DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application and Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending and under consideration in this action. Claims 15-18 are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 9-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4, 9-10, 12-14 recitation of “% of the solution” is without unit and/or base amount. It is not clear if the percentage is based on the total weight, amount or volume of the composition or based on part of the composition.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the isopropyl alcohol and sodium bicarbonate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Modak et al. (WO 2013066403 A1; published 10 May 2013; filed 9 May 2012).
Instant claim 1 recites “a nanometric protective solution for application to plants comprising: deionized water; silica; and rosemary”, which is drawn to a composition comprising deionized water; silica; and rosemary oil. Both the “nanometric” and “protective solution for application to plants” have no bearing on the structure of the composition, and therefore have no patentable weight.
Regarding the recitation “protective solution for application to plants”, Modak et al. (herein after referred to as Modak) teaches a pesticide as a suitable embodiment for the composition (p. 10 line 19).
Regarding the claim limitation “deionized water”, Modak teaches water as a part of a composition ( p. 67 line 23). Modak further teaches that the water used in the described formulations is preferably deionized water (p. 66 line 11).
Regarding the claim limitation “silica”, Modak teaches the composition may comprise a thickening and/or gelling agent such as hydrated silica (p. 20 line 3).
Regarding the claim limitation “rosemary oil”, Modak teaches an embodiment of the composition comprising rosemary oil ( p. 67 line 5).
Regarding claim 10, Modak teaches an embodiment of the composition comprising rosemary oil in an amount of 0.1% (w/w) (p. 67 line 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Modak et al. (WO 2013066403 A1; published 10 May 2013; filed 9 May 2012), in further view of United States Environmental Protection Agency. “Silicon Dioxide and Silica Gel.” (Published September 1991) and Hodgson, Larry. “Using Alcohol to Control Pests.” (published 3 March 2016).
The teachings of Modak are discussed above.
Modak does not explicitly teach a composition wherein (i) the silica is less than 10% of the solution of claim 2 (ii) the silica is between 1% and 10% of the solution of claim 3; (ii) the silica is less than 5% of the solution of claim 4; Modak does not explicitly exemplify a composition further comprising isopropyl alcohol and sodium bicarbonate of claim 8.
However, Modak teaches a composition in which hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose and derivatives is present in the amount of 0.1-1% (p. 67 line 25). Hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose is taught to be a suitable thickening and gelling agent for the composition. Additionally, hydrated silica is also taught as a suitable thickening and gelling agent for the composition (p. 20 line 3).
Regarding claim 8, Modak teaches the composition may comprise a solvent and names alcohols such as isopropyl alcohol as a suitable solvent for the composition (p. 70 line 20). Modak teaches an embodiment of the composition wherein benzyl alcohol is present in the composition in the amount of 0.1 % w/w (p. 67 line 15).
Further, Modak teaches the composition may comprise sodium bicarbonate (p. 71 line 3).
The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) teaches that silicone dioxide (silica) is diatomaceous earth (p. 1). The EPA further teaches silicone dioxide (silica) is generally recognized as safe as a food additive (reads on food safe)(p. 2). The use of silicone dioxide as pesticides, and therefore suitable for use in plant protective compositions, began in 1960 (p. 2).
Hodgson teaches isopropyl alcohol (rubbing alcohol) is used as an insecticide (para. 1)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute isopropyl alcohol for butyl alcohol and include sodium bicarbonate in the composition and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It is well known in the art that alkaline solutions are preferred for biocides. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include sodium bicarbonate in the composition to improve upon the composition for the purpose of the biocide. Additionally, it would have been obvious for the substitution of isopropyl alcohol for benzyl alcohol as the solvent in the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as isopropyl alcohol is commonly used as an insecticide in plants, as evidenced by Hodgson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success, as Modak teaches alcohols such as isopropyl alcohol as suitable solvents for the composition.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute hydrated silica for hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make this substitution because silica is well known in the art for its application in plants, as evidenced by the EPA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so, as Modak teaches silica is a suitable alternative to hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose.
Claims 1-5, 6, 7, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Modak et al. (WO 2013066403 A1; published 10 May 2013; filed 9 May 2012) and United States Environmental Protection Agency. “Silicon Dioxide and Silica Gel.” (Published September 1991 and Hodgson, Larry. “Using Alcohol to Control Pests.” (published 3 March 2016). as applied to claims 1-5, 8, 10 above, and further in view of Ochomogo et al. (US 20060269441 A1; published 30 November 2006).
The teachings of Modak and the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) are discussed above.
Modak and the EPA do not explicitly teach a composition wherein the diatomaceous earth has (i) a particle size of six nanometers or less of claim 6; (ii) has a particle size of four nanometers or less of claim 7
Ochomogo et al. teaches the inclusion of silica with a particle size of 1 nm (e.g. para. 0009). Ochomogo et al. teaches the biocidal qualities of the composition were improved as a result of the particle size of the silica (para. 0030).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Modak, the EPA, and Ochomogo et al. and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so to improve the composition’s biocidal quality, as taught by Ochomogo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as silica is taught as a suitable component of the composition of Modak.
Claims 1-8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Modak et al. (WO 2013066403 A1; published 10 May 2013; filed 9 May 2012) and of Ochomogo et al. (US 20060269441 A1; published 30 November 2006), as applied to claims 1, 5-8, 10 above, and further in view of Roostaee et al. (BR 112021010369 A2; published 24 August 2022; filed 26 March 2020) and Pesaro et al. (WO 2018036625 A1; published 1 March 2018).
The teachings of Modak. the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and Ochomogo et al. are discussed above.
Modak, the EPA, and Ochomogo et al. do not explicitly teach a composition wherein the isopropyl alcohol and sodium bicarbonate are present in less than 1% of the solution of claim 9.
Roostaee et al. teaches antimicrobial and natural antifungal nanoemulsion formulation with isopropyl alcohol in the amount of 0.005% by weight (claim 26b). Roostaee et al. teaches the invention’s composition minimizes the risk of toxicity of plant disinfectants, pesticides or antimicrobials to humans and plants (para. 004).
Pesaro et al. teaches salt bicarbonates (reads on sodium bicarbonate) as suitable ingredients for the composition. The composition formulation aims to create a shelf-stable formula in order to maximize the antimicrobial ability of the solution (para. 0003). Further, Pesaro et al. teaches the alkaline salts in the composition in an amount of 0.05 % wt. (para. 00269).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Modak, the EPA, Ochomogo et al., and Roostaee et al. and arrive at the instantly claimed invention of a composition comprising isopropyl alcohol present in the amount of less than 1%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as to reduce the risk of toxicity of the composition to both humans and plants. As taught by Roostaee et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as isopropyl alcohol was taught as a suitable component of the composition of Modak. Additionally, isopropyl alcohol is known to be toxic to humans upon ingestion. Therefore, a smaller amount of isopropyl alcohol would likely reduce the toxicity.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Modak, the EPA, Ochomogo et al., and Roostaee et al. and arrive at the instantly claimed invention of a composition comprising sodium bicarbonate present in the amount of less than 1%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to improve the antimicrobial properties of the solution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-14 are free of the prior art searched.
Conclusion
Claims 1-10; 12-14 are rejected. Claims 11 is objected to.
/Olivia Anne MacMillan/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616