DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman et al. (US 20230084453, hereinafter “Hedman”) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220330139, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Hedman discloses,
A method of performing a network function (NF), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a first message requesting to register with a network slice (In step 1:the UE 212 initiates a registration towards the AMF 300. Step 2: In step 2, the AMF 300 initiates the registration procedure as depicted in 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 23.502 (see, e.g., V16.3.0). In addition, the AMF 300: derives if the UE 212 is a new entrant for counting of a network slice, Fig. 5 and [0105]-[0108]);
determining a registered indication for use with a network slice function based on UE registration data in the first message or subscription data (The AMF checks if the UE is a new entrant for counting for a network slice or is already registered and thereby counted for. In other words, upon receiving a registration request from a UE, the AMF checks whether the registration request received from the UE is applicable for update of counting for a network slice. This may occur when the UE is a new entrant to the 5G System (5GS) or when the UE is re-entering the 5GS after being in an Evolved Packet System (EPS) and the network decreases count per slice when the UE leaves to the EPS even if part of the EPS is using 5G Core (5GC) NFs. Also, this may occur when the UE is registered in the 5GS but requests a new network slice in the registration request. In such as case, the AMF checks, e.g., the previous allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) from the UE context in the AMF (or retrieved from an old AMF if there is a mobility to a new AMF) and, if the UE added a new Single NSSAI (S-NSSAI) in the requested NSSAI, then the UE is a new entrant for counting as there may be a need to count the new slice/S-NSSAI, [0059]-0060], [0068]-[0070], [0107]-[0109]); and
transmitting, to the NF, a second message requesting to modify a number of UEs registered with the network slice, the second message comprising the registered indication (When the AMF initiates a message for counting a number of UEs, e.g. at a registration request (except Periodic Registration Update), the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: [0069] a. the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides [0070] b. the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant, 0068]-[0074] and [0109]-[0112]).
However, Hedman does not explicitly disclose, transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message (transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message…..the NF 301 may transmit a slice availability request message to an NSACF 302. The NSACF 302 may be the NSACF selected based on the information received by the NF 301 from the NRF 303 in operation S325 and/or information configured in the NF 301, [0078]-[0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hedman by specifically providing transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message, as taught by Lee for the purpose of developing improved 6G communication systems have been made in order to provide a wide range of services by connecting hundreds of billions of devices and things [0003].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hedman and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Hedman discloses, wherein the registered indication comprises a value indicating a new registration or an existing registration (the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides, the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant. The NF performing the counting compares the new and old S-NSSAIs and adjusts the counting accordingly: If an S-NSSAI is or is not part of both old and new information, then no action for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of old but not new information, then the NF decreases the count for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of new but not old information, then the NF increases the count for the S-NSSAI [0068]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hedman and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Hedman discloses, in response to the network slice being part of an allowed network slice, determining that the registered indication corresponds to the existing registration; or in response to the network slice not being part of the allowed network slices, determining that the registered indication corresponds to the new registration (the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides, the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant. The NF performing the counting compares the new and old S-NSSAIs and adjusts the counting accordingly: If an S-NSSAI is or is not part of both old and new information, then no action for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of old but not new information, then the NF decreases the count for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of new but not old information, then the NF increases the count for the S-NSSAI [0068]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Hedman discloses,
An apparatus for performing a network function (NF), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (the core network node 700 includes one or more processors 704 (e.g., Central Processing Units (CPUs), Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), and/or the like), memory 706, and a network interface 708, Fig. 7 and [0122]) and configured to cause the apparatus to
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a first message requesting to register with a network slice (In step 1:the UE 212 initiates a registration towards the AMF 300. Step 2: In step 2, the AMF 300 initiates the registration procedure as depicted in 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 23.502 (see, e.g., V16.3.0). In addition, the AMF 300: derives if the UE 212 is a new entrant for counting of a network slice, Fig. 5 and [0105]-[0108]);
determine a registered indication for use with a network slice admission control function entity (NSACF) based on UE registration data in the first message or subscription data (The AMF checks if the UE is a new entrant for counting for a network slice or is already registered and thereby counted for. In other words, upon receiving a registration request from a UE, the AMF checks whether the registration request received from the UE is applicable for update of counting for a network slice. This may occur when the UE is a new entrant to the 5G System (5GS) or when the UE is re-entering the 5GS after being in an Evolved Packet System (EPS) and the network decreases count per slice when the UE leaves to the EPS even if part of the EPS is using 5G Core (5GC) NFs. Also, this may occur when the UE is registered in the 5GS but requests a new network slice in the registration request. In such as case, the AMF checks, e.g., the previous allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) from the UE context in the AMF (or retrieved from an old AMF if there is a mobility to a new AMF) and, if the UE added a new Single NSSAI (S-NSSAI) in the requested NSSAI, then the UE is a new entrant for counting as there may be a need to count the new slice/S-NSSAI, [0059]-0060], [0068]-[0070], [0107]-[0109]); and
transmit, to the NSACF, a second message requesting to modify a number of UEs registered with the network slice, the second message comprising the registered indication (When the AMF initiates a message for counting a number of UEs, e.g. at a registration request (except Periodic Registration Update), the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: [0069] a. the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant, 0068]-[0074] and [0109]-[0112]).
