CTNF 18/700,619 CTNF 83416 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2020/0351814) . -Regarding claim 21, Manolakos discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (FIG. 7) comprising a processor configured to: receive configuration information from a network, the configuration information indicating a plurality of frequency layers (FLs) (the UE 115- a receives the configuration signal 210, paragraph 124) ; receive at least a first PRS associated with a first set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to a first FL of the plurality of FLs and a second PRS associated with a second set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to a second FL of the plurality of FLs (PRS resource 225, FIG. 2; paragraph 126, 128, 129) ; determine at least one measurement reporting value based on at least the first PRS associated with the first set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the first FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 134-141) and the second PRS associated with the second set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the second FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 160, 171, 172 ) ; and send a measurement report comprising the at least one measurement reporting value and indications of at least the first and second FLs (paragraph 170) . -Regarding claim 22, Manolakos further discloses each FL of the plurality of FLs is associated with a respective identifier (ID) (paragraph 74) . -Regarding claim 23, Manolakos further discloses the configuration information indicates a respective bandwidth and respective frequency location information for each FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 24, Manolakos further discloses the measurement reporting value corresponds to an aggregate reference signal received power measurement value or an aggregate reference signal time delay measurement value associated with at least the first and second FLs (paragraphs 105-107) . -Regarding claim 25, Manolakos further discloses at least one orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol and a repetition factor are common for the first set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the first FL and the second set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the second FL (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 26, Manolakos further discloses at least one comb factor is common for the first FL and the second FL (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 27, Manolakos further discloses the processor is processor configured to activate at least the first and second FLs in accordance with the measurement report (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 28, Manolakos further discloses the measurement report comprises an indication of the number of FLs associated with the at least one measurement reporting value (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 29, Manolakos further discloses the processor is processor configured to determine that the first measurement reporting value is below a configured threshold, and send in the measurement report a request to receive additional PRS associated with an additional set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to an additional FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 113) . -Regarding claim 30, Manolakos further discloses the processor is processor configured to receive a second configuration information from a network, the second configuration information indicating a plurality of FLs for positioning measurements for a third PRS associated with a third set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to a third FL. of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 113) . -Regarding claim 31, Manolakos discloses a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (FIG. 7) comprising the steps of: receiving configuration information from a network, the configuration information indicating a plurality of frequency layers (FLs) (the UE 115- a receives the configuration signal 210, paragraph 124) ; receiving at least a first PRS associated with a first set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to a first FL of the plurality of FLs and a second PRS associated with a second set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to a second FL of the plurality of FLs (PRS resource 225, FIG. 2; paragraph 126, 128, 129) ; determining at least one measurement reporting value based on at least the first PRS associated with the first set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the first FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 134-141) and the second PRS associated with the second set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the second FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 160, 171, 172 ) ; and sending a measurement report comprising the at least one measurement reporting value and indications of at least the first and second FLs (paragraph 170) . -Regarding claim 32, Manolakos further discloses each FL of the plurality of FLs is associated with a respective identifier (ID) (paragraph 74) . -Regarding claim 33, Manolakos further discloses the configuration information indicates a respective bandwidth and respective frequency location information for each FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 34, Manolakos further discloses the measurement reporting value corresponds to an aggregate reference signal received power measurement value or an aggregate reference signal time delay measurement value associated with at least the first and second FLs (paragraphs 105-107) . -Regarding claim 35, Manolakos further discloses at least one OFDM symbol and a repetition factor are common for the first set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the first FL and the second set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to the second FL (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 36, Manolakos further discloses a comb factor is common for the first FL and the second FL (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 37, Manolakos further discloses the processor is processor configured to activate at least the first and second FLs in accordance with the measurement report (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 38, Manolakos further discloses the measurement report comprises an indication of the number of FLs associated with the at least one measurement reporting value (paragraphs 171, 172) . -Regarding claim 39, Manolakos further discloses the processor is processor configured to determine that the first measurement reporting value is below a configured threshold, and send in the measurement report a request to receive additional PRS associated with an additional set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to an additional FL of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 113) . -Regarding claim 40, Manolakos further discloses the processor is processor configured to receive a second configuration information from a network, the second configuration information indicating a plurality of FLs for positioning measurements for a third PRS associated with a third set of one or more PRS resources corresponding to a third FL. of the plurality of FLs (paragraph 113) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PING Y HSIEH whose telephone number is (571)270-3011. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Mehmood can be reached at (571) 272-2976. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664 Application/Control Number: 18/700,619 Page 2 Art Unit: 2664 Application/Control Number: 18/700,619 Page 3 Art Unit: 2664 Application/Control Number: 18/700,619 Page 4 Art Unit: 2664 Application/Control Number: 18/700,619 Page 5 Art Unit: 2664 Application/Control Number: 18/700,619 Page 6 Art Unit: 2664 Application/Control Number: 18/700,619 Page 7 Art Unit: 2664