CTNF 18/700,620 CTNF 94973 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2024 and 07/28/2025 were filed by Applicant. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-fti The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-9, 12-15, 19, 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO 2020/248158 A1; “Chen”) in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 version 15.2.0 (“TS 38.214”) . Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses: A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a method of implementing UE-side wireless communication method for adaptive sounding reference signal port configuration. (Chen, para [0085]-[0086]). Furthermore, Chen discloses: transmitting, to a base station, capability signaling indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by an antenna panel of a plurality of antenna panels at the UE; PNG media_image1.png 214 931 media_image1.png Greyscale a step for transmitting a UE capability regarding a number of transmit antennas and a number of receive antennas of the UE, sometimes referred to as an antenna switching capability or an SRS antenna switching capability, using a supportedRS-TxPortSwitch parameter in a UE capability report. (Chen, para [0060]). Additionally, Chen in paragraph [0057] also discloses base station transmitting CSI-RS control signal to the UE, a downlink pilot signal transmitted from the base station (gNB) to the UE to help measuring channel quality and determine the best transmission paths. Furthermore, Chen discloses: transmitting, to the base station and based at least in part on the control signaling, a measurement report indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports; determining a rank indicator based at least in part on measuring one or more downlink CSI-RSs and using the actual number of SRS ports to indicate the reported rank information. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]). Additionally, Chen discloses: and transmitting a sounding reference signal to the base station in accordance with the sounding reference signal configuration and the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. PNG media_image2.png 190 933 media_image2.png Greyscale transmitting one or more SRSs using the actual number of SRS ports for an SRS resource set. (Chen, para [0058]). With respect to claim 1, Chen does not explicitly disclose plural sounding reference signal sets or plural sounding reference signal resource lists associated with respective quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports, while Chen teaches receiving an SRS configuration that indicates a maximum number of SRS ports and whether the UE is permitted to determine a different actual number of SRS ports. (Chen, para [0086]): receiving, from the base station in response to the capability signaling, control signaling indicating a sounding reference signal configuration comprising a plurality of sounding reference signal sets, a plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists , or both, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal sets or the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists are associated with respective quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports ; PNG media_image3.png 264 1287 media_image3.png Greyscale However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches antenna-switching SRS configuration with up to two SRS resource sets, SRS resources having 1, 2, or 4 ports, and associated CSI-RS, thereby teaching plural SRS sets or resources associated with different supported port quantities . (TS 38.214 at pg. 85-86, §6.2.1.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s adaptive SRS-port procedure with the explicit antenna-switching multi-set SRS framework of TS 38.214 so that the configured SRS sets or resources are expressly organized according to respective supported port quantities. Doing so would have predictably enabled a UE to operate with explicitly configured antenna-switching SRS resource sets keyed to different supported SRS-port quantities while retaining Chen’s adaptive actual-port determination and measurement reporting, thereby improving CSI acquisition flexibility and interoperability. Regarding claim 2, Chen does not explicitly disclose transmitting the sounding reference signal in accordance with the corresponding sounding reference signal set or sounding reference signal resource list for the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports, while Chen teaches transmitting one or more SRSs for an SRS resource set using the actual number of SRS ports. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the sounding reference signal comprises: transmitting the sounding reference signal in accordance with a sounding reference signal set of the plurality of sounding reference signal sets corresponding to the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports, or transmitting the sounding reference signal in accordance with a sounding reference signal resource list of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists corresponding to the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches transmitting SRS according to the configured SRS resource set or resource(s) corresponding to the indicated port quantity. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 85-86, §6.2.1.2). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 4, Chen does not explicitly disclose first and second sounding reference signal sets associated with first and second quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports, while Chen teaches determining an actual number of SRS ports based at least in part on a rank indicator and transmitting SRS using the determined number of ports. (Chen, para [0057]-[0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal sets comprises a first sounding reference signal set associated with a first quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports and a second sounding reference signal set associated with a second quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports, the method further comprising: transmitting, via the measurement report, an indication of the first quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted in accordance with the first sounding reference signal set. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches multiple antenna-switching SRS resource sets associated with different SRS-port quantities, with the UE reporting the corresponding quantity and transmitting SRS in accordance with the corresponding configured set or resources. (Chen, para [0057]-[0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 85-86, §6.2.1.2). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 5, Chen does not explicitly disclose first and second parameter sets for the first and second sounding reference signal sets, while Chen teaches configured SRS resources and port-dependent SRS operation. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 4, wherein the first sounding reference signal set is associated with a first set of parameters and the second sounding reference signal set is associated with a second set of parameters that is the same or different from the first set of parameters, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches first and second antenna-switching SRS resource sets having configured parameter values that may be the same for some parameters and different for others, including same values for alpha, p0, pathlossReferenceRS, and aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger and different slotOffset values. (TS 38.214 at pg. 85, §6.2.1.2). Moreover, Chen does not explicitly disclose the recited parameter families, while Chen teaches configured SRS resources and associated reference-signal context. (Chen, para [0057]-[0058]): wherein the first set of parameters, the second set of parameters, or both, comprise a unified transmission configuration indicator state, a power control parameter, a periodicity, a corresponding channel state information reference signal, an aperiodic trigger, an offset, or any combination thereof. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches SRS parameter families including periodicity, slot offset, spatialRelationInfo, associated CSI-RS or other reference-signal configuration, and antenna-switching parameters including alpha, p0, pathlossReferenceRS, and aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82-83, §6.2.1; TS 38.214 at pg. 85, §6.2.1.2). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 6, Chen does not explicitly disclose first and second sounding reference signal resource lists associated with first and second quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports, while Chen teaches configured SRS resources within an SRS resource set and transmission using an actual SRS-port quantity. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists comprises a first sounding reference signal resource list associated with a first quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports and a second sounding reference signal resource list associated with a second quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports, the method further comprising: transmitting, via the measurement report, an indication of the first quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted in accordance with the first sounding reference signal resource list. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches configured SRS resources grouped within antenna-switching SRS resource sets and triggered according to the corresponding port-quantity configuration, which would have rendered obvious corresponding SRS resource lists associated with respective port quantities. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82, §6.2.1; TS 38.214 at pg. 85-86, §6.2.1.2). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 7, Chen does not explicitly disclose first and second parameter sets for first and second sounding reference signal resource lists, while Chen teaches configured SRS resources and associated SRS-port operation. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 6, wherein the first sounding reference signal resource list is associated with a first set of parameters and the second sounding reference signal resource list is associated with a second set of parameters different from the first set of parameters, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches configured SRS resource-set and resource parameters that differ, including differing slotOffset values and differing resource arrangements for different antenna-switching configurations. (TS 38.214 at pg. 85, §6.2.1.2). Furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose the recited parameter families, while Chen teaches configured SRS resources and associated reference-signal context. (Chen, para [0057]-[0058]): wherein the first set of parameters, the second set of parameters, or both, comprise a unified transmission configuration indicator state, a power control parameter, a periodicity, a corresponding channel state information reference signal, an aperiodic trigger, an offset, or any combination thereof. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches SRS parameter families including periodicity, slot offset, spatial relation / transmission filter related reference configuration, associated CSI-RS, and antenna-switching parameters including alpha, p0, pathlossReferenceRS, and aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82-83, §6.2.1; TS 38.214 at pg. 85, §6.2.1.2). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 8, Chen does not explicitly disclose a second sounding reference signal configuration associated with a second bandwidth part, a second component carrier, or both, while Chen teaches adaptive SRS-port configuration using configured SRS resources. (Chen, para [0057]-[0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein the sounding reference signal configuration is associated with a first bandwidth part, a first component carrier, or both, the method further comprising: receiving, via the control signaling, additional control signaling, or both, an indication of a second sounding reference signal configuration associated with a second bandwidth part, a second component carrier, or both, wherein the second sounding reference signal configuration comprises a second plurality of sounding reference signal sets, a second plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists, or both, wherein the second plurality of sounding reference signal sets and the second plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists are associated with respective quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches sounding procedures between component carriers together with multiple antenna-switching SRS resource sets and resources associated with different port quantities, which would have rendered obvious a second SRS configuration on a second bandwidth part or component carrier with corresponding sets and resources keyed to port quantities. (TS 38.214 at pg. 85-86, §6.2.1.2; TS 38.214 at pg. 86, §6.2.1.3). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 9, Chen does not explicitly disclose receiving additional control signaling comprising an indication of a second sounding reference signal set, a second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, while Chen teaches transmitting SRS using a configured SRS resource set and actual SRS-port arrangements. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the sounding reference signal comprises transmitting the sounding reference signal in accordance with a first sounding reference signal set, a first sounding reference signal resource list, or both, the method further comprising: receiving, from the base station and based at least in part on the sounding reference signal configuration, additional control signaling comprising an indication of a second sounding reference signal set, a second sounding reference signal resource list, or both; However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches aperiodic SRS operation in which the UE receives a configuration of SRS resource sets and a codepoint of DCI may trigger one or more SRS resource sets, thereby teaching additional control signaling indicating a further SRS set or resource grouping. (TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1). Additionally, Chen does not explicitly disclose transmitting a second sounding reference signal in accordance with the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, while Chen teaches transmitting one or more SRSs using the selected configured SRS resource set and actual number of SRS ports. (Chen, para [0058]): and transmitting, to the base station based at least in part on the additional control signaling, a second sounding reference signal in accordance with the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches transmitting SRS according to the DCI-triggered SRS resource set and resource(s), which would have rendered obvious transmitting a second SRS according to the second indicated SRS set or resource grouping. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 12, Chen does not explicitly disclose indicating the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, via one or more bit fields within the additional control signaling, while Chen teaches signaling that affects whether and how SRS and RI-related operation occurs. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]): The method of claim 9, wherein the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via one or more bit fields within the additional control signaling, PNG media_image4.png 199 1126 media_image4.png Greyscale However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches that the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set, thereby teaching bit-field-based indication of the second SRS set or resource list. (TS 38.214 at pg. 84, §6.2.1). Besides, Chen does not explicitly disclose that the one or more bit fields comprise a sounding reference signal resource identifier field, a transmit precoder metrics indicator field, or both, while Chen teaches RI-related signaling context and TS 38.214 teaches the SRS request field for identifying the triggered SRS resource set. (Chen, para [0082]; TS 38.214 at pg. 84, §6.2.1): wherein the one or more bit fields comprise a sounding reference signal resource identifier field, a transmit precoder metrics indicator field, or both. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches use of the SRS request field as an SRS resource-set identifying bit field, which would have rendered obvious the recited bit-field-based indication alternatives. (TS 38.214 at pg. 84, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 13, Chen does not explicitly disclose indicating the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, via a UE capability identifier, a sounding reference signal set identifier, a sounding reference signal resource list identifier, or any combination thereof, while Chen teaches a UE capability report for SRS transmit-port switching. (Chen, para [0060]): The method of claim 9, wherein the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via a UE capability identifier, a sounding reference signal set identifier, a sounding reference signal resource list identifier, or any combination thereof. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches identifier-based indication of SRS behavior through capability reporting and through SRS resource-set identification, which would have rendered obvious the recited identifier-based indication alternatives. (TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising: performing one or more measurements on a downlink reference signal received from the base station; measuring one or more downlink CSI-RSs to determine channel information including rank information. (Chen, para [0057]). yet, Chen does not explicitly disclose transmitting a second measurement report indicating a second quantity of sounding reference signal ports and receiving the additional control signaling based at least in part on that second measurement report, while Chen teaches reporting rank information based on the measured downlink reference signal and using the actual number of SRS ports to indicate the rank information. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]): and transmitting, to the base station, a second measurement report based at least in part on the one or more measurements, the second measurement report indicating a second quantity of sounding reference signal ports, wherein the additional control signaling is received based at least in part on the second measurement report. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches measurement-based reporting and DCI-based SRS-set triggering responsive to measured channel information, which would have rendered obvious receiving the additional control signaling based on the second measurement report indicating the second SRS-port quantity. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 15, Chen does not explicitly disclose all of the recited signaling alternatives, while Chen teaches control signaling affecting SRS operation. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 9, wherein the additional control signaling comprises a downlink control information message, a medium access control-control element message, a radio resource control reconfiguration message, or any combination thereof. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches additional control signaling in DCI and higher-layer SRS configuration, thereby satisfying the recited downlink control information or radio resource control signaling alternatives. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82-84, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 19, Chen does not explicitly disclose a downlink control information message associated with a request for sounding reference signals and an indication via a sounding reference signal request field, while Chen teaches additional control signaling affecting SRS transmission. (Chen, para [0058]; Chen, para [0082]): The method of claim 9, wherein the additional control signaling comprises a downlink control information message associated with a request for sounding reference signals, and wherein the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via a sounding reference signal request field. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches that the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set, thereby teaching the recited request-for-SRS signaling and sounding reference signal request field indication. (TS 38.214 at pg. 84, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 21, Chen does not explicitly disclose receiving an indication of one or more periodicities associated with the sounding reference signal configuration, while Chen teaches transmitting one or more SRSs for an SRS resource set. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, via the control signaling, an indication of one or more periodicities associated with the sounding reference signal configuration, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches SRS time-domain behavior including periodic and semi-persistent SRS transmission together with slot-level periodicity and offset. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82, §6.2.1). Moreover, Chen does not explicitly disclose transmitting a plurality of sounding reference signals in accordance with a periodicity from the one or more periodicities, while Chen teaches SRS transmission according to configuration. (Chen, para [0058]): wherein transmitting the sounding reference signal comprises transmitting a plurality of sounding reference signals in accordance with a periodicity from the one or more periodicities. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches configured periodic or semi-persistent SRS transmissions according to the configured periodicity. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 22, Chen does not explicitly disclose that the sounding reference signal configuration is associated with codebook-based communications, non-codebook-based communications, or both, while Chen teaches SRS-based uplink sounding. (Chen, para [0057]-[0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein the sounding reference signal configuration is associated with codebook-based communications between the UE and the base station, non-codebook-based communications between the UE and the base station, or both. PNG media_image5.png 168 1104 media_image5.png Greyscale However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches non-codebook based uplink transmission using an SRS resource set with usage set to nonCodebook, which satisfies the claimed alternative of non-codebook-based communications. (TS 38.214 at pg. 71, §6.1.1.2). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 23, Chen discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a downlink reference signal from the base station; receiving downlink CSI-RS from the base station. (Chen, para [0057]). Further, Chen discloses: and performing one or more measurements on the downlink reference signal, wherein transmitting the measurement report is based at least in part on the one or more measurements. performing measurements on the downlink CSI-RS and using those measurements to determine and report rank information indicated by the actual number of SRS ports. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 24, Chen does not explicitly disclose that the control signaling comprises a radio resource control message, while Chen teaches SRS control signaling and configuration signaling. (Chen, para [0058]): The method of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises a radio resource control message, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches higher-layer SRS configuration, thereby teaching radio resource control signaling for the SRS configuration. (TS 38.214 at pg. 82, §6.2.1). Additionally, Chen does not explicitly disclose that the measurement report comprises a channel state information report associated with a channel between the UE and the base station, while Chen teaches channel-state-related reporting after CSI-RS measurement. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]): and wherein the measurement report comprises a channel state information report associated with a channel between the UE and the base station. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 teaches channel-state-related reporting based on CSI-RS and channel measurement, which would have rendered obvious the recited channel state information report limitation. (Chen, para [0057]; Chen, para [0082]; TS 38.214 at pg. 82, §6.2.1). Accordingly, the rationale to modify Chen with TS 38.214 is the same as described above with respect to claim 1. Regarding claim 25, A method for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), capability signaling indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by an antenna panel of a plurality of antenna panels at the UE; transmitting, to the UE in response to the capability signaling, control signaling indicating a sounding reference signal configuration comprising a plurality of sounding reference signal sets, a plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists, or both, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal sets or the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists are associated with respective quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports; receiving, from the UE and based at least in part on the control signaling, a measurement report indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports; and receiving a sounding reference signal from the UE in accordance with the sounding reference signal configuration and the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. Claim 25 is analogous to claim 1 and therefore Claim 25 is rejected for the same reason set forth. Regarding claim 26, The method of claim 25, wherein receiving the sounding reference signal comprises: receiving the sounding reference signal in accordance with a sounding reference signal set of the plurality of sounding reference signal sets corresponding to the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports, or receiving the sounding reference signal in accordance with a sounding reference signal resource list of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists corresponding to the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. Claim 26 is analogous to claim 2 and therefore Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason set forth. Regarding claim 27, The method of claim 25, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal sets comprises a first sounding reference signal set associated with a first quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports and a second sounding reference signal set associated with a second quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports, the method further comprising: receiving, via the measurement report, an indication of the first quantity of supported sounding reference signal ports, wherein the sounding reference signal is received in accordance with the first sounding reference signal set. Claim 27 is analogous to claim 4 and therefore Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason set forth. Regarding claim 28, The method of claim 27, wherein the first sounding reference signal set is associated with a first set of parameters and the second sounding reference signal set is associated with a second set of parameters that is the same or different from the first set of parameters, wherein the first set of parameters, the second set of parameters, or both, comprise a unified transmission configuration indicator state, a power control parameter, a periodicity, a corresponding channel state information reference signal, an aperiodic trigger, an offset, or any combination thereof. Claim 28 is analogous to claim 5 and therefore Claim 28 is rejected for the same reason set forth. Regarding claim 29, An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a base station, capability signaling indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by an antenna panel of a plurality of antenna panels at the UE; receive, from the base station in response to the capability signaling, control signaling indicating a sounding reference signal configuration comprising a plurality of sounding reference signal sets, a plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists, or both, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal sets or the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists are associated with respective quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports; transmit, to the base station and based at least in part on the control signaling, a measurement report indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports; and transmit a sounding reference signal to the base station in accordance with the sounding reference signal configuration and the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. Claim 29 is analogous to claim 1 and therefore Claim 29 is rejected for the same reason set forth. Regarding claim 30, An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), capability signaling indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by an antenna panel of a plurality of antenna panels at the UE; transmit, to the UE in response to the capability signaling, control signaling indicating a sounding reference signal configuration comprising a plurality of sounding reference signal sets, a plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists, or both, wherein the plurality of sounding reference signal sets or the plurality of sounding reference signal resource lists are associated with respective quantities of supported sounding reference signal ports; receive, from the UE and based at least in part on the control signaling, a measurement report indicating a quantity of sounding reference signal ports; and receive a sounding reference signal from the UE in accordance with the sounding reference signal configuration and the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. Claim 30 is analogous to claim 25 and therefore Claim 30 is rejected for the same reason set forth . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO 2020/248158 A1; “Chen”) in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 version 15.2.0 (“TS 38.214”) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.306 version 16.6.0 (“TS 38.306”) . Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose selecting an antenna panel from the plurality of antenna panels at the UE based at least in part on the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports. TS 38.214 also does not explicitly disclose selecting an antenna panel from the plurality of antenna panels at the UE based at least in part on the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports: The method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting an antenna panel from the plurality of antenna panels at the UE based at least in part on the indicated quantity of sounding reference signal ports, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted via the selected antenna panel. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of TS 38.306 teaches selecting the relevant antenna-switching configuration and corresponding antenna grouping based on supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch capability, where xTyR corresponds to SRS transmission on x antenna ports over y antennas and 2T4R corresponds to two antenna pairs. (TS 38.306 at pg. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with TS 38.306 so that the UE selects the appropriate antenna panel or antenna grouping based on the indicated SRS-port quantity capability. Doing so would have predictably aligned the configured SRS resource-set usage with the UE’s reported SRS transmit-port-switching capability over multiple antennas, thereby improving antenna-switching consistency and reducing configuration ambiguity. Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose indicating a first quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by a first antenna panel and a second quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by a second antenna panel. TS 38.214 also does not explicitly disclose indicating a first quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by a first antenna panel and a second quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by a second antenna panel: The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of antenna panels at the UE comprise a first antenna panel and a second antenna panel, the method further comprising: transmitting, via the capability signaling, an indication of a first quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by the first antenna panel and a second quantity of sounding reference signal ports supported by the second antenna panel. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of TS 38.306 teaches reporting supportedSRS-TxPortSwitch capability, where xTyR corresponds to SRS transmission on x antenna ports over total of y antennas and 2T4R corresponds to two antenna pairs, thereby teaching panel- or antenna-group-specific supported SRS-port quantities. (TS 38.306 at pg. 26). Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with TS 38.306 is the same as described above with respect to claim 3 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO 2020/248158 A1; “Chen”) in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 version 15.2.0 (“TS 38.214”) and further in view of Zhang (US 2019/0174466 A1; “Zhang”) . Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose transmitting an acknowledgement message to the base station in response to the additional control signaling, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach additional control signaling for switched SRS operation. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): The method of claim 9, further comprising: transmitting an acknowledgement message to the base station in response to the additional control signaling, PNG media_image6.png 262 589 media_image6.png Greyscale However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Zhang teaches transmitting an acknowledgement message to the base station in response to the additional control signaling because Zhang teaches that, when the UE receives an activation command for an SRS resource, the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the selection command is transmitted in slot n. (Zhang, para [0081]). Further, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose the second sounding reference signal being transmitted based at least in part on the acknowledgement message, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach switched SRS transmission behavior responsive to control signaling. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): wherein the second sounding reference signal is transmitted based at least in part on the acknowledgement message. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Zhang teaches the second sounding reference signal being transmitted based at least in part on the acknowledgement message because Zhang teaches that the corresponding SRS-transmission behavior for the configured SRS resource set is applied after the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the command is transmitted. (Zhang, para [0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with Zhang so that application of the additionally indicated SRS transmission behavior is tied to a HARQ-ACK response for the relevant signaling. Doing so would have predictably provided a known activation timing point for switched SRS operation, thereby improving coordination between the UE and the base station and reducing ambiguity as to when the UE applies the updated SRS behavior. Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose transmitting the second sounding reference signal after an expiration of a time interval, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach signaling-triggered SRS behavior. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): The method of claim 10, wherein transmitting the second sounding reference signal comprises: transmitting the second sounding reference signal after an expiration of a time interval, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Zhang teaches transmitting the second sounding reference signal after an expiration of a time interval because Zhang teaches that the corresponding SRS-transmission actions are applied only starting from a later slot after the HARQ-ACK is transmitted in slot n. (Zhang, para [0081]). Moreover, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose that the time interval is initiated based at least in part on transmitting the acknowledgement message, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach signaling-triggered SRS behavior. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): wherein the time interval is initiated based at least in part on transmitting the acknowledgement message. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Zhang teaches that the time interval is initiated based at least in part on transmitting the acknowledgement message because Zhang teaches that the timing for applying SRS transmission actions is keyed to the HARQ-ACK transmission in slot n. (Zhang, para [0081]). Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with Zhang is the same as described above with respect to claim 10. Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose receiving, via the additional control signaling, an indication of a deactivation of the first sounding reference signal set, the first sounding reference signal resource list, or both, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach switched SRS operation and deactivation-related SRS behavior. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, via the additional control signaling, an indication of a deactivation of the first sounding reference signal set, the first sounding reference signal resource list, or both, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Zhang teaches receiving a deactivation command for an activated SRS resource set. (Zhang, para [0083]). Additionally, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose that transmitting the second sounding reference signal is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the deactivation, while Chen teaches transmitting a second SRS based on additional control signaling. (Chen, para [0058]): wherein transmitting the second sounding reference signal is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the deactivation. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Zhang teaches transmitting the second sounding reference signal based at least in part on receiving the indication of the deactivation because Zhang teaches cessation of SRS transmission corresponding to the deactivated SRS resource set after the deactivation command is acknowledged, which would have rendered obvious switched use of another indicated SRS resource set after deactivation of the first set. (Zhang, para [0083]). Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with Zhang is the same as described above with respect to claim 10 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO 2020/248158 A1; “Chen”) in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 version 15.2.0 (“TS 38.214”) and further in view of Yuan (WO 2021/155571 A1; “Yuan”) . Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose that the additional control signaling comprises a medium access control-control element message, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach additional control signaling for selecting SRS behavior. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): The method of claim 15, wherein the additional control signaling comprises a medium access control-control element message, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Yuan teaches that a MAC control element may select an uplink TCI state for a particular uplink resource or uplink resource set, including one associated with SRS. (Yuan, para [0048]; Yuan, para [0052]). Further, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose that the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via an activation of a transmission configuration indicator, while Chen and/or TS 38.214 teach selecting SRS-related transmission behavior. (Chen, para [0058]; TS 38.214 at pg. 83-84, §6.2.1): and wherein the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via an activation of a transmission configuration indicator. However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Yuan teaches that the MAC-CE may include an identifier associated with a particular uplink resource or uplink resource set associated with SRS together with an identifier associated with the uplink TCI state to be activated for that particular uplink resource or uplink resource set, thereby teaching activation of a transmission configuration indicator for the second SRS set or resource list. (Yuan, para [0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with Yuan so that the additional control signaling indicating the second sounding reference signal set or resource list is conveyed using MAC-CE-based activation of an uplink transmission configuration indicator for the selected SRS resource or resource set. Doing so would have predictably enabled beam-explicit control of switched SRS transmissions within the known antenna-switching SRS framework, thereby improving uplink beam management and interoperability between the base station and the UE. Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose that the additional control signaling comprises a downlink control information message, while TS 38.214 teaches DCI-based SRS triggering. (TS 38.214 at pg. 84, §6.2.1): The method of claim 9, wherein the additional control signaling comprises a downlink control information message, However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Yuan teaches a downlink control information message for indicating uplink TCI-state selection for uplink communication, including SRS. (Yuan, para [0049]). Moreover, Chen in view of TS 38.214 does not explicitly disclose that the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via an indication of a transmission configuration indicator codepoint, a transmission configuration indicator field, or both, while Yuan teaches DCI-based indication of an uplink TCI state for uplink communication including SRS. (Yuan, para [0049]): and wherein the indication of the second sounding reference signal set, the second sounding reference signal resource list, or both, is indicated via an indication of a transmission configuration indicator codepoint, a transmission configuration indicator field, or both. PNG media_image7.png 157 684 media_image7.png Greyscale However, Chen in view of TS 38.214 and further in view of Yuan in paragraph [0054] teaches that the DCI may include a bit sequence such as a codepoint or other coded bits indicating the uplink TCI state to be activated, thereby teaching the recited transmission configuration indicator codepoint or field limitation. (Yuan, para [0054]). Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Chen in view of TS 38.214 with Yuan is the same as described above with respect to claim 17. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHONGSUH (John) PARK whose telephone number is 408-918-7574. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00-5:30 PST Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Avellino, Joseph can be reached at 571-272-3905 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 12 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 13 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 14 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 15 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 16 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 17 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 18 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 19 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 20 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 21 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 22 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 23 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 24 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 25 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 26 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 27 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 28 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 29 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 30 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/700,620 Page 31 Art Unit: 2478