However, Hedman does not explicitly disclose, transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message (transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message…..the NF 301 may transmit a slice availability request message to an NSACF 302. The NSACF 302 may be the NSACF selected based on the information received by the NF 301 from the NRF 303 in operation S325 and/or information configured in the NF 301, [0078]-[0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hedman by specifically providing transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message, as taught by Lee for the purpose of developing improved 6G communication systems have been made in order to provide a wide range of services by connecting hundreds of billions of devices and things [0003]. Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hedman and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), further Hedman discloses, wherein the registered indication comprises a value indicating a new registration or an existing registration (the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides, the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant. The NF performing the counting compares the new and old S-NSSAIs and adjusts the counting accordingly: If an S-NSSAI is or is not part of both old and new information, then no action for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of old but not new information, then the NF decreases the count for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of new but not old information, then the NF increases the count for the S-NSSAI [0068]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hedman and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), further Hedman discloses,in response to the network slice being part of an allowed network slice, determining that the registered indication corresponds to the existing registration; or in response to the network slice not being part of the allowed network slices, determining that the registered indication corresponds to the new registration (the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides, the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant. The NF performing the counting compares the new and old S-NSSAIs and adjusts the counting accordingly: If an S-NSSAI is or is not part of both old and new information, then no action for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of old but not new information, then the NF decreases the count for the S-NSSAI, If an S-NSSAI is part of new but not old information, then the NF increases the count for the S-NSSAI [0068]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Hedman discloses,
A method of performing a network slice admission control function (NSACF) (The procedure of FIG. 5 utilizes any NF performing the counting with a separate request for the counting from the AMF 300 [0103]), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network function (NF) entity, a request message indicating to modify a number of user equipments (UEs) registered with a network slice (the AMF 300 initiates a request towards the NF 500 to update the count and includes in the request the current TA where the UE 212 is currently located, the old RA, and new S-NSSAIs (e.g., requested NSSAI sent by the UE 212 or the new allowed NSSAI to be sent to the UE 212 and, if available, corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values, the old allowed NSSAI, and customer ID (for the UE 212 or per S-NSSAI)). The old allowed NSSAI for the UE 212 is the allowed NSSAI for the UE 212 before the UE 212 sent the new registration request or a list of S-NSSAIs including a subset of the previously allowed NSSAIs. Note that, in general, allowed NSSAI refers to the S-NSSAIs applicable for the home network (e.g., HPLMN) while the AMF 300, and Visited PLMN (VPLMN), would use S-NSSAIs appliable for the VPLMN, [0105]-[0110]), wherein the request message includes a registered indication ((When the AMF initiates a message for counting a number of UEs, e.g. at a registration request (except Periodic Registration Update), the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: [0069] a. the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant, 0068]-[0074] and [0109]-[0112]));
determining whether to accept or reject a registration of the network slice based on the number of UEs registered with the network slice satisfying a threshold number of UEs and the registered indication (The AMF issues a request to the NF performing the counting with the purpose to increase or decrease the count of one or more S-NSSAIs when the UE adds or removes S-NSSAIs in the registration request compared to the S-NSSAIs available in the previously allowed NSSAI [0067]-[0075]; the request of step 3 is initiated by the AMF 300 only after reaching a predefined or preconfigured quota. The quota may be any integer number greater than or equal to 1 [0109]-[0112]); and
