Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 12, 19, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walachowski et al. (WO 2021066719 A1) in view of Hao et al. (CN 108270488 A).
In regards to claim 1, Walachowski teaches a rotary milking parlor arrangement comprising a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during milking, a set of drive units configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation axis, and a primary control unit configured to control operation of each drive unit in the set of drive units, the set of drive units comprises at least three of the drive units (Page 2, Lines 21-Page 3 line 15; Page 9, lines 8-23; Page 11, lines 19-21)
According to one aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a system for controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement, which includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during milking. The system also has at least one drive unit and a control unit configured to control the operation of the at least one drive unit. The at least one drive unit is configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. Each of the at least one drive unit, in turn, contains first and second drive motors arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail, so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is configured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The control unit is configured to receive the pace signals from each of the first and second drive motors in each of the at least one drive unit. The control unit is further configured to compare the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each of the at least one drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit is configured to trigger an alarm. Depending on the current state of the system, the alarm, in turn, may lead to different results. As an initial measure, if the alarm is generated, it is normally appropriate to stop the platform, at least temporarily. In many cases, however, it is possible to continue to operate the platform also after an alarm, provided that appropriate measures are taken in response thereto.[Pg 2, ln 21-Pg 3, ln 15]
Preferably, the drive unit 244 contains at least one clamping member, which, in an engaged mode, is configured to force the first drive wheel 351 towards the first side of the drive rail 230 and force the second drive wheel 352 towards the second side of the drive rail 230. The embodiment of the invention shown in Figure 4 has two clamping members 421 and 422 respectively, which can be represented by resilient elements, such as helical and/or leaf springs. Hence, in practice, whenever the actuator 410 is inactivated, the clamping members 421 and 422 press the drive wheels 351 and 352 towards drive rail 230, so that drive wheels 351 and 352 engage the drive wheel and may cause the platform 130 to rotate. Figures 5a and 5b illustrate this functionality, where activation of the actuator 410 results in that the entire motor and drive wheel arrangements 341/351 and 342/352 respectively are swung away from one another by rotation around an axis R.[Pg 9, ln 8-23]
In a first step 610, pace signals are received from each drive motor in each drive unit. Thus, if for example there are four drive units, a total of eight pace signals are received.[Pg 11, ln 19-21]
Walachowski fails to teach the set of drive units being characterized in that the arrangement further comprises a set of links connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a ring network in which the primary control unit is included, wherein each said link in the set of links is bi-directional enabling signals to pass in both directions: between the primary control unit and a first said drive unit in the set of drive units, between a last said drive unit in the set of drive units and the primary control unit, as well as and between each consecutive pair of the drive units between the first drive unit and the last drive unit
Hao on the other hand teaches the set of drive units being characterized in that the arrangement further comprises a set of links connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a ring network in which the primary control unit is included, wherein each said link in the set of links is bi-directional enabling signals to pass in both directions: between the primary control unit and a first said drive unit in the set of drive units, between a last said drive unit in the set of drive units and the primary control unit, as well as and between each consecutive pair of the drive units between the first drive unit and the last drive unit (Page 5, Paragraphs 1-3, 8, Last Paragraph)
The invention claims a non-slave virtual full duplex network comprising a plastic optical fibre transceiver module (i.e. in view of photoelectric conversion module 1) and a single-core plastic optical fiber (i.e., in FIG. 1 a single plastic optical fiber), implementing half-duplex bidirectional data communication via a single-core plastic optical fiber; said plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module by a single plastic optical fibre in series a plurality of terminals or sensing communication node (COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, ..., COMN such as in FIG. 1), on basis of the annular network or tree network. building a virtual bidirectional network; each node configuring the plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module, wherein the communication module of any one node set on the main control unit, each node is a single plastic optical fiber to realize point and the connecting point, not only can issue commands to some or all nodes by the main control unit, or can be some other node actively reports the information to the main control unit.[Pg 5, P-1]
the main control unit sends a command in a clockwise direction, if a certain broken on the communication path, then the problem will be fed back to the main control unit, reading information indicative of node cannot break, then the master control unit will change the transmission direction, sending a command in a counterclockwise direction, the clockwise node information of less than behind the disconnection position, all by anticlockwise.[Pg 5, P-2]
Therefore, one line will not affect the execution of the main control unit commands. Moreover, if the damaged module of one node on the network, the main control unit does not copy to it is only data of one module does not cause deletion of paralysis and data of the whole network, reducing the yield is very small. Similarly, when the plastic optical fibre communication network when there is the fault, can actively find accurate and timely determine the fault position when the automatic inspection.[Pg 5, P-3]
when performing data communication, using closed-loop communication between each device or terminal, any one end can flexibly sending and retrieving data command, each transceiver module comprising a network listening function, wherein when certain communication line has fault, the other device can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path, also can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path and the feedback result.[Pg 5, P-8]
In the present invention the non-slave virtual full duplex network, data will not appear due to a module fault or broken caused by not transmitting or receiving, avoids the communication of the whole network paralysis, avoids fault rate and communication rate is greatly reduced, greatly improves the device efficiency, and realizes the information transmission between the communication network based on plastic optical fiber technology to form a virtual bidirectional communication network.[Pg 5, Last Pgh]
Here, we see Hao’s teaching discloses a non-master-slave virtual full duplex network that comprises a set of ring communication links that enable bi-directional data communication between each two terminals via optical fibers/individual links and transceiver module connections, with signals passing in both directions. Hao’s disclosure further elaborates with a master unit/primary control unit, that may be coupled at any one node (in this case, a drive unit). Furthermore, when the master unit/primary control unit sends a command, such as a first signal in a clockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a second signal in the counterclockwise direction, determining break information from the node below the break clockwise, rewriting up counterclockwise. Hence, when a plastic fiber optic (link) communication network is malfunctioning, a detection is simultaneously discovered and in turn, the location of the malfunction is determined with respect to the terminal (drive unit) in time at the time of an automatic tour. i.e. when Hao’s technical system is integrated/combined with Walachowski teaching, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the primary control unit is being further configured to identify any single faulty said link in the set of links by: transmitting a first said signal in a clockwise direction through the ring network , transmitting a second said signal in a counter clockwise direction through the ring network, and checking how far each of the first and second signals can be transmitted through the ring network in the clockwise and counter clockwise direction respectively without being interrupted by the single faulty link.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hao’s teaching with Walachowski’s teaching in order to enable a more efficient, as well as effective way to detect and provide an early notification of any malfunctioning platform drive mechanisms provide an early notification of any malfunctioning platform drive mechanisms.
In regards to claim 3, Walachowski modified teaches the first and second signals (Si; S2) are control signals (Page 3, line 30- Page 4, line 8, Walachowski)
According to one embodiment of this aspect of the invention, the control unit is further configured to, in response to the alarm; send a control signal to each drive units whose pace signals triggered the alarm. The control signal is configured to cause that drive unit to be disengaged from the drive rail. Consequently, provided that the system contains at least one drive unit that is still functioning, the system may continue to operate based on this/these drive unit(s). Naturally, this is desirable from a practical point of view, e.g. considering system uptime. According to another embodiment of this aspect of the invention, each drive unit contains an actuator, which, in response to the control signal is configured to cause the drive unit to be disengaged from the drive rail by separating a first drive wheel from a second drive wheel. Preferably, the actuator contains a pneuma- tic cylinder, a hydraulic cylinder and/or an electric linear motor that is arranged to separate the first and second drive wheels from one another. Here, the first drive wheel is arranged on a first side of the drive rail and is operated by a first drive motor in the drive unit, and the second drive wheel is arranged on a second side of the drive rail and is operated by a second drive motor in the drive unit. Thereby, disengagement of a malfunctioning drive unit can be effected in a very straightforward manner. [Pg 3, ln 30- Pg 4, ln 8]
In regards to claim 12, Walachowski teaches a computer-implemented method, which is performed in at least one processor in a control unit of a rotary milking parlor arrangement comprising a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during milking, and a set of drive units(Page 2, Lines 21-Page 3 line 15; Page 9, lines 8-23; Page 11, lines 19-21)
According to one aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a system for controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement, which includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during milking. The system also has at least one drive unit and a control unit configured to control the operation of the at least one drive unit. The at least one drive unit is configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. Each of the at least one drive unit, in turn, contains first and second drive motors arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail, so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is configured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The control unit is configured to receive the pace signals from each of the first and second drive motors in each of the at least one drive unit. The control unit is further configured to compare the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each of the at least one drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit is configured to trigger an alarm. Depending on the current state of the system, the alarm, in turn, may lead to different results. As an initial measure, if the alarm is generated, it is normally appropriate to stop the platform, at least temporarily. In many cases, however, it is possible to continue to operate the platform also after an alarm, provided that appropriate measures are taken in response thereto.[Pg 2, ln 21-Pg 3, ln 15]
Preferably, the drive unit 244 contains at least one clamping member, which, in an engaged mode, is configured to force the first drive wheel 351 towards the first side of the drive rail 230 and force the second drive wheel 352 towards the second side of the drive rail 230. The embodiment of the invention shown in Figure 4 has two clamping members 421 and 422 respectively, which can be represented by resilient elements, such as helical and/or leaf springs. Hence, in practice, whenever the actuator 410 is inactivated, the clamping members 421 and 422 press the drive wheels 351 and 352 towards drive rail 230, so that drive wheels 351 and 352 engage the drive wheel and may cause the platform 130 to rotate. Figures 5a and 5b illustrate this functionality, where activation of the actuator 410 results in that the entire motor and drive wheel arrangements 341/351 and 342/352 respectively are swung away from one another by rotation around an axis R.[Pg 9, ln 8-23]
In a first step 610, pace signals are received from each drive motor in each drive unit. Thus, if for example there are four drive units, a total of eight pace signals are received.[Pg 11, ln 19-21]
Walachowski fails to teach controlling the set of drive units to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation axis, the set of drive units comprising at least three said drive units, characterized by the arrangement further comprising a set of links connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a ring network in which the primary, a primary control unit is included, wherein each said link in the set of links is bi-directional enabling signals to pass in both directions between the primary control unit and a first said drive unit in the set of drive units,
Hao on the other hand teaches controlling the set of drive units to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation axis, the set of drive units comprising at least three said drive units, characterized by the arrangement further comprising a set of links connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a ring network in which the primary, a primary control unit is included, wherein each said link in the set of links is bi-directional enabling signals to pass in both directions between the primary control unit and a first said drive unit in the set of drive units (Page 5, Paragraphs 1-3, 8, Last Paragraph)
