DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/23/2026. Claims 1-30 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2026 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, has been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-26, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Basu WIPO International Publication Number No.:( WO 2017/015788 A1) hereinafter referred as Basu, in view of Inokuchi et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2020/0305165 A1) hereinafter referred as Inokuchi.
For claim 1, Basu teaches a method for wireless communication at a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting one or more discovery messages associated with establishing a sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE (see 1 and 2 of figure 17 above)(page 31, lines 1-2 and 14-16 discloses the transmission of the discovery messages depending of the relay where the relay user equipment is capable to perform direct communication over a direct sidelink connection respectively with one or more remote user equipment) and a remote UE having a reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE (page 3, lines 17-20) (page 31, lines 16-19 discloses the relay user equipment is connected to a radio base station in the mobile communication network and is further capable to serve as a relay respectively for the one or more remote user equipment so as to relay communication between the one or more remote user equipment and the radio base station). However, Basu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 1.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE ( Paragraph [0029] lines 3-8 disclosing the processor is configured to adjust a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for device-to-device (D2D) transmission from a remote terminal to a relay terminal based on an amount of pending uplink data in the relay terminal to be transmitted from the relay terminal to a base station) ( Paragraph [0062] lines 1-7); and
establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth 5G NR which is designed to optimize performance and energy efficiency for a better communication.
For claim 2, Basu teaches the method, wherein transmitting the one or more discovery messages comprises: transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the reduced communication bandwidth (page 12, lines 13-19).
For claim 3, Basu discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 3.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transmitting the discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE for a better communication.
For claim 5, Basu teaches the method, 5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting an indication, to a base station, indicating that the remote UE has the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8).
For claim 6, Basu teaches the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication via a dedicated radio resource control message while the relay UE is in a radio resource control connected state with the base station (page 12, lines 1-5).
For claim 7, Basu teaches the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication without transitioning to a radio resource control connected state while the relay UE is in a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state with the base station (page 19, lines 6-12 and 21-22).
For claim 8, Basu teaches the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication via a dedicated logical channel identifier that is configured for indicating that the remote UE has the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE (page 26, lines 19-26).
For claim 9, Basu teaches the method, wherein transmitting the indication comprises: transmitting the indication via a radio resource control message associated with the relay UE establishing or resuming a communication link with the base station (page 19, lines 1-3).
For claim 10, Basu teaches the method, wherein transmitting the one or more discovery messages comprises: transmitting a cell barring indication in the one or more discovery messages, the cell barring indication indicating one or more receiving chains for the remote UE (page 5, lines 1-5).
For claim 11, Basu teaches the method, wherein: the remote UE is configured with one or more reduced capabilities relative to the relay UE; and the one or more reduced capabilities comprise a limitation on a maximum number of data radio bearers, a lack of support for carrier aggregation, a lack of support for dual connectivity, a limitation on a number of supported receiver chains, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 23-32).
For claim 12, Basu teaches the method, wherein the sidelink relay communication link is a PC5 communication link (page 10, lines 3-4 and lines 7).
For claim 14, Basu teaches a method for wireless communication at a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving one or more discovery messages associated with establishing a sidelink relay communication link between a relay UE and the remote UE (see 1 and 2 of figure 17 above)(page 31, lines 1-2 and 14-16 discloses the transmission of the discovery messages depending of the relay where the relay user equipment is capable to perform direct communication over a direct sidelink connection respectively with one or more remote user equipment), wherein the remote UE has a reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE (page 3, lines 17-20) (page 31, lines 16-19 discloses the relay user equipment is connected to a radio base station in the mobile communication network and is further capable to serve as a relay respectively for the one or more remote user equipment so as to relay communication between the one or more remote user equipment and the radio base station). However, Basu discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and
establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 14.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE( Paragraph [0029] lines 3-8 disclosing the processor is configured to adjust a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for device-to-device (D2D) transmission from a remote terminal to a relay terminal based on an amount of pending uplink data in the relay terminal to be transmitted from the relay terminal to a base station) ( Paragraph [0062] lines 1-7); and
establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station 3 may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and
establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and
establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and
establishing, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth 5G NR which is designed to optimize performance and energy efficiency for a better communication.
For claim 15, Basu discloses the method, wherein receiving the one or more discovery messages comprises: receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the reduced communication bandwidth (page 12, lines 13-19).
For claim 16, Basu discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 16.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving the discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE for better communication.
For claim 18, Basu teaches the method, wherein receiving the one or more discovery messages comprises: receiving a cell barring indication in the one or more discovery messages, the cell barring indication indicating one or more receiving chains for the remote UE (page 5, lines 1-5).
