DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, 12, 17, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozaki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0085795).
Regarding claim 8, Ozaki discloses a relay system (fig. 3 and paragraphs 0038-0042), comprising: a receiver configured to receive first data to be transmitted (fig. 4 element 101 and paragraph 0043); a converter configured to convert the first data received by the receiver into a first optical signal having a first wavelength based on a first transmission destination to which the first data is to be transmitted among a plurality of transmission destinations (fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046); and an output configured to output the first optical signal to the first transmission destination via an optical transmission line (fig. 3 the outputs of OLT 10 and paragraph 0039, which is the WDM output of LDs λ1-λm, paragraph 0047, in light of fig. 8 element 109 and paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 9, Ozaki discloses the relay system according to claim 8, further comprising a distributor between the optical transmission line and the plurality of transmission destinations, the distributor configured to distribute the first optical signal to the first transmission destination based on the first wavelength of the first optical signal (fig. 3 element 11 and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 12, Ozaki discloses the relay system according to claim 8, wherein transmission destination information designating the first transmission destination is included in the first data (fig. 4 element 102 and paragraphs 0043 and 0074, where “detecting the traffic of the downstream signal for each ONU” and monitoring “state of traffic toward each ONU” reads on the destination ONU information being in that traffic), and a pre-conversion circuit acquires the first wavelength corresponding to the transmission destination information based on a table, wherein the table correlates each of the plurality of transmission destinations with a respective wavelength (fig. 4 elements 103 and 103a and paragraphs 0044-0047 and 0073, where the “allocation rule” has multivariate determination –for plural ONUs, plural wavelengths, plural timeslots, and plural traffic volumes, and is stored in memory– and thus reads on a table).
Regarding claim 17, Ozaki discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a receiver, first data to be transmitted (fig. 4 element 101 and paragraph 0043); converting the first data received by the receiver into a first optical signal having a first wavelength based on a first transmission destination to which the first data is to be transmitted among a plurality of transmission destinations (fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046); and outputting the first optical signal to the first transmission destination via an optical transmission line (fig. 3 the outputs of OLT 10 and paragraph 0039, which is the WDM output of LDs λ1-λm, paragraph 0047, in light of fig. 8 element 109 and paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 18, Ozaki discloses the method according to claim 17, further comprising: distributing, by a distributor between the optical transmission line and the plurality of transmission destinations, the first optical signal to the first transmission destination based on the first wavelength of the first optical signal (fig. 3 element 11 and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 21, Ozaki discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein transmission destination information designating the first transmission destination is included in the first data (fig. 4 element 102 and paragraphs 0043 and 0074, where “detecting the traffic of the downstream signal for each ONU” and monitoring “state of traffic toward each ONU” reads on the destination ONU information being in that traffic), and the method further comprising: determining the first wavelength corresponding to the transmission destination information based on a table, wherein the table correlates each of the plurality of transmission destinations with a respective wavelength (fig. 4 elements 103 and 103a and paragraphs 0044-0047 and 0073, where the “allocation rule” has multivariate determination –for plural ONUs, plural wavelengths, plural timeslots, and plural traffic volumes, and is stored in memory– and thus reads on a table).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 14-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0085795) in view of Sarashina (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0280851).
Regarding claim 10, Ozaki discloses the relay system according to claim 8, wherein converter is configured to: convert a plurality of first pieces of data received as the first data by the receiver, the plurality of first pieces of data having a same transmission destination, into the first optical signal having the first wavelength, and transmit the first optical signal to the optical transmission line through the output in time division multiplexing (fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046). Ozaki’s received data (fig. 4 Downstream Signal) is inherently sourced from somewhere, but Ozaki does not specify that the data for a transmission destination has different transmission sources. Sarashina discloses a related PON network where a host network interfaces with the OLT using a switching array that provides information to the OLT on the destinations of traffic of downstream data transmitted from the host network (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple sources of data destined for an ONU by using destination signaling in the data arriving to the OLT of Ozaki, as taught by Sarashina, and switching toward the respective ONU1 to ONUn assignments of Ozaki, to provide the benefit of multiple source locations being able capable of transmitting to one of the ONUs.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ozaki and Sarashina discloses the relay system according to claim 10, wherein the converter is further configured to: convert second data received by the receiver, the second data having a second transmission destination different from the first transmission destination, into a second optical signal having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength of the first optical signal, and transmit the second optical signal to the optical transmission line through the output by superimposing the second wavelength of the second optical signal on the first wavelength of the first optical signal (Ozaki: fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046, for each wavelength assignment, in light of fig. 8 element 109 and paragraph 0064, where the wavelength multiplexing of the second wavelength with the first wavelength reads on “superimposing” the second wavelength onto the first wavelength).