The invention claims a non-slave virtual full duplex network comprising a plastic optical fibre transceiver module (i.e. in view of photoelectric conversion module 1) and a single-core plastic optical fiber (i.e., in FIG. 1 a single plastic optical fiber), implementing half-duplex bidirectional data communication via a single-core plastic optical fiber; said plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module by a single plastic optical fibre in series a plurality of terminals or sensing communication node (COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, ..., COMN such as in FIG. 1), on basis of the annular network or tree network. building a virtual bidirectional network; each node configuring the plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module, wherein the communication module of any one node set on the main control unit, each node is a single plastic optical fiber to realize point and the connecting point, not only can issue commands to some or all nodes by the main control unit, or can be some other node actively reports the information to the main control unit.[Pg 5, P-1]
the main control unit sends a command in a clockwise direction, if a certain broken on the communication path, then the problem will be fed back to the main control unit, reading information indicative of node cannot break, then the master control unit will change the transmission direction, sending a command in a counterclockwise direction, the clockwise node information of less than behind the disconnection position, all by anticlockwise.[Pg 5, P-2]
Therefore, one line will not affect the execution of the main control unit commands. Moreover, if the damaged module of one node on the network, the main control unit does not copy to it is only data of one module does not cause deletion of paralysis and data of the whole network, reducing the yield is very small. Similarly, when the plastic optical fibre communication network when there is the fault, can actively find accurate and timely determine the fault position when the automatic inspection.[Pg 5, P-3]
when performing data communication, using closed-loop communication between each device or terminal, any one end can flexibly sending and retrieving data command, each transceiver module comprising a network listening function, wherein when certain communication line has fault, the other device can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path, also can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path and the feedback result.[Pg 5, P-8]
In the present invention the non-slave virtual full duplex network, data will not appear due to a module fault or broken caused by not transmitting or receiving, avoids the communication of the whole network paralysis, avoids fault rate and communication rate is greatly reduced, greatly improves the device efficiency, and realizes the information transmission between the communication network based on plastic optical fiber technology to form a virtual bidirectional communication network.[Pg 5, Last Pgh]
Here, we see Hao’s teaching discloses a non-master-slave virtual full duplex network that comprises a set of ring communication links that enable bi-directional data communication between each two terminals via optical fibers/individual links and transceiver module connections, with signals passing in both directions. Hao’s disclosure further elaborates with a master unit/primary control unit, that may be coupled at any one node (in this case, a drive unit). Furthermore, when the master unit/primary control unit sends a command, such as a first signal in a clockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a second signal in the counterclockwise direction, determining break information from the node below the break clockwise, rewriting up counterclockwise. Hence, when a plastic fiber optic (link) communication network is malfunctioning, a detection is simultaneously discovered and in turn, the location of the malfunction is determined with respect to the terminal (drive unit) in time at the time of an automatic tour. i.e. when Hao’s technical system is integrated/combined with Walachowski teaching, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the primary control unit is being further configured to identify any single faulty said link in the set of links by: transmitting a first said signal in a clockwise direction through the ring network , transmitting a second said signal in a counter clockwise direction through the ring network, and checking how far each of the first and second signals can be transmitted through the ring network in the clockwise and counter clockwise direction respectively without being interrupted by the single faulty link.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hao’s teaching with Walachowski’s teaching in order to enable a more efficient, as well as effective way to detect and provide an early notification of any malfunctioning platform drive mechanisms provide an early notification of any malfunctioning platform drive mechanisms.
In regards to claim 19, Walachowski modified teaches a non-volatile data carrier on which is stored a computer program loadable into anon-volatile data carrier communicatively connected to a processing unit, the computer program comprising software for executing the computer program is run on the processing unit (Page 6, lines 2-6)
According to a further aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a computer program loadable into a non-volatile da ta carrier communicatively connected to a processing unit. The computer program includes software for executing the above method when the program is run on the processing unit.[Pg 6, ln 2-6]
In regards to claim 21, Walachowski modified via Hao teaches each given one of the drive units is configured to receive said first signal by a first said link to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said first signal in a clockwise direction along the ring network via a second said link to which the given drive unit is connected; determine whether the first signal transmitted via the second link has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the ring network in the clockwise direction; and when determining that the first signal transmitted via the second link has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the ring network in the clockwise direction, transmit a first error message in the counterclockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link(Page 5, Paragraphs 1-3, 8, Last Paragraph )
The invention claims a non-slave virtual full duplex network comprising a plastic optical fibre transceiver module (i.e. in view of photoelectric conversion module 1) and a single-core plastic optical fiber (i.e., in FIG. 1 a single plastic optical fiber), implementing half-duplex bidirectional data communication via a single-core plastic optical fiber; said plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module by a single plastic optical fibre in series a plurality of terminals or sensing communication node (COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, ..., COMN such as in FIG. 1), on basis of the annular network or tree network. building a virtual bidirectional network; each node configuring the plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module, wherein the communication module of any one node set on the main control unit, each node is a single plastic optical fiber to realize point and the connecting point, not only can issue commands to some or all nodes by the main control unit, or can be some other node actively reports the information to the main control unit.[Pg 5, P-1]
the main control unit sends a command in a clockwise direction, if a certain broken on the communication path, then the problem will be fed back to the main control unit, reading information indicative of node cannot break, then the master control unit will change the transmission direction, sending a command in a counterclockwise direction, the clockwise node information of less than behind the disconnection position, all by anticlockwise.[Pg 5, P-2]
Therefore, one line will not affect the execution of the main control unit commands. Moreover, if the damaged module of one node on the network, the main control unit does not copy to it is only data of one module does not cause deletion of paralysis and data of the whole network, reducing the yield is very small. Similarly, when the plastic optical fibre communication network when there is the fault, can actively find accurate and timely determine the fault position when the automatic inspection.[Pg 5, P-3]
when performing data communication, using closed-loop communication between each device or terminal, any one end can flexibly sending and retrieving data command, each transceiver module comprising a network listening function, wherein when certain communication line has fault, the other device can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path, also can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path and the feedback result.[Pg 5, P-8]
In the present invention the non-slave virtual full duplex network, data will not appear due to a module fault or broken caused by not transmitting or receiving, avoids the communication of the whole network paralysis, avoids fault rate and communication rate is greatly reduced, greatly improves the device efficiency, and realizes the information transmission between the communication network based on plastic optical fiber technology to form a virtual bidirectional communication network.[Pg 5, Last Pgh]
Here, we see Hao’s teaching discloses a non-master-slave virtual full duplex network that comprises a set of ring communication links that enable bi-directional data communication between each two terminals via optical fibers/individual links and transceiver module connections, with signals passing in both directions. Hao’s disclosure further elaborates with a master unit/primary control unit, that may be coupled at any one node (in this case, a drive unit). Furthermore, when the master unit/primary control unit sends a command, such as a first signal in a clockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a second signal in the counterclockwise direction( via a second link), determining break information from the node below the break clockwise, rewriting up counterclockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link ,
Furthermore, Hao teaches each given one of the drive units is also configured to: receive said second signal by the second link to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said second signal in a counterclockwise direction along the ring network via the first link to which the given drive unit is connected; determine whether the second signal transmitted via the first link has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the ring network in the counterclockwise direction; and when determining that the second signal transmitted via the first link has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the ring network in the counterclockwise direction, transmit a second error message in the clockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the first link is the faulty link(Page 5, Paragraphs 1-3, 8, Last Paragraph)
The invention claims a non-slave virtual full duplex network comprising a plastic optical fibre transceiver module (i.e. in view of photoelectric conversion module 1) and a single-core plastic optical fiber (i.e., in FIG. 1 a single plastic optical fiber), implementing half-duplex bidirectional data communication via a single-core plastic optical fiber; said plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module by a single plastic optical fibre in series a plurality of terminals or sensing communication node (COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, ..., COMN such as in FIG. 1), on basis of the annular network or tree network. building a virtual bidirectional network; each node configuring the plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module, wherein the communication module of any one node set on the main control unit, each node is a single plastic optical fiber to realize point and the connecting point, not only can issue commands to some or all nodes by the main control unit, or can be some other node actively reports the information to the main control unit.[Pg 5, P-1]
the main control unit sends a command in a clockwise direction, if a certain broken on the communication path, then the problem will be fed back to the main control unit, reading information indicative of node cannot break, then the master control unit will change the transmission direction, sending a command in a counterclockwise direction, the clockwise node information of less than behind the disconnection position, all by anticlockwise.[Pg 5, P-2]
Therefore, one line will not affect the execution of the main control unit commands. Moreover, if the damaged module of one node on the network, the main control unit does not copy to it is only data of one module does not cause deletion of paralysis and data of the whole network, reducing the yield is very small. Similarly, when the plastic optical fibre communication network when there is the fault, can actively find accurate and timely determine the fault position when the automatic inspection.[Pg 5, P-3]
when performing data communication, using closed-loop communication between each device or terminal, any one end can flexibly sending and retrieving data command, each transceiver module comprising a network listening function, wherein when certain communication line has fault, the other device can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path, also can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path and the feedback result.[Pg 5, P-8]
In the present invention the non-slave virtual full duplex network, data will not appear due to a module fault or broken caused by not transmitting or receiving, avoids the communication of the whole network paralysis, avoids fault rate and communication rate is greatly reduced, greatly improves the device efficiency, and realizes the information transmission between the communication network based on plastic optical fiber technology to form a virtual bidirectional communication network.[Pg 5, Last Pgh]
By Hao’s teaching the master unit/primary control unit, that may be coupled at any one node (in this case, a drive unit), wherein, a signal in a clockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a second signal in the counterclockwise direction( via a second link), determining break information from the node below the break clockwise, rewriting up counterclockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link. Furthermore, should another signal be transmitted in a counterclockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a another signal in the clockwise direction( via a second link), determining break information from the node below the break counterclockwise, rewriting up clockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link.
Therefore, enabling the given one of the drive units is also configured to upon receiving the first error message, transmitting the first error message along the ring network in the counterclockwise direction, and upon receiving the second error message, transmitting the second error message along the ring network in the clockwise direction.