transmitting a response message indicating an acceptance or a rejection of the network slice registration (Step 5: In step 5, the NF 500 sends, to the AMF 300, a response including the outcome (as described in 3GPP TR 23.700-40 V0.3.0) and, in addition, optionally “Candidate TAs for new RA”. [0112] Step 6: In step 6, if received, the AMF 300 uses the “Candidate TAs for new RA” as input to derive a new RA (i.e., the AMF 300 does not include more TAs than provided in the list from the NF 500) and, depending on the outcome, the registration procedure is stopped (i.e., rejected) for a negative outcome or continued based on 3GPP TS 23.502 [0111]-[0112]). However, Hedman does not disclose, wherein the request message includes a registered indication for use in a hierarchical network slice admission control procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, wherein the request message includes a registered indication for use in a hierarchical network slice admission control procedure (Referring to FIG. 11, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, there may be a plurality of NSACFs, namely, a first NSACF 1103 and a second NSACF 1104. For example, the first NSACF 1103 and the second NSACF 1104 may take charge of different serving areas. The serving areas may be divided by a list of TAIs [0164]-[0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hedman by specifically providing transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message, as taught by Lee for the purpose of developing improved 6G communication systems have been made in order to provide a wide range of services by connecting hundreds of billions of devices and things [0003]. Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hedman and Lee teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9), further Hedman discloses, wherein the registered indication comprises a value indicating a new registration or an existing registration (The AMF checks if the UE is a new entrant for counting for a network slice or is already registered and thereby counted for. In other words, upon receiving a registration request from a UE, the AMF checks whether the registration request received from the UE is applicable for update of counting for a network slice [0059]; the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hedman and Lee teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), in addition Lee discloses, wherein determining whether to reject the registration of the network slice is further responsive to the registered indication indicating that the network slice is part of the new registration (the NSACF 302 may include the AN in the UE ID list and may increase the number of counted UEs. In this case, when the number of current UEs exceeds the maximum number of UEs, the number of counted UEs may not be increased, and the AN may be included in the UE ID list. In addition, information that the subject slice is not available may be included in the message of operation S750 [0134]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hedman and Lee teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), in addition Lee discloses, wherein determining whether to accept the registration of the network slice is further responsive to the registered indication indicating that the network slice is part of the existing registration (the NSACF 302 may include the AN in the UE ID list and may increase the number of counted UEs. In this case, when the number of current UEs exceeds the maximum number of UEs, the number of counted UEs may not be increased, and the AN may be included in the UE ID list. In addition, information that the subject slice is not available may be included in the message of operation S750 [0134]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 14, Hedman discloses,
An apparatus of performing a network slice admission control function (NSACF) (The procedure of FIG. 5 utilizes any NF performing the counting with a separate request for the counting from the AMF 300 [0103]), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (the core network node 700 includes one or more processors 704 (e.g., Central Processing Units (CPUs), Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), and/or the like), memory 706, and a network interface 708, Fig. 7 and [0122]) and configured to cause the apparatus to
receive, from a network function (NF) entity, a request message indicating to modify a number of user equipments (UEs) registered with a network slice (the AMF 300 initiates a request towards the NF 500 to update the count and includes in the request the current TA where the UE 212 is currently located, the old RA, and new S-NSSAIs (e.g., requested NSSAI sent by the UE 212 or the new allowed NSSAI to be sent to the UE 212 and, if available, corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values, the old allowed NSSAI, and customer ID (for the UE 212 or per S-NSSAI)). The old allowed NSSAI for the UE 212 is the allowed NSSAI for the UE 212 before the UE 212 sent the new registration request or a list of S-NSSAIs including a subset of the previously allowed NSSAIs. Note that, in general, allowed NSSAI refers to the S-NSSAIs applicable for the home network (e.g., HPLMN) while the AMF 300, and Visited PLMN (VPLMN), would use S-NSSAIs appliable for the VPLMN, [0105]-[0110]), wherein the request message includes a registered indication ((When the AMF initiates a message for counting a number of UEs, e.g. at a registration request (except Periodic Registration Update), the AMF provides the following information to the entity performing the count: [0069] a. the new network slices to be used by the UE, e.g. requested NSSAI or new allowed NSSAI, and in addition provides corresponding mapped Home PLMN (HPLMN) S-NSSAI values, and provides the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant, 0068]-[0074] and [0109]-[0112]));