For claim 19, Basu teaches the method, further comprising: selecting the relay UE for establishing the sidelink relay communication link based at least in part on the relay UE supporting the reduced communication bandwidth for a sidelink communication, the relay UE supporting the reduced communication bandwidth for a communication link with a base station, or a combination thereof (page 3, lines 17-20) (page 31, lines 16-19 ).
For claim 21, Basu teaches the method, wherein: the remote UE is configured with one or more reduced capabilities relative to the relay UE; and the one or more reduced capabilities comprise a limitation on a maximum number of data radio bearers, a lack of support for carrier aggregation, a lack of support for dual connectivity, a limitation on a number of supported receiver chains, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 23-32).
For claim 22, Basu teaches the method, wherein the sidelink relay communication link is a PC5 communication link (page 10, lines 3-4 and lines 7).
For claim 24, Basu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor;
memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit one or more discovery messages associated with establishing a sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE(see 1 and 2 of figure 17 above)(page 31, lines 1-2 and 14-16 discloses the transmission of the discovery messages depending of the relay where the relay user equipment is capable to perform direct communication over a direct sidelink connection respectively with one or more remote user equipment) and a remote UE having a reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE (page 3, lines 17-20) (page 31, lines 16-19 discloses the relay user equipment is connected to a radio base station in the mobile communication network and is further capable to serve as a relay respectively for the one or more remote user equipment so as to relay communication between the one or more remote user equipment and the radio base station). However, Basu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 24.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE ( Paragraph [0029] lines 3-8 disclosing the processor is configured to adjust a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for device-to-device (D2D) transmission from a remote terminal to a relay terminal based on an amount of pending uplink data in the relay terminal to be transmitted from the relay terminal to a base station) ( Paragraph [0062] lines 1-7); and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth 5G NR which is designed to optimize performance and energy efficiency for a better communication.
For claim 25, Basu teaches the apparatus, wherein the instructions to transmit the one or more discovery messages are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the reduced communication bandwidth (page 12, lines 13-19).
For claim 26, Basu discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of transmitting the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 26.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the transmit the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transmit the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The transmit the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the transmit the one or more discovery messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transmit the messages with broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE for a better communication.
For claim 28, Basu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor;
memory coupled with the processor; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive one or more discovery messages associated with establishing a sidelink relay communication link between a relay UE and the remote UE (see 1 and 2 of figure 17 above)(page 31, lines 1-2 and 14-16 discloses the transmission of the discovery messages depending of the relay where the relay user equipment is capable to perform direct communication over a direct sidelink connection respectively with one or more remote user equipment), wherein the remote UE has a reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE (page 3, lines 17-20) (page 31, lines 16-19 discloses the relay user equipment is connected to a radio base station in the mobile communication network and is further capable to serve as a relay respectively for the one or more remote user equipment so as to relay communication between the one or more remote user equipment and the radio base station). However, Basu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 28.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE ( Paragraph [0029] lines 3-8 disclosing the processor is configured to adjust a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for device-to-device (D2D) transmission from a remote terminal to a relay terminal based on an amount of pending uplink data in the relay terminal to be transmitted from the relay terminal to a base station) ( Paragraph [0062] lines 1-7); and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the perform a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the relay UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE; and establish, in accordance with the communication bandwidth configuration procedure, the sidelink relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE using a reduced communication bandwidth that is less than a full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth 5G NR which is designed to optimize performance and energy efficiency for a better communication.
For claim 29, Basu teaches the apparatus, wherein the instructions to receive the one or more discovery messages are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the reduced communication bandwidth (page 12, lines 13-19).
For claim 30, Basu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as recited in claim 30.
Inokuchi from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE ( Paragraph [0065] lines 1-8 disclose the base station adjusts a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 based on the acquired buffer status metric. For example, the base station may reduce the bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for the sidelink transmission from the remote UE 1 to the relay UE 2 in response to an increase in the amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE 2.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE as taught by Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving the one or more discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Inokuchi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Inokuchi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the receiving the discovery messages over broadcast signaling in a resource pool corresponding to the full communication bandwidth allocated for the relay UE for a better communication.
Claims 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Basu WIPO International Publication Number No.:( WO 2017/015788 A1) hereinafter referred as Basu, in view of Inokuchi et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2020/0305165 A1) hereinafter referred as Inokuchi, in further view of Choi et al PCT/KR2021/010309 using as translation the US Patent Application No.:( US 2023/0189308 A1) hereinafter referred as Choi.
For claim 13, Basu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication as recited in claim 13.