In regards to claim 23, Walachowski modified via Hao teaches each given one of the drive units is configured to receive said first signal by a first said link to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said first signal in a clockwise direction along the ring network via a second said link to which the given drive unit is connected; determine whether the first signal transmitted via the second link has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the ring network in the clockwise direction; and when determining that the first signal transmitted via the second link has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the ring network in the clockwise direction, transmit a first error message in the counterclockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link(Page 5, Paragraphs 1-3, 8, Last Paragraph )
The invention claims a non-slave virtual full duplex network comprising a plastic optical fibre transceiver module (i.e. in view of photoelectric conversion module 1) and a single-core plastic optical fiber (i.e., in FIG. 1 a single plastic optical fiber), implementing half-duplex bidirectional data communication via a single-core plastic optical fiber; said plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module by a single plastic optical fibre in series a plurality of terminals or sensing communication node (COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, ..., COMN such as in FIG. 1), on basis of the annular network or tree network. building a virtual bidirectional network; each node configuring the plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module, wherein the communication module of any one node set on the main control unit, each node is a single plastic optical fiber to realize point and the connecting point, not only can issue commands to some or all nodes by the main control unit, or can be some other node actively reports the information to the main control unit.[Pg 5, P-1]
the main control unit sends a command in a clockwise direction, if a certain broken on the communication path, then the problem will be fed back to the main control unit, reading information indicative of node cannot break, then the master control unit will change the transmission direction, sending a command in a counterclockwise direction, the clockwise node information of less than behind the disconnection position, all by anticlockwise.[Pg 5, P-2]
Therefore, one line will not affect the execution of the main control unit commands. Moreover, if the damaged module of one node on the network, the main control unit does not copy to it is only data of one module does not cause deletion of paralysis and data of the whole network, reducing the yield is very small. Similarly, when the plastic optical fibre communication network when there is the fault, can actively find accurate and timely determine the fault position when the automatic inspection.[Pg 5, P-3]
when performing data communication, using closed-loop communication between each device or terminal, any one end can flexibly sending and retrieving data command, each transceiver module comprising a network listening function, wherein when certain communication line has fault, the other device can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path, also can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path and the feedback result.[Pg 5, P-8]
In the present invention the non-slave virtual full duplex network, data will not appear due to a module fault or broken caused by not transmitting or receiving, avoids the communication of the whole network paralysis, avoids fault rate and communication rate is greatly reduced, greatly improves the device efficiency, and realizes the information transmission between the communication network based on plastic optical fiber technology to form a virtual bidirectional communication network.[Pg 5, Last Pgh]
Here, we see Hao’s teaching discloses a non-master-slave virtual full duplex network that comprises a set of ring communication links that enable bi-directional data communication between each two terminals via optical fibers/individual links and transceiver module connections, with signals passing in both directions. Hao’s disclosure further elaborates with a master unit/primary control unit, that may be coupled at any one node (in this case, a drive unit). Furthermore, when the master unit/primary control unit sends a command, such as a first signal in a clockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a second signal in the counterclockwise direction( via a second link), determining break information from the node below the break clockwise, rewriting up counterclockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link ,
Furthermore, Hao teaches each given one of the drive units is also configured to: receive said second signal by the second link to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said second signal in a counterclockwise direction along the ring network via the first link to which the given drive unit is connected; determine whether the second signal transmitted via the first link has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the ring network in the counterclockwise direction; and when determining that the second signal transmitted via the first link has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the ring network in the counterclockwise direction, transmit a second error message in the clockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the first link is the faulty link(Page 5, Paragraphs 1-3, 8, Last Paragraph )
The invention claims a non-slave virtual full duplex network comprising a plastic optical fibre transceiver module (i.e. in view of photoelectric conversion module 1) and a single-core plastic optical fiber (i.e., in FIG. 1 a single plastic optical fiber), implementing half-duplex bidirectional data communication via a single-core plastic optical fiber; said plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module by a single plastic optical fibre in series a plurality of terminals or sensing communication node (COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, ..., COMN such as in FIG. 1), on basis of the annular network or tree network. building a virtual bidirectional network; each node configuring the plastic optical fibre receiving and transmitting module, wherein the communication module of any one node set on the main control unit, each node is a single plastic optical fiber to realize point and the connecting point, not only can issue commands to some or all nodes by the main control unit, or can be some other node actively reports the information to the main control unit.[Pg 5, P-1]
the main control unit sends a command in a clockwise direction, if a certain broken on the communication path, then the problem will be fed back to the main control unit, reading information indicative of node cannot break, then the master control unit will change the transmission direction, sending a command in a counterclockwise direction, the clockwise node information of less than behind the disconnection position, all by anticlockwise.[Pg 5, P-2]
Therefore, one line will not affect the execution of the main control unit commands. Moreover, if the damaged module of one node on the network, the main control unit does not copy to it is only data of one module does not cause deletion of paralysis and data of the whole network, reducing the yield is very small. Similarly, when the plastic optical fibre communication network when there is the fault, can actively find accurate and timely determine the fault position when the automatic inspection.[Pg 5, P-3]
when performing data communication, using closed-loop communication between each device or terminal, any one end can flexibly sending and retrieving data command, each transceiver module comprising a network listening function, wherein when certain communication line has fault, the other device can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path, also can transmit or receive data command to the target device through the clockwise path and the feedback result.[Pg 5, P-8]
In the present invention the non-slave virtual full duplex network, data will not appear due to a module fault or broken caused by not transmitting or receiving, avoids the communication of the whole network paralysis, avoids fault rate and communication rate is greatly reduced, greatly improves the device efficiency, and realizes the information transmission between the communication network based on plastic optical fiber technology to form a virtual bidirectional communication network.[Pg 5, Last Pgh]
By Hao’s teaching the master unit/primary control unit, that may be coupled at any one node (in this case, a drive unit), wherein, a signal in a clockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a second signal in the counterclockwise direction( via a second link), determining break information from the node below the break clockwise, rewriting up counterclockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link. Furthermore, should another signal be transmitted in a counterclockwise direction, should a break occur (or not) somewhere on the communication path, a feedback notification/signal will be transmitted to the to the master unit/primary control unit indicating that information from the node (drive unit) below the break is not read, then the master unit/primary control unit will change the transmission direction to send a another signal in the clockwise direction( via a second link), determining break information from the node below the break counterclockwise, rewriting up clockwise direction around the ring network to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second link is the faulty link.
Therefore, enabling the given one of the drive units is also configured to upon receiving the first error message, transmitting the first error message along the ring network in the counterclockwise direction, and upon receiving the second error message, transmitting the second error message along the ring network in the clockwise direction.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walachowski et al. (WO 2021066719 A1) in view of Hao et al. (CN 108270488 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Konisihi et al. (WO 2006075403 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Walachowski modified fails to teach the links in the set of links are further configured to feed electric power from the primary control unit to each said drive unit in the set of drive units.
Konisihi on the other hand teaches the links in the set of links are further configured to feed electric power from the primary control unit to each said drive unit in the set of drive units (Paragraphs 11, 12, 18-20)
In order to achieve the above-described object, the present invention provides a first and a second that are spaced apart from each other on two transmission lines laid between the first and second communication devices. A transmission device, a transmission path between the first communication device and the first transmission device, a transmission path between the second transmission device and the second communication device, each referred to as a link, When the transmission path between the first and second transmission devices is referred to as a line, the first and second transmission devices each send a link reception signal received from the link to the line. In this case, the link reception signal power can also detect a failure of the link, and when the internal power receives the first link state information, the first transmission/reception means for sending it to the line, and the line From the transmission device facing the received signal captured from If the link status information of 2 is included, the line received signal power can also detect the failure of the line when the line received signal excluding the second link status information is sent to the link. A second transmission / reception means capable of forcibly suspending and releasing a signal transmitted to the link in response to an internal force instruction; and a link and a link detected by the first and second transmission / reception means. The first link state information indicating a link or line failure state or a normal state is generated based on the line state and the state is notified to the opposite transmission apparatus through the first transmission / reception means, and the second transmission / reception is performed. When the means detects a line failure or when the second link state information power indicates an S link or line failure, the second transmission / reception means performs the forced disconnection operation, and the second transmission / reception means Monitoring control means for causing the second transmission / reception means to perform the operation for canceling the forced disconnection when the recovery of the second link is detected or when the second link state information power indicates the recovery of the S link or the line. It is characterized by this.[P-11]
As shown in FIG. 2, the communication system to which the transmission apparatus according to the present invention is applied has two communication paths, a forward path and a return path, which are laid between the node apparatus 30 and the node apparatus 31 that are communication devices. In this configuration, at least two transmission devices 32 and 33 are arranged on the transmission path. Each of the two transmission devices 32 and 33 is configured as shown in FIG. 1, but has functions of extending the distance of the transmission path and converting the communication medium. Note that the communication medium conversion function is a function for matching a metal cable and an optical fiber cable, or a function for matching the coding format, transmission speed, and the like of the same communication medium.[P-18]
In FIG. 2, the transmission device 32 is connected to the node device 30 via the transmission line 34 (34a, 34b), and the transmission device 33 is connected to the transmission device 32 via the transmission line 35 (35a, 35b). The node device 31 is connected to the transmission device 33 via the transmission path 36 (36a, 36b).[P-19]
Here, the transmission lines 3 4 (34a, 34b) and the transmission lines 36 (36a, 36b), which directly connect the node device and the transmission apparatus, are referred to as links. The transmission lines 35 (35a, 35b) connecting the two transmission devices 32, 33 are referred to as lines to distinguish them. In order for the two transmission apparatuses 32 and 33 to distinguish between the two links, in the transmission apparatus 32, the link 34 (34a, 34b) is referred to as a low force link, and the link 36 (36a, 36b) is referred to as a remote link. . Similarly, in the transmission apparatus 33, the link 36 (36a, 36b) is referred to as a local link, and the link 34 (34a, 34b) is referred to as a remote link.[P-20]
Here we see Konisihi teach a transmission device transmits a power feed through power lines/links, to which the links are further configured to feed electric power to each of a plurality of node/communication devices similar to the disclosed (drive units) in the set of drive units. A monitoring control unit(s), implements and monitors the transmission results of the transmission activities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Konisihi’s teaching with Walachowski modified’s teaching in order to have a more cost effective method to determine potential faults within transmission channels.