determine whether to accept or reject a registration of the network slice based on the number of UEs registered with the network slice satisfying a threshold number of UEs and the registered indication (The AMF issues a request to the NF performing the counting with the purpose to increase or decrease the count of one or more S-NSSAIs when the UE adds or removes S-NSSAIs in the registration request compared to the S-NSSAIs available in the previously allowed NSSAI [0067]-[0075]; the request of step 3 is initiated by the AMF 300 only after reaching a predefined or preconfigured quota. The quota may be any integer number greater than or equal to 1 [0109]-[0112]); and
transmit a response message indicating an acceptance or a rejection of the network slice registration (Step 5: In step 5, the NF 500 sends, to the AMF 300, a response including the outcome (as described in 3GPP TR 23.700-40 V0.3.0) and, in addition, optionally “Candidate TAs for new RA”. [0112] Step 6: In step 6, if received, the AMF 300 uses the “Candidate TAs for new RA” as input to derive a new RA (i.e., the AMF 300 does not include more TAs than provided in the list from the NF 500) and, depending on the outcome, the registration procedure is stopped (i.e., rejected) for a negative outcome or continued based on 3GPP TS 23.502 [0111]-[0112]). However, Hedman does not disclose, wherein the request message includes a registered indication for use in a hierarchical network slice admission control procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, wherein the request message includes a registered indication for use in a hierarchical network slice admission control procedure (Referring to FIG. 11, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, there may be a plurality of NSACFs, namely, a first NSACF 1103 and a second NSACF 1104. For example, the first NSACF 1103 and the second NSACF 1104 may take charge of different serving areas. The serving areas may be divided by a list of TAIs [0164]-[0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hedman by specifically providing transmitting to network slice admission control functions entity (NSACF) a second message, as taught by Lee for the purpose of developing improved 6G communication systems have been made in order to provide a wide range of services by connecting hundreds of billions of devices and things [0003]. Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hedman and Lee teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further Hedman discloses, wherein the registered indication comprises a value indicating a new registration or an existing registration (The AMF checks if the UE is a new entrant for counting for a network slice or is already registered and thereby counted for. In other words, upon receiving a registration request from a UE, the AMF checks whether the registration request received from the UE is applicable for update of counting for a network slice [0059]; the old allowed NSSAI and corresponding mapped HPLMN S-NSSAI values. For new entrants, the AMF does not provide an old allowed NSSAI or set it to a value meaning new entrant [0069]-[0072]).
In addition Lee discloses, the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine whether to reject the registration of the network slice is further responsive to the registered indication indicating that the network slice is part of the new registration (the NSACF 302 may include the AN in the UE ID list and may increase the number of counted UEs. In this case, when the number of current UEs exceeds the maximum number of UEs, the number of counted UEs may not be increased, and the AN may be included in the UE ID list. In addition, information that the subject slice is not available may be included in the message of operation S750 [0134]-[0136]) or the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine whether to accept the registration of the network slice is further responsive to the registered indication indicating that the network slice is part of the existing registration (the NSACF 302 may include the AN in the UE ID list and may increase the number of counted UEs. In this case, when the number of current UEs exceeds the maximum number of UEs, the number of counted UEs may not be increased, and the AN may be included in the UE ID list. In addition, information that the subject slice is not available may be included in the message of operation S750 [0134]-[0136]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2024227918: The present disclosure relates to the establishment of service session or data session in a cellular network. In particular, this disclosure relates inter alia to a method and corresponding apparatus for establishing a communication session with a network, typically including a plurality of network slices.
US 20240314845: Aspects of the disclosure relate to user equipment (UE) behavior for intended network slice selection in the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or for RRC reestablishment. The intended network slice includes one or more single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAIs) utilized by the UE in a particular use case.
US 20240298253: An access and mobility management function of an overlay network can send, to a network slice selection function, a request for selection of one or more allowed network slices of a wireless device. The request for selection can indicate that an access of the wireless device to the overlay network is via an underlay network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641