Choi from the same or analogous art teaches the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication ( Abstract discloses the cell access in a wireless communication system. The present specification discloses reduced capability user equipment (UE) comprising: a communication module configured to receive configuration information for configuring a first downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and a first uplink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for an initial access procedure, receive an indicator indicating BWP access barring of first user equipment in a second UL BWP and a second DL BWP for legacy-type second user equipment, and perform, on the basis of the indicator, the initial access procedure via at least one of the first DL BWP, the first UL BWP, the second DL BWP, and the second UL BWP; and a processor that controls the reception of the configuration information, the performance of the initial access procedure, and the reception of the indicator). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication as taught by Choi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication can be modify/implemented by combining the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Choi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Choi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the discovery messages comprising a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth where it controls the communication more efficiently becoming more reliable for a better communication.
For claim 23, Basu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication as recited in claim 23.
Choi from the same or analogous art teaches the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication ( Abstract discloses the cell access in a wireless communication system. The present specification discloses reduced capability user equipment (UE) comprising: a communication module configured to receive configuration information for configuring a first downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) and a first uplink bandwidth part (BWP) to be used for an initial access procedure, receive an indicator indicating BWP access barring of first user equipment in a second UL BWP and a second DL BWP for legacy-type second user equipment, and perform, on the basis of the indicator, the initial access procedure via at least one of the first DL BWP, the first UL BWP, the second DL BWP, and the second UL BWP; and a processor that controls the reception of the configuration information, the performance of the initial access procedure, and the reception of the indicator). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication as taught by Choi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu.
The one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication can be modify/implemented by combining the one or more discovery messages comprises a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a connection with a base station, a second indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth, or both for a sidelink connection, or a combination of the first indication and the second indication with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Choi into the improved relay UE discovery for proximity services of Basu. As disclosed in Choi, the motivation for the combination would be to use the discovery messages comprising a first indication of whether the relay UE supports the reduced communication bandwidth, the full communication bandwidth where it controls the communication more efficiently becoming more reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 17, 20 and 27 are objected to being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/23/2026, with respect to claims 1, 14, 24 and 28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Basu WIPO International Publication Number No.:( WO 2017/015788 A1) hereinafter referred as Basu, in view of Inokuchi et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2020/0305165 A1) hereinafter referred as Inokuchi. Basu discloses the method for discovery of one or more relay user equipment within a mobile communication network. A relay user equipment is capable to perform direct communication over a direct sidelink connection respectively with one or more remote user equipment, and is further capable to serve as a relay respectively for the one or more remote user equipment to relay communication between the one or more remote user equipment and the radio base station. The relay user equipment determines whether an overload situation exists in the relay user equipment or not, the overload situation preventing the relay user equipment to serve as a relay for a further remote user equipment. The relay user equipment transmits a relay discovery message, at least comprising an overload indication providing information on the result of the determination as to whether the overload situation exists in the relay user equipment. Inokuchi discloses the performance between sidelink transmission from the remote terminal to the relay terminal and uplink transmission from the base station through the adjustment of the bandwidth.
Applicant asserts that Inokuchi does not teach in claims 1, 14, 24 and 28, " the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE ". However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with such assertion. (See below for further clarification).
In response to the preceding argument examiner respectfully submits that Inokuchi teaches " the performing a communication bandwidth configuration procedure with the remote UE based at least in part on the remote UE having the reduced communication bandwidth capability relative to the relay UE ". Inokuchi teaches an apparatus for controlling device-to-device communication includes a memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory. The at least one processor is configured to adjust a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for device-to-device (D2D) transmission from a remote terminal to a relay terminal based on an amount of pending uplink data in the relay terminal to be transmitted from the relay terminal to a base station as disclosed on Paragraph [00295] and The base station according to this embodiment is configured to adjust a bandwidth, throughput, or radio resource used for sidelink transmission D2D transmission from the remote UE to the relay UE, based on an amount of pending uplink data in the relay UE to be transmitted from the relay UE to the base station. Therefore, the performing of a communication bandwidth configuration which is identified as the adjusted Bandwidth with the remote device produced by the difference of the measurement in a threshold that identifies that adjustment with the remote UE based on the amount of pending uplink data relay UE and it is adjusted according network capacity to be improve whenever is diminished.
Applicant asserts on page 11 of the remarks that Inokuchi does not teach in claims 1, 14, 24 and 28, "bandwidth capabilities ". However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with such assertion. (See below for further clarification).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., bandwidth capabilities) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The prior art should be considered as a whole. See also MPEP § 2141.02 [R-5] Paragraph VI. Claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation during examination and limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim (See M.P.E.P. 2111 [R-l]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642