Claim(s) 4-11, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walachowski et al. (WO 2021066719 A1) in view of Hao et al. (CN 108270488 A) as applied to claim 1, 12 above, and further in view of Litovtchenko et al. (CN 103703427 B).
In regards to claim 4, Walachowski modified fails to teach a secondary control unit configured to control operation of each said drive unit in the set of drive units and a set of galvanic connections connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a loop configuration in which the secondary control unit is included, wherein each said galvanic connection in the set of galvanic connections is bi- directional enabling signals to pass in both directions: between the secondary control unit and the first drive unit in the set of drive units, between the last drive unit in the set of drive units and the secondary control unit, as well as between each consecutive pair of the drive units between the first drive unit and the last drive unit; and the secondary control unit is further configured to identify any single faulty said galvanic connection of the set of galvanic connections
Litovtchenko on the other hand teaches teach a secondary control unit configured to control operation of each said drive unit in the set of drive units and a set of galvanic connections connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a loop configuration in which the secondary control unit is included, wherein each said galvanic connection in the set of galvanic connections is bi- directional enabling signals to pass in both directions (Page 2, Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraphs 5, 6; Page 4, Last Paragraph; Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 6, Paragraph 4)
Therefore, decoupling parallel mode (DPM) is operation mode of two or more cores independently to perform different tasks. redundancy mode is an operation mode of two or more core performing the same tasks in a redundant manner. In many existing system, possibly by restarting (resetting) system to switch between the two modes.[Pg 2, P-6]
the first processing unit 12 may include a set of first state element 18. the second processing unit 14 may include a group of second state element 20. said a group of synchronous data line 34 can be operable in a manner that a pair of the first state element 18 is connected to the second state element 20. control unit 16 can be operated in response to the synchronization request to control the first processing unit 12, second processing unit 14 and the synchronous data line 34 to via the synchronous data wire 34 the state of the first state element 18 copied to the second state element 20 in parallel.[Pg 3, P-5]
synchronizing each of the data lines 34 may comprise, for example, the multiplexer 36, the multiplexer 36 has an output 42, the output 42 is connected to the second input 20 of state element of 24, normal data input 38, and synchronizing the data input 40, the synchronous data input 40 is connected to the second state element 20. the corresponding multiplexer 36 may be integrated to the second processing unit 14.[Pg 3, P-6]
In order from decoupling parallel mode to redundant mode, must ensure the processing unit with the same initial state. If the redundancy mode is lockstep mode, it must ensure the processing unit have the same initial state at the same initial clock cycle. In other words, the processing unit requires is synchronized before the lockstep mode operation [Pg 4, Last Pgh]
in the example shown, each synchronous data wire 34 may include a multiplexer 36. Each multiplexer 36 may have a normal data input 38, synchronous data input 40 and a multiplexer output 42. each multiplexer output 42 may be connected to corresponding 20 data input of state element 24. each of the normal data input 38 can be directly or indirectly connected to the data output 28 of the state element 20 and/or the second processing unit in the other nodes 14. Therefore, when the multiplexer 36 each of normal data input 38 is connected to the corresponding data input 24, state element 20 may be interconnected to form similar to the logic of the logic provided by the first state element 18 of the first processing unit 12. In addition, each of the synchronous data input 40 may be connected to the first processing unit 12 corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18. when the given multiplexer 36 of multiplexer output 42 is connected to synchronous data input 40 of the multiplexer 36 of the micorcavities, corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18 can thus be connected to the corresponding second data input 24 of the state element 20. it can establish the synchronous connection between corresponding first state element 18 and the corresponding second state element 20. [Pg 5, P-6]
a mode signal MODE may for example indicate a normal operation mode. normal operation mode is a mode in which such as processing unit 12 and processing unit 14 is operable to process a plurality of processing unit is normal mode of data. a normal operating mode such as decoupling parallel mode or redundant mode. in response to the mode signal MODE indicating the normal operation mode, the control unit 16 may be a multiplexer control signal MUX CTL control target processing unit of multiplexer 36 to multiplexer output 42 is connected, so that the corresponding second data input of the state element 20 24 is connected to the normal data input 38. Under the normal operation mode, the second data input of the state element 20 24 may be connected to the second processing unit 14 in the node.[Pg 6, P-4]
Here, we see Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Furthermore, when taken in conjunction with Walachowski modified via Hao (above) teaching of clockwise and anticlockwise signal transmission within a ring/loop network of node/drive units to be able to detect potential faults within communication amongst the nodes/drive units [Pg 5, P-1, Hao], then the combination may enable one of ordinary skill in the art to transmit multiple successive signals (a third signal) in a clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and further transmit multiple successive signals (a fourth signal) in a counter clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and checking how far each of the third and fourth signals can be transmitted through the loop configuration in the clockwise and counter clock wise direction respectively without being interrupted by the single faulty galvanic connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Litovtchenko’s teaching with Walachowski modified’s teaching in order to have a more cost effective method to determine potential faults within transmission channels.
In regards to claim 5, Walachowski modified via Konisihi (in conjunction with Litovtchenko’s teaching of galvanic connections (see above)) teaches the feed configuration of electric power from the secondary control unit to each said drive unit in the set of drive units (Paragraphs 11, 12, 18-20, Konisihi)
In order to achieve the above-described object, the present invention provides a first and a second that are spaced apart from each other on two transmission lines laid between the first and second communication devices. A transmission device, a transmission path between the first communication device and the first transmission device, a transmission path between the second transmission device and the second communication device, each referred to as a link, When the transmission path between the first and second transmission devices is referred to as a line, the first and second transmission devices each send a link reception signal received from the link to the line. In this case, the link reception signal power can also detect a failure of the link, and when the internal power receives the first link state information, the first transmission/reception means for sending it to the line, and the line From the transmission device facing the received signal captured from If the link status information of 2 is included, the line received signal power can also detect the failure of the line when the line received signal excluding the second link status information is sent to the link. A second transmission / reception means capable of forcibly suspending and releasing a signal transmitted to the link in response to an internal force instruction; and a link and a link detected by the first and second transmission / reception means. The first link state information indicating a link or line failure state or a normal state is generated based on the line state and the state is notified to the opposite transmission apparatus through the first transmission / reception means, and the second transmission / reception is performed. When the means detects a line failure or when the second link state information power indicates an S link or line failure, the second transmission / reception means performs the forced disconnection operation, and the second transmission / reception means Monitoring control means for causing the second transmission / reception means to perform the operation for canceling the forced disconnection when the recovery of the second link is detected or when the second link state information power indicates the recovery of the S link or the line. It is characterized by this.[P-11]
As shown in FIG. 2, the communication system to which the transmission apparatus according to the present invention is applied has two communication paths, a forward path and a return path, which are laid between the node apparatus 30 and the node apparatus 31 that are communication devices. In this configuration, at least two transmission devices 32 and 33 are arranged on the transmission path. Each of the two transmission devices 32 and 33 is configured as shown in FIG. 1, but has functions of extending the distance of the transmission path and converting the communication medium. Note that the communication medium conversion function is a function for matching a metal cable and an optical fiber cable, or a function for matching the coding format, transmission speed, and the like of the same communication medium.[P-18]
In FIG. 2, the transmission device 32 is connected to the node device 30 via the transmission line 34 (34a, 34b), and the transmission device 33 is connected to the transmission device 32 via the transmission line 35 (35a, 35b). The node device 31 is connected to the transmission device 33 via the transmission path 36 (36a, 36b).[P-19]
Here, the transmission lines 3 4 (34a, 34b) and the transmission lines 36 (36a, 36b), which directly connect the node device and the transmission apparatus, are referred to as links. The transmission lines 35 (35a, 35b) connecting the two transmission devices 32, 33 are referred to as lines to distinguish them. In order for the two transmission apparatuses 32 and 33 to distinguish between the two links, in the transmission apparatus 32, the link 34 (34a, 34b) is referred to as a low force link, and the link 36 (36a, 36b) is referred to as a remote link. . Similarly, in the transmission apparatus 33, the link 36 (36a, 36b) is referred to as a local link, and the link 34 (34a, 34b) is referred to as a remote link.[P-20]
Here we see Konisihi teach a transmission device transmits a power feed through power lines/links, to which the links are further configured to feed electric power to each of a plurality of node/communication devices similar to the disclosed (drive units) in the set of drive units. A monitoring control unit(s), implements and monitors the transmission results of the transmission activities.
In regards to claim 6, Walachowski modified teaches the third and fourth signals are control signals. Page 3, line 30- Page 4, line 8, Walachowski)
According to one embodiment of this aspect of the invention, the control unit is further configured to, in response to the alarm; send a control signal to each drive units whose pace signals triggered the alarm. The control signal is configured to cause that drive unit to be disengaged from the drive rail. Consequently, provided that the system contains at least one drive unit that is still functioning, the system may continue to operate based on this/these drive unit(s). Naturally, this is desirable from a practical point of view, e.g. considering system uptime. According to another embodiment of this aspect of the invention, each drive unit contains an actuator, which, in response to the control signal is configured to cause the drive unit to be disengaged from the drive rail by separating a first drive wheel from a second drive wheel. Preferably, the actuator contains a pneuma- tic cylinder, a hydraulic cylinder and/or an electric linear motor that is arranged to separate the first and second drive wheels from one another. Here, the first drive wheel is arranged on a first side of the drive rail and is operated by a first drive motor in the drive unit, and the second drive wheel is arranged on a second side of the drive rail and is operated by a second drive motor in the drive unit. Thereby, disengagement of a malfunctioning drive unit can be effected in a very straightforward manner. [Pg 3, ln 30- Pg 4, ln 8]
In regards to claim 7, Walachowski modified teaches the primary control unit is configured to obtain status information via the ring network, which said status information reflects at least one operation condition of the drive units in the set of drive units (Page 7, lines 32-Page 8, line 25; Page 11, line 29-Page 12, line 8, Walachowski )
The control unit 220 is configured to control the operation of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. Inter alia, this means that the control unit 220 is configured to receive the pace signals p 11 , p 12 ; p21 , p22; p31 , p32; p41 , p42 and p51 , p52 from each of the first and second drive motors 341 and 342 in each of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. The control unit 220 is further configured to compare the pace signal p41 from the first drive motor 341 with the pace signal p42 from the second drive motor 342 from each drive unit 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245 to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit 220 is configured to trigger an alarm A. The alarm A may be expressed in the form of an acoustic and/or optic signal adapted to warn an operator. Alternatively or additionally, the alarm may also be represented by a signal, which is transmitted wirelessly or by cable to a surveillance unit where it is configured to provide notification to a user and/or to be registered in an automatic recording means, e.g. a data log.[Pg 7, ln 32-Pg 8, ln 15]
In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably configured to cause the platform 130 to stop, at least temporarily until the measures have been taken to overcome the problem that caused the alarm A to be generated. In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably further configured to send a control signal to each drive units whose pace signals triggered the alarm A. Assuming that it was the pace signals p41 and p42 from the drive unit 244 that caused the alarm to be triggered, the control unit 220 thus sends the control signal C4 to this drive unit 244. The control signal C4 is configured to cause the drive unit 244 to be disengaged from the drive rail 230.[Pg 8, ln 16-25]
In step 640, an alarm is triggered, which indicates a functionality problem in at least one drive unit. Preferably, the alarm also specifies the drive unit(s) that caused the alarm to be triggered. In a preferred embodiment of the invention, a step 650 follows after step 640. In step 650, in response to the alarm, a control signal is sent to each drive unit that caused the alarm to be triggered, which control signal is configured to result in that the drive unit in question is disengaged from the drive rail of the rotating platform. Thus, the rotary milking parlor can continue to be operated, at least temporarily, for example while emptying the rotating platform of animals.[Pg 11, ln 29-Pg 12, ln 8]
Here we see, harp on the malfunctioning drive component disengaging from the drive device, by having an alarm system communicatively coupled to the drive units to detect malfunction, would indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art the obtaining/monitoring of status of operation.
