DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 04/11/2025 have been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-25 are pending in the instant application. No claims have been added. Claims 4, 7, 14, 15, and 24 have been cancelled. No claims have been amended. Claims 9-13, 16-23, and 25 have been withdrawn from consideration by Applicant, with traverse. Claims 1-3,5,6, and 8 have been elected by Applicant and are rejected herein. The rejection of the aforementioned claims is hereby made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5,6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herman et al (US 2023/0139228).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a self-service pickup device, comprising: an endless conveyor (see at least paragraph [0053] to Herman et al); a self-service pickup port configured to receive a package pickup verification instruction (see at least paragraph [0174] to Herman et al); and a first conveyor docked with the endless conveyor, and configured to convey a package between the endless conveyor and a temporary warehouse of the package (see at least paragraph [0054] to Herman et al), wherein the endless conveyor is provided with a steering wheel device which is steerable and arranged at a junction of the endless conveyor and the self-service pickup port (see at least paragraph [0093] to Herman et al).
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the self-service pickup device according to claim 1, wherein the steering wheel device is further arranged at a junction of the endless conveyor and the first conveyor (see at least paragraph [0083] to Herman et al).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the self-service pickup device according to claim 1, further comprising: an automated transportation device configured to perform an outbound task and transport a target package from a target goods location of the temporary warehouse to a corresponding target first conveyor, or perform an inbound task and transport a target package from the corresponding target first conveyor to the target goods location of the temporary warehouse; or a second conveyor docked with the endless conveyor, the second conveyor comprising at least one of an outlet conveying assembly or an inlet conveying assembly, wherein the inlet conveying assembly is configured to convey a normal package ready to enter the endless conveyor, and the outlet conveying assembly is configured to convey an abnormal package from the endless conveyor, or convey an empty turnover box from which a package was taken away from the endless conveyor (see at least paragraphs [0172]-[0178] to Herman et al, wherein A warehouse management system (WMS) 4600 monitors and updates a warehouse's inventory database 4602 based on delivery schedules, orders, and service level agreements (SLA)s. The WMS 4600 communicates with carrier traffic and safety controller 4604 for the automated carriers as well as all of the external transport systems for totes (conveyers, lifts, pick stations, loading stations, etc). The external tote transport 4606 is able to handle the material flow of deliveries coming into the system as well as fulfilled orders going out of the system. The external tote transport control 4608 is able to handoff control of the tote transport to the carrier traffic and safety controller 4604 when totes are flowing into or out of the storage structure. The handoff controller 4610 is able to assign the totes that are being placed or retrieved into the system to a particular set of carriers 4612, each with their own carrier controller 4614 that consists of communications, motion control, and tote manipulation logic controller. As the carrier either stores or retrieves the tote, it continually updates its location via on board localization 4616 and is able to execute desired operations via on on-board low-level controller 4518. As the carriers execute their processes, they communicate with the carrier traffic and safety controller which updates the required trajectories and motions based on the top-level motion requirements for the system).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the self-service pickup device according to claim 1, wherein the first conveyor comprises: an inlet conveying assembly configured to convey an outbound package ready to enter the endless conveyor from the temporary warehouse; and an outlet conveying assembly configured to convey an inbound package ready to enter the temporary warehouse from the endless conveyor (see at least paragraph [0083] to Herman et al).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the self-service pickup device according to The self-service pickup device according to wherein the self-service pickup port is provided with a gravity detection device and a telescopic partition triggered by a gravity change, and a recycling place for an empty turnover box from which a package was taken away is provided below the telescopic partition, or the self-service pickup port is plural, or the first conveyor is plural (see at least paragraph [0054] to Herman et al).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the self-service pickup device according to claim 1, further comprising: a control device configured to control the target steering wheel device to steer, or send an outbound task or an inbound task to the automated transportation device (see at least paragraph [0009] to Herman et al).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627