DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorday U.S. Patent No.6,665,51) hereinafter Gorday in view of Basu Mallick et al (US20170317740 A1) hereinafter Basu and in further view of Couper (US Patent No. 8,131,210) hereinafter Couper.
Per claim 1 and 6, Gorday discloses a wireless relay device/method (see figure 1, “user A”)comprising: a transmitting unit (primary transceiver) configured to transmit, to a base station (item 12), a first signal ( “all points bulltin”)for allowing the base station to identify the wireless relay device ( (1)); a receiving unit (primary transceiver) configured to receive, from the base station, a second signal about a permission to operate as a wireless relay device; and a control unit configured to enable, when the receiving unit receives the second signal, a relay function that allows a signal received from the base station to be transmitted to a terminal and a signal received from the terminal to be transmitted to the base station (see column 5, lines 25-45).
Gorday doesn’t express teaches the base station sent a signal that permit the operation of a wireless relay device. Basu teaches such feature (see para. 210 and 211). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the claimed invention in order to improve the management of the active partner(s).
Combination of Gorday and Basu does not expressly teach that the first signal comprises information about a buildable area. Couper teaches a method of developing and deploying additional repeaters with optimized location or area after a first repeater is utilized (see abstract, figure 2 and corresponding paragraphs). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Couper with Gorday and Basu’s system in order to increase the coverage of a service area with best optimized location for additional repeaters.
Per claim 2, Gorday further teaches that the transmitting unit is further configured to transmit, to the base station, a third signal that represents a request for enabling the relay function (see column 5 and lines 40 -50, actively communicating with the base station).
Per claim 3, Gorday further teaches that the transmitting unit is further configured to includes, in the first signal, information about a channel state in communication between the wireless relay device and the base station or the terminal (see column 5 and lines 14-25, channel strength).
Per claim 4, Gorday further teaches that the receiving unit is further configured toobtain, from the second signal, a parameter related to a beam configuration that is applicable to the relay function (see figure 4 and column 3 and line 50-column 4 and lines 30, potential diversity to increase the gain of the receiver by utilizing the primary and second protocol (two beams)).
Per claim 5, Gorday further teaches that the transmitting unit is further configured to transmit, to the base station, the first signal with the third signal included therein (see figures 1 and 4, column 5 and lines 25-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649
YUWEN . PAN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649