Walachowski further teaches the arrangement further comprises a central communication link interconnecting the primary and secondary control units, and the primary control unit is further configured to repeatedly transmit the status information to the secondary control unit via the central communication link (Page 7, lines 32-Page 8, line 15, Walachowski)
The control unit 220 is configured to control the operation of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. Inter alia, this means that the control unit 220 is configured to receive the pace signals p 11 , p 12 ; p21 , p22; p31 , p32; p41 , p42 and p51 , p52 from each of the first and second drive motors 341 and 342 in each of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. The control unit 220 is further configured to compare the pace signal p41 from the first drive motor 341 with the pace signal p42 from the second drive motor 342 from each drive unit 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245 to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit 220 is configured to trigger an alarm A. The alarm A may be expressed in the form of an acoustic and/or optic signal adapted to warn an operator. Alternatively or additionally, the alarm may also be represented by a signal, which is transmitted wirelessly or by cable to a surveillance unit where it is configured to provide notification to a user and/or to be registered in an automatic recording means, e.g. a data log.[Pg 7, ln 32-Pg 8, ln 15]
In regards to claim 8, Walachowski modified teaches the at least one operation condition reflected by the status information comprises a respective indicator for each said drive unit in the set of drive units which respective indicator specifies whether the corresponding said drive unit operates with an acceptable level of performance (Page 7, lines 32-Page 8, line 25; Page 11, line 29-Page 12, line 8, Walachowski)
The control unit 220 is configured to control the operation of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. Inter alia, this means that the control unit 220 is configured to receive the pace signals p 11 , p 12 ; p21 , p22; p31 , p32; p41 , p42 and p51 , p52 from each of the first and second drive motors 341 and 342 in each of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. The control unit 220 is further configured to compare the pace signal p41 from the first drive motor 341 with the pace signal p42 from the second drive motor 342 from each drive unit 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245 to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit 220 is configured to trigger an alarm A. The alarm A may be expressed in the form of an acoustic and/or optic signal adapted to warn an operator. Alternatively or additionally, the alarm may also be represented by a signal, which is transmitted wirelessly or by cable to a surveillance unit where it is configured to provide notification to a user and/or to be registered in an automatic recording means, e.g. a data log.[Pg 7, ln 32-Pg 8, ln 15]
In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably configured to cause the platform 130 to stop, at least temporarily until the measures have been taken to overcome the problem that caused the alarm A to be generated. In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably further configured to send a control signal to each drive units whose pace signals triggered the alarm A. Assuming that it was the pace signals p41 and p42 from the drive unit 244 that caused the alarm to be triggered, the control unit 220 thus sends the control signal C4 to this drive unit 244. The control signal C4 is configured to cause the drive unit 244 to be disengaged from the drive rail 230.[Pg 8, ln 16-25]
In step 640, an alarm is triggered, which indicates a functionality problem in at least one drive unit. Preferably, the alarm also specifies the drive unit(s) that caused the alarm to be triggered. In a preferred embodiment of the invention, a step 650 follows after step 640. In step 650, in response to the alarm, a control signal is sent to each drive unit that caused the alarm to be triggered, which control signal is configured to result in that the drive unit in question is disengaged from the drive rail of the rotating platform. Thus, the rotary milking parlor can continue to be operated, at least temporarily, for example while emptying the rotating platform of animals.[Pg 11, ln 29-Pg 12, ln 8]
In regards to claim 9, Walachowski modified the primary and secondary control units is configured to cause the rotating platform to move at a rotation speed up to a threshold speed assigned based on a functioning number designating how many of the drive units in the set of drive units that operate with the acceptable level of performance, the threshold speed being assigned a maximum value only if the functioning number designates that all of the drive units in the set of drive units operate with the acceptable level of performance.(Page 2, line 21-Page 3, line 15; Page 5, line 13-Page 6, line 1, Walachowski)
According to one aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a system for controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement, which includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during mil- king. The system also has at least one drive unit and a control unit configured to control the operation of the at least one drive unit. The at least one drive unit is configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. Each of the at least one drive unit, in turn, contains first and second drive motors arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail, so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is con- figured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The control unit is configured to receive the pace signals from each of the first and second drive motors in each of the at least one drive unit. The control unit is further configured to compare the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each of the at least one drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit is configured to trigger an alarm. Depending on the current state of the system, the alarm, in turn, may lead to different results. As an initial measure, if the alarm is generated, it is normally appropriate to stop the platform, at least temporarily. In many cases, however, it is possible to continue to operate the platform also after an alarm, provided that ap- propriate measures are taken in response thereto. [Pg 2, ln 21-Pg 3, ln 15]
According to another aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a method of controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement that includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during milking. It is further presumed that the system contains at least one drive unit configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. The method involves controlling the operation of the at least one drive unit. It is further presumed that each of the at least one drive unit contains first and second drive motors being arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is configured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The method further involves: receiving the pace signals from each of said first and second drive motors in each drive unit; comparing the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit; and if the difference exceeds a threshold value, triggering an alarm. The advantages of this method, as well as the preferred embodiments thereof, are apparent from the discussion above with reference to the system. [Pg 5, ln 13- Pg 6, ln 1]
In regards to claim 10, Walachowski modified teaches first user interface configured to convey a first set of operating commands to the primary control unit, which said first set of operating commands are configured to control a movement of the rotating platform via signaling over the ring network to the set of drive units, and a second user interface configured to convey a second set of operating commands to the primary control unit and the secondary control unit, which said second set of operating commands are configured to control the movement of the rotating platform via signaling through the primary control unit over the ring network to the set of drive units, and via signaling through the secondary control unit over the loop configuration to the set of drive units. (Page 2, line 16-Page 13, line 12, Walachowski)
According to one aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a system for controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement, which includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during mil- king. The system also has at least one drive unit and a control unit configured to control the operation of the at least one drive unit. The at least one drive unit is configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. Each of the at least one drive unit, in turn, contains first and second drive motors arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail, so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is con- figured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The control unit is configured to receive the pace signals from each of the first and second drive motors in each of the at least one drive unit. The control unit is further configured to compare the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each of the at least one drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit is configured to trigger an alarm. Depending on the current state of the system, the alarm, in turn, may lead to different results. As an initial measure, if the alarm is generated, it is normally appropriate to stop the platform, at least temporarily. In many cases, however, it is possible to continue to operate the platform also after an alarm, provided that ap- propriate measures are taken in response thereto. [Pg 2, ln 21-Pg 3, ln 15]
Walachowski teaches the signal(s) is configured to provide a notification to the user and/or to register in an automatically recorded manner/data log. Thereby, enabling the plurality of user interfaces and to send instructions through the user interface(s) for operating the device or accept instructions for viewing the status of the device.