Regarding claim 14, Ozaki discloses the relay system according to claim 8, where the relay system comprising a plurality of receivers, a plurality of converters, and a plurality of outputs (fig. 4 ONU1-ONUn receivers, converting to λi to λj, through to output to LD λ1 to LD λm). Ozaki’s received data (fig. 4 Downstream Signal) is inherently sourced from somewhere, but Ozaki does not specify that the data includes data transmitted from a plurality of transmission sources, and each of the plurality of receivers is connected to a respective one of the plurality of transmission sources. Sarashina discloses a related PON network where a host network interfaces with the OLT using a switching array that provides information to the OLT on the destinations of traffic of downstream data transmitted from the host network (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide respective sources of data destined for the ONUs by using destination signaling in the data arriving to the OLT of Ozaki, as taught by Sarashina, and switching the data toward the respective ONU1 to ONUn assignments of Ozaki, where each destination value corresponds to an ONU, to provide the benefit of multiple sources being able capable of transmitting to respective ONUs.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ozaki and Sarashina discloses the relay system according to claim 14, wherein in response to a first operation mode, a first converter of the plurality of converters and a second converter of the plurality of converters are configured to convert third data received by a first receiver of the plurality of receivers and fourth data received by a second receiver of the plurality of receivers into a third optical signal and a fourth optical signal, respectively, the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal each having a second wavelength (Ozaki: fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046, for the respective data feeds for ONU1-ONUn, and plural λi to λj corresponding post-TDM to λ1 and λm).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ozaki and Sarashina discloses the relay system according to claim 15, in response to a second operation mode, changing a conversion wavelength of the plurality of converters from the second wavelength to a third wavelength different from the second wavelength, the first converter and the second converter are configured to convert fifth data received by the first receiver and sixth data received by the second receiver into a fifth optical signal and a sixth optical signal, respectively, the fifth optical signal and the sixth optical signal each having the third wavelength (Ozaki: fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046, for the respective data feeds for ONU1-ONUn, and plural λi to λj corresponding post-TDM to λ1 and λm, in light of paragraphs 0038 and 0050, dynamically changing the wavelength and timeslots for downstream signals depend on the state of the downstream traffic).
Regarding claim 19, Osaki discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the first data comprises a plurality of first pieces of data, the plurality of first pieces of data having a same transmission destination, wherein each of the plurality of first pieces of data is converted into the first optical signal having the first wavelength, and wherein outputting the first optical signal to the first transmission destination comprises transmitting the first optical signal to the optical transmission line in time division multiplexing (fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046). Ozaki’s received data (fig. 4 Downstream Signal) is inherently sourced from somewhere, but Ozaki does not specify that the data for a transmission destination has different transmission sources. Sarashina discloses a related PON network where a host network interfaces with the OLT using a switching array that provides information to the OLT on the destinations of traffic of downstream data transmitted from the host network (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple sources of data destined for an ONU by using destination signaling in the data arriving to the OLT of Ozaki, as taught by Sarashina, and switching toward the respective ONU1 to ONUn assignments of Ozaki, to provide the benefit of multiple source locations being able capable of transmitting to one of the ONUs.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Ozaki and Sarashina discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the method further comprises: receiving second data to be transmitted to a second transmission destination different from the first transmission destination; converting second data into a second optical signal having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength of the first optical signal; and transmitting the second optical signal to the optical transmission line by superimposing the second wavelength of the second optical signal on the first wavelength of the first optical signal (Ozaki: fig. 4 elements 103-105 and paragraphs 0044-0046, for each wavelength assignment, in light of fig. 8 element 109 and paragraph 0064, where the wavelength multiplexing of the second wavelength with the first wavelength reads on “superimposing” the second wavelength onto the first wavelength).
Claims 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0085795).
Regarding claim 13, Ozaki discloses the relay system according to claim 12, but does not specifically disclose that the converter is configured to update the table in response to an instruction from outside of the converter. However, Ozaki discloses that the converter operations of the OLT are software programmable (paragraphs 0085-0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program an update, using an external set of updated instructions, in additional to programming the initial settings, for the converter behavior of the Ozaki system, to provide the benefit of adapting the traffic handling to rebalance or implement required changes in traffic due to changing client contracts, equipment maintenance periods, etc.
Regarding claim 22, Ozaki discloses the method according to claim 21, but does not specifically disclose that the method further comprises: receiving an instruction, and updating the table in response to the instruction. However, Ozaki discloses that the converter operations of the OLT are software programmable (paragraphs 0085-0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program an update, using an external set of updated instructions, in additional to programming the initial settings, for the converter behavior of the Ozaki system, to provide the benefit of adapting the traffic handling to rebalance or implement required changes in traffic due to changing client contracts, equipment maintenance periods, etc.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Related PON systems with wavelength assignments – US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0259130, 2018/0131461, 2017/0250774, 2017/0207875, 2016/0056913, 2014/0294391, 2014/0161456, 2011/0091213, 2010/0221007.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634