DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2011/0274955, hereinafter “Park”; listed in the IDS filed 11 April 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 21; see Figs. 5-13 and [0103]); and
a pouch-type casing (case 220; see Figs. 5-13 and [0055]-[0059], [0074]) in which the electrode assembly is disposed (electrode assembly 21; see Figs. 5-13 and [0103]), the pouch-type casing comprising upper and lower casings (see [0016]) thermally bonded to each other (see [0038] and [0083]-[0087]),
wherein the pouch-type casing (case 220; see Figs. 5-13 and [0055]-[0059], [0074]) comprises a sealing part formed along at least a part of an edge of the pouch-type casing for thermally bonding the upper and lower casings together (see [0083]-[0087]),
wherein electrode leads connected to the electrode assembly protrude from sides of the pouch-type casing (electrode leads 25 and 27; see Figs. 5-16 and [0103]),
wherein the sealing part comprises a notch portion formed at an end of any one of the sides from which the electrode leads protrude (see Figs. 6, 9-11, and13), and
wherein the notch portion has a curvature and is recessed toward the inside of the pouch-type casing (see Figs. 6, 9-11, and13).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches wherein:
the notch portion is not formed at another end positioned opposite to the end at which the notch portion is formed with the electrode lead interposed therebetween (see Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches wherein: a width of the notch portion is equal to or smaller than a width of another portion of the sealing part, except for the notch portion (see Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches wherein:
the electrode leads protrude from two opposite sides and in a longitudinal direction of the pouch-type casing (see Fig. 13 and [0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches wherein:
the notch portion includes first and second notches respectively provided at the two opposite sides from which the electrode leads protrude (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein:
a portion where the upper casing and the lower casing are not thermally bonded is disposed between the notch portion and an edge of the pouch-type casing (see Fig. 10, [0051], and [0074] – “folded” edge where the upper and lower cases are connected is equated to the not thermally bonded region).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches wherein:
the upper casing and the lower casing are integrally formed and the pouch-type casing defines a folding line interposed therebetween, and the notch portion is disposed adjacent to the folding line (see Fig. 10, [0051], and [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches a battery module (see Figs. 14-16 and [0107]) comprising a plurality of secondary batteries according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches wherein:
all the notch portions of the plurality of secondary batteries are arranged in a same direction (see Figs. 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0381678, hereinafter “Kim”; listed in the IDS 5 June 2025).
Regarding claim 6, Park is silent to wherein:
a radius of curvature of the notch portion is 2 mm or less.
Kim teaches a pouch-type secondary battery 100 (see Figs. 1-4) wherein the pouch member 120 includes an indent portion 123. The indent portion can serve to prevent space loss by the protrusion portion 210 when mounted on the housing member 120, thereby enlarging the accommodating portion 121 for increased capacity of the electrode assembly 110 (see [0041]). The indent portion 123 may be formed of a plurality of cutting edges 123a and 123b cut at a plurality of angles and a rounded edge 123c between the cutting edges 123a and 123b (see Fig. 1 and [0042]). The rounded edge 123c is defined as having a minimum radius of curvature of 2 mm to prevent burring or cracking from occurring (see [0060]).
In view of Kim’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the secondary battery of Park to include a radius of curvature of the notch portion is 2 mm or less because it prevents burring or cracking from occurring.
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 18 September 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735