In regards to claim 11, Walachowski modified via Litovtchenko the secondary control unit is configured to be activated exclusively if the primary control unit suffers from a malfunction affecting the primary control unit's capability to control the movement of the rotating platform. (Page 2, Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraphs 5, 6; Page 4, Last Paragraph; Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 6, Paragraph 4, Litovtchenko)
Therefore, decoupling parallel mode (DPM) is operation mode of two or more cores independently to perform different tasks. redundancy mode is an operation mode of two or more core performing the same tasks in a redundant manner. In many existing system, possibly by restarting (resetting) system to switch between the two modes.[Pg 2, P-6]
the first processing unit 12 may include a set of first state element 18. the second processing unit 14 may include a group of second state element 20. said a group of synchronous data line 34 can be operable in a manner that a pair of the first state element 18 is connected to the second state element 20. control unit 16 can be operated in response to the synchronization request to control the first processing unit 12, second processing unit 14 and the synchronous data line 34 to via the synchronous data wire 34 the state of the first state element 18 copied to the second state element 20 in parallel.[Pg 3, P-5]
synchronizing each of the data lines 34 may comprise, for example, the multiplexer 36, the multiplexer 36 has an output 42, the output 42 is connected to the second input 20 of state element of 24, normal data input 38, and synchronizing the data input 40, the synchronous data input 40 is connected to the second state element 20. the corresponding multiplexer 36 may be integrated to the second processing unit 14.[Pg 3, P-6]
In order from decoupling parallel mode to redundant mode, must ensure the processing unit with the same initial state. If the redundancy mode is lockstep mode, it must ensure the processing unit have the same initial state at the same initial clock cycle. In other words, the processing unit requires is synchronized before the lockstep mode operation [Pg 4, Last Pgh]
in the example shown, each synchronous data wire 34 may include a multiplexer 36. Each multiplexer 36 may have a normal data input 38, synchronous data input 40 and a multiplexer output 42. each multiplexer output 42 may be connected to corresponding 20 data input of state element 24. each of the normal data input 38 can be directly or indirectly connected to the data output 28 of the state element 20 and/or the second processing unit in the other nodes 14. Therefore, when the multiplexer 36 each of normal data input 38 is connected to the corresponding data input 24, state element 20 may be interconnected to form similar to the logic of the logic provided by the first state element 18 of the first processing unit 12. In addition, each of the synchronous data input 40 may be connected to the first processing unit 12 corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18. when the given multiplexer 36 of multiplexer output 42 is connected to synchronous data input 40 of the multiplexer 36 of the micorcavities, corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18 can thus be connected to the corresponding second data input 24 of the state element 20. it can establish the synchronous connection between corresponding first state element 18 and the corresponding second state element 20. [Pg 5, P-6]
a mode signal MODE may for example indicate a normal operation mode. normal operation mode is a mode in which such as processing unit 12 and processing unit 14 is operable to process a plurality of processing unit is normal mode of data. a normal operating mode such as decoupling parallel mode or redundant mode. in response to the mode signal MODE indicating the normal operation mode, the control unit 16 may be a multiplexer control signal MUX CTL control target processing unit of multiplexer 36 to multiplexer output 42 is connected, so that the corresponding second data input of the state element 20 24 is connected to the normal data input 38. Under the normal operation mode, the second data input of the state element 20 24 may be connected to the second processing unit 14 in the node.[Pg 6, P-4]
Here, we see Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
In regards to claim 13, Walachowski modified fails to teach a secondary control unit configured to control operation of each said drive unit in the set of drive units and a set of galvanic connections connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a loop configuration in which the secondary control unit is included, wherein each said galvanic connection in the set of galvanic connections is bi- directional enabling signals to pass in both directions: between the secondary control unit and the first drive unit in the set of drive units, between the last drive unit in the set of drive units and the secondary control unit, as well as between each consecutive pair of the drive units between the first drive unit and the last drive unit; and the secondary control unit is further configured to identify any single faulty said galvanic connection of the set of galvanic connections by
Litovtchenko on the other hand teaches teach a secondary control unit configured to control operation of each said drive unit in the set of drive units and a set of galvanic connections connecting the drive units in the set of drive units in a loop configuration in which the secondary control unit is included, wherein each said galvanic connection in the set of galvanic connections is bi- directional enabling signals to pass in both directions (Page 2, Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraphs 5, 6; Page 4, Last Paragraph; Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 6, Paragraph 4)
Therefore, decoupling parallel mode (DPM) is operation mode of two or more cores independently to perform different tasks. redundancy mode is an operation mode of two or more core performing the same tasks in a redundant manner. In many existing system, possibly by restarting (resetting) system to switch between the two modes.[Pg 2, P-6]
the first processing unit 12 may include a set of first state element 18. the second processing unit 14 may include a group of second state element 20. said a group of synchronous data line 34 can be operable in a manner that a pair of the first state element 18 is connected to the second state element 20. control unit 16 can be operated in response to the synchronization request to control the first processing unit 12, second processing unit 14 and the synchronous data line 34 to via the synchronous data wire 34 the state of the first state element 18 copied to the second state element 20 in parallel.[Pg 3, P-5]
synchronizing each of the data lines 34 may comprise, for example, the multiplexer 36, the multiplexer 36 has an output 42, the output 42 is connected to the second input 20 of state element of 24, normal data input 38, and synchronizing the data input 40, the synchronous data input 40 is connected to the second state element 20. the corresponding multiplexer 36 may be integrated to the second processing unit 14.[Pg 3, P-6]
In order from decoupling parallel mode to redundant mode, must ensure the processing unit with the same initial state. If the redundancy mode is lockstep mode, it must ensure the processing unit have the same initial state at the same initial clock cycle. In other words, the processing unit requires is synchronized before the lockstep mode operation [Pg 4, Last Pgh]
in the example shown, each synchronous data wire 34 may include a multiplexer 36. Each multiplexer 36 may have a normal data input 38, synchronous data input 40 and a multiplexer output 42. each multiplexer output 42 may be connected to corresponding 20 data input of state element 24. each of the normal data input 38 can be directly or indirectly connected to the data output 28 of the state element 20 and/or the second processing unit in the other nodes 14. Therefore, when the multiplexer 36 each of normal data input 38 is connected to the corresponding data input 24, state element 20 may be interconnected to form similar to the logic of the logic provided by the first state element 18 of the first processing unit 12. In addition, each of the synchronous data input 40 may be connected to the first processing unit 12 corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18. when the given multiplexer 36 of multiplexer output 42 is connected to synchronous data input 40 of the multiplexer 36 of the micorcavities, corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18 can thus be connected to the corresponding second data input 24 of the state element 20. it can establish the synchronous connection between corresponding first state element 18 and the corresponding second state element 20. [Pg 5, P-6]
a mode signal MODE may for example indicate a normal operation mode. normal operation mode is a mode in which such as processing unit 12 and processing unit 14 is operable to process a plurality of processing unit is normal mode of data. a normal operating mode such as decoupling parallel mode or redundant mode. in response to the mode signal MODE indicating the normal operation mode, the control unit 16 may be a multiplexer control signal MUX CTL control target processing unit of multiplexer 36 to multiplexer output 42 is connected, so that the corresponding second data input of the state element 20 24 is connected to the normal data input 38. Under the normal operation mode, the second data input of the state element 20 24 may be connected to the second processing unit 14 in the node.[Pg 6, P-4]
Here, we see Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Furthermore, when taken in conjunction with Walachowski modified via Hao (above) teaching of clockwise and anticlockwise signal transmission within a ring/loop network of node/drive units to be able to detect potential faults within communication amongst the nodes/drive units [Pg 5, P-1, Hao], then the combination may enable one of ordinary skill in the art to transmit multiple successive signals (a third signal) in a clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and further transmit multiple successive signals (a fourth signal) in a counter clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and checking how far each of the third and fourth signals can be transmitted through the loop configuration in the clockwise and counter clock wise direction respectively without being interrupted by the single faulty galvanic connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Litovtchenko’s teaching with Walachowski modified’s teaching in order to have a more cost effective method to determine potential faults within transmission channels.
In regards to claim 14, Walachowski modified teaches the primary control unit is configured to obtain status information via the ring network, which said status information reflects at least one operation condition of the drive units in the set of drive units (Page 7, lines 32-Page 8, line 25; Page 11, line 29-Page 12, line 8, Walachowski )
The control unit 220 is configured to control the operation of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. Inter alia, this means that the control unit 220 is configured to receive the pace signals p 11 , p 12 ; p21 , p22; p31 , p32; p41 , p42 and p51 , p52 from each of the first and second drive motors 341 and 342 in each of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. The control unit 220 is further configured to compare the pace signal p41 from the first drive motor 341 with the pace signal p42 from the second drive motor 342 from each drive unit 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245 to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit 220 is configured to trigger an alarm A. The alarm A may be expressed in the form of an acoustic and/or optic signal adapted to warn an operator. Alternatively or additionally, the alarm may also be represented by a signal, which is transmitted wirelessly or by cable to a surveillance unit where it is configured to provide notification to a user and/or to be registered in an automatic recording means, e.g. a data log.[Pg 7, ln 32-Pg 8, ln 15]
In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably configured to cause the platform 130 to stop, at least temporarily until the measures have been taken to overcome the problem that caused the alarm A to be generated. In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably further configured to send a control signal to each drive units whose pace signals triggered the alarm A. Assuming that it was the pace signals p41 and p42 from the drive unit 244 that caused the alarm to be triggered, the control unit 220 thus sends the control signal C4 to this drive unit 244. The control signal C4 is configured to cause the drive unit 244 to be disengaged from the drive rail 230.[Pg 8, ln 16-25]
In step 640, an alarm is triggered, which indicates a functionality problem in at least one drive unit. Preferably, the alarm also specifies the drive unit(s) that caused the alarm to be triggered. In a preferred embodiment of the invention, a step 650 follows after step 640. In step 650, in response to the alarm, a control signal is sent to each drive unit that caused the alarm to be triggered, which control signal is configured to result in that the drive unit in question is disengaged from the drive rail of the rotating platform. Thus, the rotary milking parlor can continue to be operated, at least temporarily, for example while emptying the rotating platform of animals.[Pg 11, ln 29-Pg 12, ln 8]
Here we see, harp on the malfunctioning drive component disengaging from the drive device, by having an alarm system communicatively coupled to the drive units to detect malfunction, would indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art the obtaining/monitoring of status of operation.
