system.
Nakashima teaches wherein the field device electronic system has a bridge rectifier (diodes D53-D56; [Fig. 9]) which is connected on the input side to the connection terminals (input terminals E/Es; [Fig. 9]) and which is designed to rectify a terminal voltage applied to the input side (implicit; [Fig. 9]) and to provide the rectified terminal voltage on the output side for supplying power to the field device electronic system (implicit in Fig. 2, Schauble).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schauble & NPL U to incorporate wherein the field device electronic system has a bridge rectifier which is connected on the input side to the connection terminals and which is designed to rectify a terminal voltage applied to the input side and to provide the rectified terminal voltage on the output side for supplying power to the field device electronic system as taught by Nakashima. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a regulated power to the system that would be within the control system unit 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US3818273, US5179488, & US11349297 are relevant references for adding a diode and resistor in parallel with different diode orientations to the flow of current.
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838