Walachowski further teaches the arrangement further comprises a central communication link interconnecting the primary and secondary control units, and the primary control unit is further configured to repeatedly transmit the status information to the secondary control unit via the central communication link (Page 7, lines 32-Page 8, line 15, Walachowski)
The control unit 220 is configured to control the operation of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. Inter alia, this means that the control unit 220 is configured to receive the pace signals p 11 , p 12 ; p21 , p22; p31 , p32; p41 , p42 and p51 , p52 from each of the first and second drive motors 341 and 342 in each of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. The control unit 220 is further configured to compare the pace signal p41 from the first drive motor 341 with the pace signal p42 from the second drive motor 342 from each drive unit 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245 to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit 220 is configured to trigger an alarm A. The alarm A may be expressed in the form of an acoustic and/or optic signal adapted to warn an operator. Alternatively or additionally, the alarm may also be represented by a signal, which is transmitted wirelessly or by cable to a surveillance unit where it is configured to provide notification to a user and/or to be registered in an automatic recording means, e.g. a data log.[Pg 7, ln 32-Pg 8, ln 15]
In regards to claim 15, Walachowski modified teaches the at least one operation condition reflected by the status information comprises a respective indicator for each said drive unit in the set of drive units which respective indicator specifies whether the corresponding said drive unit operates with an acceptable level of performance (Page 7, lines 32-Page 8, line 25; Page 11, line 29-Page 12, line 8, Walachowski)
The control unit 220 is configured to control the operation of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. Inter alia, this means that the control unit 220 is configured to receive the pace signals p 11 , p 12 ; p21 , p22; p31 , p32; p41 , p42 and p51 , p52 from each of the first and second drive motors 341 and 342 in each of the drive units 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245. The control unit 220 is further configured to compare the pace signal p41 from the first drive motor 341 with the pace signal p42 from the second drive motor 342 from each drive unit 241 , 242, 243, 244 and 245 to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit 220 is configured to trigger an alarm A. The alarm A may be expressed in the form of an acoustic and/or optic signal adapted to warn an operator. Alternatively or additionally, the alarm may also be represented by a signal, which is transmitted wirelessly or by cable to a surveillance unit where it is configured to provide notification to a user and/or to be registered in an automatic recording means, e.g. a data log.[Pg 7, ln 32-Pg 8, ln 15]
In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably configured to cause the platform 130 to stop, at least temporarily until the measures have been taken to overcome the problem that caused the alarm A to be generated. In response to the alarm A, the control unit 220 is preferably further configured to send a control signal to each drive units whose pace signals triggered the alarm A. Assuming that it was the pace signals p41 and p42 from the drive unit 244 that caused the alarm to be triggered, the control unit 220 thus sends the control signal C4 to this drive unit 244. The control signal C4 is configured to cause the drive unit 244 to be disengaged from the drive rail 230.[Pg 8, ln 16-25]
In step 640, an alarm is triggered, which indicates a functionality problem in at least one drive unit. Preferably, the alarm also specifies the drive unit(s) that caused the alarm to be triggered. In a preferred embodiment of the invention, a step 650 follows after step 640. In step 650, in response to the alarm, a control signal is sent to each drive unit that caused the alarm to be triggered, which control signal is configured to result in that the drive unit in question is disengaged from the drive rail of the rotating platform. Thus, the rotary milking parlor can continue to be operated, at least temporarily, for example while emptying the rotating platform of animals.[Pg 11, ln 29-Pg 12, ln 8]
In regards to claim 16, Walachowski modified the primary and secondary control units is configured to cause the rotating platform to move at a rotation speed up to a threshold speed assigned based on a functioning number designating how many of the drive units in the set of drive units that operate with the acceptable level of performance, the threshold speed being assigned a maximum value only if the functioning number designates that all of the drive units in the set of drive units operate with the acceptable level of performance.(Page 2, line 21-Page 3, line 15; Page 5, line 13-Page 6, line 1, Walachowski)
According to one aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a system for controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement, which includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during mil- king. The system also has at least one drive unit and a control unit configured to control the operation of the at least one drive unit. The at least one drive unit is configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. Each of the at least one drive unit, in turn, contains first and second drive motors arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail, so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is con- figured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The control unit is configured to receive the pace signals from each of the first and second drive motors in each of the at least one drive unit. The control unit is further configured to compare the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each of the at least one drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit is configured to trigger an alarm. Depending on the current state of the system, the alarm, in turn, may lead to different results. As an initial measure, if the alarm is generated, it is normally appropriate to stop the platform, at least temporarily. In many cases, however, it is possible to continue to operate the platform also after an alarm, provided that ap- propriate measures are taken in response thereto. [Pg 2, ln 21-Pg 3, ln 15]
According to another aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a method of controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement that includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during milking. It is further presumed that the system contains at least one drive unit configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. The method involves controlling the operation of the at least one drive unit. It is further presumed that each of the at least one drive unit contains first and second drive motors being arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is configured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The method further involves: receiving the pace signals from each of said first and second drive motors in each drive unit; comparing the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds in each of said at least one drive unit; and if the difference exceeds a threshold value, triggering an alarm. The advantages of this method, as well as the preferred embodiments thereof, are apparent from the discussion above with reference to the system. [Pg 5, ln 13- Pg 6, ln 1]
In regards to claim 17, Walachowski modified teaches first user interface configured to convey a first set of operating commands to the primary control unit, which said first set of operating commands are configured to control a movement of the rotating platform via signaling over the ring network to the set of drive units, and a second user interface configured to convey a second set of operating commands to the primary control unit and the secondary control unit, which said second set of operating commands are configured to control the movement of the rotating platform via signaling through the primary control unit over the ring network to the set of drive units, and via signaling through the secondary control unit over the loop configuration to the set of drive units. (Page 2, line 16-Page 13, line 12, Walachowski)
According to one aspect of the invention, the object is achieved by a system for controlling a rotary milking parlor arrangement, which includes a rotating platform with a plurality of stalls each of which is configured to house a respective animal during mil- king. The system also has at least one drive unit and a control unit configured to control the operation of the at least one drive unit. The at least one drive unit is configured to cause the rotating platform to move in at least a first direction of rotation around a rotation point. Each of the at least one drive unit, in turn, contains first and second drive motors arranged to engage a drive rail of the rotating platform and act on a respective side of the drive rail, so as to cause the rotating platform to perform said movement. Each of the first and second drive motors is con- figured produce a respective pace signal indicating a rotational speed of the drive motor in question. The control unit is configured to receive the pace signals from each of the first and second drive motors in each of the at least one drive unit. The control unit is further configured to compare the pace signal from the first drive motor with the pace signal from the second drive motor from each of the at least one drive unit to establish a respective difference in the rotational speeds. If the difference exceeds a threshold value, the control unit is configured to trigger an alarm. Depending on the current state of the system, the alarm, in turn, may lead to different results. As an initial measure, if the alarm is generated, it is normally appropriate to stop the platform, at least temporarily. In many cases, however, it is possible to continue to operate the platform also after an alarm, provided that ap- propriate measures are taken in response thereto. [Pg 2, ln 21-Pg 3, ln 15]
Walachowski teaches the signal(s) is configured to provide a notification to the user and/or to register in an automatically recorded manner/data log. Thereby, enabling the plurality of user interfaces and to send instructions through the user interface(s) for operating the device or accept instructions for viewing the status of the device.
In regards to claim 18, Walachowski modified via Litovtchenko the secondary control unit is configured to be activated exclusively if the primary control unit suffers from a malfunction affecting the primary control unit's capability to control the movement of the rotating platform. (Page 2, Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraphs 5, 6; Page 4, Last Paragraph; Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 6, Paragraph 4)
Therefore, decoupling parallel mode (DPM) is operation mode of two or more cores independently to perform different tasks. redundancy mode is an operation mode of two or more core performing the same tasks in a redundant manner. In many existing system, possibly by restarting (resetting) system to switch between the two modes.[Pg 2, P-6]
the first processing unit 12 may include a set of first state element 18. the second processing unit 14 may include a group of second state element 20. said a group of synchronous data line 34 can be operable in a manner that a pair of the first state element 18 is connected to the second state element 20. control unit 16 can be operated in response to the synchronization request to control the first processing unit 12, second processing unit 14 and the synchronous data line 34 to via the synchronous data wire 34 the state of the first state element 18 copied to the second state element 20 in parallel.[Pg 3, P-5]
synchronizing each of the data lines 34 may comprise, for example, the multiplexer 36, the multiplexer 36 has an output 42, the output 42 is connected to the second input 20 of state element of 24, normal data input 38, and synchronizing the data input 40, the synchronous data input 40 is connected to the second state element 20. the corresponding multiplexer 36 may be integrated to the second processing unit 14.[Pg 3, P-6]
In order from decoupling parallel mode to redundant mode, must ensure the processing unit with the same initial state. If the redundancy mode is lockstep mode, it must ensure the processing unit have the same initial state at the same initial clock cycle. In other words, the processing unit requires is synchronized before the lockstep mode operation [Pg 4, Last Pgh]
in the example shown, each synchronous data wire 34 may include a multiplexer 36. Each multiplexer 36 may have a normal data input 38, synchronous data input 40 and a multiplexer output 42. each multiplexer output 42 may be connected to corresponding 20 data input of state element 24. each of the normal data input 38 can be directly or indirectly connected to the data output 28 of the state element 20 and/or the second processing unit in the other nodes 14. Therefore, when the multiplexer 36 each of normal data input 38 is connected to the corresponding data input 24, state element 20 may be interconnected to form similar to the logic of the logic provided by the first state element 18 of the first processing unit 12. In addition, each of the synchronous data input 40 may be connected to the first processing unit 12 corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18. when the given multiplexer 36 of multiplexer output 42 is connected to synchronous data input 40 of the multiplexer 36 of the micorcavities, corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18 can thus be connected to the corresponding second data input 24 of the state element 20. it can establish the synchronous connection between corresponding first state element 18 and the corresponding second state element 20. [Pg 5, P-6]
a mode signal MODE may for example indicate a normal operation mode. normal operation mode is a mode in which such as processing unit 12 and processing unit 14 is operable to process a plurality of processing unit is normal mode of data. a normal operating mode such as decoupling parallel mode or redundant mode. in response to the mode signal MODE indicating the normal operation mode, the control unit 16 may be a multiplexer control signal MUX CTL control target processing unit of multiplexer 36 to multiplexer output 42 is connected, so that the corresponding second data input of the state element 20 24 is connected to the normal data input 38. Under the normal operation mode, the second data input of the state element 20 24 may be connected to the second processing unit 14 in the node.[Pg 6, P-4]
Here, we see Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Claim(s) 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walachowski et al. (WO 2021066719 A1) in view of Hao et al. (CN 108270488 A) and Litovtchenko et al. (CN 103703427 B) as applied to claim 4, 13 above, and further in view of Konisihi et al. (WO 2006075403 A1).
In regards to claim 22, Walachowski modified fails to teach a given one of the drive units is configured to :receive said third signal by a first said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said third signal in a clockwise direction along the loop configuration via a second said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected
Konisihi on the other hand teaches a given one of the drive units is configured to :receive said third signal by a first said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said third signal in a clockwise direction along the loop configuration via a second said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected(Page 2, Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraphs 5, 6; Page 4, Last Paragraph; Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 6, Paragraph 4)
Therefore, decoupling parallel mode (DPM) is operation mode of two or more cores independently to perform different tasks. redundancy mode is an operation mode of two or more core performing the same tasks in a redundant manner. In many existing system, possibly by restarting (resetting) system to switch between the two modes.[Pg 2, P-6]
the first processing unit 12 may include a set of first state element 18. the second processing unit 14 may include a group of second state element 20. said a group of synchronous data line 34 can be operable in a manner that a pair of the first state element 18 is connected to the second state element 20. control unit 16 can be operated in response to the synchronization request to control the first processing unit 12, second processing unit 14 and the synchronous data line 34 to via the synchronous data wire 34 the state of the first state element 18 copied to the second state element 20 in parallel.[Pg 3, P-5]
synchronizing each of the data lines 34 may comprise, for example, the multiplexer 36, the multiplexer 36 has an output 42, the output 42 is connected to the second input 20 of state element of 24, normal data input 38, and synchronizing the data input 40, the synchronous data input 40 is connected to the second state element 20. the corresponding multiplexer 36 may be integrated to the second processing unit 14.[Pg 3, P-6]
In order from decoupling parallel mode to redundant mode, must ensure the processing unit with the same initial state. If the redundancy mode is lockstep mode, it must ensure the processing unit have the same initial state at the same initial clock cycle. In other words, the processing unit requires is synchronized before the lockstep mode operation [Pg 4, Last Pgh]
in the example shown, each synchronous data wire 34 may include a multiplexer 36. Each multiplexer 36 may have a normal data input 38, synchronous data input 40 and a multiplexer output 42. each multiplexer output 42 may be connected to corresponding 20 data input of state element 24. each of the normal data input 38 can be directly or indirectly connected to the data output 28 of the state element 20 and/or the second processing unit in the other nodes 14. Therefore, when the multiplexer 36 each of normal data input 38 is connected to the corresponding data input 24, state element 20 may be interconnected to form similar to the logic of the logic provided by the first state element 18 of the first processing unit 12. In addition, each of the synchronous data input 40 may be connected to the first processing unit 12 corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18. when the given multiplexer 36 of multiplexer output 42 is connected to synchronous data input 40 of the multiplexer 36 of the micorcavities, corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18 can thus be connected to the corresponding second data input 24 of the state element 20. it can establish the synchronous connection between corresponding first state element 18 and the corresponding second state element 20. [Pg 5, P-6]
a mode signal MODE may for example indicate a normal operation mode. normal operation mode is a mode in which such as processing unit 12 and processing unit 14 is operable to process a plurality of processing unit is normal mode of data. a normal operating mode such as decoupling parallel mode or redundant mode. in response to the mode signal MODE indicating the normal operation mode, the control unit 16 may be a multiplexer control signal MUX CTL control target processing unit of multiplexer 36 to multiplexer output 42 is connected, so that the corresponding second data input of the state element 20 24 is connected to the normal data input 38. Under the normal operation mode, the second data input of the state element 20 24 may be connected to the second processing unit 14 in the node.[Pg 6, P-4]
Here, we see Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Furthermore, when taken in conjunction with Walachowski modified via Hao (above) teaching of clockwise and anticlockwise signal transmission within a ring/loop network of node/drive units to be able to detect potential faults within communication amongst the nodes/drive units [Pg 5, P-1, Hao], then the combination may enable one of ordinary skill in the art to transmit multiple successive signals (a third signal) in a clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and further transmit multiple successive signals (a fourth signal) in a counter clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and checking how far each of the third and fourth signals can be transmitted through the loop configuration in the clockwise and counter clock wise direction respectively without being interrupted by the single faulty galvanic connection, such that it may determine whether the third signal transmitted via the second galvanic connection has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the loop configuration in the clockwise direction; and when determining that the third signal transmitted via the second galvanic connection has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the loop configuration in the clockwise direction, transmit a first error message in the counterclockwise direction around the loop configuration to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second galvanic connection is the faulty galvanic connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Konisihi’s teaching with Walachowski modified’s teaching in order to have a more cost effective method to determine potential faults within transmission channels.
Furthermore, taking into account Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Furthermore, when taken in conjunction with Walachowski modified via Hao (above) teaching of clockwise and anticlockwise signal transmission within a ring/loop network of node/drive units to be able to detect potential faults within communication amongst the nodes/drive units [Pg 5, P-1, Hao], then the combination may enable one of ordinary skill in the art to enable scenarios, where each given one of the drive units is also configured to: receive said fourth signal by the second galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said fourth signal in a counterclockwise direction along the loop configuration via the first galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; determine whether the fourth signal transmitted via the first galvanic connection has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the loop configuration in the counterclockwise direction; and when determining that the fourth signal transmitted via the first galvanic connection has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the loop configuration in the counterclockwise direction, transmit a second error message in the clockwise direction around the loop configuration to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the first galvanic connection is the faulty galvanic connection, and. wherein each given one of the drive units is also configured to: upon receiving the first error message, transmitting the first error message along the loop configuration in the counterclockwise direction, and upon receiving the second error message, transmitting the second error message along the loop configuration in the clockwise direction.
In regards to claim 24, Walachowski modified fails to teach a given one of the drive units is configured to :receive said third signal by a first said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said third signal in a clockwise direction along the loop configuration via a second said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected
Konisihi on the other hand teaches a given one of the drive units is configured to :receive said third signal by a first said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said third signal in a clockwise direction along the loop configuration via a second said galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected(Page 2, Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraphs 5, 6; Page 4, Last Paragraph; Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 6, Paragraph 4)
Therefore, decoupling parallel mode (DPM) is operation mode of two or more cores independently to perform different tasks. redundancy mode is an operation mode of two or more core performing the same tasks in a redundant manner. In many existing system, possibly by restarting (resetting) system to switch between the two modes.[Pg 2, P-6]
the first processing unit 12 may include a set of first state element 18. the second processing unit 14 may include a group of second state element 20. said a group of synchronous data line 34 can be operable in a manner that a pair of the first state element 18 is connected to the second state element 20. control unit 16 can be operated in response to the synchronization request to control the first processing unit 12, second processing unit 14 and the synchronous data line 34 to via the synchronous data wire 34 the state of the first state element 18 copied to the second state element 20 in parallel.[Pg 3, P-5]
synchronizing each of the data lines 34 may comprise, for example, the multiplexer 36, the multiplexer 36 has an output 42, the output 42 is connected to the second input 20 of state element of 24, normal data input 38, and synchronizing the data input 40, the synchronous data input 40 is connected to the second state element 20. the corresponding multiplexer 36 may be integrated to the second processing unit 14.[Pg 3, P-6]
In order from decoupling parallel mode to redundant mode, must ensure the processing unit with the same initial state. If the redundancy mode is lockstep mode, it must ensure the processing unit have the same initial state at the same initial clock cycle. In other words, the processing unit requires is synchronized before the lockstep mode operation [Pg 4, Last Pgh]
in the example shown, each synchronous data wire 34 may include a multiplexer 36. Each multiplexer 36 may have a normal data input 38, synchronous data input 40 and a multiplexer output 42. each multiplexer output 42 may be connected to corresponding 20 data input of state element 24. each of the normal data input 38 can be directly or indirectly connected to the data output 28 of the state element 20 and/or the second processing unit in the other nodes 14. Therefore, when the multiplexer 36 each of normal data input 38 is connected to the corresponding data input 24, state element 20 may be interconnected to form similar to the logic of the logic provided by the first state element 18 of the first processing unit 12. In addition, each of the synchronous data input 40 may be connected to the first processing unit 12 corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18. when the given multiplexer 36 of multiplexer output 42 is connected to synchronous data input 40 of the multiplexer 36 of the micorcavities, corresponding to the data output 26 of the state element 18 can thus be connected to the corresponding second data input 24 of the state element 20. it can establish the synchronous connection between corresponding first state element 18 and the corresponding second state element 20. [Pg 5, P-6]
a mode signal MODE may for example indicate a normal operation mode. normal operation mode is a mode in which such as processing unit 12 and processing unit 14 is operable to process a plurality of processing unit is normal mode of data. a normal operating mode such as decoupling parallel mode or redundant mode. in response to the mode signal MODE indicating the normal operation mode, the control unit 16 may be a multiplexer control signal MUX CTL control target processing unit of multiplexer 36 to multiplexer output 42 is connected, so that the corresponding second data input of the state element 20 24 is connected to the normal data input 38. Under the normal operation mode, the second data input of the state element 20 24 may be connected to the second processing unit 14 in the node.[Pg 6, P-4]
Here, we see Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Furthermore, when taken in conjunction with Walachowski modified via Hao (above) teaching of clockwise and anticlockwise signal transmission within a ring/loop network of node/drive units to be able to detect potential faults within communication amongst the nodes/drive units [Pg 5, P-1, Hao], then the combination may enable one of ordinary skill in the art to transmit multiple successive signals (a third signal) in a clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and further transmit multiple successive signals (a fourth signal) in a counter clockwise direction through the loop configuration, and checking how far each of the third and fourth signals can be transmitted through the loop configuration in the clockwise and counter clock wise direction respectively without being interrupted by the single faulty galvanic connection, such that it may determine whether the third signal transmitted via the second galvanic connection has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the loop configuration in the clockwise direction; and when determining that the third signal transmitted via the second galvanic connection has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the loop configuration in the clockwise direction, transmit a first error message in the counterclockwise direction around the loop configuration to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the second galvanic connection is the faulty galvanic connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Konisihi’s teaching with Walachowski modified’s teaching in order to have a more cost effective method to determine potential faults within transmission channels.
Furthermore, taking into account Litovtchenko teach a control system configured as dual machine redundant decoupling, a redundant control unit consisting of two processing/control modules running in parallel. Thereby, when one of the modules fails, redundant modules still provide continuous operation, both modules receiving and processing information synchronously. Both control modules are necessarily connected in a consistent manner with a synchronous communication connection between the two.
Furthermore, when taken in conjunction with Walachowski modified via Hao (above) teaching of clockwise and anticlockwise signal transmission within a ring/loop network of node/drive units to be able to detect potential faults within communication amongst the nodes/drive units [Pg 5, P-1, Hao], then the combination may enable one of ordinary skill in the art to enable scenarios, where each given one of the drive units is also configured to: receive said fourth signal by the second galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; transmit said fourth signal in a counterclockwise direction along the loop configuration via the first galvanic connection to which the given drive unit is connected; determine whether the fourth signal transmitted via the first galvanic connection has been received by a neighboring said drive unit in the loop configuration in the counterclockwise direction; and when determining that the fourth signal transmitted via the first galvanic connection has not been received by the neighboring drive unit in the loop configuration in the counterclockwise direction, transmit a second error message in the clockwise direction around the loop configuration to the primary control unit identifying the given drive unit and indicating that the first galvanic connection is the faulty galvanic connection, and. wherein each given one of the drive units is also configured to: upon receiving the first error message, transmitting the first error message along the loop configuration in the counterclockwise direction, and upon receiving the second error message, transmitting the second error message along the loop configuration in the clockwise direction.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686